We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Fast smooth checkin, reception was very nice and helpful with good english.
Alot of choice for food and meal times wer great and flexible, you could swap a diner for a lunch if u wanted to eat out that night. Rooms were cleaned everyday and was great coming back too.
Drinks and pool side food was good but little on costly side. Pool area was alway very clean and plenty of seating and loungers. Always loungers available. Pool was cold which was'nt great for young ones. Could do with some more bar staff. Atm in mean lobby which was always working. Wifi was great for skype etc. great location, close to theme/waterpark and only 10min walk from town tho be very careful crossing road as drivers ignore crossing alot. Entertainment was great for kids and during meal time ud find custome characters walkn round. We would go back again next week if we could and we would recomend it to families or someone looking a quite break. Hope this was helpfuly










Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Macker307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for choosing our establishment.

We are looking forward to having you here very soon!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,777 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel food and entertainment was Great in an ideal location 10 min walk to the beach 10 min walk from port aventura. Beach good area clean. my only criticism is the room didn't have enough closet space for 4 people and was little small. also Bed and pillows really uncomfortable I had a bad neck for 2 days because of it.4 stars for the entertainment food and staff 2 stars for the rooms and bed.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your suggestions. We write it down, we will take them into consideration for the next year investments.

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel.

We hope to see you back here very soon!!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Arrived at hotel on 20th may at 11am check in was really quick. Our room was on 5th floor overlooking pool, the room was really clean and spacious and also had a good sized bathroom. The maids were very polite and friendly and cleaned our room everyday and towels were changed as well,nice and white and soft. The restaurant was quite large and the food was excellent loads of variety to suit all, the restaurant staff were like busy bees the first week until extra staff were employed, the chefs cooked some amazing dishes and were very chatty and always had a smile for you . The hotel reception was kept very clean and also the entertainment bar had some good acts which started at around 10 pm after the kiddies disco. Pool area was very clean with loads of sun loungers and the animation team kept everyone entertained especially the young kids. The main area in Salou and beach is about 10 minute walk but be careful crossing over 2 very busy main roads use pedestrian crossing wait for green man before crossing as there was a couple of nasty accidents with pedestrians being hit by motorists.I would go back to this hotel again and would recommend people to give it a shot.P.S one important thing to tell you about it will cost you 7 euros per person for salou's version of council tax and also 23 euros per week for a safe with no refund which is a big pull out before you start your holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get room on high floor overlooking pool as the sun stays on the balcony till after 8pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonny1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Unfortunately we can not do anything about the taxes, that comes from the government, if you are not agree next time when you come I invite you to put an official complaint form because of the tourist tax, to the Generalitat (Government of Catalonia).

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel once again.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Arrived in Salou on 21st May for our 8th time with wife and 12 year old daughter but first time in this hotel, Hotel is clean and tidy, got checked in quickly, room smaller than I expected but was clean and only really to sleep/change in so not a problem. Maids cleaned our room every day and did a super job. .I wasn't too happy about having to queue for our evening meal but the food choice was good but of poor quality in my opinion and I was struggling to find something I really liked and I'm not a fussy eater but I think the quality got better as the week went on. Most staff were friendly however the odd 1 was a bit rude.
The pool area was good and the entertainers were brilliant.....however the amount of sunbeds reserved with towels on them is not to my liking as we were struggling to find somewhere on the first morning at around 10 a.m. as most had towels on but no-one there!!...they need to sort this out as it really put me off. Good location for Portaventura which is why we chose this hotel. Definitely not 4 star but it's not the only hotel in Salou claiming 4. (where do they get these ratings from?)
Free Wifi only works in reception and pool area.
To sum it up for what we paid I'm happy and would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. We are working every year to improve our menus, and we have very high satisfaction with our questionnaires. The quality of our products is very strictly control before gets into the Hotel.

It is difficult to control/ avoid the people reserving the sunbeds. But we do have our life guard, is doing an excellent job supervising the pools and also controlling the sunbeds which are not used during a long period of time, so if anyone needs one, he immediately is giving those sumbeds, and bringing the towels at the reception.

Thank you very much for your comments.

Hope to see you back here at the Vil.laromana!!

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

returned this week from hotel vil.la romana, having had a lovely family holiday, the entertainment team were great fun and kept all of the children entrertained, the hotel also has several different acts that provide evening entertainment including parrot act, dancers, acrobat and different singers etc. the only bad point is that the bar area where entertainment is each evening has lots of pillars and can be difficult to view the entertainment at times. bar staff and waiters are very good and friendly as well as staff in restaurant chefs always helpful and friendly. sometimes can get very busy in restaurant and may have to wait for table, couple of occasions our plates were left on our table so had to clear them ourselves, and always had to queue outside of restaurant for table on the down side. lovely pool, and nice and clean rooms. nice walk to shops, restaurants, bars and beach, the beach itself is very clean can also catch a small train to look around the area. took several excursions as well, trip to port aventura theme park was good value, and plenty of different rides for all ages. also did barcelona stadium tour with free time. stadium tour was good for any body into football and city was nice, however only had three hours to look around city. also had evening out to house of illusions which was really good entertainment for all ages, meal and unlimited drinks provided and very friendly people from entertainment team who were great fun and even the waitresses couldnt do enough for you. all round nice family holiday would recommend as good value for money

Room Tip: two choices of room you can either have a view of the pool or view of port aventure roller coasters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank satchfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Clients,

We are very glad you enjoy your holidays with us. We write down your comments/ suggestions, and we are already working to improve those points.

Hope to see you back here in the Hotel very soon!!!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

OMG!! This hotel is exactly what a family holiday requires!! Excellent food the entertainment team are amazing and the most important thing of all is that it was a holiday to remember!! We cannot wait to come back and donut all over again !! Hotel vil la romana is one of if not the best hotel around!!! AMAZING!!!!

Stayed: May 2014
7  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Clients,

In name of all Staff we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel to enjoy your holidays, and for the marvellous comments you wrote down.

We are looking forward to having you here again very son.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A four star and a Thomson's 4t. Not at the top end of the classification, but comparable with others locally- and better than some.
Areas have been refurbished (eg the pool) but some have just had a lick of paint.
Half board food was fair, and typical for this type of hotel. Not a huge choice, but they made an effort on a couple of days. A tendency to overcook meat and vegetables so that it all tasted the same.
We were at the beginning of the season so not too busy. The downside wass that the pool bar had limited opening times, despite what they said.
The evening entertainment was seldom worth waiting for, but other hotels were not a lot better. The stage layout is bad, and is best suited to entertaining children, which is what this hotel is geared to do.
Rooms were a reasonable size although no room to get past the dressing table if one person is sitting there. Air con was not turned on, but the weather wasn't too hot.
Bits were down market,(eg threadbare towels) and bits were quite smart (pools). We could not get our card to open the underground garage, so gave up and got our money back. There is street parking nearby.
It took an age to get registered. Staff were pleasant but their system seems very long winded.
Overall OK at the right price.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for all your comments.

We apologise for the time you spent for the check in but unfortunately by law in Spain we are obligated to introduce all your details at the same momento you do the check in.

We are going to work on them.

We hope to see you back here very son.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,083 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
0.6 mi away
Golden Port Salou
Golden Port Salou
#5 of 93 in Salou
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $69 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing