We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
bungay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went to vil la romana twice last year ,and had a great time on both trips.its so good we are are going again in august back to the vil la romana .no you can't check in until 2pm but you should have been told by your travel agent .not the hotels fault.they are making sure your room is clean and tidy ready for your stay.the food is great as is the hotel staff.the location of the hotel is ideal for the beach the town and the theme park so all in all great.looking forward to seeing you all again soon g bygrave and family.

Room Tip: 3rd or4th floor over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Clients,

In name of all Staff I would like to thank yopu so much for all your comments and confidence, we are looking forward to having you here again!!

Yours sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    707
    266
    84
    55
See reviews for
1,458
588
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for long weekend in October half term. Hotel was nice & clean rooms had twin/double beds with sofa bed as well so ideal for a family. We went half board and food was nice with plenty of choice. Staff were helpful and friendly, kids club, evening entrainment. Walking distance to port adventure about 10min & the same to the beach. The only bad thing was the room was a bit noisy near to the bar ask for high room on the other side if u want some peace & quiet.

Room Tip: High floor away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelAlexHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you so much for choosing our establishment to enjoy your holidays.
I recomend you if you come back here, or for your next holidays, to contact the Recepción or Manager, so we have the opportunity to react immediately, and solve any problem you could have.

We hope to see you back here!!

Yours sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After reading many brilliant reviews and only a few poor reviews for this hotel I was sure that the hotel was going to be fantastic. I have to say after spending a week there, I am rather disappointed.

We arrived at around 11am and were told that our room would not be available until 2pm. There was a secure room to store luggage in, however there was nowhere to change, or even anywhere to buy lunch at this time, which is not great after being on an early morning flight. We left our luggage and headed out to the nearest restaurant (Titanic – highly recommend) and the staff there told us that this 2pm check-in is the norm for the surrounding hotels, even from the very start of the season, which they cannot understand. We checked in at 2pm and paid the Catalonian tourism tax, which our Thomson rep informed us of. We also decided to hire a safe for the week (23 Euros!). Everyone seems to be having different problems regarding the keys. We had a room key and a safe key. Both opened the door and activated the lights, but only the safe key would open the safe (which is very temperamental!). Keys are not handed into reception here on leaving the hotel for the day which was unusual. I found reception staff to be ok, not brilliant and there was some difficulty with communication with some of the reception staff, and like other reviews have said they do not give clear directions.

Location of hotel not bad, about 10 minutes to the beach/main street. Close to supermarkets too (Maxi 2 has very good choice and is well priced). Also close to the party bars 007 (livelier but with one rude and abusive English staff member. Ministry of Sound night there was particularly good.) and Bus Stop (quieter but nicer staff). Good music in both. We found the night life to be a bit too quiet, there didn’t really seem to be proper clubs and most places were very quiet, despite it being almost high season. We are eighteen but we aren’t totally mad party people, we just would have liked the places to be a bit bigger, busier and livelier. Definitely more of a family resort, and it is lovely and clean, I just wouldn’t recommend for people my age.

The room itself was lovely and clean, as was the rest of the hotel building. The shower was fine, nice balcony with clothes airer, beds were comfortable and there was a TV in the room. Good selection of toiletries in bathroom. Mini-fridge was fantastic for storing water and lunch snacks. We were on the 1st floor in the block nearest reception, in room 1117 with a street view. I found it was very noisy. The maid service was fine, although they did not always replace towels that they had taken away and did just open the door one morning although the “Do Not Disturb” light was on, however another maid did knock another day.

Pool area was nice, well-kept and I saw technicians clearing litter several times. A bit of difficulty getting sunbeds due to the large number booked with towels (and then no-one showing up to claim them!), so this is something I think the hotel should address. The umbrellas are very large ones that have to be put up by the lifeguard using a drill, rather than smaller ones you can control yourselves. This meant that a large area around the person/family wanting shade was also shaded, and it was difficult finding somewhere to move to. The pool was nice, a little cold but a good size. Entertainment staff around the pool were really great, I liked the aqua aerobics and they always seemed smiling and happy, really nice around the pool, and tried to keep people happy without pestering, could see they were great with kids too.

I thought the food was very disappointing. Poorly labelled (“mixed”. What is that supposed to be? Mixed what?) and extremely repetitive (constantly veal or pork). Vegetarians will really be struggling. I saw they did have a gluten free section which is thoughtful. There were some good things, notably the chicken and spring rolls and bread, however the fish was awful, as was some of the pasta and the pork kebabs were undercooked, and I don’t think rabbit stew is 4 star food! Deserts were better. The drinks were expensive (I don’t expect a drink to be included in half-board but I thought they were overpriced, 2 euro 70 cents for a bottle of Fanta, for example). Most of the staff in the restaurant weren’t great. There were also queues for meals (they did go down fairly quickly though), and sometimes no tables inside at breakfast.

Breakfast food was pretty good, with a good selection. I recommend the churros in particular, and the orange juice is freshly squeezed in front of you which I thought was a nice touch. The smoothies are also good. Breakfast was available early the day we were flying home which was good.

There didn’t seem to be much entertainment on, just kids when we went, and then just after midnight one night the bar area was deserted and there didn’t seem to be anything on. Drinks were expensive at the bar (2.20 euros for a glass of draught Fanta). The board showing the evening entertainment didn’t seem to match up with what was actually happening.

During our stay we took a few trips. We booked for the Thomson bar crawl (which was very good, a great laugh even though the nightlife in Salou is definitely not enough for young adults). We booked Aquapolis tickets through Thomson also which was very good, and a Bus Plana to La Pineda from the beachfront will take you very close to Aquapolis, and only costs a couple of euros each way. Through Bus Plana we booked a day trip to Barcelona, called Barcelona Panoramic. It isn’t exactly how it was described in the leaflet, it’s more of a taster tour. Did love seeing Parc Guell and Montjuic though!

The local transport is brilliant in Salou. Bus Plana buses are frequent from the beach front (Jaime I) and the land train is also great, you can get it from right outside the hotel. We took it along to Cap Salou and went to La Pineda beach which is lovely, much nicer and quieter than Salou (Levante) Beach, although the water is colder!

Overall, I think Salou is good for a family holiday, and if you can get a cheap deal at this hotel it would be worth it, however it is not good value for money and definitely not deserving of its 4 star/4T status with regards to the food and some staff. Rooms are good, as is the standard of cleanliness. Young adults looking for some night life should probably try a different resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iloveholidays95_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau A, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your suggestions, and comments. We are already working on them to improve our establishment, in order to avoid similar problems to other guests.
I am the new Manager at the Hotel, and I hope if you decide to come back to Salou, you chose our Hotel, so you give me the opportunity to change your opinión. If you decide so, let me know, I will take personally care of you.
Thank you very much again for your time.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first time visiting the Villa Romana and it was great. There was a lovely buffet every night with beautiful food, great service and pretty sculptures out of watermelons. It was in short walking distance of Portaventura. It had a great pool and great facilities. We got packed lunches which were great for picnics and extremely handy. We could easily walk into the town centre and there was great transport to other towns and cities. We visited Barcelona and it was great. The room was spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day.
Thanks thinking in us for your next visit to Salou.
Waiting to see you soon.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Me and my partner have been to salon 3 times and this was one of the best hotels we stayed in!!!! Although very busy and lots of family's with young children a nice hotel with huge pools. Kids club and family entertainment by the pool and in the evening.

The food at the hotel was lovely and a wide range of variety from meats,fish,pastas etc and lots of great deserts.

The pool gets veryyy busy so would suggest getting up early if you are having a pool day as lots of people like to put there towels down and leave them there !!!

The spa which is meant to be for adults is nice and relaxing however the days we went down children had managed to also be allowed in and not with adults ...

The local shops and pubs are great and such a friendly family orientated town we also went on a boat trip and to the theme park

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank FineFoodieDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our third visit to the Villa Romana and, although we'd thought of it as an "excellent" rating in the past, this time it seemed to have slipped off its perch. This may however be due to our visit being towards the end of October (OK, I'm a bit late in submitting this review) and the hotel closed for the Winter a few days after we left. The staff seemed "de-mob happy" between themselves but not towards the guests, although our main gripe was that, during our two weeks there, there was no Gala Night, which was great fun on previous visits.
It's very difficult to pin-point all of the fall in standards and I'm sure (at least I hope) that the situation will resolve itself when the new season begins.
Having said all this, I really must point out that one of the Thomson's reps - Danni - was most helpful in sorting out a little problem (not with the hotel) which occurred during our stay.

Room Tip: As usual, the higher the better - floor 2 and below have solid walls to balcony, higher is glass. Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaellaPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day.
Waiting to see you soon.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Arrived about 10.30 am and rooms wasn't ready which is understandable. There was a locked secured room to put our cases in until room was ready. Everything was lovely about the hotel, very well maintained and very clean. When our room was ready we was a little shocked on the size. There was 2 double beds together and a settee which was a pull out bed. There was 3 adults and 1 child so it was a bit of a squeeze. The most disappointing part about the room was the balcony. There was a glass door in the wall which was about 12 inches away from the floor. It might have been higher than that. This was the same on both sides. My mum was with us who is disabled so couldn't enjoy the use of the balcony. We went down to reception only to be told there was no other rooms available. Poor mum couldn't get out there so it was a bit of a let down. The room itself was a bit dated, but overall was clean. There was a tv, and safe. Clean towels was given every day. The beds aren't very comfy and the pillows could do with updating it was just one long pillow and only now each. We requested more but took a while and several request later to get them. We are glad we was only sleeping in the room as with us all being in at once it was quite cramped. The bar area is fab, staff are really friendly and work very hard. Restaurant staff are ok but could be more friendly. Some was fine others the language barrier was a problem. The food is out of this world. Everything you could ask for they had. All meats and fish was cooked to your liking every night. Mornings was just as good. Fresh omelettes made to order, pancakes and ham and cheese toasties, excellent. Always working hard the chefs and always very friendly. The entertainment staff worked extremely hard. They deserve medals. They kept the kids entertained for an hour each night. They worked from morning right into the night, where they get there energy from is amazing. They always had smiles on their faces it was a pleasure to watch them. Overall we had a fab holiday. We would highly recommend this hotel, if we was to return we would make sure we had a better room and we could get out on the balcony.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool on the top floor. I would recommend a room a level below directly pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank missdisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves.

We will be glad having you back son.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#8 of 94 in Salou
1,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#13 of 94 in Salou
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Property: Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing