We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont worry!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dont worry!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Here now and after reading some of the other reviews i was dreading it! I shouldnt have bothered! Its fine. Ok, some of the staff look less than pleased to be here, but its hot n guests are not always that pleasant! I for one have found them lovely! Foods great n we r fussy veggies! Drinks good price, its a good location n why people r moaning about sunloungers i will never know, theres loads!! All in all great! Thompsons reps really good!
Tip of the day for u! U only get one room card obv when u go out power to room goes off! Put a boots or blockbuster or any old carx in the slot n the aircon n fridge stays on! I must say will only do this on v hot days!! Lol
but honestly i have fairly high standards n this hotel is good for me!! Enjoy!:-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tfitzpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. I hope we can discus about your comments while you are here, I will be pleased to meet you.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    689
    258
    84
    54
See reviews for
1,382
554
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Villa romana! Fab hotel, we go as a family of 4 every year for 2 weeks, got to know a lot of the staff as they keep the same staff every year. Firstly when u get to the hotel the book in is a tad annoying as u have to wait a few hours for your room, Abib will happily let you put your cases down in the basement tho so u can carry on with you day.
We spent our first day at the pool catching up with pepito & camilo. Met fany and tony who we didn't meet the previous years. A bit gutted that bonbon had been moved but we knew this :) we caught up with him at villa dorada.
Our reps Lucy & danni were brill, they booked our excursions for us. We went on the jeep safari, portaventura, decades and house of illusions. All done previously too and highly recommended :)
The kitchen staff are so friendly and helpful, juan head chef is fantastic, can see he's done a great job with his staff. Henry's omelettes in the mornings are delish! Nataly & Maria estelle are great girls to look out for :)
Only problem I have with the hotel and its been the same every visit is that the reception day staff are very rude and arrogant especially michaela! No customer service skills at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolsersonfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for leaving your positive opinion and we hope to see you soon again. We take note about your comments and work on it.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just returned back to the cold UK after spending 10 Days/nights at the Hotel Vil-La Romana and just wanted to comment on what a fantastic hotel it is. The animatio team are brilliant and a credit to the hotel, the food was amazing with so much choice every day that even satisfied my fussy two teenagers and the place was kept amazingly spotless even when it was really busy.
My only negative comment is that a lot of sunbeds are "reserved" very early in the morning and not used until late afternoon even though there are signs around the hotel saying its not allowed... but we always found a good sunny spot :) and did giggle at the reservers running out to gather their towels when it poured it down with rain on our third day...
apart from that we would definitely recommend booking and staying here and we hopefully will return next year. This really is a gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: rooms not facing the pool get great views of the port aventura fireworks every night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niklo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day.
Thanks thinking in us for your next visit to Salou.
Waiting to see you soon.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in May. Had a lovely time. Hotel was nice and clean and all staff were polite.
Food was nice. Drinks a but overpriced. Salou itself was lovely shops, bars and resturants everywhere.

Went to the beach a few times but not the main bit. If you walk round the side and follow the bridge theres a quieter a bit and no so many people.


Portaventure was amazing loved every bit of it. Only 10 minutes away from the hotel.

Overall had a great time and would definatley come back again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmascott61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing your thoughts. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked through Thomson holidays and first impressions were good.

We checked in quickly and the reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room wasn’t available until 3pm but there was a safe place to store our cases. We went back at 2:30 just in case and it was available.

Initially our shower wasn’t working and there was a bad musty/damp smell in the bathroom, we informed reception and the shower was fixed promptly but the smell remained, after a few days we got used to it and it didn’t cause any problems.

We had two rooms with a private corridor which gave us extra security as you could lock the room doors and corridor door.
The rooms were clean and had plenty of space, only thing missing was a kettle but I knew this in advance and had brought a travel kettle. Towels were replaced as you needed and the room was cleaned daily, the room cleaners work really hard and are very friendly and helpful.

We did have a couple of negative interactions with a receptionist and the restaurant manager regarding dress code for the restaurant. Men are not allowed to wear vests or shorts and this is not always followed consistently. Happy that there is a dress code but it does need to be made clear on bookings just in case you don’t bring a T Shirt and trousers and it needs to be every day and for everyone. This is minor and was nothing to worry about.

The food in the restaurant is really good, a large variety and some prepared while you wait, I am vegan so was a bit limited but the salad choice was large and more than enough for me to vary my meals. Everything is fresh and the area really clean. It's help yourself with drinks served at the table (you pay for drinks on the way out). All very well organised and efficient.

The pool was clean, loungers were a problem as people reserve them all day, we found out from the rep that there was a policy that if you saw a lounger reserved and empty for an hour then you could remove the towels, we did once and there were no problems. The hotel doesn’t police this which they should. We saw towels left all day and then picked up in the evening having not even been used this is wrong when people are walking around looking for loungers. Not sure how this could be fixed, maybe a booking, ticket policy or no towels on loungers unless you are in the pool. It's not really the hotels fault that this happens though, people should be more considerate.

The land train stops outside the hotel and I would recommend getting on it for a round trip (3 euros each) when you first arrive, it takes about an hour give or take a bit. This will allow you to get your bearings and see where everything is

Overall this hotel is really good and we had a lovely stay, the staff are friendly and efficient, the location is good. There is a spar shop around the corner and it's central for the theme park and the beach (both within walking distance).

Thank you very much for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your comments. They are always important to keep improving.

We hope to receive you again in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and i came here for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute apart from myself getting sunstroke but was obviously nothing to do with the hotel haha.
The staff where lovely and entertainment was great for both kids and adults, would highly recommend this hotel for any age group and is situated right in the center of the town which is fantastic, great value for money and would love to return in the near future.
Thanks for a memorable honeymoon.

Room Tip: a view of the pool to see if there are any sun loungers as its a busy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am moved to just write that we enjoyed a great family holiday in this hotel. I have just read a long review & response that give two sides to one story- based on our great experience I would advise future potential guests to skip the negative & focus on the positive. Bad people are everywhere - great hotels are rare.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jol46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is very gratifying to receive a positive opinion of your vacation in our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#9 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Property: Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing