We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September 2012 :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“September 2012 :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our first time we have ever been abroad, we took our 2 children, which are teenagers. We were very nervous about the whole travel situation, but we found with Thomson it went very smoothly.
We arrived at the hotel, and the hotel seemed better than our expectations. Our room was very modern and also very clean. The room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels and to a high standard. There was a lots of variety of food, but we are very boring eaters, and we thought the food was very greasy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the animation team were a good laugh. The beach was lovely, as we spent most of our time there, but it was a bit of a walk.
The only downside to this holiday was that we all got some sort of bug, it took 48 hours for my daughter to get over it, and 24 hours for myself to get over it. That put a bit of a downer on the holiday as my wife and son were so worried about getting it on the way home. Other than that, we would return again, and we highly recommend villa romana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    685
    257
    84
    54
See reviews for
1,367
550
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in October as this hotel is within walking distance of portaventura.

It is a nice hotel, our room was a little tired but clean. The aircon switch was broken as was he extractor in the bathroom neither really posed a problem however this was October. The restaurant was good the waiting staff and chefs were very friendly.

We spent much of the time at the theme park so didn't really see the entertainment.

The weather was ok late teens but cold on a night.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. Just remind you that we will be pleased having you in our hotel in you next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here in Oct 2012. Nice looking hotel, reception staff a bit standoffish but on the whole we didn't need them much. The room was a decent size with plenty of room in both the bedroom and the bathroom, facilities in the room were good as you had a small fridge to store water etc so you could have a drink in the room. Our room overlooked the road and we could see the theme park in the distance, the road was very quiet though so we weren't disturbed by the noise of the road but the bathroom noise was not so good. Our neighbours had showers at odd times of the night which sounded very loud in our bathroom. The dining room staff were mixed, the one guy who showed us to our table was a bit smug - as were some of the chef's - if you were young and pretty it was different - but the majority of staff were ok. It was at the end of the season and I think they were all getting a bit tired. Catching someone's eye to order drinks was a bit of a hassle but once you did they were quick in arriving. You also pay as you exit instead of at the table which I quite like. The meals were very Spanish - some of the food is not what I would really eat at home but saying that there are several cooking stands each dinner time, for example always fresh pizzas, stir fry's, grilled pork, and fried fish. the staff in the mornings were much frendlier and the food was better - you could have freshly cooked omelettes, fresh pancakes, fried eggs - all very nice. Hotel is a 10 min walk to the centre - this is good as it can be a noisy resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fly243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. Just remind you that we will be pleased having you in our hotel in you next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rooms- great and always clean. Mini fridge in room is great for your own water etc.

Staff - all very friendly and helpful!

Entertainment - I don't usually like entertainment at hotels, but during the day the staff at the pool always had music playing and activities on the go, which were fun. As for the evening entertainment, I am sure it was great but thats not really my thing.

Drinks - good. Sangria on tap :)

Food- a great choice of fresh foods. Fantastic buffet with some foods, such as pancakes in the morning being prepared in front of you!

Location - 5 minute walk from busy area, which is great. Very close to mini supermarkets also.

One less positive point, not about the hotel, but about Salou - it is VERY british, in that there is a lot of British pubs etc. This can be avoided if you get a bus to Cambrils, which has less British pubs etc. However, Salou is a good place to go if you want a fun break in the sun with lots to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa91_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. Hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in Salou with a friend last year for our first girly holiday, we wanted to relax in a luxury hotel and also have the opportunity to go out and have a good night! This is exactly what we got! The hotel itsself is beautiful, so modern and so clean, however the only downfall was the food, its very 'samey' we stuck to chips and sweetcorn as the pasta was repetitive and the meat was either cold or chewy and tasted microwaved! However this didnt affect us too much as we were half board and there were lovely places nearby to eat. The pool was a great size and the stylish bridge accross it is a perfect 'capture a photo' moment. The animation team seemed like some of the best I'd seen, one young girl was playing with the children and very much got involved in her play bu jumping into the water fully clothed. Some people may not like this, but its Spain and a family based hotel and location so to exspect constant relaxation and none disturbance is a little silly. The location is great, unless you don't like walking 5 minutes to the beach ( we didnt mind this at all!) And you don't hear the party goers this way. The only other downfall would be the walls are very very thin, some man stopped us and told us he heard us come in one night and he was not happy. I'm not too sure how true this was as we're not party animals and we're small quiet girls? The hotel staff were all amazing, and made us have an amazing time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here in September 2012 and had a brilliant time, the animation team were simply outstanding by going above and beyond to make sure that as many people as possible joined in with the different activities that happened throughout the day; which worked as with each different activity i think that there were more empty sunbeds than full ones. The amount of energy they displayed all day everyday was amazing.
The rooms were a decent size with plenty of room in both the bedroom and the bathroom, facilities in the room were good as you had a small fridge to store water etc so you could have a drink in the room. There was also plenty of plug outlets so you didn't have to unplug one thing to use another. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the maids were very friendly and said good morning or hello when you saw them.
The food was good with different theme nights for dinner each night, for example Italian etc, with a very varied choice so there was something that suited everyone. The staff in the dining room were very friendly, they were always checking the food and refilling stations that were low. As we were a in a larger group we needed a bigger table so we were placed in a room that was just off the main dining room that didn't seem to be being used, we found this very nice as we could all sit together with having to be squashed around a table.
The holiday was brilliant apart from the first night we arrived and the room was double booked so we spent the first night in their sister hotel which was the next hotel down. The staff were very apologetic and due to the mix up we were upgraded from half board to full board. Even with this minor road-bump we still had a brilliant time and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room over the pool and I found that it was quiet on this side as no one sat poolside late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissAmyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. Just remind you that we will be pleased having you back in our hotel in you next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Would be excellent but the 1st night we had to stay at the Bel.vedere because they didn't have a room .
We had booked this particular hotel because we had friends already staying there .
On the good side though they gave us full board (we had booked half board) and free wine and water .
The food was very good a lot of choice and well cooked . room was spacious and had all the facilities we needed .
The animation team were excellent and the price of drinks in the hotel andaround the resort were very reasonable you didn't feel as though you were being ripped off .
We had a great holiday .

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking the road very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank turkeyfan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.6 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Property: Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing