We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REURN VISIT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“REURN VISIT”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had never been to spain until 2011, we chose the Vil-la Romana from reading good reviews previously and was not disappointed so returned in 2012.The staff are excellent especially the resturant staff, they cant do enough for you, also the food is of a good standard, there is always something to choose from. You must try the freshly cooked omelletes in the morning. The 2 men in charge of the entertainment are a good laugh. Hotel is in a good location, and Salou is a very nice place, good beach, bars and cafes and resturants. The weather in Oct is still very good can still be 30 degrees somedays. Use the local buses for getting about they are very good. Must see water fountains and lazer show on Friday and Saturday nights, around 9pm down along by the Marina.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 3 and 4 have glass fronted balcony's, ask for one over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    721
    271
    88
    57
See reviews for
1,510
602
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tullibody by the Sea
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

RECEPTION - Yes it has one, tastefully decorated with wall murals of gladiatorial combat reminiscent of Spartacus (that's me, I am Spartacus) and a lovely coloured glass roof light. Check in process smooth and efficient, job done. The main reception also leads off to the restaurant and bar areas, toilets and access to the pools, one inside and surprisingly enough, one outside. Lifts are also situated here rather than being elsewhere such as the car park.

ROOM - mainly situated on either side of long corridors are the bedrooms, spread over 3 storeys, that is to say the hotel has three levels of bedroom corridors your room does not have three storeys, the room itself was functional, it contained beds and places to put your clothes and handily enough a good size bathroom which had a bath included resplendent with a shower fixture (overhead) and a hand basin for washing of hands I presume a w.c and a bidet for posh folk, some complementary items of things to keep yourself clean with and a supply of towels. The room was serviced every day to a high standard and towels were replaced and fresh sheets applied to the beds. We had three people in our room usually my wife and I and one other, our daughter, third bed consisted of a pull out sofa bed which according to child was comfy enough, rather disappointingly it did mean I had no sofa to sit on and had to sit outside on the balcony. Our particular balcony afforded a view of the pool, unfortunately it was not the pool of our hotel but the one across the road.

RESTAURANT/FOOD some previous reviewers have expressed a dislike for the food served at this hotel, I can only state that we had no issue in finding something well cooked, tasty and hot across our seven day stay, a good variety and plenty to go round, this is true for breakfast, especially the omelettes and evening meal, although i would not liked to have been a veggie as there is a lot of cooked animals involved in the menu, always fresh fish, always fresh cooked joints and trays of casseroles, escalopes of chicken and veal. All in all a good standard for this type of hotel, if you demand haute cuisine when on holiday you will have to spend more money than this. Price of drinks to go with food was reasonable for alcoholic beverages, bottle of wine 8.00 euro, pay the little bit extra to avoid house, those who prefer carbonated sugar waters will have to pay a bit more.

BAR - A spacious bar area with plenty seating, realistic pricing for a hotel, bottle of house white, not the same as restaurant wine, around 7.00 euro, lager 2.50 euro, coke 2.50 euro, this is also the entertainment center, more to follow. There is an ante-bar or "pub" if you like, just off the main bar, sport on telly the worlds most expensive pool table and a couple of electronic dart boards, can't comment any further than that as only used to facilitate transit in and out of hotel when required.

ENTERTAINMENT - A forced containment was had due to torrential rain and my family's persistence that they were not getting soaked just to go out and see Tom Jones, not that Tom Jones, I think this guy was from Nottingham and somebody told him that the bars of Salou are paved in gold for you my son, they aren't they're paved in lino. So only a brief critique of the entertainment as it was only the one night. Apart from the 15 minutes I suffered at the hands of the sensational voice of international singing star Susanne Bey, I know you haven't heard of her. Anyway entertainment consisted of kiddies disco, no got kids anymore, it was hell, followed by live music of the look at me and my organ singing songs for the over 65's to dance too variety. Essentially caught in purgatory between creche and shuffle dancing of this mortal coil, nothing for the generation who have seen it all, try and amaze me now age group, sorry.

LOCATION - Excellent spot to be in 15 minute easy walk to PortAventura, recommend this park, some very good coasters, buy your tickets on the internet before you go, 10 minutes to closest bar, all showing multiple sporting events at the same time on different telly dotted across the walls of their establishments, you could even watch the X Factor and 15 minutes from the exquisitely empty beach, which is bordered by a fantastic stretch of broad avenue for safe passage by foot along the front, think Blackpool then forget Blackpool, far better, why don't UK seaside towns have promenades like this one. Salou itself is okay at this time of year, not crowded, room to move get a seat in a bar type of thing.

OVERALL - Hotel deserves what it gets on TripAdvisor 4 green circle type things, staff are are all well presented, courteous and hard working, if you try a little Espanol it helps. We traveled with Thomsons who have a desk in the hotel there, must commend them as well as no pushy sales tactics, didn't go the welcome committee but all info posted through room door, had an air we are here if you need us for anything, just what you want.

Room Tip: Get one in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phatboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is excellent. It has something for every one and if you have children, then no fear, they have plenty of entertainment for them to keep them happy. I have never seen so much food! Again some thing for every one and freshley cooked. Very friendly amd helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: The hotel is in two parts. Ask for the back wing as the front wing is over the lounge area and noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grossi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is our 6th visit to this hotel and we still love it. Perfect location between Portaventura and the beach (about a 15 min walk to each). Hotel spotlessly clean as always and the staff always really polite and helpful. Food was great (we were on a HB basis) and there was always plenty of choice. Always a favourite with us and am sure we will return in future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

best holiday we have had,The staff were brilliant, especially alex in the sports bar,antonio in the resturant. Both my wife and myself recommend this hotel to anyone.many thanks, dwjones ellesmere port chesh

Room Tip: rooms are quieter on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Arrived home from this Hotel on 12th October after a six day break which we enjoyed very much.We found the food excellent most of the time it was hot plenty of choice lovely deserts. Rooms very good but no tea and coffee making facilities towels very thin and worn. Shower excellent always plenty of hot water. Entertainment not very good bar prices expensive for vodka coke gin tonic barcardi coke 6 euros lager 2.50 euros which was ok if you drink lager! my partner can only drink bitter or guiness which they did not stock. The British were in minority which showed on the choice of channels on the tv and also choice of drinks.Overall we had a very enjoyable stay wish we had been allocated a pool view room as they got the afternoon sun which is lovely in October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankieboy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Unless you have very high expectations of a hotel, you should not be dissappointed with the Vil-la Romana. My wife and me arrived home today after a seven night stay here, combining our annual holiday with my wife's birthday. The overall presentation of this hotel was good, the facilities good, an excellent range/variety of equipment contained in the gym/sauna/pool......

Room Tip: Choose your season/time of visit wisely! We were not dissappointed by our choosing to go in October...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,971 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#5 of 93 in Salou
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Property: Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing