We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pricy but worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
California Palace
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pricy but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

this place is great but it is pricy. We enjoyed staying here the pool is nice the ice machine is pretty far from the rooms we didnt see 1 on our flore. the rooms are sorta thin but long i recomend this place but it is pricy o and we got a good view outside our window

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joseph a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    217
    105
    43
    23
See reviews for
209
196
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel.it is modern and very clean,there is a good variety of food to suit all tastes.limited entertainment but we didn't mind that because its only a short walk away to the town centre.Lovely long stretch of flat sandy beach.Will go back next year to see all the staff they were great

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tooniNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

cannot fault this hotel or the location rooms cleaned and towels changed daily food excellent and such a wide selection to chose from and different every day never left the table hungry . all the staff work really hard and nothing is to much trouble to them. plenty of sunbeds and parasols always available around a nice quite sunny pool . only a short 10 /15 min walk all on the flat to the beach ..first time in salou would come back and deffo will be staying in the same hotel . Thank you all for the great holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank taztaz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

First impression of the hotel was clean and good position. Just 10 min walk into the harbour at Salou.
We travelled as a couple and had 1 veggie and 1 meat eater. The food didn't have lots of variety but what was put out was good and plenty choice for us. The hotel was closing in two weeks and it was quiet as near the end of the season. The English restaurant manager was very helpful and cheerful. The other staff didn't crack a smile. They weren't rude but just didn't acknowledge you existed whist doing their job.
The pool area was kept clean and the pool attendant didn't crack a smile either. Do the hotel drug them? Trinny the entertainer was full of enthusiasm and made the poolside fun with her activities.
The reception staff... now I couldn't work out if they were ignorant or just thick? We asked where the "wifi in public areas" was? We were told the wifi wasn't for us it was only for customers of Booking.com.
As we booked through a tour operator we didn't deserve it! Perhaps they didn't use the correct word in the English Language but said wifi was only free for certain customers. Great Customer Service made me feel very valued. At this a customer walked passed and told me the bar over the road "Rosie's" had quick free wifi and drinks were half the price of the hotel.
Therefore, before and after our evening meal we went to Rosie's and I couldn't tell you what the evening entertainment was like at the hotel as we didn't give it chance. We recognised half the hotel in Rosie's......take note management that if you offer free wifi offer it to all your guests! We should all be valued!
The day we arrived it was 30 degrees which was slightly warmer than normal for that time of year. We couldn't get the aircon working on the first night so slept with the door open to our room. After a collection of bites we asked the staff on reception to look into the air on in our room. They told us that the aircon is turned off and only heating available as it's normally cooler this time of year.
Therefore every night we had to sleep with the door open, no lights on and spray repellant everywhere. The Mosquitos were very hardy ones and with both came home with over a dozen large bites. This wasn't comfortable for us and did affect our overall stay.
The hotel just failed on a few areas for us and the staff were ignorant when they explained things to you.
I'm still giving them a 4star rating as the food was good and the hotel clean which these are the main things you want out of a holiday.

Tips:
Rosie's wifi quick and free. €2 a pint.
Plana office over the road from hotel. We booked an afternoon trip to Barcelona. Picked up at 2pm just 1min down the road. €31 per person. This included aircon bus to Neu Camp and the museum and stadium tour. Then the bus back into Barce town for 2 hours and then watch the Magic Fountains. The bus dropped us back to the hotel at 1030pm. Worth every penny and the tour guides spoke very good English and were informative.
The train station is less than 5mins from the Hotel but we had heard that the pick pockets on the train and in Barce were rife so that's why we went for the Plana guided coach tour.
The weekends are very quiet and we were advised to do the Barce trip on the Saturday not Friday as the city is very busy Monday - Friday. The town of Salou was very quiet on Sunday and lots of the shops were closed as it's the end of the season.
If you were on an excursion and missed a meal you can swap your meal for another ie: we missed Dinner the day we went to Barce so had Lunch on our departure day instead.
Overall a lovely hotel which could do with a customer service course for the staff(or just take note off Trinny and the restaurant manager) and paint a smile on their faces. If wifi is free it should be for all paying guests and sort the air con out!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very clean and staff are very helpful, location a bit out but nice walk to beach. Little bars across the street is only 1.50 euro a pint which made my husbands very happy and my g&t put a smill on my face with just one glass. Plenty of parking spaces around the hotel but make sure you park on the white dotted lines lines and not the blue ones as you have to pay on these ones. Would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room lovely and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed 11/10/13 till14/10/13 for3 nights, hotel faultless in everyway clean,spotless,rooms superb .food plenty to choose from each night . Resturant staff really good and very nice manager. Really good stay at a really nice hotel .in a ideal location ,five minute walk to beech plenty shops near buy to look at .plus good bars oppersite hotel .especaily the lizarran tapas which serves very cheap beer . And staff are really friendly open till late .

Room Tip: Was on 2nd floor really nice overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent a week here at the end of September. It is very clean and tidy with good size rooms. It is however let down by some of the staff particularly in the dining room. The waiting staff snatch plates away almost before you are finished often reaching across others still eating to do so. They are also unfriendly. Reception staff whilst pleasant are painfully slow. The food is perfectly acceptable but not outstanding and I gather from family we were traveling with,who had stayed before, is not as good as it was. All in all reasonable value for money but it could be so much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvingtonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#58 of 95 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blaumar Hotel
Blaumar Hotel
#23 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#40 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Palace

Property: California Palace
Address: C/ Ciutat de Reus 7-9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — California Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your California Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Palace Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing