We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“functional”
Review of California Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
California Palace
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed July 9, 2013

this hotel would definitely warrant a 3 star but not a 4.....
we found the hotel to be very clean and we would describe it as spartan. If you are hungry or thirsty between 10.30pm ish and 8 am then you are somewhat stuffed........you need to go out...there are no 24 /7 tea or coffees available on site,no in room drink facilities, no vending machine as a last resort...I am not a hot drink merchant but the option would be good.
Meals were ....breakfast lovely and dinner...if you like salad you are sorted. Its pretty poor quality and don't put your knife and fork down at any time as your plate etc gets taken....its a fast turnaround. Gary the restaurant manager is by far the friendliest ,most knowledgeable and most approachable in the building.....reception staff.....except the young chap are rather rude and dismissive. No wifi unless you are part of a certain booking group other wise its 2 euro an hour...buy a weeks at 25 BUT you can only use it on one device.
TV we didn't watch any as on hols but you can get the news.
Waiter service at pool???? no but the bar staff are nice and good fun. you cant take your own crisps etc pool side nor from the restaurant as big notice says food must not leave the restaurant.The entertainments guy works his backside off.

its clean and functional and you get what you paid for and that's it. We are not disappointed as its functional and serves a purpose but wont be back.

Room Tip: we were third floor...try to get pool view as other side looks into peoples homes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 579 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just home after a week's half board stay. Plenty choice at meals and as majority
of guests are not British we have to expect their need to cater for other's tastes.
Room was cleaned on a daily basis as were the towels.
The staff were friendly, the entertainment was ok and drink prices were reasonable.
Sun beds could do with being replaced as many were pretty tacky.
Enjoyed my time at the hotel as it was never too crowded.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tommaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself and my fiancee stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal. It is situated within five minutes of various bars and restaurants and is no more than a ten minute walk from the sea front and marina. The centre of the action in Salou where the density of bars, cafes, etc is at its greatest is about 20 minutes walk away. It is also about a five minute walk from Salou station - perfect for a day trip to Barcelona.

Our room included a double bed, shower over bath, large safety deposit box and flat-screen TV (although the only English-speaking channels were news). The balcony was rather small. On discovering this we requested a room with a bigger balcony (there were plenty of these) however we were refused on the basis that the rooms were all supposedly already taken. It soon became apparent that the hotel wasn't at all full (the lack of beach towels drapped over many of the balconies told us that) so to be fobbed off about the balcony was irritating to say the least. Room service was provided daily, including fresh towels, although we did have to ask specifically for loo roll the one day.

We stayed on a half-board basis but didn't once have an evening meal at the hotel because eating out on an evening is a big part of the holiday for us. However, the hotel allowed us to swap evening meal for lunch, although as I wasn't bothered by lunch either the missus found herself dining alone for that! The breakfast was as good a buffet style as I've ever had in Spain. Hot food (sausages, spanish omlette, beans, black pudding, eggs, etc), cold meats, cheeses, breads, cereal, pastries, tea, juices were on offer, served 8am - 10.30am.

The pool area was spacious and clean. The pool itself was big, albeit a bit chilly when getting in for the first time, while there were plenty of sun loungers available. This area was never crowded although was busy.

One thing to beware of; the hotel's internet browsers were awful. Out of date Internet Explorer with even older plug-ins meant trying to use Facebook was an horrific experience. I reported this to reception who told me to use the place up the road!

Overall, we would go back to California Palace, but we can't help thinking some of their reception staff need to brush up on their customer service skills.

Room Tip: Our room was 433. It looked as though rooms x31, x32 and x33 (x = floor number) were the ones with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Garrick_Taurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel is in a nice quite area,but if you have walking problems forget it.It took us over 30 minutes to walk to the prom.
The hotel itself was very nice(room 332),overlooking the very cold pool,no complaints there.
Went on half board,breakfast was very nice,but the dinner was awful.After the second nights dinner,we used the lunch option available(food much better),and then had dinner out.
Pool towels available from reception,10 euro refundable deposit.
All staff were friendly and polite,and gary(who has been mentioned by other reviewers) was very informative and a really nice fellow.

Room Tip: you must have a pool view,all other rooms face apartments or other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evans333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

just returned from week at California palace.hotel itself is very clean,lovely pool but the loungers badly need renewing, the staff are very helpful but the food lets it down,did not expect chicken drummies and chicken nuggets and tasteless fish for the evening meal.transfers were a nightmare,booked with a to b hotel is one of the closest to the airport yet it took just over 1 hour to get there,on return we were picked up at 8 oclock for a 11.35 flight.journey to airport was about 20 mins,tried to phone a to b all day the day before our departure but not answering.everybody on bus was complaining.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Salou. We stayed here for a week 9th-16th June. we had a room overlooking the pool and is was cleaned every day and clean towels.Don't mind paying for safety deposit box but shouldn'y have to pay for the fridge. The food was very good and the restaurant manger Gary and his staff were excellant, nothing was a problem. The entertainment isn't great so we went out every night. It's a 10 min walk to beach. Overall the staff were all excellent and we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Again, not disappointed. Hotel is situated in the quiet part of Salou approx 7-10 minutes walk from the beach. Exceptionally friendly staff with Gary, the restaurant manager, having a fabulous knowledge of the area. Food is of good quality although basic, but something for everyone unless you are particularly fussy. Rooms are very clean and towels changed every day. Hotel entertainment is not good, so be prepared to find this elsewhere. I will return to the California Palace for a short break as it is a good, clean, modern hotel. It is 4* standard for Spain, ideal for couples but not young families if you are looking for on site entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaretwestern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.4 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#7 of 93 in Salou
875 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
1.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#63 of 93 in Salou
1,018 reviews
0 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#47 of 93 in Salou
1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Palace

Address: C/ Ciutat de Reus 7-9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $67 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — California Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your California Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Palace Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing