We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Port Salou
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveler rating
716
641
281
68
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
641
281
68
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardbar staffevery nighttea and coffee making facilitiespool arealovely hotelthe michael jackson tributesmall fridgeplenty of choiceplenty of sunbedswalk in showerevening entertainmentaqua gymbranded drinksthomson repsemailed the hotelanimation team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
695 - 700 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice hotel
went out of season and the weather was lovely.
We were half board so took food from the restaurant for lunch.. no one seems particularly bothered
Hotel was clean and the food was pretty good.. Prawns one night was fantastic!
take the train to Barcelona it isn't very expensive
Port Adventura isn't very far away. Find out if you can get 2for1 with chuppa lollies
You can buy a bus card that gives you so many trips, well worth it went to Tarragona and Cambrils

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Lauracov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

golden port salou was an excellent hotel the food was varied and plentiful with always a choice for children and adults. the pool area very busy also problems getting a lounger round the kiddies pool as towels on unoccupied ones for hours not good ,management should take action in removing them .all the staff were very helpful and friendly we were allocated aroom with no bath only shower we asked if possible to change rooms so we had a bath this was done straight away thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jakeysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed with my husband and 6 yr ild son for 11 nights. this hotel is definitely worth 4star. the food was good and plenty of it. they catered excellently for me as I am gluten intolerant. the tables were cleared a bit quick though.
bar services were brilliant. pool area was clean. location is perfect as there are 2 beaches within 10to20 mins either way.
we asked for poolview and we got it on 6th floor.
rooms were cleaned daily with clean towels.
I would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pinkgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a 10 days full board holiday. Check in went smoothly straight into room even though we arrived early.
Nice sized room with good size balcony over looking pool.
Maid service good and cleaned every day to a good Standard.
Restaurant fantastic food superb, the 2 gentlemen on the door in the restaurant laurel and hardy we called them very plesent.
Plenty of activities during the daytime for children And adults.
Have to say pool area not very clean!!!! !Crisp wrappers and water bottles on terrece beginning of holiday and still there when left.
Evening entertainment didn't watch much of as could never get a decent seat...entertainmment is inside which makes it feel like a haven\butlins holiday.
What let's this hotel down is the location really disappointed in salou. ..but all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I spent a week with my family at this hotel from 22-7 to 29-7 and we were genuinely disappointed. Upon approach to the hotel it looked reasonable. When we entered reception and went to the desk the tourist tax was demanded at 7 euros per person. The sign next to reception says 0.99 cents per night per adult. I pointed this out and they said it was incorrect so I just left it at that. Was given one room card and all inclusive wristbands were attached to us with a real attitude and no consideration for how tight they were attached. I had to say not too tight. After all I was to wear this for a week whilst there and did not want to be uncomfortable wearing it. The lift was generally clean but very small. However there were 3 lifts. When we got to the room it looked clean until I had a better look around. The balcony plastic table had cigarette stains on it and there was an ashtray provided. There were 2 seats provided that did not match and the walls on the balcony really could do with a lick of paint. The door to the balcony did not close properly at the bottom and there was at least a 6mm gap. We asked for a high floor facing the pool by email and received no response. The room we were given was a high floor room (619) however was facing the other way. The receptionist knew nothing of my request which annoyed me when I questioned this. I had a look around the room and the bathroom and a nice skidmark down the pan of the toilet was welcoming me when I looked. The seat had been wiped as it was obvious. But not a nice welcome. There were soap shower gels and shampoo, a packet of tissues and a comb provided however once used these were not replenished. The bathroom had a shower which had the hot and hold fitted the wrong way round so if you do stay here switch the shower to feet so that you do not get burnt until you check whether hot is hot and cold is cold as there are 4 different options to choose from when using the shower. There was a hairdryer provided however it looked very old and had obviously not been replaced when the bathroom was refurbished as it was yellow. The bedroom itself had a fridge and air conditioning. There was a TV but all of the channels were Spanish. I have a 2 year old that likes to look at herself in the mirror and wave and it was nice as there was a full length mirror attached to the wall. However I was surprised when she lifted the bottom part of the mirror find out that it was only fixed together with two screws so if you have a small child beware as the was not tempered and when she lifted the bottom of the mirror you could see the screws that held the mirror coming out of the wall. So for safety I had to put our cases in front of it. The towels were rough as hell and were fraying at the edges and were grey not white as they may once have been. One pillow per bed and loads of dust under the beds when I fetched a teddy that my daughter lost under there and rusty bed frames too. Mattress protectors were on the beds along with a fitted sheet and one top sheet with a cover on top that matched the room. The bar service was good if you were paying cash and leaving tips however as soon as the bar staff saw your wristband in my opinion the service became second class and they talked about customers in Spanish which I understood clearly as I studied basic Spanish at school. I had a member of staff at the bar comment about me by saying "that's his second one so far" and I also heard the staff talking about another customers big breasts. I found the staff rude and arrogant. If I ordered food from the snack menu at the bar I was asked to return to the bar to fetch my food in 5 minutes. However I saw other customers that were paying cash have their order taken at their table and the food brought over so that the customers would tip them. Not all of the drinks were included which was disappointing as we paid extra to upgrade to all inclusive for example a pint of Strongbow was 1 euro extra. A drink was not as it seemed as the drinks were served in smaller plastic glasses than stated on the drinks menu. For example a 400ml plastic glass was given instead of a 500ml one in the day and at night the proper glasses of the correct size came out. The pool had it's usual issues with reserving sunbeds however did have a covered seating area and some tables and few parasols available. The main pool was shady because of all of the trees and if you went in the morning it was much cleaner than in the afternoon because of all of the leaves. The tiles in the pool were dirty and the covers on the pools drainage system were dirty. I did not see anyone testing the pools ph levels during my visit whilst I was at the pool. The pool was "pins bar was good as it meant that you got a different person when you when up than the inside bar. However I noticed that the chips cooked in there were left out on the side all day. So my guess is perhaps the remaining ones got re-freezed. So this put me off and I ordered snack food from the main bar during the set times on the picture attached to my review. The set times annoyed me as this hotel is not offering a proper all inclusive deal as you can only order snack food during off peak times. The restaurant was dull, with chairs squeezed together and we were not always offered drinks without tracking down the server. Not enough staff in my opinions and poor procedures in place for "topping up" food. I saw staff simply pouring new food on top of old. Resulting in crispy and dry chips if you had an unfortunate lucky dip. The food was the same every night with no theme nights and the staff were pouncing on empty plates as soon as you left the table or even whilst others were eating which I found to be very rude as they did not even ask if you finished. They also took your cutlery so you had to go and fetch more from across the restaurant. You would be lucky if you found someone to order a second drink from lunchtime was the same. Breakfast was ok, however the same everyday. I found the lady making the omelettes to be very grumpy opposed to the man which made them as they seemed to alternate every other day. The man that made them to order asked what you wanted and made them for you whilst the lady made them and left them in hot plate next to the preparation area to help yourself with no description of what was in them meaning a "lucky dip" on the omelettes when she made them. She just walked off and did not return once she had filled the hot plate. There were booster seats and high chairs in the restaurant which you had to fetch yourself. Which I did not find helpful as even down our local pub or even a harvester restaurant they bring one to you. On checking out of the hotel I went to the desk and said I wanted to check out, I was asked me room number it was written down on a bit of paper and the member of staff just said " ok" to me. No thank you or anything else and that was it. I would not return to this hotel again. Ever

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathoncreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews