We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Golden Port Salou
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“better weather”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

spent another week here this time the weather was fine,the foods still better than the taurus park but the entertainment isn,t the bar staff arn,t very friendly,but the rest of the staff are,nothing much has changed since last year,the Tomson staff are useless unless your face fits, about as much use as a chocolate fireguard.no one on the coach no one to meet us at the airport,no one interested in our questions.Every night we had a cricket out side our room VERY noisey

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    575
    248
    60
    30
See reviews for
797
498
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel staff are all really friendly and nothing too much trouble except for one barman who was a bit grumpy. We had a room on the 7th floor as people have said good large balcony but a bit cramped for 3 people and needs redecoration and balcony rail loose.. Housekeeping staff very good room kept nice and clean and beds / towels changed but the towels were like sandpaper.. The food was excellent for breakfast must say but dinner was a bit repetitive and the once we had lunch in the bar it was not very good. Used both the indoor and outdoor pools which were ok although indoor one pretty small and no pool towels to hire which every other 4 star hotel I have been to has.. Overall i think the hotel is more a 3 or 3+ not a 4 star. Although shops buses beach etc near by didn't like the area much and probably would not return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NamelessEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Returned from an enjoyable week at this hotel. I had read a few reviews before going but decided to make up my own mind The rooms were clean and tidy only draw back was it was supposed to be a twin, but it had a double bed and bunk beds so we managed. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a couple of minor repairs during our stay. These were reported at reception on our way out for the day, and fixed when we returned. The breakfast choice was brilliant and plentiful and the evening meals were exceptional the presentation and choices were varied and enjoyable. Easy access to the shops, bus stops, and beach.
The towels were spotless and changed daily, The sheets were changed mid week.
We took advantage of some spa treatments and were not disappointed. The prices were competitive and value for money. The spa was also spotless and the pool warm with a Jacuzzi and showers.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony with table and chairs and driers. Floor 7 [top floor] has the added attract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

my wife and I stayed here from 12/10/13 for 1 week and what a great time we had. The hotel was spotless from the reception area the bar pool and bedrooms. All the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful and hardworking but they always had time for you. The breakfasts where good but the evening meal was something else it was the best food I have had at a hotel for a good while home or abroad. Salou it self was lovely and clean with a beautiful beach and loads of bars and places to eat but we did not eat out because the food at hotel was so good. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve h m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice before and the hotel is still as wonderful as ever I really can't fault it the staff are helpful and very polite also there is a fantastic choice of food, with evening entertainment every night also they good entertainment for the younger children first class hotel. X X X

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Really impressed with the resort which was perfect for us at this time of the year. Our hotel, which was very well run, was in a good location, a short level walk to sea front but also near to Cap Salou and it's related beaches. The room was ready on arrival with speedy check-in procedure. Although small rooms were adequate with comfy beds and bed settee which provided a good option for seating. TV was a let down with VERY limited and poor quality English channels but fortunately the weather was fabulous so we didn't need it! Despite kettle in room maids did not seem to be tasked with replenishment of stocks or washing cups. Indeed maid service was probably the biggest let down. Despite gels/soaps/bath cap no longer in usable condition they were not replaced automatically.
Food was very good with loads of choice, lots of fresh fruit etc.
As for the area we had never been before and feel we have missed out on a bit of a gem. The beaches were almost deserted and the sand amazing. Local bus card made trips to Tarragona Cambrills and Reus very easy and all three locations had a lot to offer for a day trip. We would readily go back to the area and would be happy to stay at the same hotel. Thanks to staff.

Room Tip: Higher floor slightly better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If I had been writing this review after the first two days of my holiday it would not have been a very positive one mainly because of the slightly chaotic feeling at meal time and the thoughtless inconsiderate action of some fellow guests. But if you hang in there I'm sure you like me will enjoy your stay. Two things that I think would help to alleviate these initial problems would be to have an extra food station at the evening buffet meal and to switch off the relay of the TV into the bedrooms between midnight and 7am. That said all the staff were polite and cheerful, our room which was big (one king size bed and one queen) was cleaned every day, the maid also left fresh towels each day in the bathroom which has a good power shower with ample hot water. There was a good size TV which to my surprise had Itv, Channel 4 and Sky Sports along with the usual local airings. Another bonus was the tea/coffee making facilities, so if you have a favourite brew take some with you and make use of the kettle, although the sachets of coffee were fine for me. Both breakfast and evening meals were of excellent quality with a extensive choice which should enable most people find something they like. Being of a certain age my wife and I were not drawn to the entertainment but lots of the younger guests seemed to enjoy what was offered, we did however take advantage of the 'happy hour' each evening although even without this the drinks are a reasonable price. It's a shame that the free Wi-Fi available in the reception area is not accessible throughout the hotel but there are plenty of seat there for people to catch-up on their emails.
The area the hotel is set in isn't anything to write home about but it is close to most things including bus service up and down the coast. All in all it was a good value break in a four star hotel, it is a little tiered looking in some places but after what must have been a very busy season with thousands of people passing through he doors I can forgive that and would defiantly consider going again next year.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Port Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Port Salou

Property: Hotel Golden Port Salou
Address: Pompeu Fabra 32, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#6 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Port Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden Port Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Port Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing