We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden Port Salou
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Really impressed with the resort which was perfect for us at this time of the year. Our hotel, which was very well run, was in a good location, a short level walk to sea front but also near to Cap Salou and it's related beaches. The room was ready on arrival with speedy check-in procedure. Although small rooms were adequate with comfy beds and bed settee which provided a good option for seating. TV was a let down with VERY limited and poor quality English channels but fortunately the weather was fabulous so we didn't need it! Despite kettle in room maids did not seem to be tasked with replenishment of stocks or washing cups. Indeed maid service was probably the biggest let down. Despite gels/soaps/bath cap no longer in usable condition they were not replaced automatically.
Food was very good with loads of choice, lots of fresh fruit etc.
As for the area we had never been before and feel we have missed out on a bit of a gem. The beaches were almost deserted and the sand amazing. Local bus card made trips to Tarragona Cambrills and Reus very easy and all three locations had a lot to offer for a day trip. We would readily go back to the area and would be happy to stay at the same hotel. Thanks to staff.

Room Tip: Higher floor slightly better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    561
    243
    60
    30
See reviews for
786
482
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

If I had been writing this review after the first two days of my holiday it would not have been a very positive one mainly because of the slightly chaotic feeling at meal time and the thoughtless inconsiderate action of some fellow guests. But if you hang in there I'm sure you like me will enjoy your stay. Two things that I think would help to alleviate these initial problems would be to have an extra food station at the evening buffet meal and to switch off the relay of the TV into the bedrooms between midnight and 7am. That said all the staff were polite and cheerful, our room which was big (one king size bed and one queen) was cleaned every day, the maid also left fresh towels each day in the bathroom which has a good power shower with ample hot water. There was a good size TV which to my surprise had Itv, Channel 4 and Sky Sports along with the usual local airings. Another bonus was the tea/coffee making facilities, so if you have a favourite brew take some with you and make use of the kettle, although the sachets of coffee were fine for me. Both breakfast and evening meals were of excellent quality with a extensive choice which should enable most people find something they like. Being of a certain age my wife and I were not drawn to the entertainment but lots of the younger guests seemed to enjoy what was offered, we did however take advantage of the 'happy hour' each evening although even without this the drinks are a reasonable price. It's a shame that the free Wi-Fi available in the reception area is not accessible throughout the hotel but there are plenty of seat there for people to catch-up on their emails.
The area the hotel is set in isn't anything to write home about but it is close to most things including bus service up and down the coast. All in all it was a good value break in a four star hotel, it is a little tiered looking in some places but after what must have been a very busy season with thousands of people passing through he doors I can forgive that and would defiantly consider going again next year.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The title speaks for itself as we were so comfortable first time. Once again, the welcome was warm and friendly. We sent an e-mail ahead about the room and again we were given what we asked for. If you want a balcony that gets plenty of sun, ask for one on the 7th floor and you get 2 sunbeds as well as table and chairs. These balconies are twice the size of the others so plenty of room. The head waiter recognised us from last year which was remarkable as they must see thousands of people. Food was varied, well-cooked and plentiful. One small point was that the bathroom had no plug in the washbasin which wasn't a problem as we always pack one just in case!!! It was nice to have a hospitality tray in the room, but could have done with more coffees as we don't drink tea, but again not an issue as we always take our own. Having said about these points, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay so thanks to everyone.

Room Tip: E-mail before you go and state your requirement and they will do their best to comply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here 11.10.13. Booked through Thomson, very impressed how they made the whole travel experience so easy, would definitely used Thomson again. The hotel was quite busy, lots of children. All staff were friendly, especially the restaurant staff they were fantastic. Food was ok, but repetitive, also just luke warm. Best to have Omelette freshly cooked, or meat carved for you. Room needs to be updated, cleaned daily, but floors need to be swept daily to get rid of dust, also went to the beach daily and hard not to bring some sand back on shoes, towels etc, but the sand was still on the floor when we left. Pool was good, lots of sun loungers, so annoying that people still put a towel on the lounger to save them, watched a group of 4 people daily put 4 towels on a lounger where the sun would be after 2pm, then go to the other side of the pool for the morning sun and have 4 more loungers for the morning sun. Hence the reason we went to the beach each day. The nearest beach was fantastic, the rep told us about it and said it has lots of steps to go down, which is not ideal for mum's with pushchairs. It was so quite and peaceful. The shops nearby were good. I would not rate the hotel 4 star, more like 3 star,

Room Tip: choose a room high up pool side, if you get a room on the 7th floor directly overlooking the pool yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is mainly for family's with good disabled access the staff are friendly and accommodating and the food is excellent, rooms are in good order if a bit dated but no complaints on hygiene, rooms are cleaned daily, good pool area with games during the day and family entertainment of an evening, the hotel is in a good location for shops and beach which are about a ten minute walk away, salou is a great resort for anyone, would go back again and to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend going all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend in October, booked through Thomson and they made the whole process very easy. Asked for a pool veiw room beforehand which we got with a good size balcony as well. Reception staff were a little bit brisk but very helpful all the same. Room extremely clean with clean towels every day and the cleaner even found an earring I had lost the night before down the back of the desk. There is a large out door pool as well as an indoor pool wirh some decent spa facilities.
Resturant staff (especially Antonio and Javier) were excellent and gave you a warm greeting when you arrived for meals service was very prompt and always polite. Food was ok but there was very little labelling so you had to figure out what things were for yourself. Also if you are veggie like me it can get a little repetitive, we thought breakfast was better than dinner to be honest.
Salou is a brilliant resort near lots of other places wih good transport links. Very close to the city of Tarragonna which is a lovely city with lots of roman ruins. All of Salou is very clean too and we found everyone to be very friendly.
We would definitely use thia hotel again if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1272011s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have just come back from this hotel 11-10-2013 and I found out that if you book a pool view you will not get it you must be Spainish German or Russian to get these rooms or a jr. suite which we are not told about when us in England book our holiday -- the maid service just the same and also have Russian Maid so we do not stand have much say --- The room we get is very small and looks out over a very busy main road and very nosey at night I asked if we could be moved and was told NO HOTEL FULL. The spar well you pay 6 euros for one hour and a half also the Gym which nearly all of the machine are broken. Food is good but you must keep your mouth shut or the other guests get the hump

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#20 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Port Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Port Salou

Property: Hotel Golden Port Salou
Address: Pompeu Fabra 32, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#6 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Port Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Golden Port Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Port Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing