We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden Port Salou
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent a week at Golden Port salou 25th may - 1st June, whilst the hotel is clean and tidy with good quality food, it comes as a bit of a surprise that this accommodation, classed as basic by many writers, is afforded the accolade of 4 stars.
The rooms are tidy with no frills, the hotel facilities - Spa, kids club, pools are fine with plenty of sunbeds etc. The restaurant is well run with quality food, however this food was barely warm very rarely hot, hence the fact that there was 2 microwaves in the restaurant
Don't be put off by this hotel, it's not bad, it just needs a bit of a facelift to justify its star rating.

Room Tip: ask in advance for an upper floor room facing the pool. Rear facing rooms overlook the road, no real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edwardbarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    560
    243
    60
    30
See reviews for
785
482
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just come back from our honeymoon in Salou, a weeks all inclusive was booked for us as a wedding gift. First of all the rooms, we found them to be very clean, yes a bit dated but nothing to ruin our holiday about. For me, as long as my room is clean then i am happy. The service, staff are very polite and helpful, especially the restaurant staff, very welcoming and happy! The food, good variety of hot/cold food and also good choice of bar snacks if you fancy missing lunch and eating by the pool with a sangria like we did! Entertainment, very much focussed on kids. The adult entertainment started at10pm each night, quite often we got bored of waiting and just went somewhere else for the evening. However the hotel entertainers do a wonderful job, all credit to them. Location, quiet enough but 5-7 min walk from some bars, shops and restaurants so best of both worlds! Overall, we had a lovely stay in the hotel and we werent overlly dissappointed with anything. The hotel is more aimed at children so we would not go back as a couple but we wouls return with our little one :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimmianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

2 adults and a child aged 2 food was superb spoiled for choice it was that good I had two meals deserts excellent to entertainment for children could be a bit better just half a hour for the mini disco then its a show for everybody like Spanish dancing tribute of different pop stars and so on rooms are basic but clean maids change towels everyday if you want the best room in the hotel ask for room 707 high floor excellent view sun trap and you have 2 beds on balcony and enjoy the sun a we tip if you have children if you want more entertainment for the kids go next door to the hotel 1 minute walk outside hotel and turn left hotel called golden avenare something like its owned buy the same hotel as the golden port but it has thomsons reps and more of a family hotel for the kids you can use the swimming gym and any other facilities location 10 min walk to the beech and its a lovely walk best pub in salou is chaplins 2 mins from burger king if you want to go for lunch try uncle sams would I go to this hotel again yes thinking about booking for next year.

Room Tip: room 707 high floor excellent view and also pool view with beds on balcony and its a sun trap
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eddie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

just back from the golden port salou, food at the hotel was to a very good standard they had something for all tastes.
the rooms were clean and tidy, towels changed several times a week.
the hotel has 1 large pool with the kid pool at the end, it has a pool to the side of the hotel mainly adults used this and the indoor pool all the areas were kept spotlessly clean.
no problems with sunbeds but maybe a bit harder to get your sunbed in the summer, the pool to the side has a good area for sunbathing and over the indoor pool was a sun trap in the little sun terrace. staff were really friend and helpfull.
lots of russians at the hotel and they alway want to be first to get served.
hotel location states approximately 800 mtrs to portaventura try 2.4 kilometers this would be more accurate.
now for the BUT!!
entretainment team were, "what can I say about them I know CRAP" they don't seem to want to give you the time of day, the call for pool games but don't interact with the holiday makers at the hotel, they do their games and then disapear, at night they do games for the kids for an hour play bingo for an hour (you could win a plastic bag) the only good part is at 10 o'clock when entertainers for ouitside come in for an hour, that your lot folks.
my tip if you booked through thomsons you can use the facilities at the hotel just 50mtrs down the road the pool has quite a few slides and the entertainers are far better, thomson rep. told us we could use the hotel with all the facilities apart from eating in the hotel. (hotel Golden avenida)

Room Tip: if you want a pool view e-mail the hotel about a month before and ask them for a pool view you may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

i have just returned from my stay at this hotel and thought it was GREAT! took my four year old with me and she loved the outdoor pool and the evening entertainment the staff were great with her and us sevice was fab people were lovely will be going here again :)

Room Tip: pool view are better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from staying here all inclusive. Clean hotel with a good selection of really nice food. There were a decent selection of drinks available in the all inclusive menu. The staff were friendly. The entertainment were good if you had kids, but some of the adult evening entertainment weren't great. Overall a lovely hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

out for first week in may, emailed hotel prior to departure to request low floor in quiet spot due to 4 yr old and got !st floor. Food is the main thing for us and we were not dissapointed. Omlettes cooked to order for breakfast, egg boiler to time your own soft boiled eggs and everything else inbetween. obviously bacon is spanish not danish so not good for us. evening dinner had lots of choice steaks,stews, a joint of meat being carved and all the usual salad, pasta corner and desserts. on gala night king prawns , mussels and a huge joint of ham. also daily for kids fish finger or chicken nuggets, nice fries and alway burgers and hotdogs being cooked on griddle. we were very satisafied, much betterfor food than the 3* golden donaire at la pineda which we still liked last year but food is better here. A bit of a walk from centre but not out of way, lovely beach dotted with free area for the kids to play with climbing frames and slide you can walk along and come to about 5 different spots, 10 mins on each and their happy. Probably 60% of guests are not british but we like this, went out to put towls on bed sat 09.30 and we were always the first. Nice bar called chaplins in town which had a room for kids with a girl doing crafts with kids while a singer was on and had visits from peppa pig, spongebob and someone different each night for kids hour before main act. all in all a really nice hotel, bonus of fride and kettle in room and a great relaxing break

Room Tip: take your own english tea bags( on all holidays abroad)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#20 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Port Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Port Salou

Property: Hotel Golden Port Salou
Address: Pompeu Fabra 32, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#6 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Port Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Golden Port Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Port Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing