We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Caribe
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself, my boyfriend and my brother (all in our late 20's) stayed at the Hotel Caribe from June 21st-June 24th. It was 28 euros in a taxi from Reus airport which only took about 10 minutes. We arrived at the hotel at about 5pm and checked in straight away with great service. Our room was in the 'Aruba' section. The main part of the hotel was nice including the reception area, the bar and outside areas. The thing which let the hotel down for us was the room which we found to be extremely basic and nowhere near the 4* rating it is given. Granted we didn't spend much time in it and was at PortAventura Park or Waterpark most of the time. However I feel for the price we paid the standards just didn't weigh up. I would recommend paying a bit more and staying at one of their other hotels.

Room Tip: Book at another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Har85em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    849
    518
    209
    155
See reviews for
1,385
485
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauchline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

we took our 4 years son here in late may time, the check in took over 30 minutes and we were the only people checking in. The staff were very friendly, breakfast was good dinner was very poor. The hotel is also situated closed to the main railway line to baracalona and was very noisy, the hotel area was clean. and like othres we went to this hotel as it states day and eveing enternainment no day time enternaiment and all at night was in spannish. we also had to remove our son from gthe sand pool due to sand worms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Caribe from 4 June to 11 June 2013. I had read the reviews on trip advisor beforehand but my experience was a great one. It was our first family holiday away our little girl is 3. When we arrived there was no queues and were checked in straightaway (this was about 2.30pm), our hotel room was fantastic with a view of the sandy pool and not to mention the singing rocks which I thought was a lovely touch. the food buffet was great with loads of choices and my daughter was able to try a bit of everything. the theme park which was included in our holiday package was great for her although there are height restrictions on most rides and she was limited to just a few but the characters which you bump into all around the park more than made up for it my daughter just loved it and there is a train that takes you straight from the hotel to the theme park every 10 or so mins. We loved it and the staff were fantastic definately will be back and such a great experience for our first holiday abroad as a family!!!! AMAZING

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks fantastic stay at the hotel caribe. We have 3 children aged 2,8&11 and previously have gone with a Thomson kids club but due to their ages the older 2 feel they have out grown them. From the minute you arrive you get the wow factor. It's only a 10 min transfer time from airport. You are taken to your accommodation on golf buggys and this is the only hotel I have EVER been to that when they say they don't want sunbeds reserving with towels they mean it!! Even at 2 in the afternoon there were sunbeds available. The pool is fantastic and the lovely reggae music that plays throughout the day means you can just float away and imagine you were in Aruba! The song kokoma by the beach boys springs to mind. The food is great. They serve English sausages and on an evening you can either choose to eat in the hotel or try an a la carte menu at PORTAVENTURA we did both and going that swapping our vouchers to eat at the iron horse meant we got drinks and desserts so was fantastic value for money.
Rooms. Very comfortable king sized bed. Air con and mini fridge. Bathroom a little dated however they are all in process of being done up.
Access and free train to PORTAVENTURA is great we went up there every day and still didn't get to do everything we wanted. The sesame parade with the fireworks each evening is a must.
Would I stay here again. DEFINATELY. I'm already pricing up next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morganb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Caribe from 7th June for one week, two adults and two children aged 2 1/2 and 5 years old. We arrived at 11.30am and checked in to the hotel but were not given a room number (you have to go back at 3pm). Reception staff were very helpful and gave us our passes to the park straight away, map of the hotel and the park. We left our luggage with the porters and was delivered to our room. The rooms are absolutely lovely and there was a king size bed and a double sofa bed in the room. Rooms are cleaned daily and cannot fault the housekeeping staff, beds made, new towels, floors cleaned etc daily. The hotel and grounds are stunning just looks like being in a carribean island somewhere!! The restaurant at breakfast and evening meal well what can I say, if you couldn't find anything to eat here then you must be an extremely fussy eater, everything you can think of and more. Not one complaint about the food on our part and was plenty of choice of food for the kids as well. There is also a gym and indoor indoor at the Caribe which we never used. The wee train runs to Portaventura regularly but the park can be easily reached by foot in about 10 minutes. The train can be busy so watch out!! My only downside of the hotel is the lack of evening entertainment for adults there is some for the children but could do with an entertainments co-ordinator there. The Woody and Winnie charachters are there daily and one took time to spend with my wee girl as she was very upset staying with her for sometime which was much appreciated by us. The passes to the park are unlimited so you can come and go as you please as it took us around three hours just to walk round one day. Its only a ten minute walk into Salou with plenty of shops and bars there if you dont want to have a meal in the hotel (lunch can be on the expensive side with not much choice) Overall we absolutely loved the Hotel Caribe and would return here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week as a couple. Stayed in the Dominica area, really nice rooms, very clean and always tidy. Towels were replenished daily and beds were always made as soon as we left the room. Food was really nice, something for everyone this coming from someone who is very fussy. The only thing that spoiled the experience was that there was no adult entertainment in the hotel so the nights were quite boring as there was nothing to do, and the fact that we were not able to visit family in the el paso hotel as it is all inclusive was really disappointing. Just thought you would be able to visit if they gave you a different colour wristband to distinguish that you are not all inclusive. but overall very good holiday and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shauna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for 1 week with my husband and 2 year old daughter. We arrived just before 3 pm and were given our room after a long wait in reception. The staff in reception seem to go at one speed...slow. We asked for a cot for our daughter and were told they would send one to the room however no cot appeared. The sofa bed was already made up so we decided this would be ok for her and as we'd seen a cot lying outside in the stairwell in a bit of a state decided not to chase it up. The room appeared to be quite clean but over the course of the week the standards went completely downhill. The floor didn't get swept, the towel replacements were inconsistent, sometimes 3 towels, sometimes 2 and as for a bath mat, don't hold your breath.
The public areas and hallways seemed to get filthier too. I don't know, maybe the staff were a bit pushed for time but surely these simple issues should be sorted on a daily basis.
The food was ok, there was always something to have. Ok, it's not gourmet but it was fine and I'm quite fussy. We also thought the price of wine was quite reasonable for a hotel.
There was a lot of school kids, some better behaved than others. You would think they could be catered for in a different dining room to other guests as they really do take over.
The train service to the park is good as long as you're not going on the first or last train, and if there's a school group waiting to get on, you can forget it! It's only a 5 minute walk so we did that most days. The park is good, though not many rides for a 2 year old. She loved it anyway!
Salou is only a 10 minute walk away and there's a few decent bars and restaurants on the way to the beach. If you go to the beach it's very crowded, best bet is to head to the right past the marina where it's quieter with mostly local families.
In all I would say this hotel is more of a 3 star. If you're used to staying in proper 4 star hotels you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to avoid the noise of people walking about on the tiled floors disturbing y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.9 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
0.8 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Caribe

Property: PortAventura Hotel Caribe
Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, come to an oasis of peace where you do not have to lift a finger for yourself, providing you with the opportunity to recover some of the adrenaline expended in PortAventura Park. Enjoy the serenity, white sands and freshwater of one of Europe's largest man-made beaches, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens that will transport you to a faraway tropical island. Become acquainted with this magnificent 4-star resort, a perfect combination of fun, sun, beach and tranquillity at the heart of the Costa Dorada. Complete the experience with an ample choice of gastronomic delights, unlimited access to the PortAventura theme park with admission included throughout your stay, and an extensive programme of sporting activities with special offers and rates available at associated golf courses. Visit the Wellness Centre & Spa, where you will be looked after and spoiled, making your holiday the ideal opportunity to restore energy and vitality. So what are you waiting for? Grab your sun lounger and dedicate your holidays to peaceful relaxation and enjoyment. Let yourself drift away and take it easy, with direct access to one of the best theme parks in Europe. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribe Resort
Caribe Hotel Salou
Hotel Caribe Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing