We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mixed aged lads october fest”
Review of Santa Monica Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Monica Playa
Ranked #58 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mixed aged lads october fest”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

ended up in the santa monica after our other hotel was shut down !we got lucky !we were all inclusive and with the hotel sparce we recieved good hospitality from all the staff !WE WERE VARYING IN AGES FROM 18 -59 AND ALL ENJOYED OUR STAY . location great for beach (bit hilly) and strip of bars n shops !we did have one problem when a young chivs lost his passport 2mins after checking in and going to his second floor room !passport never turned up and a trip to barcelona was required to embassy !dont no if chivs be safe to travel again !

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plumbernat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    95
    100
    51
    46
See reviews for
110
124
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

stayed here for 1 week in october 2010 with family and teenagers, close to beach and town centre, very rowdy pub/club across road open till early hours, nice pool and clean hotel, food not too bad but some not hot enough, breakfast awful, staff have no understanding of english. definitely 3 star. salou got lovely beaches and hot enough for this time of year. not enough family entertainment (tribute acts etc) for me in salou, benidorm best for night life, but tons of irish bars. aquapolis water park good plus get free dolphin and sealion show in as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tguk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2010

i stayed at the santa monica for 3 nights the hotel is nice but the food was poor when i last stayed there 2 years ago the food was very good. it seems to have gone down hill now.I used my credit card to pay the bill as i arrived late at night and was greated by the night porter it was 5am when i booked in. my bank phoned me 2 days later to say they had put a stop on my card as it was being used fraudulently i only used at the santa monica so i finished up at the police station. I reported it to the manageress who called the police for me she was very helpful. My credit card was being used by 8.30am the same day 3 hours after i arrived. so please be warned

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickrollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wirral
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a week Full board and returned yesterday. The hotel was very clean (Room serviced and towels changed daily) The rooms all had air conditioning and modern bathrooms with decent shower over bath. We had a travel cot in our room (Cheaper to pay extra baggage on flight for our own £10 each way than renting one 6Euro per night) Location was fab, lively and busy plus close to everything but at night, when you close you balcony door, no noise can be heard. Our Room was facing Kiss nightclub which made for great entertainment to watch all the revellers and the nutty Spanish drivers!! (we had our 1yr old so no partying after 10pm for us) If you come out of the hotel, tun left and walk to the bottom of that road past the Irish bars and turn left again, next door to Uncle Sams is a place called Olivers. They have all imported Engish food, which was a godsend when our son refused to eat the Spanish food. Hotel food was nice, always hot and plenty of choice (as long as youre happy to have it with chips!) Chicked, steak, pork chops, sausages etc. Lots of lovely little cakes for lunch and evening meal, jellies, ice cream. Breakfast had toast, beans, streaky bacon, salty scrambled egg and boiled egg along with european pastries, cold meats and cheese. Also lovely coffee and fruit juice. We ate in the hotel mostly, otherwise we went to Olivrs and always had a lovely meal and friendly service from the English staff - they also do full irish & scottish breafasts for less than 5Euro.
Staff at the Santa Monica Play were friendly and helpful, but dont speak much English (except Reception who were all fluent) the Cleaners always made time for our son and asked how he was. There is a childrens miniclub but he was too young for that and the pool was really clean, well managed by the lifeguard who made sure the children were playing safely. Planty of sunbeds and lots of sun all day with a few trees and umbrellas if you're after some shade. I have to say that we only encountered two other British families satying a this hotel, everyone is predomanently Spanish with a fair few Germans and some French, having said that we never felt isolated and everyone smiled and was polite, some made a point of talking in broken English to us - we were made to feel really welcome and have absolutely no complaints.
I can see that this hotel will appeal to all kinds of holidaymakers, young couples, older couples, families and groups of friends. The hotel is well managed so there is no rowdiness, and the location is perfect for the beach - 5mins walk away, pubs and clubs - on the same street, supermarkets very close by - the ones further in town are much cheaper though. I would definitely go back and next time visit Port Aventura which we passed on route to the airport (25mins away) - Feel free to ask if you have any questions, and most of all you will enjoy your holiday here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiffabiffGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Having arrived very late to our hotel we were ken to check in and drop off out bags so we could find somehwere to eat - however, the hotel didn't know we were coming as the people we booked it with (we booked Jan 2010) hadn't told the hotel. The staff were ok about this, it was all sorted out the following day!

Lovely pool area and the pool was great, nice and big, lots of room. There is no outside bar area - you have to go inside - not the end of the world! Music being played out loud is sometimes a little too loud. First day at the pool was great - not many people, plenty of subeds! By the weekend, it was a struggle to get a sunbed - you have to be down at the pool at 10am if you want one.

The room as fine for us, the light in the room didn't work - that was fixed the day we told them, the shower was very strange - freezing one minute, the boiling the next! The room was changed every day with new towels. Balcony was fine - two chairs and a table. Bed was comfy enough.

The only bad thing about the hotel was the food - the spanish seemed to enjoy it but it wasnt good. Very dull and plain - no taste - the best thing was the food the chef was cooking there and then! Had half board - only had a few breakfast and had dinner every night apart from the last evening!

Hotel ok for a three stay - probably wouldn't stay there as we would want to try another hotel, this is a very spanish hotel - only a couple of other english families within the hotel. Over all, a enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsbelz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kondrovo, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Visited the Spain rally 2009 and stayed there. 3 star hotel, 3 star standart everywhere. Nice restorant and nice kitchen every day. Stayed for 3 nights. There is a shop with fine wine outside. To the beach about 5 minuites and down the rock. Very bad parking area..
One time at the evening used the swimming pool to know is it good or not. For me not good. So the hotel is only to spend the night hours. I was for that reason and that is why for the price also it is 4 points from 5/

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timurhan099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nationwide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Right, was here for a week with a friend for a holiday. Overall, wouldn't go back to Salou. Very expensive-found everything the same if not more expensive than Ireland. The hotel staff are very friendly, room is basic. Shower in bathroom was scalding 1 second then ice cold the next, was always an adventure having a shower! Room was serviced every day, wardrobe, 2beds, 2 lockers, safe and balcony overlooking pool with table & 2 chairs. The air con worked brilliantly as it got very stuffy! There is no kitchenette in the apt like what we were used to, now we never normally cook, but would have been nice to have fridge to keep drinks cold etc. If you walk out the hotel front door, turn right then straight down to very bottom of hill you are at Kiss. You really couldn't ask for better location. If you are walking to restaurants and bars at the sea front, come out of hotel, turn right and walk to your right, you will pass the back of the las vegas hotel, cross the road and walk down the steps and you're at the beach.

We were so disappointed by salou, mostly due to costs, we hadn't anticipated it. A little local knowledge goes a long way, by the end of the week we had figured out how to do it on the cheap! There is an irish bar called danny boys around the main strip, they do 5euro special dinners and 10 euro specials at night. Menu there is varied and was popular with others in our group. We tried out different restaurants most nights.
Uncle Sams - out of hotel, turn left , left again and its on your left. Steaks & ribs looked good, we had burgers and they really filled a hole. Watch out if ordering pints of coke! you will pay anything from 3euro - 6euro! thats most places!
Along the sea front - went to la berca ( i think) 1 night meal was good, another meal was tres bad! Garlic bread is amazing here, but the 2nd night, 30 went for dinner, 20 left hungry and unhappy - catterpillar in a salad, steaks tough and not cooked properly - staff have very little english aside from the pr outside.
There is a place beside this called la sel - funky cocktail bar/restaurant, sit here and watch the sunset. At night it gets busy enough, cocktails are made - its a show in itself, lights, barmen doing fancy cocktail making tricks - defo worth a look!
If you like steaks & especially ribs - you gotta check out el toro , a little bit more expensive, but nothing excessive - well worth the money, its up a flight of steps so tricky if you have a push chair and would not be wheelchair friendly!
We got a taxi from reus airport to the hotel, it cost 29 coming in and 26 going back.
Friends of ours stayed in a lovely hotel near the church in the town, small but they have a lovely pool area and cocktails were the best we had while there. Will add the name when i think of it. The hotel cost 254 for 1 week room only, which is perfect, didn't eat in hotel as reviews here put us off.
Handy machine in hotel to weigh baggage - saves paying ryanair extra!!!
Drinks on a night out were expensive, on average is was 6euro for a single vodka with coke - pint of bulmers & bottle of heineken was 9euro.
Depending on what you're into there is something for everyone - place is packed with spanish so don't expect a resort type feel to this holiday.
Check out danny boys, entertainment is loud and repetitive and bouncer will turf you out as soon as the place finishes - no drinkin up time here - for the girls, make sure you check out the bus stop for the top less barmen, all the girls with us were drooling!
007's is a mad house - good fun though. The pr's are very competitive and will promise you anything to get you into the bar - make sure and get some free shots out of each one of them. They will promise you a free shot, but tell you at the bar it's when you order your first drink - understandable. After the pubs, most people will head for underground which is on the way to kiss. Most places shut at 5am sun-thur, then 6 on fri sat. No takeaways open after clubs, except dodgy looking guys outside cafes with vending machines full of cheeseburgers (3 euro) or kebabs, got a burger one night, they're edible - you will not eat one of them sobre!!!
Shopping is not up to much, haggle as much as you like but just say you can get it cheaper up the road. Perfumes are more expensive here than Ireland, but you can get knock offs in local shops as usual or go lucky lucky - and take your chances! make sure you unwrap the prefume there as sometimes its a bottle filled with water inside!
Port aventura - didnt make it to theme park but went to water park - its fine as water parks go, wasn't too busy. If you do got the the adventure park - go early as it will take a day at least to see it - MAKE SURE YOU BUY THE Q SKIP tickets, they are only 24euro extra, but mates who went and didnt were queing 1.5-2hours per ride, which meant they got about 5 good rides in for the day and a few goes on the amusements too!! :p
Aquapolis is the other water park, friends went there and said it was way way better, they also do a 5euro special, if you pay a fiver extra the day you go, you get in free the next day.
OVerall, this hotel was basic, but if you're just looking for a bed, somewhere to wash and keep your luggage, ie a base, its fine. Perfect location no taxis needed!
Would not go back to salou as there are so many better places to visit in spain, we found the people rude and never smiled or said thank you - you never felt your custom was appreciated, the little things that add to your holiday. Hope this review helps and sure message me if you want any more info.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biznessireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#52 of 94 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
1.1 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#70 of 94 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best San Diego
Hotel Best San Diego
#46 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#5 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Playa

Property: Santa Monica Playa
Address: Calle Falset 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Santa Monica Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Playa Salou
Santa Monica Playa Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing