We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Unlucky!!”
Review of Festival Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Festival Village
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2nd Time Unlucky!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Came to the hotel in August 2012 and then again around the same time in 2013, we absolutely loved our stay in 2012 but this time around it wasn't as great. The food was as nice as ever but seemed very repetitive this time around, and the pool was freezing and my kids couldn't stand it. They loved the entertainment last time but it seemed dull and lacking and the kids refused to go to kids club as their favourite reps from the year before weren't there to help out. This did confuse me as they were brilliant. The guys this year were okay but we were looking forward to some familiar faces. The entertainment all in all was great, acrobats, singers and everything else were great but we spent most of our nights out in salou so cant comment on daytime games etc. The room seemed smaller and dustier than last year and with a 6 year old with asthma this wasnt good but after a day or two the room was spotless, would have been better for when we got there but can't complain. All in all our stay was nice but I think we will try somewhere new next time.

P.S. Check out the house of illusion in Salou center. Didn't get a chance to see it first time around but it's well worth the trip. Kids loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyleeds_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    485
    195
    67
    72
See reviews for
1,041
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Food was good, staff were friendly and it was in a good location with the buses going every few minutes into Salou and la peinda (probably didn't spell that right!) and the beach just a ten minute walk! The only down side was that the beds were just a bit uncomfortable and we had to wait until our rooms were ready. But overall it was a good holiday and i would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Being all inclusive we were a little wary however chuffed that the food was fantastic as were the drinks and staff. We went in the last week of the season and the weather was great . The local bus runs past the hotel connecting you to la pineda, tarragone, barcelona, salou, cambrilles. Currency change can be done at reception, rooms were cleaned daily, and everymember of staff we came across were lovely. Eat drink and be merry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank markandbeth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My 3 sons and I travelled here from the 18th to the 25th October and on the whole thought the hotel was one of the best 3* all inclusive we have been to.

Reception:- we were seen to pretty quickly. The only gripe was that they required us to pay 3.5 Euro for myself and also my 17 year son as we were classed as adults and it was some form of tax. They then proceeded to put a child band on my son??? I really think that they should add this to the price of the hotel when booking and be an upfront cost.

The room:- It was amazing, extremely large, 2 bedrooms, bathroom, lounge, kitchenette and balcony. It had loads of wardrobe space. The cleaners came in everyday. But they only changed the towels twice and didn't clean the bathroom sink etc... but it was very clean on arrival which was the main thing. The beds like others have said are so uncomfortable. I hardly slept, coupled with the fact that there was a group of young men in the next room that would be partying & shouting all night. I think the manager had a word about their behaviour on many occasions.

The pool:- Not brilliant again like others have said, quite a few broken sunbeds and they were pushed very close together. There was a problem with flies but I always find this in Spain this time of year! Good thing was you could usually get a sun bed what ever time of day you got there. The floor area around the pool was caked with black mould and although it was hosed at night, it could of really done with a good jet wash!

Snack bar:- Brilliant, lots of choice, shame the out door one was closed at this time of year. Also 2 pool tables. The two bar men were lovely as well, Fidel & I think Ali. Always had a smile & were always polite. It shut about 10ish which was a shame as there was only the entertainment area which was very noisy and you didn't always fancy it!

Entertainment:- Very good again. adult entertainment was brilliant. I wasn't one for the singers but the acrobats were exceptional. My son also won 200 euro on a deal or no deal game, that cost about 5 euro to enter. They also had bingo which was fun. Again 2 pool tables and you never had to queue long at the bar which was good. They also did a free taxi and entry to Chaplins in Salou that left about 12. We saw a Hypnotist which was quite good, but really packed and no seats. Also we walked home, took about 45 minutes as there was not a taxi in site nor on the walk all the way home.

Area:- It is really lovely and convenient for La pineta and Salou if you don't mind a 15 or 45 minute walk. Although there is a bus and a taxi to Salou was about 10 euro. Also we got two for one tickets in a bar called Mercury in Salou for Port Aventura which was a 15 euro taxi ride away! Which was a good day out. We walked into La Pineda for a meal one night but we struggled to find a nice restaurant as they were mainly cafe type eating places that had big TV screens and football on. We settled on an Italian type place just before the fountains and cost 50 Euro for a meal each and a couple of drinks which was very reasonable and was very good food.

Restaurant:- Amazing food. Lots of roast meats and themed nights chinese mexican etc.... There was so much choice I ended up having so many courses. Salad bar was always fresh too. Breakfast was the typical English but with the Spanish bacon. But it was all very good.

Luckily the weather was lovely all week apart from a bit of drizzle one night. Ignore the English forecast as it said it was going to rain all week, took thick clothes & then it was sweltering and I only had one pair of shorts :-$

Ignore my nit picking as overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are going to Salou. I may even return myself :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Homerazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a brilliant holiday in Festival Village with my friend. It was my my 3rd visit to Salou and I would definitely return to Festival Village, in fact I think I will be booking for myself and my son to go in the summer. The food was lovely and the rooms clean and spacious. The staff were all friendly especially Vilal :) and the entertainment staff were very lots of fun. Would encourage everyone to go for a visit here. Don't be put off by the distance from Salou as the buses are cheap enough especially if you get a bus card for 10 journeys. Taxis are only 10 Euros to get home at night after a good night of pubs and clubs especially Danny Boy's and Chaplins. Only down side was coming home :(

Room Tip: The one bed apartments are very spacious and would recommend a room in block A in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Than you once again for choosing the festival village as your Holiday destination and sharing your experience on trip advisor. Everyone’s feedback and comments are much appreciated.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the staff it is a real motivator for them to receive such nice comments and glad you enjoyed the entertainment we had on offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff here are friendly and helpful, we never had any problems but whenever we asked for advice they where very attentive. The variety of food wasreasonable and the quality good.
For a 3star hotel the entertainment was good, although one of the team was a bit too over enthusiastic. He was always trying to get you to take part in the nightly entertainment even if you only wanted to sit and watch. He would be good at organising a North Korean political Raleigh.

It is true that the apartments are tired but they are cleaned every day by hardworking staff, I have never stayed in a 3 or 4 star hotel that has done this. We stayed during the last week of the season but you could hardly tell. We had our lunch about 2pm and our last drink at 4pm just before the coach arrived, no ceremonial cutting of the armband at 12pm. Considering the hotel closed a couple of hours later this was a credit to the manager.

Room Tip: The two bed apartments are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your opinions with others here on trip advisor. Our main priority is that guests enjoy their stay here with us, 100%.
Thank you for your comments they will all be taken on board when starting the season in 2014, apologies you found one of the entertainers too pushy this will be comments to him directly.
The management are very hands on and thank you for your comments with regards to this. We hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A lovely friendly hotel with very attentive staff from the manager to the bar staff. Kept clean and tidy and never too busy for food and drinks. Being all inclusive can be a gamble but with 2 teenagers in our group of 5 there were always things to keep them happy. The entertainers worked very hard and were good fun. A special word for the manager who tried his best to speak to every guest throughout the day. Very handily placed for all bus routes made up for the hotel being a little bit out of the road which also meant it was nice and quiet. We would certainly go back there especially in the October school week. The weather was also a pleasant surprise with temperatures hitting 29 degrees. Paid a little bit extra for bigger apartments and was worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Muchas gracias – Great to hear that you had a good time whilst here with us and that you found all our staff to be very helpful and attentive. We try to ensure we operate very hands on approach and that we are there for you as the guest, and offer the same service no matter what time of the season it is.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villamarina Club
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#5 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Property: Festival Village
Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing