We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total tired old chav dump”
Review of Festival Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Festival Village
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Total tired old chav dump”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is so tired its almost in a coma. The rooms are from the 80s. The fixtures & fittings are totally ready for the bin . Our hob didnt work, the toilet lights were crumbling and a bag of rubbish in our living room was our welcome gift ! The bed sheets had cigarette burns in them i know its sounds like a rant but you will honestly be disappointed. The pool has around 60 sunbeds for 300 guests do the maths its a 9.00a.m rodeo at the pool then they all toddle of to breakfast after laying down their towels. Never will me and my family be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mljz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    508
    204
    71
    74
See reviews for
1,103
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived on June 14th. It was late at night but the manager asked us would we like something to eat . We were tired so headed to our room. We booked a 2 bedroom suite. We were a bit upset as it was on the ground floor ( all suites are ) I have issues with the ground floor for safety with children. We asked to be moved and they did so the following morning. We moved upstairs to a 2 bedroom apartment. This was a tiny bit smaller with just 1 bathroom. We didnt mind though as we happy to be off the ground floor. Our apartment was very clean and had plenty of room with a nice kitchen. We didnt use it though as it was all inclusive. The food for all inclusive is very good and I could not fault the food at all.
The whole complex is nice not the nicest we ever stayed in but had everything we needed. I suppose the most important part is that the children really enjoyed them selves and as long as they are happy parents can relax. The entertainment was perfect for them. Dawn was a life saver and my children fell in love with her. They were ages 9,6,4 and went off with her in the morning to play games or arts and crafts.
The night time entertainment was good again the children were happy so that helped us. The only issue on the all inclusive is the fact all drinks are served in these tiny paper cups. This creates un necessary Q's at the bar. The staff at the bar and resturant were always very nice and seemed very happy.
The pool area looks so much bigger than it is in the pictures. We had heard people complain about the pool itself but I have to say I thought it was lovely. As it was only June it was not overly busy. The Q's for seats at the pool started at 8.30. A guy came to open the gates at 9. I can imagine it starts much earlier in August.
All in all we had a lovely holiday. The reps made it for the children. Dawn, Michael, Charlotte and another girl I cant remember her name. ( sorry). Ollie stole my daughters heart and went out of his way to make her feel special, especially on the night we saw him with the other guys doing their tribute act to One Direction.
When u book more than 7 nights they do a free collection from the airport.
Things I feel could be improved.... A little less bingo ! Mind you we played every night !!! Also dont forget not everyone is from England when doing the quiz ! Get some bigger cups for the bar then there wont be a Q. Thank you for a lovely stay....

Room Tip: There are no views as such apart from the one section that looks over the pool. Dont go for a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks a million for the positive review. Our two bedroom two bathroom suites prove very popular with families for the reason that they are located on low/ground floors. Some people prefer to have lower accomodation for safety reasons when travelling with children. I guess its a matter of personal choice. I am happy to read that we were able to address your preference the next morning and that you could get on with your holiday. The kids club is great you are right. I will be sure to show your review to the entertainers who do work very hard and long hours. Its always very motivating when they get a personal mention. We hope that you will return to the Festival Village sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just came back from hol in festival village upgraded to 2 bedroom apartment clean and spacious. staff were efficient and friendly including Thompson reps nothing was too much trouble.Entertainment was brilliant best we have seen on this type of hol. Entertainment included tributes to lady gaga, olly murs, michael buble and to my daughters delight Michael Jackson. There was also a great parrot show and snakes .Hotel food was really good including snacks through out the day. Hotel close to places to see caught buses outside hotel 2 euros to water park and portventura and to terogona .Some people went to porventura after 7 at night tickets half price so you didn't have to queue in the heat got on rides quicker and saw fireworks! Went on Barcelona trip to football stadium free time and fountains which was lovely Close to hotel lovely small coves 5 and ten mins walk.only down side to this hotel not enough sun beds but we bought straw mats and laid on those.As well as swimming pool hotel had hot tub! would defiantly go back again. My teenagers aged 16 and 13 loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 667liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. Great to read that your teenagers enjoyed the entertainment and facilities too. The food is great at the hotel - I am glad you agree! We do hope that you will return in the future sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were moved here from the villa marina, and it was the best move ever, we were greeted by the hotel manager, we thought this was because we had complained about the other hotel but no, we later saw him greeting new arrivals, not only when you arrived, he was there at dinner time, lunch time, and even breakfast, snack bar was brill you just went and ordered what you wanted and it was made there and then, and the staff were great, friendly and always smiling, bar at night was the same, staff at the kids club were great too, my grandchildren 9 and 11 also my nephew who is 12 loved it, and I would like to thank the staff who tended to and carried my granddaughter about for me, after she hurt her angle and the lifeguard who bandaged her foot for her, she is such a drama queen lol didnt stop her going in the pool mind you but if you want a good value family holiday in salou this hotel is a safe clean friendly hotel, and bar closes at midnight and everyone is asked to go to their rooms which is really good, they do offer to take you to chaplins nightclub if you still want to party which we didnt as by midnight we were ready for bed, and yes if you have a young family I would definitely recommend this hotel also would advise you to get bus pass as it saves a fortune you walk out of hotel to the right passed the spar it closes at 1 until 2 other times I am not sure we got 20 journeys then added another 10 great for going to parks as a journey for 2 costs 5.95 one way

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. Our management team do have a very hands on approach which is why we are able to deal with issues swiftly and efficiently. Great to read that the older children in your party enjoyed themselves too. We hope that you will return to the Festival Village sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from festival village and loved my holiday there. I went with 2 children 17 and 8 and they both loved it. Food was amazing with good choice. Snack bar served lots of variety also. Staff were extremely helpful and the kids club were great. All in all a fantastic value holiday. Only down side was the lack of sunbeds unless you were up early. Also bed settee not really suitable for adults as mattresses were too thin. Apart from that a fantastic holiday that will be remembered.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just came back from festival village really enjoyed it i was there with my husband and 14 year old son. Food was really good lots of choices,staff were very friendly especially Alen at the pool bar and Jose at the snack bar.Apartments were spacious and cleaned daily very nice. The entertainment at night was mostly done with the staff that work between here and Chaplins it wasn't very good for us but if you have younger children you would probably enjoy it although the Michael Jackson show was really good but this wasn't the staff. Not that i am slating the staff they were great with the kids kept them well entertained but not suitable for teenagers.The race in the morning for a sun bed is unbelievable they open the gates to the pool at 9 am where there is already a queue then you have to actually run and throw your towel onto a bed although it is stated you cannot reserve a bed with a towel this is totally ignored by all if you are at the end of the queue you have no chance. Hotel does not cash travellers cheques manager told us he wont get paid from the bank for them and he had a family there before us who had problems getting them changed this was rubbish we changed ours no problem at a bank in Salou. Cap Salou has a couple of nice bars my husband liked the Smugglers Inn as he got a bet on the horses in there on a saturday afternoon nice food as well. If you want to go out for a meal for a change Sinatras in salou is very good the lasagne is delicious. I would also recommend the trip to the nou camp stadium at barcelona dont book through the hotel go to the little red boothes on the street you will save alot of money and if you are going to porta ventura watch in the shops for packets of chewy sweets with a 2 for 1 offer for the park they are called chuppa something it saves you 45 euro we used it,the park was great fun. all in all we really enjoyed our holiday met a lot of lovely people and did not really have any problems with anything.

Room Tip: We had an apartment in the main building and i think this was the best part
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for the positive review great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just returned from a week all inclusive at the Festival Village appartments at Cap Salou in Northern Spain.
The only real criticisms I could make of the complex are that some of the fixtures and fittings are showing their age a bit and could do with an update but how much time do you spend in the appartment? and some of the evening entertainment was a little loud (although that is a personal thing).
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, the staff were all wonderful, friendly people who were happy to go out of their way to help (a special mention here to Jose and Jose in the snack bar - have a tequila for me gentlemen).
The kids club kept our younger daughter occupied and happy constantly; There were activities available for older children and even our fifteen year old daughter had a great time. The food was good if the choice was occasionally a little limited, there was always something for everyone - the fish in particular was always fantastic.
Overall a good choice for a family holiday, but book your excursions through the Jet2 rep not the Thomas Cook rep as they are considerably dearer for the same trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickmorant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks a million for the five star review its great to read that you and your family had a great stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villamarina Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,012 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
2.1 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Property: Festival Village
Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing