We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little tender care...and you have a gem”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Festival Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Festival Village
Ranked #7 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Little tender care...and you have a gem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed between the 22nd and 29th October 2012, a total of 8 - 5 adults, plus two 18 year old lads and a 13 yrd old lad. Overall we had a good time but we did make the most of the week by getting out and about, using the excellent bus service and going on trips to Monserrat and Barcelona. (Tip buy a travel card from the little red kiosk near to the Spar Supermarket)
The hotel itself, is basic and the staff worked very very hard (small point, the odd thank you to them helps as they are always working hard), the food was hot and usually had a good choice that catered for both vegetarians and meat eaters. The snack bar serves snack food, not gourmet food, so cant see why the moans. Alcohol and soft drinks available as was wine with evening meal, again dont expect chataeu neuf for gods sake, all was edible and on most occasions was very good.
Only moan we had to pay for a kettle when our friends had one in the room, make your minds up all pay or all get one free, also the rooms would benefit from a toaster, hairdryer...again just the little things.
The hotel in general was clean and well maintained, as were the rooms, but this is the point a little bit of extra care and this place could be very good (a little gem), such as rooms updating, windows cleaned, tables cleaned properly at mealtimes, sufficient cutlery, condiments and glasses would be a small addition.
In general everyone we met at the hotel was very nice and we got on well with although I agree that the typical 'brit on tour' attitude does leave you wondering if we tried a little harder we would not have so much bad press...
The entertainment, if a school report 'could do a lot better', they could start by working out how to use the microphone effectively in a small space, you dont need to shout and if held a couple of inches from the mouth then you would be understood, but they tried bless them or is it they were trying?
The pool, simple it was freezing, and could be used for training in how to swim in sub zero temps. Most days it was packed early but we walked the short 10 min walk to La Pineda to the beach which was excellent. Weather was hit and miss but overall we all expected this as it was the last week of October and the season.
In summary - Staff work tirelessly for what I think was very little reward, hotel dated but could be easily updated, entertainment needs improving, food above average, woud we go back we said we would just for a week as we left having had a good time, which is the point of a holiday.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom, one bathroom room, spacious and cleaned daily with fresh towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheButties04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    481
    195
    67
    72
See reviews for
1,035
131
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I would just like to say that we had a nice stay at the Festival Village mainly due to meeting some lovely people and not the hotel. The staff are all very nice, apart from a couple who didnt understand what i was asking for and the other lady in reception (not Natalie, she was lovely and very helpful too). The food was very good the 1st week but deteriated the 2nd week which was a shame. The rooms were very spacious, lovely big balcony and en-suite toilet/shower which was good travelling with 2 teenagers but on that topic i have to say that my oldest, 17 was fine as plenty of kids to keep her going, but my son who is 13 was constantly bored, i think out of the 2 weeks that we stayed here, we only heard them shout for water polo twice, very unusual i know but there was no other kids of his age around and they do not even have a soft ball area where they could have played footie etc. The trick with the drinks is to ask for just your measure and get the mixer seperate and add to your taste, we found this to be much better eventually, The pool area is horrendous! not many sunbeds and worse than that not much sun!! The water was also freezing but this was solved by moving to La Pineta beach which was lovely. Overall i did enjoy my holiday as i am one for believing that you make it what it is but i wouldnt recomment it to anyone with older kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMacs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and glad that you had a pleasant stay here with us.
Please accept our apologies that your 13 year old son did not have a great time. Water polo is on the activity program several times per week, along with pool competitions, ping pong, riffle shooting etc. All entertainment activities are on the main board situated on the entrance to the restaurant. The hotel does have an area behind block C with football nets etc for teenagers / children to kick a ball around again apologies if you were not made aware of this.
I fully understand you may have been frustrated, and would appreciate some ideas of what your son would have liked to have seen within the hotel for him to take part in as this age group is very hard to entertain as I am sure you are aware and would appreciate some ideas.
Apologies with regards to you finding the food on your second week not as good as your first, this will surely be looked in to as this should not be the case and thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Once again thank you for your feedback, it helps us ensure changes can be made were necessary to improve our all inclusive product to future guests of the festival village
Regards
Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel reception and staff are briliant very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is a little small for the hotel and it if you are not for when the doors open you will be queuing. The food however can not be faulted. Always lots of choice and hot. Down side of the bar is that you can only have two drinks at time...so when in group of 9 people can become a pain..however speak nicely to the bar staff and explain you are in a group and they will let you get a drink for the group.
The rooms are OK, very big but a little dated.
Pool OK but was over taken with the entertainment team so you could not just chill in the pool.
Entainment staff were really good with the kids and seemed to keep them amused.
Only thing i would say is that it a little out of the way and a good 15mins walk to the nearest beach
Family group aged between 9 - 67

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDL7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 10 days here had an excellent time. Nothing too much trouble for the staff there are too many to mention them all but have to mention Hugh in the snack bar so helpful. The entertainment staff brilliant including Frankie Zoe Sophie and Ella you deserve a medal keeping those kids and adults happy. Thanks for all you did for Chris and Steve. We will definatly be back again my only tips are fly into Reus airport and when using buses buy a pass card in advance its cheaper. Anyone going here will have brilliant time. Enjoy yourselves may only be 3 star but should be 4 and don't let negative reviews put you off you get what you pay for and its great value for what you are getting!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandSteve30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have returned today from a 7 night stay, I'm pleased to say we only paid £1250 for 5 of us as any more than this I would have been miffed, I got the feeling that as it was the last week nobody could really be bothered, the staff looked tired and bored, the main restaurant needed a good clean-you stuck to the ugly brown tablecloths, and the as for the Luna Bar I think I only seen it clean once!! Lemonade was like gold dust, I can't believe they ran out of this, we are not big drinkers so to have the only option of syrupy cola or 'watered' down Fanta was not the best. There was never any clean cups for tea or coffee but then again I must admit the area that you made the hot drinks in was always filthy. This in part can be put down to some of the guests who didn't clear up their mess.
This is not the hotels fault but there was quite a few 'unruly' children who played ball in the main foyer-I blame the parents for their lack of responsibily but then again perhaps because the hotel was closing down non of the staff said anything to the children or their parents about this.
The pool area is no way near big enough, on the few odd days of nice weather we had with the hotel only filled to half capacity the area was full, I dread to think what it's like in the height of summer.
We had an early checkout this morning, there was no where to get a drink, the apartments where not equipped with drink making facilities, on speaking with others at the airport who stayed at the sister hotel Villamarina, I was informed that not only had that hotel open an hour early for their departing guests to get a drink they even put on breakfast early for them, surley both hotels should operate the same sytem. The food started off ok but as the week progressed it became worse each day, we felt they was just clearing out the fridge/freezers.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment that should sleep 6, the 2 'bed' settee's where the most uncomfortable things I have had the misfortune to sit on never mind try to sleep on! The stuffing on pillow of the bed settee was coming out and the sheet was stained with what looked like oil. The towels where changed daily and the beds where changed.
The hotel is in the middle on no where, again perhaps because of the time of year there was nothing to do within walking distance so all in all we won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The good:
Two hours 10 mins from Manchester to Reus then a 20 min bus journey.
A bus stop outside the hotel that will take you to Tarragona, Reus, Cambrils or Port Aventura for less than 1 euro 10 cents using the T10 card.
Good sized safe (2 euros per day 10 euros deposit)
Fridge in room. (free)
Massive room.
The food.................yes it was very good, always hot and some variety, but always chips. Nice salads and nice warm bread.
The drinks except the house wine
......................................
The moderate.
Hotel not that clean in some areas (see below)
Pool far too small.
The dining room, very scruffy but functional
.........................
The bad.
Other peoples kids who have no ideal of acceptable behaviour, could extend this to some adults as well. David Cameron needs to spend a few days at this hotel to find out whats wrong with the UK. Can't some people tidy up after themselves, is it too hard to put plastic glasses in the bin to stop a wasp invasion. I hoped our kids would have picked up some spanish, I think the only new words they heard started with a F P or C in english. I feel sorry for the hotel, if they upgraded the place someone would trash it the next day. The staff were all very helpful its some of the guest who are the problem. Never considered myself a snob, this is the 7th AI holiday I've been on and this was an eye opener for me. Would I go back yes for the food and size of the rooms not for anything else though.

Room Tip: Front of A block rooms 403 and 405 are away from the hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave66672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay - a party of 5 adults & 2 kids. The hotel closes for the winter tomorrow, so it was winding down for the season. On arrival, a very sweet girl on Reception could not have been more helpful. Rooms were basic but clean, and very roomy. Fresh towels and beds made daily. Snack bar was manned by a lovely little chap, and all the Bar staff were friendly. They especially appreciated if you tried a little Spanish - Gracias goes a long way ! I'm amazed the Staff weren't more jaded and disinterested, after the abuse and bad manners they needed to endure. This was OFF season - do not even attempt it at Peak - the place is simply too small to run at full capacity - it would be a nightmare !

The restaurant was busy,with lazy people ignoring requests to clear up after themselves, gorging on the food, taking way more than they needed, then leaving it. It was irritating to need to search for cutlery and glassware. The food however, was plentiful, piping hot, and apart from the typical same old Spanish attempt at an English brekkie, very tasty ! I would have preferred a Continental brekkie. Themed meals 4 nights a week, with Mexican, BBQ, Chinese and Sunday Roast. Plenty salads etc - something for everyone.

Entertainment was good - typical holiday programme.

We didn't have the best weather, so only the bravest tried the Pool, but the hotel's location is perfect for a 10 minute stroll into La Pineda to the gorgeous beach. Loads of busses going both ways, or to Barcelona, Our kids went Karting, and to Portaventura , and we all went to Nou Camp.

To summarise, this hotel tries very very hard. It is cheap and cheerful. We paid less than 2k for the seven of us. However, the down side of the great value for money is,the Hotel attracts the dregs - people who just want to fling as much of the free drink down their necks, staggering around the grounds from early afternoon, not caring while their feral offspring run riot around the place annoying people - till 2am and beyond.. If that is your kind of holiday, then you won't be disappointed.

That said, we did also meet lots of lovely people , who all felt the same, that it was a real shame that the behaviour of some, spoiled what could have been a great week.

Sadly, we would not return - we would prefer to pay premium prices to try to avoid the Jeremy Kyle wanabees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jinty271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villamarina Club
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Property: Festival Village
Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing