We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic,budget hotel”
Review of Festival Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Festival Village
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Let's get one thing straight-this is a basic, budget hotel. It is not five-star so do not expect five-star facilities. You get what you pay for. The rooms are large, a bit tired and dated and could be better maintained - one of the cupboard doors fell off the first day we got there, the light over the bathroom mirror was broken and the patio door didn't open properly and none of these were fixed whilst we were there.
The food was quite good with a reasonable variety of items at lunch and dinner although breakfast was the same every day. There was always something that you could eat though and all was well cooked - not gourmet food but better than in some hotels and better than school dinners. Main issue with the restaurant was the cleanliness of the tables (wiped over with a manky cloth) and having to go searching for cutlery, glasses, condiments etc. The staff did work very hard in trying to keep the restaurant clean however some of the guests did not help matters by leaving the place in a complete tip after eating with food dropped on the floor and chairs. At times I was embarrassed to be British as some of the guests were very rude and dirty. Some also think all inclusive means they can waste as much food and drink as they like'
The pool area was small, and again some of the sun loungers had seen better days and could have been better maintained. The area was often left dirty and in a mess, but this was from the guests not using the bins provided and leaving cups and plates on the floor. However I did not see any hotel staff come out to clean around the pool until all the guests had gone back to their rooms.
The evening entertainment was okay, with singers, bands and shows which were generally pretty good. This didn't start until 10 o'clock (I do not class a quiz and bingo as entertainment). The daytime entertainment was virtually non existent and consisted of quizzes, killer pool and bingo. There were none of the other usual all-inclusive facilities as you would expect with some larger hotels, but this could have been because of the size of the
hotel itself and the plot of land it was on. The entertainment team did work very hard to try and keep the guests amused though. The restaurant and bar staff also worked their socks off, very often dealing with rude and drunken people.
Overall we had a good time and got good value for money. However I don't in all honesty think I could recommend this hotel to friends as I was a bit disappointed with the overall state of the place and although I appreciate the efforts of the staff I believe there are better hotels in the area

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were a party of 11( 5 adults &6 children) In 3 seperate appartments The staff do work so hard and the rooms are dated but clean.The pool is small and exceptionally cold .The entertainment is fine usual bingo then an act.What i carnt believe is the reviews saying the food is great!This has nothing to do with getting what you pay for, as we have stayed in other hotels in Salou ie: Best Oasis Park, for the same price and had fantastic food with a superb choice and waiter service for drinks.In this hotel the dining room was run like a dinner hall ,you would spend your time finding cutlery,glasses condiments the tables around us were full of dirty dishes from previous diners . Even H TOP hotels have better food and service and that is saying something. Very boring salads never any change in the 10 days we stayed main meals were strange and limited certainly no better than school dinners ,i know its catered towards the English but we do eat more than chips,meat and pasta.I carnt be annoyed with the hotel, just past reviews for being so misleading or easily pleased .The alcohol apart from the lager is undrinkable i dont mind cheap vodka but white spirit is a no no.Overall i agree this is butlins in the sun and if you expect nothing more you will be happy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyandyandgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Just got back yesterday from a superb time at the festival village, bad points....not enough room round pool, people put towels on sunbeds and don't go down till mid afternoon. only one person on busy bar sometimes. Good points.....rooms air con and very spacious, clean and towels changed everyday if left in bath, food very good with loads of choice, full English every morning. Staff are all friendly and helpful, entertainment was really good!! Even won bingo on first night 90euros.....yippeeee!! Overall this hotel is fantastic value for money, ignore negative comments.....it's not 4* or 5* it's a GOOD 3* cost me and fiancée £590 all inclusive for the week on "onthebeach" for both of us including transfers!!!! Enjoy, bonjour baguette!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulsanderson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here in Sept for 11 nites havin visited last year in Aug.

Pro`s...
Good Lunches and Dinner good variety.

Luna bar for snacks was good for chips and toasties.

Pool small but suited us with 6 kids to watch over.

We had a 2 bed apt which was spacious.

RJP reps Frankie, Hollie and Zoe all great and deserve to be well paid as this is a big part of the holiday.

Near beaches and Salou.


Con`s

Apt was cleaned everyday?????? Floors were all moped with same filthy water from each apt same as last year so kids feet were filthy 2 mins after getting out of bath.

Hallway was not brushed for length of stay as i spotted a hair clip on first day in corner and was still there on my last day.

Music in entertainment room was way too loud a big complaint with a lot of people.


Overall Festival Village wud not suit fussy people so dont go there it is like Butlins in 1970`s.
I`m afraid we wont be goin back mayb to Salou or La Pineda next time.

A big Hello to Hugh in Luna bar he deserves a mention for his patience with unruly kids and adults alike.

Room Tip: Try and book somewhere else really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noelsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As this was my first time to abroad i did not want to pay a fortune for some place i did not like so my Thomas Cook travel agent suggested this hotel and read i the reviews from this site and thought it seemed ok and i booked up.
we got to the hotel quite late at night as we were delayed for 13 hours!, we checked in quite quick and knowing prior before arival we needed a safety deposit box we asked the receptionist for one and she asked us to come back tomorrow as she had locked the keys away! i dont understand why she could not have opened the draw up and give us one as we had all of our spending money/passports/travel documents on us and will have needed to sleep with them!, the receptionist in question was miserable all the time of the full 2 week stay and was not the best welcome to the hotel, in fact i dont think 1 person welcomed us at all!, luckily we were able to put our luggage in a luggage room and go to the luna bar for something to eat as it was about 10:15pm and never ate since 1pm that day, a family that was on our flight and that checked in prior to us went sraight to their room to drop off their stuff but by the time they came back from the apartment the snack bar had closed and the staff member just shrugged his shoulders when he was told about the delay and his children not having anything to eat, that meant the would have went until breakfast next day to eat, shocking when the hotel should have been informed by thomas cook that there would be some late check-ins and could have prepared some sandwiches or something as dinner would be missed after all that full day has already been paid for!!
when we did go to our apartment (block c7) we were suprised as it was very spacious with 2 big bedrooms although be warned the beds in the rooms are all twins(we found ourselves bed hopping in the middle of the night), 2 bathrooms which both have showers and 1 has a bath, the shower in the ensuite is tiny so we just used the one above the bath, it had a huge living area(t.v was tiny) and a good sized terrace with table and chairs and a towel dryer, a good size kitchenette with dinner table, no complaints at all about the apartment and for people on here saying the were crap and outdated i dont know what they wanted??, it was tiled floors with magnolia walls and wood cabinets, the sofa beds were ok to have a nap on but wouldnt like to sleep over night on them, also sounds strange but i think our apartment was haunted as one night our suitcase which was standing on its feet went flying across the room during the night and dont understand how, i didnt just simply fall!!, my sister in the other room thought she saw a dark figure standing near the bed, as well as a few nights after my partner thought hed seen a shadowy figure in the hall way, and just a sence of someone wathching you!! (it could have been the water lol) but very unerving.also rooms cleaned and towels changed everyday.
the majority of the staff were amazing, service staff, hugh, scott, vicky, esther were all realy hard working and helpfull and they worked the butts off behind them bars as they were short staffed!, the drinks were fine, all inc stuff was made with only 30% volume spirits which i suppose done the job, or you could buy the branded stuff for a little fortune, they had a cocktail list up witch i tweeked to suit my own tastes and the staff were happy to do, the rule to drinks were 2 alco drinks and 2 soft drinks at a time but people were getting 6 alco ones at a time which held up queues and should not have been alowed especialy with them being short staffed!,
all other guests were and (us) were realy well behaved with it being mostly familys, there was no (trouble) as you say
entertainment was provided by a company RJP entertainment and they were fantastic, Zoe,Sofie,Frankie worked realy long hours from morning to night, not sure who arranges the whole schedule but very little happens during the day, and the night time started about 7:30pm with a little quiz that would be dragged out till 9pm when bingo would start and that lasted up to over an hour just doing a line, a house, and a flyer it was monotamus!! not realy entertainment and a 6euro a time not cheap for the money that was won back!, all shows were great although some people were in one act then a few days later they would be in a different act, as one lad called john was robbie williams and michael buble acts, Very good though! and he done his robbie in "the robin hood" in salou.als at around 12am when it was time to go back to your rooms the entertainment staff would announce that if anybody wanted to go to a club called "Chaplins" in salou that you can have a free taxi to it and there would be more shows on. we went to this place a couple of times and found it quite good cocktails pricey (7euro) but realy nice.shows were by the same people from RJP and frankie from our hotel done a grease tribute act there which was good!, and it cost 8euro to get back to the hotel in a taxi.
The food was just ok but i seemed more sick of the stuff when we were in our second week, the breakfasts were complied of, sausage(thank god english) bacon(sreaky smoked with a hard chewy rind) would have been great if it were back bacon!, tinned tomatoes, fresh grilled tomatoes, hashbrowns, fried and scrambled eggs, beans, sometimes tinned mushrooms, 3 cerials, toast( if you wanted to wait ages for the machine) loads of fruit, pastries with jam butter, yogurts,
main food on lunches and dinner was at first seemed ok but the stuff just didnt seem to have taste, they had a chilli con carne which was rank it was like mushed mince with kidney beans im sure they could have put some tomato puree in and some more chilli powder! just for taste and colour, their was diferent fish dishes on but everytime was full of bones and had skin left on, the chips were crap, the meats full of gristle and fat, and the items that were on the menu did not go together so you were forced to just put bits and bobs on your plate,i must say the stuff was always hot and well cooked and it might be me just being picky, im glad i had no pretences before i came as i was expecting what i got of reading other reviews. i was pleased with the salad bar towards the end of the holiday as i couldnt look at the other stuff, and was always fresh and lots of stuff to make nice salads like, tuna and chicken breast chunks all salad stuff and breads and olives, peppers, gherkins,oils ect.
Our rep Ryan (i think i saw the ghost in our room more) was useless no point on him being their! saw him once in 1 week, he never give us any usefull information, told us that you cant reserve sunbeds and then "winked" he gave out a map and read it out like it was the map of a star system or something could not follow him at all, We ended up booking day trips with A RUSIAN rep who was called anne marie which she was a lovely women very helpfull and gave us all the information we needed on how to get around and where to go ect (good of her considering we were with Thomas Cook) and she was much more helpfull than that miserable women on reception, just a shame our guide to barcelona was rusian! we were the only 4 english people on the coach lol, i must say if you want to travel on the PLANA buses you can pay in cash or you can by the T10 travel cards from the tobbacanist (which there are 2 in LaPineda) it costs 13euro for 10 trips which is 50% cheaper and each time you use it on the electronic pad on the bus it deducts 1 trip from the card so i used a card for me and my partner and my sister did the same for hers there much easier, and the bus drivers know a bit english and are great.
The surounding area of the hotel is a dump, dog mess all over, waste lands and road works and a strange stink, to the right of the hotel you can walk down into cap salou, take the left to laPineda, we spent most time at LaPineda about a 15 min walk down one road and your on the seafront which i think has the best beach its huge and plenty of room and shops, resturants and a lot cleaner other parts.
we wanted somewhere to go for a meal in salou and hugh from the luna bar reccomended "the little hampton", anyone venturing out for meals must go here! we went there twice wish it could have been more!, loads of choice and realy good prices and beer great!, i got garlic mushrooms to start witch i got a bowl full of mushrooms with a full salad garnish, realy fresh and hot and only 4euro, got a rib-eye steak and could not belive the size of the steaks absalutly huge(i took photos and will put up soon) had a plate to itself and cooked perfect and came with a bowl of salad, a pot of coleslaw,and a plate of chips, one meal could have done two people(and i can gruff lol) it was that nice i got the same thing the two times i went.
i know i have dragged on a bit but wanted to tell as much as possible, although i would not return, i feel that i would have preferd to pay the bit extra and went to a 4*, but as they say time and again "you get what you pay for", for a family wanting something on the cheaper side and not botherd by the odd rude staff, and not botherd about going out much go for it and try it! you might like it more than i did

Room Tip: Bring a bible and a crucifix
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deanc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Firstly this hotel has some issues that if corrected would make it a great place to go for a family holday lack of room at the poolside,fittings and decor to mention a few.We always go AI and have been to majorca,portugal and tenerife before but these have been in high season and paid well over £500 per week.At the festival we paid less than 400 in october had great food,clean accomodation and decent entertainment so cant complain about value for money,however if you are looking for a center spot for shops, clubs and restaurants and a quiet spot for me time through the day its not for you.Kids run everywhere, lad groups take the all inclusive drinking to the max and neigbouring locals enjoying their own freetime by partying till the early hours at weekends to the detriment of guests sleep. If you want to get away from the pool go to la pineda beech its 15min walk and is fantastic,Salou 15mins on bus, more your normal beach banana boats,jet skies and para gliding.Portaventura a must even though expensive . To sum up the festival village is great value for money and with todays tight houshold budgets that is the best thing that can be said about any family holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farmerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

hotel was great the staff are all so friendly and helpful, great selection with food for children and adults :) good size rooms which were very clean air condition in every room which is a must in peek season :) one fault i found was the size of the pool it was so small for the amount of ppl there but overall we had a great holiday i traveled with teenagers and younger they all had a brilliant time lots of things on for them to do and the entertainment was quite good :) definately we will be returning :)

Room Tip: it u want a safe place to go with your family and friends i would definately recommend here i also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sue212521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villamarina Club
1.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $87 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing