We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late review, but honest..june 2011..OK but could be better.”
Review of Festival Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Festival Village
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed June 2011. Originally booked another visit to Villa Marina Salou but 2 days before flying we were told it was over booked. We had to cancel or choose from 2 'similar' holidays offered by Thomas Cook. Festival Village Cap salou, being the Villas M sister hotel seemed like the right choice.
ACCOMODATION: Large rooms..excellent (Villa Marina rooms are tiny & cramped). Perfect for our family of 4, well laid out. Adequate for your needs. Towels changed when placed in bath. Sheets changed once I think, but how many times do you change yours at home in a week?
Could do with upgrade, wasn't peak season but TLC & repairs needed. Bathroom door had 2 jagged holes in it..like a kick & a punch hole! Unpacked & had to ask for someone to clean our floor..my feet were black!! 3 days later still asking & no mop to do it myself. Sofa beds were old fashioned but my kids loved it. No where to sit with access to a mirror/plug!? Bizarre!
FOOD: Very British catering except on theme nights. But food Ok for 3* AI. Mexican night very nice.
Buffet area struggles with number of guests & small food area means limited selection available. Staff struggle to cope to keep up with table clearing. We did eat out a fair bit for a wider choice & the waiter service, just to have a relaxing meal.
POOL: Counted 5 sunshades. Not enough for hotel that can hold 450 guests. Not everyone stays round pool but more were needed as little natural shade. Got busy, but we always found a spot. No toilets down where pool is. Bit annoying with 2 small kids that had to go back up the slope/ramp to main reception..would be idea to change one of the lower closer rooms into a couple of toilets maybe? Loose grills round pool edge always being replaced..usually by guests! Pool has been relined at some point so has a wobbly, ripple affect under foot..odd. Gross scum line around pool edge which we noticed last day when people started scratching their names in it. Manager assured it would be cleaned off, so hope its gone now!? Surely these things should be routinely maintained & cleaned?
ENTERTAINMENT: usual bingo, karaoke etc All enjoyable if like us, you expect that kind of thing. Kids funtime was huge hit with mine but short as they have to get it done in about an hour. Don't like the TV characters they bring in for photo ops, kids all excited then you find out its 5E per pic and your not allowed to take your own. Parrot show etc all good.
Daytime activity was poor but they tried with what they had. Rifle shooting off for over a week as pellets not delivered (all supplies for the Festival V came from their sister hotel, where we should have been! GGrrr). Water polo was on if a guest had a ball they could borrow. Pool hamster ball was bought in one day, which was chargeable..we bartered and got it cheaper. Kids club was dire! Useless for my 3&4 year old. No potatoe printing 'cos they had no potatoes??!(supermarket at end of road!) Kids come and go as they please, regardless of age, 1 member of staff. Play area should be better now my partner relayed most of rubber mating that was sticking up all over (5 min job..routine maintenance?). Slide had huge hole taped up in middle so not fit for purpose. Older kids & adults, entertainment is fine. The team are enthusiastic and fun but they need more support/supplies.
STAFF: Entertainers..good fun but much better suited to older kids & younger adults. Hotel staff All very pleasant if you are pleasant to them. No they don't have a 24 hour smile glued in place, but they will return a friendly smile or chat. Could do with more staff for better maintenance & cleaning. Very pleasant manager who tries to rectify any probs. However many issues should have been dealt with as a matter of course by maintenance team.
Cap Salou is too far out of Salou for us but was lovely with nice beach cove and few good bars etc.. loved the one just across the road from hotel..very friendly & great value. Shame the Festival V AI being so close has made it so quiet.
We had expectations higher as we prefered Villa Marina so I have tried to be honest with this review. Love Salou, liked Cap Salou. Would go again but maybe different hotel, though I wouldn't say never again as overall made the best of it & had good time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishMumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We only returned form festival village on sunday 20th and I wish I had booked two weeks!! I could not believe how accomodating the staff were, how great the food was (in quantity and quality) and how clean and spacious the apartments were! I had two children with myself and my husband and the entertainment provided for them was excellent which they really enjoyed. We had a gorgeous view of la pineda from our hotel room which was amazing to wake up to every morning. We walked to la pineda which took 10 mins and into main salou which took 20 mins and both were an enjoyable experience with great scenery and views. Also there is a gorgeous beach not far from hotel (beside negressco hotel) which we found less busy and nearer than the main salou beach. We had a day trip to Portaventura which was great but wish we had had time to go to aquapolis water park too, but hey we can next time and believe me there will be a next time!! i am currently looking into next year in festival village!! I think it would be hard to go elsewhere from now on. The Hoys

Room Tip: Try to get pool view as you also get a great view of la pineda and portaventura
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Weve just come back and I thought I needed to leave a good report. When we booked our hols last year we read some negative feedback but there'll always be people who like to moan!
We've had a great time in the hotel, the staff were great they couldn't do enough, and Sam this goes to you, thanks for making our holiday even sunnier in the morning....keep smiling!
The food was very good, there was always something for everyone. Yes the put up beds could be comfier and the pool could have been warmer but we didn't spend that much time round the pool, there were quite a few little coves very close to the hotel and the bus stop which runs very frequently was just outside the hotel. We got the bus pass which worked out just over one euro each per person.
Would recommend portaventura, trips to Barcelona and definitely a must is the downhill bikes which we only did half a day but now regret not doing a full day which includes having lunch at a villa and a swim in the pool. It's basically they take you in the mountains and a group of you just ride the bikes down these gorgeous scenic roads past villages and vineyards, I was so impressed that there was an 80 year old couple who did it too!
One last thing if you go to fv apartments with Thomas cook you might have Ryan as your rep who is the best ever. He'll miss the greens! Ask him about his card trick!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thegreensWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We went within a party of 10, 4 adults and 6 kiddies aged from 7 to 15. On arrival (11.30pm) we were met with a smile and the check in was made really quick, a bonus with tired children.
The rooms were very basic but surprisingly big, we were pleased to have a fridge and small kitchen area with a kettle even though we were all inclusive. Bathroom was clean as were the bedrooms. Had a massive balcony overlooking the pool with a table and chairs and a cloths airer.
Breakfast always a good choice apart from the fresh fruit was always melon but the kids loved the fact they could have a full english everyday!! Fresh yoghurt would of been nice.
Lunch was always a good choice of meat, fish, hot or cold and fresh bread and rolls as was the evening meal..in 7 days we never had the same thing twice..salad bar was always really fresh and topped up as soon as it looked like it was getting empty. Desserts were always tasty...the apple pie was AMAZING!!!
The BIG BONUS for us was the unexpected kids entertainment...the reps were BRILLIANT with the kids (older and younger ones) there was so much to do from pool games to table tennis to competitions, a junior disco every evening and a different act on every night! Brazillian dancers were brill!
Being early in the season we never had to fight for a sunbed, i would imagine later in the year this could be a problem as there was a limited number.
The snack bar could do with a bit of updating to the menu, it was very basic with an endless supply of burgers, hotdogs,chips and nacho's...Nothing very healthy or kind to the waistline!
The local beer was good as were the cocktails.
The only quibble we had was there was never enough hot water for us all to have showers, we had to stagger them during the day as we always ran out after 2 showers and i think alot of people staying there said the same thing.
Overall it was a brilliant holiday, a really good hotel with very friendly staff. Would def go back again..Thank you everyone at Festival Village.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool for sure!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

My stay at the festival village apartments was brilliant the food was good the room was nice and all in all I had a great holiday made good friends while I was there especially David the barman he was a real good guy

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 3 kids and I stayed here for a week. It was so relaxing. As a mum it was great as I had nothing to do and no money worries about constant i want demands from the kids. Endless supply of soft drinks and ice cream. The food was simple, varied and kept us all well fed. Too well according to my clothes. Drink plentiful too so all happy here. It was really clean and tidy and the staff were soooo nice...Sam, Hugh, Hector and Israel to name a few. Nothing was a bother for anybody. The location was perfect for us...not too out of the way but quiet enough as we found Salou bit in your face. As for spending money on taxis, the money saved elsewhere made this something i didnt mind and theres always the hourly walley trolley. Time of year perfect as not too busy so definitely back same time next year. Any tours use Plana at corner of spar. Super holiday all round. Thanks to all there and Hector, the washing is done!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank quitefussyhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just returned back from this hotel in may 2012, travelled with wife, 4 kids and parents .
after we checked in we had a look around the place and was disappointed with what I was actually looking at,the hotel looks nothing like it does in the Thomas Cook brochure which was very misleading.
the swimming pool was absolutely freezing and there were no where near enough sunbeds or space for that matter around the pool,and this is not even peak season!
the food on the other hand was a surprise as there were tasty meals and plenty of it morning,lunch,and evening meals,the rooms were of a
reasonable standard but the sofa beds for the kids were very uncomfortable
and could hardly pass as a bed.
Then there is the entertainment team,well, I've had more entertainment and laughs doing a night shift than I had here, think the whole team needs re training absolute pants!!
The location of the hotel is also not good, I did not plan spending most of our money on bus and taxi fares,the hotel is situated on a hill with not a lot around within walking distance.
However, the kids had a good time which is what we came for, then again they don't know any different.
would I recommend this hotel and location? no way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review as everyone's feedback and opinions matter to use here in the festival village

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were disappointed with your stay.
I would like to take this opportunity in responding to some of your points you have made
The photos which have been placed in the TC brochures are new pictures only taken last summer, apologies you do not feel they represent the hotel correctly
The hotel does not advertise that the pool is heated apologies you have found this to be cold, however due to the start of season and the hotel opening in April, the weather only has just started to pick up and therefore the water unfortunately is still cold as you will find in the hotel in the Costa Dorada area at this time of year.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the food it is much appreciated and glad you enjoyed it.
The hotel operates with 3 entertainers doing day and night activities apologies you found these not up to standard and would appreciate more detailed feedback via email if you would not mind to ensure we can offer something for all our guests to keep them entertained.
The hotel does have more sun beds however due to the hotel not been full at the moment we have not placed them all out, you may have noticed there was a lot of space down by the Jacuzzi which we would also use for sun beds. Not one hotel will have enough sun beds to cater for guests within the hotel in Spain.
It does state distances and location of the property within the Thomas cook brochure apologies if you were not made aware of this on booking.
The hotel does have a guest relations who is in the hotel daily, I sincerely apologise that you did not find it necessary to bring your concerns or dissatisfaction to him whilst here with us, so we could have possibly looked in to them for you.
Once again thank you for your review
L Carney Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villamarina Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel SunClub Salou
1.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $82 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing