We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic entertainment - great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel SunClub Salou
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from an excellent week at The Sun Club. Very good value for money all the staff were really helpful and the DJ who done the entertainment at night was really good with my son (who kept going up for all the competitions for the children's shots). Very famly orientated and my son enjoyed the swimming and entertainment. Very close to the beach, we had room on top floor with views across Salou and Porta Ventura etc. The bus stops are just outside and would recommend that you buy a saver bus ticket as we bought one and you get 10 bus journeys for 13 euros whereas you are 2 euros 10 cents for each journey so a huge saving there. Would recommend a visit to The Knights Inn which is just down from the hotel great staff in there and very welcoming. A lot of the hotels in the area are winding down for the season and places are closing until May but all in all we had a great holiday and my son really enjoyed himself.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms look out over to the water with excellent views over Salou etc but you will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenni1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 576 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed with my friend for one week. Though it was the end of September, the weather was really nice. The location of the hotel very good. Few minutes to the beach and to town center. The view from the balcony lovely. The rooms were very nice and tidy. the hotel itself was combined with the spar shop wich was very convinient. Every night there was something going on downstairs in the restaurant so it was quiet interesting. the swimming pool was very nice. however, me and my friend wanted to swim after 6 pm and it was closed. The nicest thing at the hotel was reception staff. All of them, including housekeeping service were very nice and helpful, especially Paula and Bea. As I worked at the reception I can tell that Paula was the best there, very kind, honest, helpfull and profesional. it is a pleasure for me to recomand that hotel.
The last thing to Paula.
Thank you for everything
Te amo xxx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slawek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

just come back from hols,had a great time...place was spotlessly clean,food n restaurant was very reasonable,and staff wer very friendly,thomsons rep jason was great..nothing was 2 much trouble 4 him,we got put in the wrong room...and hotel gave 3 of us complementary breakfast 4 the rest of our stay..which was lovely,we can not fault the place..wood def come back again,the beach was a 10 min walk down a steep slope,but u could use the steps at the back of the cala font hotel,which we found easier as this was a steady decline,a good place 2 eat is the cap salou restaurant......food was amazin and cheap,3 of us ate most nites with dessert and drink 4 around 41.00e,buses 2 salou,pineda,cambrils run all day...u buy a card fom booth at front of hotel,n u top the card up,it works out a lot cheaper,waterpark in pinada was a good day out,but can work out expensive,they charge u 2 sit n the sunbeds......wot a cheek,food was ok,port adventura absolutly fab...we went 4 2 days as u get a good deal if u buy 2 days,food good and not 2 expensive in comparison 2 englands theme parks,all n all we all had a fantastic time.............

Room Tip: def wood pay the little extra n book the 2 bed apartment......loads of room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed one week, family with kids age 2 to 10.

LOCATION:
Great location away from hustle and bustle of Salou.
Bus on the doorstep to bring you to Pineda, Tarragona, Salou, Cambrils, Portaventura all for 1euro9cent on the T10 bus card (13.50 for first 10 journeys, 10.90 for subsequent top ups of 10 journeys). This means access to everywhere is cheap and easy.

LOCAL BEACHES:
Short walk to local beaches and coves - Platja Llarga is largest, Cala Font very close.
La Punta Roja is smallest, close by and the best in my opinion - bring a picnic and bottle of wine and sit here to watch the sun set. Beautiful.

LOCAL BARS / RESTAURANTS:
Knights Inn looked ok. Put-off by The Paddock by the guy trying to push us in, shouting accross the road at us etc. We tried Smugglers a few times and were very pleased.
Tried the hut at Cala Font for lunch - food not good.
Had the buffet at Golden Donnaire in Pineda very good value.
Dubliner was dissapointing.
The best by far is Danny Boy in Salou, excellent steak.
Also Bamboo Restaurant at top of prom in Salou at sunset is a lovely experience.

HOTEL BAR RESTAURANT RECEPTION
The spanish bar and reception staff very helpfull and friendly.
Had the buffet breakfast in hotel, food ok, but would go to Smugglers instead.
2.80 for pint Sam Maguel. Half price happy hour from 7.30 to 8.30pm.
We caugth the end of the entertainment each night, looked ok, irish dancers one night, magic show, singers etc. Brian the entertainment manager seems a very likable guy.
Rep Jason very helpfull and friendly.

ACCOMMODATION:
Reasonable size rooms and balcony. All usual facilities, hair dryer, fridge etc. Electric kettle to be rented but had a pot on the stove. Safe rented 20euro for week. Beach towels not available for rent. Room towels small and not changed regularly.
Air con not the coldest, but is adequate.

NEGATIVES:
Rooms not very clean - cleaners should do better. Surfaces not clean, shelves and difficult corners not clean, glass doors and balcony not clean, utensils not clean.
Tables in bar and patio not very clean, and wiped with dirty cloth when done.
Toilets beside the swimming pool were a disgrace, went no further than the door and turned back.

Noise - walls as usual not the best sound proof with scraping chairs by some guests a problem. Also, noise coming under main door from corridor is a problem I'm sure could be fixed easily. Everything can be heard in the corridors. Entertainment can be heard very easily in rooms from this hotel, and from adjoining hotel if facing that way.

Low prices at this hotel attract some guests that caused a lot of trouble. Rough behaviour around the pool during the day, and general trouble during the night. Thought staff could have handled this small minority of people much better, for the betterment of the other guests. Was a little ashamed at times as these troublemakers were from my native Ireland, while all other irish guests were friendly and considerate. But due to the above, we spent most of our time away from the hotel.

While the hotel is smaller, and has less facilities than the larger 4star establishments, I was not dissapointed with what we got for the price we paid. However, I believe the above negatives could be tackled by better hotel management, which would result in a very attractive and very good value for money hotel.

So to sumarise, the bus stop on the doorstep, the little coves close by, and the low price will probably bring me back again. But, I will be bringing ear plugs and savlon.

Room Tip: Pool view side of hotel is nice, sunny, but oipen to noise from entertainment from neighbouring hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank cirato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Myself my husband and 2 kids(15 & 11) stayed here for a week.Location very central to getting to other resorts.Rooms were very good and clean.5 people can stay there.Service was brill as was the entertainment every night.Pool is very cold but didnt seem to bother many people.Bus stops outside for Portaventura,Aquapolis,Salou etc every few minutes.A bus card could be bought from reception and topped up which saves money.Beach was only 5 min away as were the shops,bars and restaurants.We will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CClarkeWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for one week.Room clean lots of space. Pool freezing but kids splash pool and play area was loved by my little ones.Steep hill to beach but made it there and back with buggy not too bad.Buses run into salou every few mins from directly outside apartments. we only found out about family bus ticket on our last day,that would have saved us a few bob, as we ventured in nearly everyday. Would rec the "train" that brings you into salou and as far as portaventura theme park. Look out for "LITTLE HAMPTON " near burger king, for food .homemade pasta sauces and lasagne with kids menu incl drink and ice cream for only 3.95. fantastic value for money , nice atmosphere friendly staff. Found it hard to find somewhere nice for food in cap salou DO NOT RECOMMEND THE RESTUARANT IN SUN CLUB. unhelpful unfriendly not great menu and I quote " no veg on weekdays , only weekend" !!
Entertainment ok , could hear it all from apartment!

Room Tip: as far away from entertainment as possible. very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The swimming pool doesn't get the sun on it until 12:30 in the day and then the pool was freezing all day - kids wouldn't go near it. The location is all hills and very steep hills - not many good restaurants around except the knights inn! The rooms were cleaned around daily but yet there was still dirty left under table, lockers etc. the hotel is so noisy as they put families on the same floor as young adults! The travel rep left the min we arrived and was seen again when we got to the airport to leave! Defo would go back to cap salou or this hotel again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalareke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#43 of 93 in Salou
287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
1.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel SunClub Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel SunClub Salou

Address: C/ Ginesta 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#17 Family Hotel in Salou
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $61 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel SunClub Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunClub opened its doors in May 2002We have a total of 113 apartments, 94 one bedroom and 18 two bedrooms.The SunClub is situated in the privileged area of Cap Salou, and you will be ...- 5 Minutes from La Pineda and Salou center. -20 Minutes from the beautiful fishing village of Cambrils . -10-15 Minutes from the PortAventura theme park or the water park . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel SunClub Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Sunclub Salou Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Sunclub Hotel Salou
Salou Aparthotel Sunclub Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing