We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but....”
Review of H10 Delfin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Delfin
Ranked #20 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Stoke On Trent
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice place but....”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Me and my girlfriend just got back from a few days in salou. We stayed here and thought the location was great, close to the beach, shops and nightlife but set back a bit so you dont hear all the noise all night long. The room was pretty standard in terms of layout and fittings although the TV was a good quality decent sized plasma, however there werent too many english channels. The breakfast was a hot and cold buffet, all the usual meats, cheese, bread etc as well as bacon, eggs, sausages, hash browns beans etc if you prefer a 'full english'

The main problem for us though was the beds, i have never slept on anything quite so hard in all my life, i really struggled to get any decent sleep at all and my girlfiend was the same. I spoke to reception and was told all their bed are orthopeadic so they couldnt change it. I like a firm bed but this was like sleeping on a board. If you like a soft bed this may not be the best place for you.

However we did think it was a nice hotel overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room to get the best of the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank blue_haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    318
    172
    45
    36
See reviews for
141
524
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We normally book the Hotel Las Vegas when in Salou (see other reviews) but on this occassion it was full for our 4 day trip with two friends.

The Delfiin Park is the sister hotel to the Las Vegas and we had been advised by the Las Vegas staff that we would not be disappointed. We weren't. Clean rooms, excellent public areas and well located.

We were there during the last week of the season and although the crowd around the pool were more elderly, there was on the whole a good mix and the Dutch visitors were as always polite and good fun to be around.

Any negatives are based on our experiences of the Las Vegas, but we have to say that although the food is of a reasonable to good standard, the staff in the restaurant are not so attentive. Possibly they had scaled down. One other comment would be that the number of tables and chairs around the pool hinder the setting up of longers. They could easily do away with a few and open the area up a bit. But the pool itself is excellent.

Room Tip: If not half board and in need of a lunchtime snack, pop over to the Fox and Hound. In the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Just back from salou having spent two weeks in the delfin park hotel. Where do I start well there is no way it should be classed as a 4 star hotel, yes the hotel itself is very clean and nicely decorated and well situated close by to the beach and pubs and clubs but on arrival reception staff made no effort to tell us where we could find the bar or restaurant. Very ignorant. As for the restaurant, we ate there the nite we arrived and that was it. The food was the same everynight, you were put at a table with total strangers, you had to queue as thou being back at school dinners. Breakfast was just as bad, the food was swimming in grease, beware anyone you have been told!!! As for entertainment, that's a laugh in itself absolutely diabolical could have done better myself and that's all I can say on the matter. Never in a million years would we go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Smirrnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 17/9 till 27/9,this holiday was booked through Jet2 holidays.On arrival the reception staff were very efficient,we were in our accomodation with in 5 minutes.The room we occupied was room 123,on the same floor as the restaurant,how handy.The food in the restaurant was acceptable,one or two things could be made better.Firstly the line for soup could be moved away from the same line as the main meal,total bedlem at 6.45 pm in the evening.Secondly people were standing in the main meal line and were just pushing into the front of the line,the hotel staff put a stop to this and people were told to stand in line and wait there turn,and quite right.With the line being so long the dessert area was not fully assesible to others,again bedlem.The breakfasts were OK a choice of a full cooked breakfast ,various cereals,breakfast juices and much more.If you are picky you will find something to eat.The other downside is the evening meal,you are allocated a table during your stay and could be sat with someone you dont know.At breakfast you can sit anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Me and my Partner, both 25 years old, stayed at this hotel between 23rd and 30th september 2011. Please bear in mind that the following comments are base on this time of year and that it was the end of the season, so it may be different if you go peak season.
The hotel was lovely and clean and the rooms were very modern. When we arrived we were given a room on the 2nd floor which was lovely and big and had a fantastic walk in shower. However, there was a clicking noise which was from a fan in a room below us. My partner asked the reception to move us to another room which they did straight away. Our second room on the 5th floor was slightly smaller and had a bath/shower instead of the walk in shower we had in the first room. The walls are very thin in the rooms as you would expect for a hotel, and we could hear the people in the next room talking. However after 12midnight the entertainment in the hotel stops and most people are making their way to bed so we never had problems sleeping at night, except for the hard beds, which I find is always the case when sleeping in a hotel abroad.
We asked the reception staff for directions on many occasions and they were always very helpful and friendly and spoke very good english. we found that the exchange rate was better at our hotel than anywhere else in salou so i would recommened shopping around first.
The food in the hotel was fantastic! loads of choice and there was a chef cooking the meat on a grill in the room so you could tell it was freshly cooked. We went half board which meant we had breakfast and an evening meal. the evening meal was different each night and there was a good selection to choose from. The only problem we had was that we were put onto a table with another couple that we didnt know, and they were not english, i believe they were german. However, we asked if we could have a table to ourselves which was done straight away, it did mean we had to have the later sitting at 8.30pm.
As for the location, it was perfect. Its literally a 5 minute walk to pubs, shops, resturants and the beach. The pools in the hotel are lovely and clean, there was a life guard by the pool who was constantly clearing it of any leaves that fell in. There were plenty of sunloungers stacked by the pool and tables and chairs around the pool, which you just help yourself to.
Me and my partner were the youngest guests at the hotel and we only saw one child our entire stay. I would suggest this hotel is perfect for couples if you would like a nice quiet stay without lots of kids about.
All in all this is a lovely hotel that i would suggest to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed as a couple from the 13/9/11 to 27/9/11 in the Delfin Park we had to walk round to the hotel from the coach which parked round the corner from hotel which might be dfficult if you have walking problems. The hotel itself is lovely very clean and tidy and in a great location as it is not far from the beach front and shops and fountains. The room was modern and very clean with cleaning being done every day. I cannot see for the life of me why anyone would say the walls were paper thin the only times we heard our neighbours was when we were on our balcony and they had their apartment door open.
You are allocated your dining table when you arrive which you have to sit at for dinner but you can sit anywhere for breakfast. There was two dinner times 6.45 and 8.30 i feel the 8.30 time is too late but i know some people enjoy eating at this time. Dinner times were madness as you had to queue up and stay in your line to go round the dinner selection which meant you cant wait to go round to see what is on you have to guess in advance because if you leave the queue then you have to start over again in new queue. The line would get bigger resulting in the sweet counter being blocked in so you could not go round the counter with ease. The food was very repetitive and quite often cold with no great choices for vegetarians which i am not. Chips were the stable choice for potatoes as you seldom got proper potatoes. mash was dried variety and very watery. There was air conditioning in the restaurant which can only be described as Baltic. People complained but just got a shrug of the shoulders from the staff this didnt help to keep your meals warm. Breakfast was ok not wonderful but ok thankfully they did have a lot of fresh fruit which was plentiful and varied.
Pool area had lots of tables and chairs which could be found in shaded areas and sunny areas not an awful lot of room for sunbeds though. There are a few lovely trees ideally situated so that in the hot sun of the afternoon i could seek shade from and my husband could still be in the sun sitting at the same table but different places.
You are not allowed to take anything in to the swimming pool such as airbeds or balls, they stopped a young couple from gently playing with a small ball whilst it is alright for the amimation team to promote water polo with a big ball which constantly was out of the water and hitting seated sunbathers which could have been seriously hurt, very unfair on the young couple who were not annoying anyone.
At night time dont expect to get any sleep before 12 as the noise from the hotel nearby is horrenous you hear their music whether you want to or not.
I cannot pinpoint the cause but i had a very upset stomach for most of the two weeks and have come back to having to take antibiotics for a chest infection.

I can honestly say this is an honest review of the hotel and hope you find it helpful

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of hotel have no sun and no view. There is a great little restaurant facing the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank charleeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Having just returned from a 5 night stay at the Delfin, I am very pleased to give my view of the hotel. Having read a lot of the reviews on the Delfin, I have to say some are fair, whilst others are a bit harsh. I found the staff to be extremely friendly & helpful. The hotel was so clean & the rooms were cleaned every day, with fresh towels. Yes, the walls are thin & you can hear above & either side of you - it wasn't that much of an issue as the reviews had prepared us! So what that the flat screen TV on the bedroom wall only had BBC World, Euronews & Eurosport in English - is that really what you came to Spain for?? The poolside isn't particularly big, but it is very pleasant. We didn't actually use the pool as the fantastic beach is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The bar prices are reasonable but there are plenty of bars in the immediate vicinity that are cheap & cheerful! We stayed at the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis & the food was reasonable - although it was a bit chaotic at breakfast! The lifts are pretty poor, if i'm honest & the 2 tiny ones (capacity of 5 each - if 'Dopey' & 'Bashful' decided to not come on holiday!) are painfully slow. We walked up & down the stairs after our first encounter with the lifts - we were on the fourth floor & it wasn't too bad at all. Rooms have a balcony but not much of a view ( not an issue to us) & also air conditioning (will only work when patio door closed). Beds are firm & comfortable.
So, all in all a great hotel which we would certainly have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.5 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,012 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Salou Princess
H10 Salou Princess
#15 of 93 in Salou
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Delfin

Property: H10 Delfin
Address: C/ de la Rioja 4 - 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#19 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Delfin 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Delfin Park Salou
h10 Delfin Park Hotel Salou
Delfin Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing