We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Sol Dor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Sol Dor
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Bolton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just returned home 2 days ago, loved this hotel, first your greeted by the lovely Maria who is very helpful & polite.
Rooms are nice & clean, loved antoni at the bar, made us feel realy welcome, as I don't think there was many English there, the only slight problem is the Russians are rude, at meals times but that is not the fault of the hotel, we just made sure we beat them to it, and Carlos the chef new this and he made sure they waited there turn. :)
Kids entertainment was great, can not fault this hotel at all, we will definitely be going back, thank you for a lovely holiday x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisainoz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestHotels2014, Gerente at Best Sol Dor, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Lisa, many thanks for your lovely review and your thoughts, which are valued and appreciated. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to feel home away from home. Your lovely comments on my staff are purely complementary, I am so grateful for that. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel, please let us know about your arrival in advance and we will make sure you have fantastic holidays with us! With Best Regards, Miguel Grabulosa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    171
    117
    42
    27
See reviews for
272
120
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days all inclusive. Beach is across the road.
Rooms basic but you get towels and room service every day.
Bar service good and there is 3 cocktails included in the all inclusive and cava, however if you wanted the other cocktails they were cheaper than the prices on the menu.
Restaurant was okay breakfast, lunch and. Dinner were all very similar food and then a chef grilled various meats.
Staff polite however the restaurant manager is very rude about the customers.
Overall an okay hotel which is near beach and restaurant.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kgrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestHotels2014, Gerente at Best Sol Dor, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mr Grimley, I was surprised to read that my restaurant manager was not as friendly as he could have been, please accept my apologies, I am sure this was not his intention. We generally get really positive comments regarding hospitality. I do hope you will consider staying again in the future.

Best Regards,

Miguel Grabulosa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

A week's stay over the summer half term last May. To start with, was excellent. Plenty of space at dinner and breakfast, quiet round the pool. Then we realised the hotel had just opened for the summer season that week. By the time we got to day 4 the place was packed! Ah well...

Anyway, the food. Varied from the excellent (esp the omlettes at breakfast) to the OK. Friendly staff but be ware the russian elbows at mealtimes. Rooms bog standard but clean.

The pool is unheated and very cold. Come August this might not be a problem but in mid May it was very bracing. We had packed the boys wetsuits on a whim (£15 from Tescos, you know it makes sense) and these proved invaluable.

As it had just re-opened we were mostly spared the evening entertainment which can be loud. If this is an issue, ask for a room that doesn't overlook the pool.

The beach is v close and good stretches of sand. A word of warning. It was quite windy when we were there and the dry sand (no tide to keep it damp) was a real pain.

Also well worth taking the bus to Taragona (about 20 mins) for a day trip or two or further down the coast.

If you do get a manky day weatheriwse, the far plusher hotel directly opposite has a good spa and swiming pool. You can get day tickets (expensive) but they do hand out half price vouchers.

Overall a perfectly good hotel for a reasonable family holiday - and away from the madness that is Salou!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the pool if the evening entertainment is not what you want to hear late at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klymmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Sol Dor, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for the wonderful reflections of your holiday at best Sol D´or.
We are most appreciative of your kind and thoughtful review you had at hotel. The comments you make about the staff, the fantastic food are so complimentary. About the pool we only can comment that because it is early in the season and the night it is not over 20ºC it is very hard to reach a perfect temperature

Thank you again and hopefully we meet you and your family again at our hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol Dor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here; a 5 minute walk from the beach, lovely food (especially breakfasts which were fresh pancakes and omlettes) and extra friendly staff especially at the bar.

The pool was quite cold but was nice and cooling when you had been lying out in the sun loungers for a while. There was a pool bar and cocktails were always available throughout the day to take to the sun loungers.

The rooms weren't amazing but were clean and did the job. Music played until about midnight from the pool area, so you couldn't really sleep until it stopped, but it wasn't too much bother.

The bar staff spoke quite good English and no request was ever too much. They made fantastic cocktails and allowed you to mix and match. (We were all inclusive so these were all free of charge).

It was hard to get a table at the restaurant as it was so busy every night and when you did get a table it was often hard to get drinks, but the buffet was really nice with a different selection each night. Also when we arrived late on the first night they were nice enough to provide us with some food and bottles of water for our rooms.

Would go back, I had a great holiday here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisenmamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Sol Dor, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Family Louisenmamoo,

Thank you for your fantastic review!
We really like to know that your family have enjoyed their stay at our hotel Best Sol Dór. Our goal is to satisfy our customers in any details as best as we can and we will make sure to arrange future problems with the service at our restaurant.

Hopefulle we have the honor to see you bach at our hotel

Kind regards

Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D’or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We been there for 10 days, rooms were clean. Food was great and staff was very friendly. It was full of russians but it didn't create any problems for us. Only thing that we didn't like, they didn't tell us about air conditioner and jacuzzi so special thanks to russian tourists that told us about it.

Room Tip: Make sure, you check your beds as they can give you sometime double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinkosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Sol Dor, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We like to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Your small comment abouth missed information make us want to improve and these comments helps us to serve you better next time.

Kind regards

Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D’or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have been here before & really enjoyed it, its very clean the foods just ok but lots of choice (im just fussy) The staff are FANTASTIC!!! they really make your holiday, especially the bar staff.
The only fault is the Russians they are the rudest people I have EVER EVER met they need to lear some manners & thats coming from a laid back person but this is not the Hotels fault.

Overall Good Hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natsbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Sol Dor, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass the review to all the hotel staff and specially to the bar department. Looking forward to see you again
Kind regards

Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D'Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Cute hotel, not far away from the sea (it's about 5 minutes walk down the street).
Costa Dorada at all, and this hotel in particular have become like Russian colony - a lot of russians, everybody speaks russian, even ads are in Russian. So as staff in hotel.;)
What was not so great, is a bathroom in room. The smell there was awful!
But the whole picture is not so bad. Breakfasts and dinners were great, always different.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Best Sol Dor, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for the comments posted on Tripadvisor.
Concerning the bathroom problems, we would have preferred that you commented this on reception during your stay so our maintenance department could provided you a solution.
Hope to see you again in our hotel Best Sol Dor

Kind regards

Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D'Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salou
0.9 mi away
Best Cap Salou
Best Cap Salou
#48 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Mediterraneo
Best Mediterraneo
#43 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Negresco
Best Negresco
#29 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.2 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Sol Dor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Sol Dor

Property: Best Sol Dor
Address: Cami del Raco s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Sol Dor 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Sol D’Or is located only at 50 m. from Playa del Racó (La Pineda), at 300 m. from Aquopolis Water Park and 3 km from Port Aventura theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Best Sol Dor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Sol Dor Hotel Salou
Sol d Or Salou
Sol Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing