We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtels Apartamentos Albatros
Ranked #6 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Unfortunately I cannot review the apartments as I never got to see the inside of them! I booked these apartments about 4 months before I was due to arrive. When we got to the apartment a rude non English speaking woman shoved a map at me and all I could make out from her was that there was a water leak. Basically she was giving me a map and telling me to head down the street and go to another hotel. I told her no way was I going anywhere with 2 kids and several suitcases, so she eventually arranged transport to another hotel which seems to be part of the same branch of hotels but less family orientated and more for young couples. The hotel we ended up staying in was fine. My problem is that I spent alot of time reviewing my apartment before choosing it because we had 2 young kids with us and that was what I had paid for. The receptionist made no attempt to contact us, and we received no apology. My honest advice would be to not book these apartments. Very disappointed......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    73
    38
    15
    27
See reviews for
111
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

we stayed at the albatros bed and breakfast from 18th-25th aug, we arrived at 11am but was told our room wouldnt be ready til 5,
but they did have a locked room downstairs which we could put our cases in.

when we did get out room (416) we were surprised with how big it was for two people as we were expecting one room with beds and a kitchen in,
our room had a living room with tv, table, wardrobe and fold out settee bed with seperate bedroom, kitchen and bathroom with two balconies as we were on a corner.
we did have air-con in our room but we didnt bother paying for it as it was 11 euros a day.

We werent asked for a deposit and our room was cleaned daily, bins emptied and fresh towels.
The breakfast was nothing amazing but we found something to eat every morning, the staff were friendly and were understanding when we had our bag stolen (was stolen in a club)
including our room key which we thought we would have been charged for a new key.

the apartments are in a good position only a little walk down a hill into town or to the beach, the hill on the way back is quite steep especially in the heat, both from town and the beach.

we found the location and the friendliness of staff in hotel very good , so we will be returning next year as we had a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We travelled with our two children ( 8 & 5) and stayed from August 11th to August 25th 2012. The hotel is in a excellent location near several lovely beaches and is in a quiet part of Salou. The town itself is a 15 - 20 minute walk away along the seafront. I had read some negative reviews of the hotel and was quite apprehensive, but I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was a studio apartment with two beds and a sofa bed. The bathroom and kitchen were spotlessly clean and with brand new fixtures and fittings, and the balcony was very large with a partial view of the sea (room 233). The bistro is a really good place to eat - much cheaper than a lot of the restaurants in Salou. There is a supermarket on site, and the prices there are comparable to the prices of a Spar shop in the UK. The swimming pool is great because the children's section is gated, so they are quite safe to splash around in there if you want to go for a swim yourself. Plenty of sunloungers around the pool, no rowdy groups or loud music. We had booked the most basic self-catering package, so if you choose to do this you need to be aware of some surcharges: 110Euro cash deposit upon arrival, towels and sheets changed only once per week unless you pay 1Euro per towel/sheet for clean ones. Also, you are responsible for taking out your own rubbish. If you want air-conditioning it is charged from 8Euro per 24 hours. All in all, we had a fantastic experience and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with a young family. would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soozie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Arrived at the Albatros on the 16th August,check in was very slow and there was only one person ahead of us,the old lady had a very unwelcoming face and seemed to hate her job,anyway checked in and the room we where giving was nice but had NO AIR CONDITIONING!!(Room 320 Avoid) it was 34 Degrees outside and we had a baby with us..I went back down and asked for a room with air conditioning in which she kept saying to ask her boss,in the end they gave us two FANS! they did nothing! After a Sleepless night with the fans,I went back down, eventually i got the Manager,She Tried to Get me to pay an extra 350 euros for a bigger two bedroom room with air con.. I refused but insisted i needed air con,In the end she just Gave it to Us for nothing,once we payed for air con which was 11 euro a night but well worth the money as it was so hot.The Apartment was Huge and had a enormous balcony.We were self catering,towels were not changed nor were bed's,not sure if thats normal procedure for self catering so be aware.
Overall The hotel is clean,spacious rooms,Lovely views(if you get 4th or 5th floor and are facing sea)As there are buidings all around it Blocking the views. The hotel is not far from salou main strip but is up hill,most buses run just outside.I didn't see any entertainment at the place,didn't seem to be on,Food was nice at the bistro and never busy and pool was good, you always got a sunbed,the water gets deep very Quick and there is NO life Guard.There are lovely beaches very close by.It wasn't great for kids,we had a 5 year old and baby and not much to entertain them,we went to the international down the road to entertain the 5 year old,he enjoyed it there.

Room Tip: Get a Room on 4th or 5th floor,sea facing,our room was 435,huge Apartment but you could probally get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sophie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Long review, but our genuine in depth review. CHECK MY PICS TOO.

We stayed at this aparthotel from 15 July - 26 July 2012, we had two rooms, 2 people in one and 3 people in another.

There were some large groups arriving as we were going, so some noise in hallways at like 3am, one night someone was slamming a door really loud every 5 minutes at 2am I could have killed them.

APARTMENT ROOM:
We arrived at around 12:00pm and were told one of the rooms were ready and that we had to wait until 5:00pm for the other room to be ready, this was expected as it is like this at most places! Although please note, if you do arrive early and have to wait a matter of hours then do not worry, there is a luggage room 1 floor below the main floor where you can ask for the key at reception, then put your suitcases in there and go straight to the Bistro (which is separate to the aparthotel) or by the Pool for drinks/snacks so no need to worry about stressfull long waits sitting down for hours.
Our room was room 225 which was literally almost by reception up the stairs and you're there, there's about 15 steps to each floor or you can take the lifts, there are a few around the hotel, very convenient. Our accommodation was perfect, we had two large beds, good sheets/pillows etc. 32 inch flat screen TV which had BBC 1, Sky News, BBC World News and ITV4, There is a large sofa which can be coverted into a sofa bed, and there is a parting you can pull across at any time to make the bed and toilet area separate from the sofa bed and kitchenette, perfect for sharing adults. The bathroom was literally spotless clean, we've never seen a bathroom so clean nice shower, no bath though this didn't bother us, separate room for toilet which had a bidat and nice sink area. The balcony was absolute perfection serious, we had a view which you could see the pool on the left side of us, the terrace below and straight ahead you couldn't beat, there were two apartment blocks either side but we had a view of the main beach and sea view (see pics I will add) it was gorgeous. The kitchenette is nice too, there was a mini breakfast bar, a toaster, a modern microwave although no oven in this room, nice fridge and small but good freezer bit for small bits such as ice cubes, suitable cultery, plates and glasses etc. nice sink.

AIR CON:
We were here for a half-board basis and booked through a coach company so our Air-Con was included in the price, although I think you have to pay extra room only/self catering. Not sure but I think it was 11€ per night (this is approx.) Ours was VERY powerful, got nice and cold very quick, doesn't work (obviously) when balcony doors open but we left ours on whilst we were out and when we were sweating and boiling hot from walks at night we walked in, it was like heaven so nice and cold, you couldn't beat it. Wasn't loud either, couldn't hear it half the time.

POOL:
Clean, plenty of sunbeds and here they get full up at around 10am not 7am like other hotels, plenty of time to get one but can get busy. Not a huge pool or area but adequate for amount of guests, the pool goes quite deep (to around 2 1/2 meters i think) and kids pool is around 0.5m deep.

LOCATION:
4/5 - The aparthotel was in a great location, it is located literally 2 minute walk (if that!) from a small beach, just turn right outside the main doors and walk and its there. (See pic) Gets very quiet during late afternoon just to siestas, you can hire canopies and sunbeds on beach and there's some steel rods you can put your parasols in but I'm not sure if this is specific for the company who are charging for the beds etc.
Then if you walk from the bistro or to your left then left again outside the main doors from the hotel, you arrive at this little walkway you can walk down to a nice little quiet area with benches and you get panoramic views around Salou and the mountains (see pic) it is perfect, about 1 minute from the apartments. And there you can join a walkway which you can have a nice walk along the side of the cliffs (safe, not steep or high) and it gives you more sea and mountain views. Perfect, especially at sunset.
Walking to the main town takes around 10 - 15 mins depending on route etc. We took different routes on different days and some are very quick compared to others, we recommend walking down the route by Salou Park and down - takes minutes. The only problem for some people (wasn't for us) and mabye infirm or elderly is that the aparthotel you do have to negotiate the odd steep bank but if you take regular stops it isn't that bad honest.
TAXI (If you don't want to walk) is around 5,70€ from the taxi area from the fountains for max. 4 people. Train is 3€ each. So taxi cheaper, we did walk most nights because it's all part of the experience.
There is a variety of restaurants close to the albatros or there is the bistro.

BISTRO AT THE APARTHOTEL
This is called Al's Bistro, at these operate separate from the hotel, is is perfect for Self Catering guests. You can get a range of food from Burgers (these are gorgeous) to curries, toasties, light bites etc. Good prices too. A burger is 3,50€ (bargain) and you get salad too, or burger and chips is around 5€, perfect. There is a special offer on each day for around 5€ - 6€ a meal which is good. Staff good too. Drinks can be quite expensive though. 1,50€ for a coke, 4€ for a cider. There is a nice inside area with nice seating areas, opened up nice and cool or you can sit outside on the seats which are really comfy for something eat. Nice.

ENTERTAINMENT:
Unlike a hotel, there aren't all fancy shows every night but we really liked what was on offer, there was Bingo each night and sometimes Karaoke, then you had an act, we had some nice singers and it's relaxing just sitting there with a drink at night in the nice quiet area.


FOOD (BASED ON OUR HALF BOARD BASIS STAY) IN RESTAURANT:
Breakfast is served (08:00 - 10:30) / Dinner is (19:00 - 21:45)
At breakfast you get croissants, toast (Do it yourself), fruit, natural yoghurt in a bowl, cornflakes, small mini sausages, Spanish style bacon, eggs, potato things, orange and apple juice, water, milk.
At dinner it varies, there is always chips every night, we had meatballs, curries, fish, beef all on different nights, if you are used to huge hotel choice it is not like that here, there are around 3 main dishes and that is it, suitable for us though. Although one of our party had Gluten Free and sadly had to eat salad most nights which was a shame... There is plenty of salad, you pay extra for drinks and desserts are limited to ice cream and fruit that's it, no cakes or anything so yeah.

WI-FI
For those wanting Wi-Fi it is 4€ for 1 day, 9€ for 3 days or 18€ for 7 days. We had great accessibility from all places in the aparthotel including the room, high speed too. Just ask at reception and they give you a code.

SUPERMARKET
This is exremely convenient, it is attatched to the hotel, you can access it from the bistro or from outside, fully stocked with some British food and brands too such as Heinz sauces and Cadbury chocolate etc. Perfect for the self catering once again. Daily newspapers too, Daily Mirror's are 2,20€ a day.

STAFF:
Staff were nice, reception etc. Spoke good English, Our maid was fantastic she was so kind too, we gave her a tip as a little extra.

CLEANLINESS:
Spotless clean everywhere, always saw someone cleaning too, we had our towels and sheets and cleaned everyday and our rubbish taken as we were on a Half-Board basis so we didn't have to pay any extra. Self catering have to remove rubbish theirselves and I don't think they get maid service as often, if at all but do check this with the hotel as we have no idea.

GLUTEN FREE:
There is a restaurant around 200 - 250m down the road called The Guiness Tavern which has a separate menu which is all Gluten Free it included a Chicken Tikka curry and some fish etc.
The supermarket which is attatched has frankfurter style sausages, burgers, normal sausages all Gluten free, just look for the logo.
There is another supermarket not far away, I think it's up the road from Burger King (to the left) and you can find Gluten Free Baguettes, croissants, bread. Good.
They do some fantastic gluten free crisps (especially RISI company) taste no different, some Lay's (Walkers) are gluten free. Just look for the crossed out wheat logo.
MCDONALD's offers gluten free buns for their BigMac's and Hamburgers. Fantastic, use your card in the EasyOrder kiosks for quick and easy orders. Great.


OVERALL:
We had a great stay, nice rooms, very clean, good staff, good supermarket, location, beach nearby. The only problem was the food on the Half-Board basis, even though we found something there wasn't a lot of choice, we would return again but only on a Self Catering basis as it seems better value.
It is in a nice quiet area, and you will get sleep thank god there are no nearby parties going on until 3 - 6am. Bistro closes at around 12 - 1am it depends. Beware though, as with everywhere if there are large groups there may be loud noises in the hallways or neighbours.

JLM/MNG
STOKE-ON-TRENT
Stay: JUL 2012 / Review: AUG 2012

Room Tip: If possible, request sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Arrived at 10am ish and had 3 rooms booked. They tried to outbook one of the rooms by saying there was a problem with the water pipes and they had a burst. The other two rooms had been able to check in upon arrival. When stated we were all family and we weren't happy for one room to be put in a hotel the other side of town and that we all wanted relocating they miraciously found another room. I'm a hotel manager and its the oldest excuse in the book to be used when they had obviously overbooked the property. We stayed here for 7 nights as a group of 10 people and returned today. Booked 2 bedroomed apartments through hotels4u but got put into studio rooms that had two double szed beds, a fold away bed and fold away wall for any privacy you wanted. Wasn't a problem as we were all family. The rooms are basic but have cooking facilities and a good sized balcony. Hotel asks for a £80/Euro 120 deposit on arrival. Hotel pool clean and plenty of sun beds. We found a lovely little beach - turn right out of reception and then down first street on right, lots of steps to get to it so not for the mobility impaired but much quieter than the beach to the left. Anywhere you want to go you need to challenge the steep hill back but at least it keeps you fit. Housekeeping is the biggest let down - no fresh towels or bedding throughout the whole week, need to take own rubbish out to the street to the big bins and a sign in the room saying that if the room isn't cleaned upon departure to the standard you entered it you will be charged from your deposit for the cleaning.

Overall an acceptable stay - nothing to majorly moan about but nothing to majorly compliment.

Oh and weather was great!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 92travel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday in Salou 21 family members stayed at the Albatros and had a great time. Ages ranged from 50 to 5 and we all loved it. Rooms were very spacious and very clean. Food was lovely better than we had in the town. Entertainment every night for us and the kids. We were near enough to the town but far enough away from all the noise at night time. We loved it and are intending to go back next year with a even bigger group. Albatros all the way for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eileenb230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#15 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#5 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.9 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#36 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#7 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Apartamentos Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Apartamentos Albatros

Property: Ohtels Apartamentos Albatros
Address: Carrer de Brusselles 60-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Apartamentos Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ohtels Apartamentos Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Albatros Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing