We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you pay for”
Review of Albatros Family

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albatros Family
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Arrived at 10am ish and had 3 rooms booked. They tried to outbook one of the rooms by saying there was a problem with the water pipes and they had a burst. The other two rooms had been able to check in upon arrival. When stated we were all family and we weren't happy for one room to be put in a hotel the other side of town and that we all wanted relocating they miraciously found another room. I'm a hotel manager and its the oldest excuse in the book to be used when they had obviously overbooked the property. We stayed here for 7 nights as a group of 10 people and returned today. Booked 2 bedroomed apartments through hotels4u but got put into studio rooms that had two double szed beds, a fold away bed and fold away wall for any privacy you wanted. Wasn't a problem as we were all family. The rooms are basic but have cooking facilities and a good sized balcony. Hotel asks for a £80/Euro 120 deposit on arrival. Hotel pool clean and plenty of sun beds. We found a lovely little beach - turn right out of reception and then down first street on right, lots of steps to get to it so not for the mobility impaired but much quieter than the beach to the left. Anywhere you want to go you need to challenge the steep hill back but at least it keeps you fit. Housekeeping is the biggest let down - no fresh towels or bedding throughout the whole week, need to take own rubbish out to the street to the big bins and a sign in the room saying that if the room isn't cleaned upon departure to the standard you entered it you will be charged from your deposit for the cleaning.

Overall an acceptable stay - nothing to majorly moan about but nothing to majorly compliment.

Oh and weather was great!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 92travel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday in Salou 21 family members stayed at the Albatros and had a great time. Ages ranged from 50 to 5 and we all loved it. Rooms were very spacious and very clean. Food was lovely better than we had in the town. Entertainment every night for us and the kids. We were near enough to the town but far enough away from all the noise at night time. We loved it and are intending to go back next year with a even bigger group. Albatros all the way for us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Eileenb230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Just returned here after a 3 night weekend break. We booked through on the beach.co.uk which will never do again.

Our party of 4 adults arrived at the hotel, which looked a block of council flats at 4pm, upon check in the front desk staff said they had no record of our reservation. We had booked the holiday 4 months ago. He tried sending us to another poor quality hotel I had researched (Mariposa) but after showing our invoice he succumbed to our requests and gave us a room on the 5th floor.

Firstly there was no Air conditioning in
that particular room nor was there enough room for 4 people the shower was tiny & too hot & we had a terrible view of more maisonette looking apartments nearby.

We initially decided to just make the most and enjoy our short break; that was until we encountered the other staff members.
The older woman on reception was formidable looking & we were very polite to her yet she still SCREAMED at my friend for coughing, yelled abuse at us in Spanish when we asked for our passports back and spoke to us with so much contempt we actually felt intimidated.

The bar / restaurant staff are pushy & unprofessional especially the English woman with the severe dental problem & curly hair. She again, was menacing & dismissive to be avoided at all costs. We ordered food twice and all suffered chronic stomach aches, the food was dry tasteless and also found hair in my food on one occasion.

The hotel isn't that far from 2 very modest beaches that only have very limited bar/food options & a very steep upward climb to go back to the hotel afterwards. We are all under 30 & struggled so if you have mobility issues it would be a nightmare.

At night the hot sweaty noisy room became infested with mosquitoes when we asked for assistance the hotel staff laughed at us and walked off. Needless to say we all suffered multiple bites. During the night we sweat so much with no air con we at least expected them to change the bedding / showers, they didn't. And wouldn't when we requested the cleaner visited.

After 3 nights stay they had the nerve to STEAL €20 from our deposit for cleaning the room only after making us sign a document to say they were giving us the full €110 back!

All in all this is a dirty robbing cheap little place full of disinterested lazy staff who only want your money. They are so self servient it is even forbidden up feed the cats. I advise any sensible traveller looking for a nice break in Salou to stay further down the busy part near the waterfall and avoid this Dump like the plague.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunseekers2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I just wanted to drop a few lines about my recent stay at the Albatros - we had an amazing holiday and the apartments couldn't have been better, with the excellent beach view and the fantastically friendly staff our experience here was tops...
The bar staff (Abid) and restaurant/bar owner (Alan) were a joy and a pleasure to be around. My family and I would rate all people of families, couples or groups to stay at the Albatros and although we did not eat at the restaurant, as we like to as a family move around the restaurants Salou offered, the place itself was truly lovely. Our apartment was very generous in size, spotlessly clean and we had fab views...
There are 2 things I would change if anything - firstly more towels are needed in the rooms or a towel change at least within the week and also the cost of air-con as an additional charge is not the best idea and should be advertised whilst booking the accommodation. Although these are very small notes I just wanted to make them.
We will recommend these apartments to all and will certainly return next year as this was a very memorable and enjoyable experience :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have just returned from a short 4 day break in Salou, Spain and stayed at the Albatros Apartments. When we booked this, we were pretty skeptical about the place and due to the late booking had no real choice but to see how it was when we arrived.

On first impressions of Salou we were amaazed how clean the place was and on arriving at the Apartments we we still quite impressed, given our low expectations.

The staff were friendly and polite (2 guys on Reception at night) and were very helpful. We asked for a sea view room and were given a room on the 3rd floor which overlooked the sea (albeit with a slightly obscured view) above where the supermarket and restaurant was. We were asked to pay a deposit on arrival which was payable in sterling or Euros which was great as it meant we didnt have to use up loads of Euros on the last day. It's £80 sterling or 120 euros.

We opened the door to our room and out ran a cockroach and at this point we were pretty concerned, however, on closer inspection of the room - it was clean and very well-equipped with marble surfaced worktops and a butler sink. The kitchen also had plenty of storage space, 4 cups, plates, bowls etc, a microwave, lots of different glasses and a full size oven with gas hob - take matches with you however as there are none in the room.

Our room also had 2 single beds and a sofa pull out bed with clean bedding in a cupboard and 4 towels, a hand towel, bath mat and smaller guest sized towels too. We had a nice balcony and washing airer too and the bathroom even had a hair dryer which surprised me.

We had 2 toilet rolls in our room too!

As we arrived late at night we popped down to the bar area which stays open til around 12.30pm and again the friendly staff there were able to sell us some water and also some milk for breakfast as the supermarket on-site doesn't open until 9.30am.

The transfer from Reus airport to Salou took about 15 mins too - not the hour we were told by our agent!

The apart-hotel is not a hotel and they do charge you for everything but at a relatively reasonable cost and the place is well-equipped with the supermarket, restaurant and bar all on-site with good prices. We wanted to get air-con and were told it was 8 euros a day which we were happy to pay given the room we were in had no breeze whatsoever, only to find that our room was not 'air-con enabled' so we had to pay for a fan which blew the warm air around! Worth noting and check your room offers air-con before you accept it. We'd rather have not had the sea view than woken up boiling hot throuought the night but you live and learn - hence the review!

If anyone has read reviews about the staff being rude and not speaking English - for once we did experience this (even though we tried in Spanish with them too) but these are the 2 ladies who work during the day who frankly need sacking as they are shown up by their night colleagues who by contrast are more than willing to help and are also very good humoured.

The pool area was great and has loads of sunbeds but the pool is incredibly deep with only a small childrens pool (about 50cm deep) and adult pool has a small 1.4m area and then deepens to ovr 2.5m. Given that I wanted to swim, I thought I wouldn't be massively disturbed given the depth, however the pool lends itself to lots of adults and children 'bombing' into the pool with little regard for anyone already in there. We witnessed several near misses so worth noting!

All in Salou is great for a nice Spanish break with plenty to do for everyone (suitable for couples, families and groups of friends alike) and the fountains and cocktail shows on the promenade are not to be missed. The coastal path is also fantastic and offers a lovely stroll along the seafront overlooking the bay.

Who would I recommend the Albatros to? Well, that's easy - anyone looking for a nice location just outside the main Salou nightlife, for basic, clean and affordable accomodation with a good pool and nice views over the bay. If you go expecting a 3 / 4 star hotel with all the trimmings you will be disappointed but set your expectations properly for the price you are paying and go with the flow - it did pleasantly surprise us!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with air con available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunJunkieMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We've just returned from our 10 day holiday at the Ablatros (17 - 27 June). On booking, I stressed that it was important for a quiet room with a sea view and they couldn't have put us in a worst location! We arrived at late Sunday night, there was gangs of rowdy male and female Spanish youths shouting and singing to each other from their balconies until approx 3 a.m - our room was in the middle of it all! After the 3rd night with no sleep, numerous complaints and requests to see the manager, the threat of calling the police finally made them listen.

Apart from all that, we had a good time. The room was modern and well equipped, there was 2 comfortable double beds, and a large TV with some English channels. During our stay, we only had 1 change of sheets and towels. In a good location, close to the beach (don't go if you're not good on your legs). Beware, you will be asked to pay £80 (110 Euros) deposit on arrival. Al's bar/bistro good value, nice food and friendly staff.

We would go back again if we was guaranteed a quiet room!

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor room as it should be quieter and take some ear-plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeoffandSandra360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed in a two bed apartment in early June and was pleasantly surprised by what we got. The apartment was very big and the balcony equally so. The food in the resteraunt was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The only complaint we could possibly have is that the apartment we had was facing the road and a hotel opposite which tended to be very loud and the traffic on the road is could also be quite load this is however beyond the hotels control. The cleaners only come by once a week so as we were only there for a week they did not come into our room at all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,131 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.5 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#46 of 93 in Salou
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel SunClub Salou
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Best Da Vinci Royal
0.1 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#7 of 93 in Salou
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Family

Address: Carrer de Brusselles 60-62 | Edifici Albatros, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Price Range: $53 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albatros Family 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albatros Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Albatros Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing