We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel in a good location”
Review of H10 Salou Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Salou Princess
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel in a good location”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights at the start of July. On arrival we were given a room on the 6th floor with a lovely pool view (I had emailed the hotel weeks before requesting this as I think they can charge extra for these, but obviously its worth a try.)

Room was really nice, everything you could need, i.e, good aircon, a safe, a fridge, a hairdryer and a large flat screen TV which we never switched on. The rooms were kept really nice by the housekeeping staff who visited daily.

Location is excellent. A few minutes walk to Danny boys (good live entertainment), the ‘strip’ and the beach. Few decent pubs/ cafes nearby/ next door serving food and drinks, many of which offer a pint or glass of wine for 1 Euro. If you go on any excursions through either the rep or Plana bus tours the pick up and drop off point is the Lazy Wave pub directly over the road from the hotel which is convenient.

Food: We stayed half board and the breakfast, lunch and dinner were all really nice. You have the option of swapping dinner for lunch which gives you more flexibility and allows you to have a few meals out at night without feeling you are missing out too much. Other people have complained on here that the food was only warm and the options or quality poor. I wouldn’t agree with any of these criticisms. There was always plenty of choice with even some bizarre ones (chips at breakfast). The ice creams and fresh watermelon available at all meals were really lovely too.

Staff: Found all staff to be very helpful and lovely. From the reception staff to those in the restaurant.

Pool: Nice and clean, had activities on a few days. Plenty of sun loungers but big lack of sun umbrellas!! The Jacuzzi up the top area is nice but can get busy.

Excursions: Before we went I’d looked at the Plana bus tours website for Barcelona excursions. The excursions are more expensive through the reps but it depends what your priority it. For example we went on the Zoo/ free time excursion booked through Plana bus tours and found it very good and well oragnised…but there is a mix of nationalities on the bus and everything is repeated in 3 different languages, by which time you loose the will to live! However we had a nice day getting dropped off at the Zoo and in the centre of Barcelona. We also booked the ‘Ultimate Barcelona’ trip through our Thomas Cook rep in the hotel. This was about 77 euros each. However the whole day was excellent. The guide and all other passengers were English and there was so much good/ informative commentary on the bus. The tour takes in Camp Nou, Familia Sagrada church, the Olympic stadium, free time in Barcelona and finished with the magic fountains. I couldn’t recommend this trip highly enough!

Cambrils: If you can take a trip. Its 18 Euro each way in a taxi but is a much nicer area than Salou with some lovely sea front restaurants and nice scenery. Beats anywhere we eat out in Salou. You can also get the bus and not go far wrong and its directly down the coast road. Its described as a ‘small fishing village’, however it’s quite a big resort and you wont be disappointed.

Overall I’ve given the hotel 4 as its really nice and although there is nothing wrong with it, there’s also nothing that makes it stand out as massively good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Director General at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Appreciated louj999,

thanks a lot for your comments!!!We feel very proud for comments like yours. Hoping to see you soon!
A big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    402
    168
    57
    12
See reviews for
315
449
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was four star and for the view across the pool area. I emailed the hotel prior to arriving to ask for a pool view since I wasn't able to upgrade or guarantee this via Jet2holidays. I received a reply which stated they'd do their best to accommodate our request. Upon arriving we were not disappointed, the view from the 5th floor was amazing. This was especially good at night when we sat on our balcony enjoying the nightly entertainment (Spanish singers) from the comfort of our room. The entertainment was always top class and mostly Spanish - which for us made this feel like a real holiday away from home.
The food was good apart from the fact I'm a vegetarian and there was mostly meat in every salad dish. Having said that, I would expect this issue anywhere over Spain since they are a meat loving nation!
At night we fed cats that lived in the grounds of the hotel. If you are also cat lovers please can you do the same?! You'll find them up on the raised decking area where the sun loungers are located within a fenced area housing air conditioning units. If you leave the food you'll be guaranteed the cats will come out.
This hotel is in an excellent location with lots of Spanish owned bars and restaurants closes by, you just need to look. If you're like us and enjoy this rather than the normal "British" bars then there are lots around. Try visiting Petit Tapas Bar... We booked for the following night as couldn't get a table. The Tapas are amazing!

Room Tip: Email prior to arrival to ask for a pool view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Director General at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Raymond Y
thanks a lot for your comments!!! Hoping to see you soon!
And.... thanks for feeding the cats as well!! I'm a cat lover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was nice and comfortable stay, I did not have any problem with the noise, on the contrary! It is located on a busy place, but that is what I was looking for, it was very easy to reach the night life here ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Director General at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Joanna R,
thanks a lot for your comments!!! Hoping to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week on half board basis. We were allocated room at the front of the hotel on a very busy road, but you cannot hear any traffic noise when the balcony doors are closed. Restaurant can be very busy at times although the staff did replenish food all the time. Lovely salad bar and desserts, however the main meals were not as good, watery mashed potato,baked potatoes swimming in oil, or chips, hardly any vegetables at all. They even serve chips at breakfast. Room was okay but bathroom very outdated. We had just 11 coathangers in the wardrobe which we had to share between us so we had to leave clothes on the dresser. Be prepared to pay tourist tax as soon as you check in, we had to pay 13.84 euros for a week stay. Entertainment at this hotel is awful, would recommend amigos round the back of the hotel, nice people cheap drinks you can hear the music from the hotel there anyway. The Robin Hood across the road from the hotel is where they play bingo and play your cards right, if that is the sort of thing you are looking for. The fountain display to music is worth watching down by the seafront. We walked it into cap salou only takes about 10 mins, nice busy town although we were stopped quite a few times by people with flyers from the bars. I would certainly go back to salou, and i would consider going back to this hotel but they do need to refurb the rooms, i rate it as a 3 star definitley not 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaeva2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Director General at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Appreciated annaeva2012,
Thank you very much for your comments ,. talking about the hangers the problem could have been easily solved by asking in recepcion or even the ladies who clean the room. Hoping to see you soon
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, easy check in, asked for a pool view but as others have found it's now €15 a night extra, which I can understand. The road is really not that bad, I was expecting London traffic from what others had said, the area is very build up so even a pool view is just that not private atall,unless your on the higher floors and may get a glimpse of the sea. The room we had was fine with smallish fridge and air con, led almost directly on to the sun deck, the top floor looked more modern? But there wasn't anything to complain about. Pool is great with life guards and entertainers for kids. Pretty cold though. The hotel could do with wi-fi in the rooms as a lot of people collect in the lobby to use the free wi-fi there which works fine. Quite a few disabled people there as the hotel is ideally suited been very flat, wide layout and 3 lifts, surrounding area is flat too all the way to the beach which is a 5 min walk, takes longer to cross the roads to get there. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Director General at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Appreciated James h,
Thank you very much for your comments , we will take them into consideration in order to improve.
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRDRIE IN SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Been here 5 days and don't have any cause for complaint except the evening entertainment! If that's what you call it. Dissapointed. Always loved salou, this hotel is wwwaaaayyyyy behind the times! Old time dancing! Waiters expecting a tip! Think I will be going back to all inclusive next time we go.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Director General at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Appreciated morgan_7,
Thank you very much for your comments , we will take them into consideration in order to improve.
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Returned on Saturday 5 July had a fantastic time the salou princess was a lovely hotel we stayed half board and enjoy the food which changed daily with plenty of choice. Staff friendly service excellent rooms cleaned daily.pool area clean and very good.would recommend to couples or family's and look forward to going back one day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Director General at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Appreciated jay thomas,
Thank you very much for your comments and hope to see you soon!!
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.4 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.5 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Delfin
H10 Delfin
#19 of 93 in Salou
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Salou Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Salou Princess

Property: H10 Salou Princess
Address: Avenida Principat d'Andorra 15, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#13 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Salou Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Salou Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Salou Princess Hotel Salou
h10 Hotels Salou
h10 Hotel Salou
Salou Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing