We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not quite a princess”
Review of H10 Salou Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Salou Princess
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not quite a princess”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just back from two weeks at the Salou Princess. Starting with the not so good. The shower was very unpredictable. There were no warnings anywhere in the room to tell you about the change in temperature of the water whilst showering. My first shower I had the water at a moderate temperature and all of a sudden it got extremely hot for a few seconds and then it went cold. When I say hot it was burning hot, enough to cause injury. It was a good job I had the shower pointing downwards and I could escape to the other end of the bath. Be very careful with this and I had to shower with the temperature quite cold so that when it went hotter it did not scald me. The food next. We found the food on the whole to be good but more suited to non English people. There was a very large selection of different foods for all nationalities.The soup was always luke warm. If you like squid, snails, octopus etc then you can eat these here. If you have children be aware that there is no childrens menu at all. No chicken nuggets, fish fingers,dippers etc. The puddings were very good so expect to put weight on! There was chips available every breakfast time, along with continental style sausages, bacon, cooked meats and cheeses. Although there were generous times for meal times if you went in to eat with an hour before closing times the food was cold. The hotel was clean. The rooms were a little on the small side but spotless. The maids did a good job and did not pester you on a morning if you had your do not disturb sign on your door. The bathroom toiletries were topped up frequently. It is very centrally located the nearest bars and shops are 50 yards away. Staff were ok. Only had to wait once for dinner in a queue. On the whole the hotel was fine. There were not many English guests mainly German and the poolside entertainment on a night was for them. We went out every evening anyway. The prices for drinks in the hotel were reasonable, a pint of san miguel was 2.50 euro and was very drinkable (so my husband said). Our room was on the road side but the traffic noise did not stop us from sleeping. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susie62tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Public Relations Manager at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear susie62tony,

We really appreciate your comments.
First of all, the showers were fixed as soon as we knew about the problem. Also, next season, we will have newe machines in the restaurant to keep the meals hot.
On the other hand, we are very happy that you want to return to the H10 Salou Princess, thanks for your comments.
See you soon, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    387
    157
    55
    12
See reviews for
304
425
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 and reserved two rooms. Were given the rooms we requested, high rooms next to one another with pool view. Arrived in the evening and were able to have our evening meal.Reception staff very polite and helpful. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. We had maid service every day. The meals were very nice and the restaurant staff very friendly. The pool area was busy but there was always sun loungers to be had. The evening entertainment was varied but enjoyable, especially the cocktails from the bar! Outwith the hotel the area was not so pleasant. If you want British bars and tacky shops then you would be fine! We had many enjoyable trips to Port Aventura. The bus and trolley trains stop just across the road from the hotel and return you to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view so you are away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jazz40-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Public Relations Manager at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Jazz40-11,

We are very glad to read this review. It's a pleasure to make enjoyables our guests holidays.
Thank you a lot to post this comment with a great recomendation, we are waiting to see you next time at H10 Salou Princess!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Salou Princess in September 2012 with my partner for 10 nights. The hotel was amazing and the pool was fabulous. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the areas in the hotel were spotless. One the brilliant things about the Salou Princess is its location and yet we didnt hear a sound. We would say the best in Salou!!!!. Another great thing is that the pool area was not open until 9am so there was no noise and pulling around of loungers. There was a great mix of ages and a really relaxing atmosphere.One tiny flaw was that we felt the food in the restaurant was not really geared for the Irish but it looked very fresh and hot. Really enjoyed Salou as well. Great food in Guiness Tavern, Olivers, Uncle Sams and Danny Boys.Really good Pizza in Moonstar!!!. Would really recommend H10 Salou Princess and we hope to return again for a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Public Relations Manager at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much from all our staff!
We will keep working hard to make enjoyables our guests holidays and waiting to see you next time Susie O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Visited the Salou Princess from 9th September and chose it based on Trip Advisor reviews. We arrived at 10:00 pm and checked in at the hotel without any problem having been allocated the high floor room we had requested via Thomas Cook. First impressions of the hotel were good, it was clean and bright and our room was lovely. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and fresh towels supplied. There was a fridge in the room and you can rent the safe which is built in to the wardrobe for 3 euros a day and 10 euros refundable deposit. Breakfast was a mixture of cooked and uncooked as was dinner and although the food was good we found the restaurant was inadequate for the number of guests.
The pool is large and well kept and there is plenty of room on 3 seperate levels for the more than adequate number of sun loungers available. There is a pool bar and the staff are friendly and welcoming serving up drinks and food. Location is very good and only a short walk to the Beach. All in all a lovely Hotel only let down slightly by the restaurant which struggles to keep up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Public Relations Manager at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much Mr. Alpinecharmer!
It's a great review about our hotel H10 Salou Princess. We keep working hard to make lovely stay for our guests. Waiting to see you soon from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A big (not Ginormous) hotel with all the facilities you would expect.
Positives: Food - excellent though some brief queues at dining reception whilst the maitresse d' found you a table. Pool with lots of excellent loungers. Area on 3 levels but despite a good selection of trees not enough shade opportunity - few sunshades. Good sized bedroom and - of course - clean. English style bar (but prices much higher than in the rest of the hotel - which we found to be reasonable). Good location not too far from the beach.
This is an unashamedly tourist resort so lots of tat shops, a good selection of bars and restaurants but not much character. Go down to Cambrils for a smaller - more mature - scene.
Negatives: Too few sunshades - could do with a pergola on the top (jacuzzi) deck. SURPRISE pay bill on arrival! For grumpy light sleepers without earplugs the poolside entertainment could inconvenience those early to bed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool suffer a little from the evening poolside entertainment but I guess less of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jersiais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Public Relations Manager at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear jersiais,
We congratulate about your comments, enjoy that you found the facilities and hope to see you soon.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here in July with my boyfriend and the actual hotel is lovely. The rooms are modern and very clean, one of the cleanest I've ever stayed in. The maids are very efficient as the rooms would already be cleaned when we popped back up to the room around midday. Pool area is also very nice and clean with a separate higher terrace area with sun loungers and a jacuzzi, which is great for catching the sun as the main pool area is quite shaded in some areas due to palm trees. The location is perfect right in the centre of everything; shops, bars and restaurant and the beach - which is also really nice. However, the evening food in the hotel is not great it is mainly aimed at continentals and very repetitive. If you are half board you are able to swap evening meal for lunch, which I thought was a better deal as it was much more varied and we went out for tea instead. The breakfast is fine with a choice of full breakfast, cereals and fruits. A downside of the hotel is when we arrived in the morning around 10am, we were told our room wasn't going to be ready until around 1 so we had to kill some time whilst being tired from being up all night but apart from that the staff are very friendly. Salou resort itself is very expensive compared to other Spanish resorts in terms of drinks and food and I also found some areas to be a bit rough and overcrowded. The hotel overall is really nice but I dont think I would return to Salou.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Public Relations Manager at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really enjoy and feel proud about it. Also, we hope that you will change your mind to return some day Becky8491.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are a couple in our late 50s and stayed here 31st Aug for 11 nights Travelling with thomson. Flight out was very quick only 1hr 50 from Birmingham and transfer only 15mins from airport., although it took 2hrs 10 returning for some reason. The temperature varied with a high of 33 degrees. We were checked in at the hotel speedily and efficiently but we had to wait until 1 o'clock to get the room key, this was no problem to us as we sat at the pool bar and had a much needed drink. First impressions of the hotel were good, it was clean and bright and our room was more than adequate (number 520) and had both pool and sea view. Maids cleaned daily and towels were changed if requested. The charge for the safe was 3 euros a day and 10 euros refundable deposit, and there was a small free fridge. In the bathroom was a hairdryer, the type you have to hold the button in constantly for it to work. There were not many hangers in the wardrobe and none for trousers or skirts and only 3 small drawers. There were no tea making facilities. Beach towels could be hired from the hotel we were told.
Breakfast was from 7.45, there was a lot of variety but not particularly to the British taste, the bacon was very fatty and it was continental sausages but as we found throughout the holiday Salou is a very cosmopolitan resort and it is hard to cater for every taste. We always found something to satisfy us and we found the restaurant staff both pleasant and efficient, they worked hard to clear and reset the tables as speedily as they could, around 9 it got rather crowded and harder to find a table. We were on half board and found it very good that you could either eat at lunch or evening without prior arrangement. Lunch was 12.30 to 2.30, and evening meal was 7 to 10 for the first six days of our holiday then it suddenly changed to 6.30 to 9.30 for the rest of our stay we never found out why. Friday evening all ladiees were given a carnation on entering the dining room.
Hotel entertainment was not very stunning more to the Spanish taste I think but we like to go out every night anyway. Pool bar closes at midnight, hotel bar closes 1 o clock and then there is the adjoining sports legends bar open till 2.
There is a very good sun terrace but there are no umbrellas or shade up there at all, There were plenty of comfortable sunbeds and not enough umbrellas but to be honest we only went to the pool area once as it was a farce at 9 o'clock when they opened the doors to it. People queued for ages and then litterally ran to were they wanted to be, they threw their towels down to mark the spot and then fetched their sunbeds. Towels were then placed on the beds and then most people dissappeared for breakfast. We watched from our balcony one day and there were 40 people ran out (mostly elderly) and only 3 stayed on the beds they had set up. These selfish people took the best places on a daily basis and so we paid the price for 2 sunbeds (4 euros each) and a canopy (6 euros) and actually we had a great relaxing time on a beautiful beach. It is about time every hotel removed towels from un occupied sunbeds.
The hotel was in a very good position close to everything and on weighing everything up we would recommend it, I have tried to point out the good and bad things as honestly as I can.
One final word is a recommendation, try The Guinness Tavern, this is an exceptionally friendly restaurant/bar with brilliant food, unfortunately we found it towards the end of our holiday so only visited twice.

Room Tip: 520 overlooks pool and has sea view in the distance. 3 lifts available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harvey180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou Princess H, Public Relations Manager at H10 Salou Princess, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Harvey180, thank you so much to select our hotel and comment with this extend review.
In the reception can answer all your your doubts, if you request about hangers, etc. About the restaurant's timetable, every year we change it twice due to the kind of guests we have, we are sorry if this was a struggle for you.
Also, one more thing! Beach towels are not hired in the reception. We only ask for a deposit of 10 euros per towel.
Finally, we are glad that you enjoyed it, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.4 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
H10 Delfin
H10 Delfin
#19 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#11 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.5 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Salou Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Salou Princess

Property: H10 Salou Princess
Address: Avenida Principat d'Andorra 15, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#13 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Salou Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your H10 Salou Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Salou Princess Hotel Salou
h10 Hotels Salou
h10 Hotel Salou
Salou Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing