We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
4R Regina Gran Hotel
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Best Stay!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Regina from 14th to 21st September 2012. Me and my partner were worried due to booking online what to expect, but we couldn't o expected anything more. Our room was on the 5th floor (top floor) and everyday we stayed their it was cleaned, the staff mostly understood English and were helpful with what we needed. We went self catering so cannot comment on the food, but another family had food and they couldn't complain! The hotel and all the premise around was clean and tidy and our room was spacious and the best we've ever had, which it should be with been a 4 star!!! I would recommend this hotel to all - families, couples etc!! The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the beach and the centre which helps to not hear the noise in the evening!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    337
    209
    101
    50
See reviews for
493
233
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, it had a cosmopolitan atmosphere and was a 15 mins stroll to the beach, We were there on a b&b basis and the food was plentiful. If flexible in what you eat you could vary your breakfast from fried through to continental ( unless you like bacon which seemed to be something like reconstituted ham with some fat superglued on it).
The only complaint I had would be more serious if we had a family and spent more time on the balcony. The problem was on the street side of the hotel they had a small football area enclosed in a steel mesh, everytime someone used it (it was in almost constant use) there was a CRASH , CRASH, CRASH as the ball hit the sides of the enclosure . Twice the ball flew out and actually came onto the balcony with some force , this would have been dangerous if you had small kids .
This was our one and only complaint but it is significant .
The room was clean and tidy but there is no kitchen area / kettle etc ( I didn't check but I'm sure you could rent one) and the tv only had non english channels , there is a very small drinks fridge that you need to rent, (personally I think it should be free). Ours didnt work but it was replaced within an hour of reporting it, the air conditioning was fine and was free.
On the day we left we paid up our drinks tab ( which is available so you don't need to carry money in the hotel for the bar etc) . We were provided with a secure area to keep our cases with shower facilities and fresh towels in case we needed a last swim before we left.
Would I go again.. answer yes as long as we are not near that damn football area.. get rid of it guys !!

Room Tip: stay away from the street side , the view is ok and in the afternoon /evening it is bathed in sun bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our second trip to Salou this Summer, first time stayed at Sol Costa Daurada, next door, overall good hotel, staff friendly and helpful, pool excellent, but yes you have to reserve beds if you want to be in prime spots, but even got beds when we didn't, my two boys spent much time in the football pitch playing with other like minded kids. The entertainment is aimed at the majority Spanish Market so not much organised entertainment for my kids, but this was no problem they made their own friends and games. They bought a table tennis set from supermarket and made use of the table tennis. They also played pool, although 2euro per game.
For nighttime entertainment Salou had much to offer but my kids couldn't get enough of Harry Potters Bar, just left then right out of the back entrance, where drinks and food was very reasonable, and we loved playing Bingo with the very entertaining Anthea and the rest of the gang! There is also a Spa shop nearby where we stocked up on supplies.
If you want to use the fridge in the room you have to pay to get the key at reception, think it was 3euros per day and likewise if you want to use the safe you must pay for the key. Towels are available at the sports centre, to save you carrying beach towels, we managed with just hand luggage so this was important, you pay 10euro and get 6 back when you return.
Well worth trying to get by without hold baggage, we travelled Ryanair, and for a 2 hour flight was perfectly fine and you miss having to queue +++ when checking in online, we got ultralight cases and packed everything needed for a 10day holiday, just bought all liquids, suncream etc once gone through passport control or in resort.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JayBOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Food - not the best, not good for vegetarians as they do not label the food correctly and a few times we ended up eating meat unknowingly. The chef was happy to make alternative sauces after we complained about the lack of choice for vegetarians. Breakfast time is chaotic with big queues at the coffee machine.

Entertainment - this was situated outside in a nice area. It wasn't the best entertainment so most nights we went out.

Rooms - Bit small but clean and modern enough, nice bathrooms. Beds are comfortable.

Hotel staff - really helpful. I needed help printing my boarding passes off for my return journey. The hotel allowed me to use their computer and printer and were happy to help.

Pool - nice area with lots of activities in the day, but you have to be up early (9ish) to get a lounger!

Location - the action and the beach is about a 10/15 minute walk away, so its a little out of the way but all within walking distance (if you're fit).

Nightlife - There are a couple of late pubs that are free to get in (before a certain time) and play dance music, the Bus Stop and Kiss. Had two great nights out here. There were other clubs/pubs dotted about but we didn't get a chance to visit these. the Red Lion and Robin Hood are two English pubs that have quizzes each night, there is a good family feel in these pubs.

Salou - love it and will be returning, its lively but great for families at the same time. The beach is a bit too crowded in summer though.

Room Tip: We were just over the entertainment venue and could watch from our own balcony. We were really happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fazzy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Last minute holiday and wanted something in a good area with pool that was good for families, however did not want to pay a fortune but still wanted a good hotel. Read reviews and was put off booking but the price was so good I had no choice I took a gamble.. I like a 4 star Hotel and have been to many different countries so am aware a 4 star does vary and this would not be classed as a 4 star in USA. However for price I was delighted the food was excellent ie loads of choice and no waiting, if you are looking for fine dining and table service you would be dissapointed but as we were a family we couldn't ask for more as there was so much choice and the kids loved it. The rooms were also fine a double bed and a sofa bed which was ideal for kids. Rooms were kept clean as was the hotel. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and there was other facilities like football, tennis, crazy golf, indoor pool, gym and adult and kids club. At evening after tea we did leave hotel as entertainment was ok but we prefered to go to english bars as drink was cheaper and more was going on quiz's, bingo ect. Even thought it does say no towels on sun loungers in morning to reserve like all hotels the russian's seem to get down very early.. so my husbands job was to run down each morning to beat them !!! so my only tip is get up early to reserve a good place by pool or head to beach which is about 10 min walk and you pass by supermarkets and other shops.

Room Tip: We overlooked pool on 3rd floor and had no noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treespp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

when we got there we had to wait about 2 hours to get into our room, but when we did the room was very nice, nothing wrong at all.
the worst thing was the food, it was basically cold and if you have kids there is not much for them to eat.
you werent allowed blow up rings or anything in the pool nor were kids allowed to jump in.
I wouldnt go back now i rather self catering but its not a bad place, its average.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

No way this is a 4star hotel. Rooms very basic, no chair in bedroom although there is a dressing table and mirror. Bathroom ok. Dinningroom very chaotic, esp at breakfast time. The staff seemed to be overworked as the hotel was full. Very few english tourists here mainly russian and boy do they eat!!! Pool area crowed and few sunbeds {never managed to get one!] resort lovely but would stay much closer to beach area if I go again. Would not recommend hotel to anyone . Nearby hotel very noisy everynight....

Room Tip: Dont go unless an absolute bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#26 of 93 in Salou
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
0.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.5 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Regina Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Regina Gran Hotel

Property: 4R Regina Gran Hotel
Address: Joan Fuster, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salou
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* y 4R Playa Park 3* y 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (x Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premium (paid) in all the hotel. Close to the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your 4R Regina Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Gran Salou
Regina Gran Hotel Salou
Salou Regina Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing