We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, good budget holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaime I Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jaime I Hotel
Ranked #53 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean room, good budget holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner, son and I stayed here in July 2013, after reading some reviews on here I was anticipating hating the place...

Arrived, reception staff were friendly and could manage to speak enough English to help us with any questions

Room was clean and basic, maids came every day and tidied round, made beds etc. we stayed in the main building on the 1st floor overlooking pool, the entertainment was very loud until around 12am and then it was finished for the night and the only real noise after that were other guests in the hotel returning to their room.

The entertainment was typical Spanish stuff which was a mini disco for the kids at 9pm which my son loved and where they give out certificates from mini club in the day and then something different each night like flamenco dancing, karaoke or bingo. The bar staff come round and bring your drinks over and there is a good choice of both alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails.

The kids club was 10-1pm and then 3-6pm and the staff were very helpful and spoke some English. My son loved the club and was very proud to receive a 'diploma' on stage in the mini disco for 2nd prize in something. The staff even brought him up to our room one afternoon when he had fell over, they were very pleasant.

The Grand Prix was on whilst we were away and my partner asked if they would put it on for him (tomorrow) on the projector in the bar area which they said they would be happy to do, another guest had requested to watch the Tour de France that day and staff were more than happy to facilitate these requests

We were half board but ate out more often than not, food was ok but a little bland, my son loved going up and helping himself but the prices to eat out nearby were not too bad so we decided to eat out.

There was almost always a sun lounger free whilst by the pools although due to the trees (which provided welcome shade) the bird poop could not really be avoided in those areas although the staff were out every morning cleaning the poolsides.

In short, you get what you pay for, this hotel caters for so many guests and our whole holiday was pretty inexpensive, we were happy with the entertainment, location and staff here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpool_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    459
    401
    191
    256
See reviews for
897
252
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Where to start? We wanted a centrally located hotel with good access to all the bars and shops. This hotel is right bang in the middle of where it all happens. With just a ten min flat walk to the beach it was perfectly positioned. This is a huge complex with probably 3 to 4 thousand guests staying there, mainly from Spain (all of whom were courteous to us during our stay).

Our room was spacious, cleaned daily, but lacked any English speaking TV except the usual BBC World which rarely inspires. The bed was comfy and had a nice powerful shower. Our balcony faced out over a neighbouring street which young party goers did use to get home right up to 7am. They did at times get very noisy.

The food was as you'd expect huge in quantity, plenty of choice and always well presented. Whilst not always to my taste because of the large majority of Spanish nationals, I have no complaints.

Reception/bar/dining room staff were always pleasant and couldn't be more helpful. Parking locally can be a headache, just keep driving round the block till you get a space!!!!

The pool and terrace were very nice indeed. No shortage of sunbeds while we were there. Food at the poolside was also good and not over priced.

We did not sample the evening entertainment as we were out on the town every night, but did get a glimpse of the kids mini disco. The entertainments staff did try hard to speak in both Spanish and English but for obvious reasons there seemed to be a very "Spanish" way to how things were being run.

Not a bad place at all, and don't be put off by those hell bent on complaining for the sake of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

this was our 2nd stay at this hotel, we decided to go all inclusive this time, the food was very spanish orianted and was dissapointed with our food, there is only so much egg and toast i could eat for breakfast, the food at the pool was was good and the staff there was lovely at the bar always had a smile for you,the man in the resturant was very misarable and pulled his face when we said we didnt want a big water just a small 1, the maids came in everyday but was very miserable this time, the indoor pool and sauna was excellent, we will not be going back to this hotel as every day full coach loads of spanish kids kept arriving sometimes 6 coaches a day, they was very loud and some was really checky and the people who was supposed to be looking after them just let them roam round whilt they was at the bar or sunbathing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane2june2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hi All, just returned from a 7 days full board at the Jamie1. The hotel is great large swimming pools, gym, sauna, jacuzzi etc. the animation is very good (although a little Spanish orientated, like most other things) but, we are in Spain so can expect this. The food is fantastic with lots and lots of varieties and choices, eggs fried while you wait at breakfast, I have been to quiote a few hotels,but, I think this is the best one,especially the food, the downsides are that you have to pay 1 euro 50 for the indoor pool, per hour and the mini golf is 3 euros per person but quite a nice little course, you are very near to the shops,bars,resteraunts etc but if you are on full board, you wont need the resteraunts as there is plenty of good food at the Jamie, all I can suggest is to book it and love it - we are back there this August

Room Tip: you will sleepwell whatever room you get and also the cleaners are there every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fishpal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you want a quiet hotel this is not for you. We enjoyed the sound of children enjoying themselves. We had bed and Breakfast only so I cannot comment on the other meals. Breakfast was a buffet and had many choices from cooked to cold. My wife enjoyed the pancakes.
This was my wife's first visit to Europe . We both thoroughly enjoyed both the hotel and Salou. The hotel is perfectly situated for the beach, restaurants and bars.
The cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional. There was entertainment in the bar most nights. Cannot fault for value. Would definitely return if visiting Salou again. My only complaint concerned reception. Not enough staff at weekends.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the pool. Couldn't have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Baden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

in the time i was at this hotel i didnt come across another english speaking person , the dining hall was way too small for the ammount of people attempting to eat and by the time you found a table food was cold . reception staff were very unhelpful as were the bar staff , we enjoyed the resort and and decided although we had paid half board it was much easier to eat out . the hotel is very noisy so don,t expect a decent nights sleep , although the beds were comfy and the rooms very clean.i wouldnt go back to this hotel it was too big and too noisy

Room Tip: dont think this hotel would have a quiet area very very very big and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

just back and it has taken a long time to cool down enough to write something down other than curses.the hotell is so much in need of re furbishment its madness run by old people.reception badly needs re dooing, lighting is not opperating in the dahly staircase only emergency lighting working . we got a new room after complaining about the condom on the smoke alarm and balcony door broken and no air conditioning or heating working .1600 people for dinner and food exactly the same day after day.(come on people a little thing every day would be a nice thing ) moove forward and come into the modern times .there is a guy cooking pancakes in the mornings which made my day <he was so polite to all costomers and children alike and it breakes my hart to think a man like that is wasted in a hotell that is so stagnently stuck in the eighties all the old staff will have him a like a grouch within a short time .food at the pool is cold and by the time the poolside staff stop talking and take your order the hunger is gone .the bar is so bad. service is tooo tooo slow it needs new young people to run it and a bit of music would not go astray,the bar need a total refurbishmentand some adult yes you know the people who pay the bills would like some just any type of entertainment.if the side gate was open during the day it bwould save you time getting out .but the best is yet to come folkes and here we go THE DRUG PUSHER AT THE GATE IN THE EVENINGS AND NITE TIME IS DOOING TREMENDUS BUISNESS .OF COURSE THEY ARE GOING TO SAY NO SUCH THING HAPPENS BUT THAT IS WHY THERE IS A SECURITY MAN ON THE GATE AFTER 5 EVERY NIGHT .so if you dont want a dark drab hotell, with bad service, stuck in the eighties, with no entertainment, and bad surroundings with its drug dealer at the gates along with a tired menu and a bad bad bar AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE.however its central and the ladies that clean the rooms do a perfect job., .never again if it was free i very much doubt i would go

Room Tip: bring soap hair drier shampoo and plenty of money for the extras no kettle in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank noelcowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#56 of 95 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Mediterraneo
Best Mediterraneo
#43 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.5 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#11 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaime I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaime I Hotel

Property: Jaime I Hotel
Address: C/ Logrono 16-20 (apartado de correos 139), 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaime I Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 775
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with a large capacity, situated in the centre of Salou, five minutes away from the beach and near Port Aventura. Equipped with a buffet restaurant, three bars, a solarium, a child play zone, open air swimming pools for adults and children, two open air whirlpools (1.200 m2 of water area), souvenirs shop, an entertainment program for children and adults, 15.000 m2 of garden areas, etc. Optional: gymnasium, minigolf, squash, heated swimming pool,sauna and Turkish bath, limited parking, etc. All our rooms give on the outside with terrace, telephone, fully equipped bathroom, satellite T.V. and air conditioning from 15/06 to 15/09 (approximately). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Jaime I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaime Hotel Salou
Jaime i Salou
Hotel Jaime i
Jaime Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing