We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has its plus points”
Review of Jaime I Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaime I Hotel
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed October 4, 2012

stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon,was slightly worried after reading the reviews.

yes the bar staff are rude and yes hotel and bar are very expensive.use local shops to buy water a lot cheaper.

the food has excellent range to choose from some times cold but ive never stayed in a hotel h/b and all inclusive where the food has been piping hot all of the time.

the hotel does have more foreign guests than brittish but you are abroad not blackpool.

the hotel is in a great location.
rooms were cleaned daily and lots of space.
hotel itself was pretty clean.

indoor pool is excellent only 1 euro 50 cent for an hour.

hotel is cheap and cheerful we are even considering going back with our daughter next year.due to price we paid and location.
i would say salou as a whole is more for families parks on beech,arcades.
lucky lucky asda price men do pester you but most destinations i've visited had them.
salou fountains on a Friday and Saturday at 9 are a must.
so is Aquopolis the water park and dolphins included.it's only 2 euros and 45 cents on local bus to get there,which you catch opposite to mcdonlds.food is expensive so take your own lunch.
buses from Reus airport to Salou are really cheap at just under 6 euros.leaving from stand 2.
hotel on a whole good.was impressed for money we paid.would go back due to location and price.had odd niggles.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well, where to start..... If your looking for a holiday with ignorant people, terrible food, horrendous facilities and shocking value for money then Hotel Jaime 1 is for you.

We arrived at 10pm on Saturday night and were given little lunch bags as we had checked in after dinner. This consisted of warm sandwiches, a warm bottle of water and some kind of fruit. 'Great start to our 'Jaime 1' experience.

When we got to our building we walked through a dimly lit lobby which to be honest, gave you the creeps, there was no lighting anywhere and you could barely see the next step in front of you. Up the lift onto the 4th floor where our room was. Clean, basic are all the only positives I have about this place.

Meal times, well where do i start?? "Survival of the fittest" "Hunger games" is the only way to describe this place. The canteen is like something out of a 1980's high school. Tables and chairs everywhere with 3 main serving areas. The breakfast had spaghetti included in the buffet, I mean "Spaghetti, FOR BREAKFAST" what is wrong with these people??? If you have a balanced diet and are careful with what you eat, then your snookered. Sausages, chips, beans, bacon, bolied eggs (with greeny blue yolks inside) ALL GREASY may i add are all you've got. Dinner doesnt get much better people...... You honestly need a crash helmet, bullet proof vest, snake bite kit and a compass in this place. People push you, nudge you. We had one guy, cough in our faces as we were eating. I have never seen so many Russians and Germans in one place, they are the rudes, most ignorant people on the face of this earth....

I'm running out of time on my lunch hour here but listen, Do not go to this place, it is a 'Pure Dive', honestly. Save your cash, pay a little bit more and look for something elsewhere..... If you decide to go to this place AFTER reading this review then you are a fool!!

Best thing about this hotel, was checking out!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ScottishFrog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Awful hotel! Dirty toilets everywhere with no toilet roll in any of them, grounds around the hotel full of empty cans and bottles, lobby's pitch black so very unnerving if your walking to your room on your own but worse of all is the filthy canteen! Flies everywhere, food not cooked properly, full of rude Spaniards who barge past you constantly not caring that your holding hot drinks. The place is a joke so please don't ruin your holiday by wasting good money going to this hotel! You will hate it! In all my times abroad I have never once had to complain about a hotel until now! Pick somewhere else and don't throw hard earned money away! It's a filthy filthy disgusting hotel that dosent cater in the slightest for English speaking people! Don't go!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 23tracys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1wk half board the hotel is in a good location but you have to walk pass the lucky lucky men to get to the sea front ,and after a while they do get to you a bit. The rooms where clean 2 plugs,pool cold ,entertainment was in spanish , the food well if you don't mind chips and pasta for breakfast well thats fine and all the other food as well ,evening meal was like a rugby scrum for a clean table and plate and food there was not much room to sit and eat in comfort if you got to your table you could not get back out for pudding unless you have to push your way out .the pool was very cold but plenty of sun beds thou don't know wot it would be like in the summer months over all if you don't mind a cheap holiday then thats fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

just back from 5 days at hotel jamie 1, what do i say on arrival was met by a spanish lady who quickly check us in and directed us to dalia block it took me three times going back and forward to reception before i found 9 THE PRISON CELL? bars on window two single beds no room to move.my partner went to reception to complain nothing could be done that night, so next morning she complained again and they moved us to a room overlooking the pool,it made such a difference for us. the hotel was packed with spanish and germans,with only a handful of british the germans and spanish were so rude would walk through you and pushed thier way to food counters,the staff seemed to cater for them and had no a great knowlege of english they were not interested in us brits. the food was not all bad and a good selection though chips and spuds cold thier was one microwave to reheat food for upwards of 1000 people.would not go back to this hotel and i dont usually complain,but this time i feel i have to.i think the hotel is too big,though the staff in dining room do work hard to get tables cleaned, entertainment if you dont under stand spanish well forget it as they woul only sing a few english songs ,all in all i am sure thier are hotels in salou who cater for brits,dont get me wrong every one needs a holiday just have reception staff who can under stand all guests.

Room Tip: we had a corner room was sunny on floor 3 number 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from salou, stayed in this hotel, place is very nice,staff very friendly and have games for the children in the day.Rooms are clean and tidy and large The food was good a lot of choice. 2 large pools[not to deep] plus 2 little pool for the little ones,Not to far from shops and about 15min from beach.

Room Tip: try to get a pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark1961London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the hotel Jaime, staying 12th-19th September, which seems to be at the same time as most of the reviews below and I am utterly shocked by the opinions of some people. If you are expecting the Ritz and to be treated like royalty then dont book a 3 star hotel !!!

We paid £163 each for a week half board (including our flights and transfers) and were over the moon with the hotel. Infact at that price we were expecting the worst so were pleasantly suprised by what we actually got.

Some people have written that their transfer didnt drop them at the hotel, this is probably because it is a one way street and their is a bus stop on the other side of the main road. We did actually get dropped at the hotel though, but on our return journey we were told to wait at the main bus stop. Not exactly difficult!!!

The hotel was very big, as they have 2000 guests staying with them. We were in the Dali building which was still within easy walking distance of the main building, pools, restaurant etc. The room was incredibly clean, the maid changed the sheets and towels every day and provided us with shampoo and shower gel bottles each day too. We had 3 single beds in our room, whcih was more than enough for 2 adults and we had 4 plug sockets. Im not sure what everyone else is talking about when they say they only had 1 socket. 2 were by the dressing table and a further 2 were by the bed. There was no fridge or kettle, but this wasnt a problem for us. You could buy cold water from the vending machine downstairs for 2 euro anyway and i dont go on holiday to make tea or sit in my room!!! Also the rooms were incredibly quiet.

Dinner time is allocated to you as they have so many people staying with them. We were given 7.30pm. The other sitting is at 8.30pm. We only ate in the restuarant once as we prefer to eat out on our holiday but on the night we did their was a large selection of food to choose from, meats, pizza, salads, veg, as well as a chef on hand cooking to order. Yes there are a lot of people in their but thats what happens when you book this type of holiday. Surely you know that before you book!!! Its not exactly a la carte!!!!

The swimming pool facilities were great. Always loads of sun loungers available and their was 2 outdoor pools plus a kids pool. Water was a bit cold but it was September! The indoor pool was lovely, the jacuzzi was enormous and the water was lovely and warm. Some people have complained that you had to pay to use it, but it was 1.50 euro, hardly a deal breaker!!!

Location was superb, its behind Salou park, so only a 5 minute walk to the promenade and beach. Loads of shops in the town, a wonderful water fountain that lights up to music at 11pm each night, brilliant bars and restaurants too - we would recommend Chaplins Bar which was a cabaret bar hosted by one of the seven dwarves from channel 4 programme! We went to the Aquopolis water park in La Pineda, only a short bus journey away and we also went to Salou market. Barcelona is only an hour away and their are plenty of tour shops in the town where you can book your trips from. Barcelona is abour 30 euro.

All in all I would say this was a great hotel in a brilliant location at a really cheap price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickyspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#56 of 93 in Salou
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#72 of 93 in Salou
1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,918 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaime I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaime I Hotel

Address: C/ Logrono 16-20, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range: $49 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaime I Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 775
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with a large capacity, situated in the centre of Salou, five minutes away from the beach and near Port Aventura. Equipped with a buffet restaurant, three bars, a solarium, a child play zone, open air swimming pools for adults and children, two open air whirlpools (1.200 m2 of water area), souvenirs shop, an entertainment program for children and adults, 15.000 m2 of garden areas, etc. Optional: gymnasium, minigolf, squash, heated swimming pool,sauna and Turkish bath, limited parking, etc. All our rooms give on the outside with terrace, telephone, fully equipped bathroom, satellite T.V. and air conditioning from 15/06 to 15/09 (approximately). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaime I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaime Hotel Salou
Jaime i Salou
Hotel Jaime i
Jaime Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing