We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach location, great sea view, spotless hotel but no holiday rep!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Cap Salou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Cap Salou
Ranked #48 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beach location, great sea view, spotless hotel but no holiday rep!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean. Very few staff that speak English. Full of Russians not that it bothered us - we didn't want sunbeds anyway!!! BUT the hotel catered 'extremely well' for Russians/Germans/French. Every morning the same thing for us Brits, toast or undercooked eggs and beans.My son stopped coming for meals on day 2, the rest of us perservered just so we wouldn't starve. Never did find the teabags for a morning cuppa. Good job McDonalds only a couple of miles up road. (Literally UP) its a hell of a steep bank. No English entertainment and If you have any problems don't expect to see a rep, have to go to nearby apartments for any help. Nevertheless I would stay there again if only for the views and the comfy bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestHotels2014, Gerente at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting your feedback. We aim to ensure all our guests receive a warm welcome and friendly genuine service throughout their stay, I am happy to hear that in general you liked our hotel, however I am concerned that you felt that only few staff spoke in English. Please rest assured that we will revise our rotas to make sure we have more english speaking staff on a shift. It is always very rewarding when our guests are willing to come back, we are looking forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Miguel Castro, General Manager of Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    253
    214
    97
    79
See reviews for
404
221
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Before selecting this Hotel for our hols we read many reviews and nearly decided not to go, but we took a chance and went and so glad we did, we new it was only 3 star but found it was more like 4 star and as for the reviews others had written I wonder what they had expected to get for the price and why shouldn't people from other countries stay at this hotel, if not for the Russians this Hotel would not survive. Rooms cleaned, towels changed every day with free soap and shampoo, friendly and helpful staff and the food just what you would expect from a holiday hotel with everything for a family with children or couples just out to relax. Transport and tours available on the spot. Beach with safe swimming 2 mins walk. What more do you want, will be going again.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter" •"Corner suites are large and sunny"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RonVala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A week here on full board was just over £200 per room for 4 in half term, so the value was great. Rooms are nice, clean and serviceable, but it is somewhat let down by some miserable staff and the quality of the food. The choice of food is actually good, but it was most often average cooked at best, and should / could be much better with a little extra effort. The location is great on Cap salou, about 25 min walk to Salou Centre or 20 minutes to Pineda. Beach is metres away. There are 2 local pubs which serviced us well. "Smugglers Bar" quite cheap and great staff with huge quality portions of food for a night off the full board, and "The Tap" with "Peck n Peck" who will entertain you to the wee hours.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a pool view higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueboybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in may 2014 with my 6month old staff didnt speak much english they kept saying they didn.t understand what i was saying the room was smelly spent 20euros on cleaning it myself also room had holes and cracks in the walls air con didnt work had bugs crawling on floors the cabinet was falling off the wall everytime someone left there room it was shaking only good point to room was balcony coz it was faceing the sea view . Was half board and i ate mostly chips all week the meat you cudnt cut was hard and cold and was more or less the same food everyday even more so the breackfast the lady who clears your plates etc.......was very nice she didnt understand english but at least she help poor for kids no entertmient only had 2-3shows on in a week pools were ok beach was lovely but its a good 10min walk up a big hill to get to the bus stops would not stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel_irfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestHotels2014, Gerente at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Rachel, I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to your liking and you found it bad. We try to aim for a maximum comfort to all of our customers, however I understand that the hotel is not to everyone´s taste. Best Regards, Miguel Castro General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here from the 20th to 27th Sept 2013. Its quite a large place and the cleaners kept it very tidy. Whilst the hotel staff were also extremely helpful, i couldn't say the same for the clientele, most of which were russian. Still we didn't allow their rudeness to spoil our vacation. The hotel is situated in a very quiet area of Cap Salou where the nightlife is almost null and void. There are one or two places with a few karaoke bars which we headed out to. But if you like peace and quiet that's what you'll get if you stay in Best Cap...assuming you go when there are no kids in the hotel. There were a few noisy children during the 1st couple of nights next to our room but they soon left and it went quiet. If you want peace avoid holiday times.

You'd have to venture into Salou city centre to capture any nightlife which would mean getting a cab back. There are a few nightclubs out there.

There is a trip to Barcelona for the day which you can book from street vendors or shops that advertise it. Compare prices as you can be paying extra when you don't need to. We visited the 'Nou Camp' and 'The Ramblas' and used a vendor at the top of the road in the 'RED BOX'. Go find it.

Last but not least...the beaches and sea are what you'd expect...beautiful. We arrived near the end of the summer and anticipated a few breezes, rain and low temps so packed a few long sleeve garments. How wrong we were. It was still hitting 25-28 degrees daily. Fantastic. I was topless almost everyday. Don't underestimate the power of the spanish climate. When there is a blue sky and the sun licks you it is unbelievable.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room with a sea view otherwise you may end up looking over the balcony at sun worsh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mixrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear customers
Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor
we are very glad with ypur reviews and your suggestions
It is true that we are in a privileged place for its tranquility and we believeThat this isa very suitable place for families and clients who seek tranquility. We hope to see you again at our hotel,

Best Regards,


Miguel Castro
director
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Tightwads had a cheap deal from Thomas Cook with a big saving on brochure price. We arrived mid morning and allocated a very clean room by 12.30. Each day room cleaned and clean towels. I would award all the staff 100% for their willingness to communicate and take the trouble to learn hotel Russian and English. The only complaint was being told that early breakfast from six o clock would be available on Sunday, our leaving day, because of holidaymakers leaving early. We were actually taken to the notice and thanked the restaurant Tea bag minder who also had to take money for drinks ordered. We had our bags packed ready to wait for the coach and then found that this had been altered. We had booked a meal on the Thomas Cook plane but there were staff shortages and a full plane so had to wait until the last minute to receive our meal.
In the huge dining room,
We were horrified to see people piling up their plates and leaving piles of food to be thrown away. Tea bags were guarded by the restaurant manager, obviously to stop pilfering. Sad to see someone putting 11 hardboiled eggs into their bag and others filling bags with fruit, cooked meat and bread. Juice was horrible so took our own in and queues made food go cold. Food was plentiful and always something to eat....especially if you like salads and rice. We know about mass catering and accept that if you want food like good old fashioned home cooking, then unlikely in a mass catering place. The surroundings at the hotel, are exactly as the brochure describes and although not really recommended for people with walking problems, we still saw plenty struggling.
Local buses are excellent and very reasonably priced. Tarragona is well worth a visit if you are interested in Roman history. We went twice and found two really good menu del dia places which did serve well prepared food. ( need to be able to read menus in Spanish...Catalan food names similar)
One night there was an excellent acrobatic type act. Another night, bog standard Flamenco.
Recommend walking along the prom in Salou and going as far as Cambrils. So lots of things to cheer you up but never again would we choose this hotel....watching the antics of the pilferers!!! Would a five star hotel allow that? Tightwads got a deal so end of the matter.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as some of the other rooms could be really noisy in the season. They look over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tightwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Tightwads,
We regret that your expectations of our establishment have not been fully met. Similarly, we thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor because thanks to reviews like yours, we can see better our weaknesses and we can focus all our efforts to solve them as quickly and efficiently as possible, because our main goal is the maximum satisfaction of our customers.

Kind regards

Miguel Castro
Director
Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

went to the best cap salou for out first holiday aboard,didnt really know what to expect due to indifferent reviews but really it is a first class hotel.The hotels are spacious are cleaned /change of bedsheets everyday,the hotel its self is very clean,food is plentiful loads of choice and very good.the hotel is situated with its own beach ideal for families,its got its own indoor/outdoor pools,entertainment for the kids and plenty of more faclities.Just outside the main enterance is a small complex of very good shops and english speaking bars,we found the smugglers bar very good value for a lunch time snack if on half board.salou itself is a nice 20 min walk away along a lovley seafront or 5mins on a very good bus service,if catching the bus buy a t10 pass,ten journeys for about 14 euros which you can top up if needed,when finished with simply return for 3.5 euros back.there arent many english people there but thats not a problem youre on your holiday just enjoy yourself.we did go to port aventure theme park abit pricey at 45 euros each but if you look in salou you can get 2 for 1 deals in some bars so that helps if youve got children,its also a great day out and only 10 mins away from cap salou and the bus takes you there.We didnt feel the need to use the staff at cap salou but found them friendly so no problems there.Our thomas cook rep was there 6days out of 7 very good.So overall great holiday,ideal for families,beach n safe great wheather,great food what more could you want,if you want to go livelier just go into salou you can party all night,def go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mark P,

For all of us, as part of the Best Hotels chain, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and that your family enjoyed every moment in our facilities.
I sincerely hope that we see you again at Best Cap Salou

Miguel Castro
Director
Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Negresco
Best Negresco
#29 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Sol Dor
Best Sol Dor
#37 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cala Font Hotel
Cala Font Hotel
#30 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Mediterraneo
Best Mediterraneo
#43 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.8 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Cap Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Cap Salou

Property: Best Cap Salou
Address: Cala de la Font 1, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Cap Salou 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just in front of the sea, in the tourist area of Cap Salou. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safedeposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, pizzeria from June to September, bar and snack-bar. Swimming pool (for adults and children) gym and children’s area. Optional services: parking, spa, indoor swimming pool, massage, internet corner, gift shop, hairdresser´s, tennis court and ping-pong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Best Cap Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Cap Salou Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing