We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad base for the week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
4R Salou Park Resort II
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a bad base for the week”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The hotel is a 3 star basic but that's not a bad thing. It has all the right amenities in a good location, especially for Capellans Beach also some good bars close by. The rooms were made up everyday and bed linen changed twice on our 1 week stay. The bathroom was small but done the trick. The pool could've been bigger but we were only in it twice as the beach was so close. Not a lot of sun loungers for the size of hotel but able to get one most days. Pool side bar served snacks and drinks. Never tried the food at the Hotel as it all looked a bit too canteen-ish so cant comment but plenty of local restaurants to choose from. I must recommend Kahlua Restaurant. We were there 3 nights out of our 7 and every meal was brilliant, they also do a good breakfast. Salou its self is good, all the usual touristy things to do. Recommended, especially after the 6th September as all the British kids are back at school :). All in all a good clean hotel, the only issue we had had was the rock solid beds.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooleyjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    140
    86
    35
    37
See reviews for
157
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

After reading previous reviews I too was very apprehensive about the Hotel, but I can honestly say that it was excellentconsidering it is only a 2 star. The hotel was clean, staff very friendly, great variety of food at breakfast and dinner, good entertainment during the day and evening and the fact you can use the facilities at the sister hotel, Hotel Salou made the holiday very enjoyable. My only complaint was the pool area could have been better and the weather which was very mixed but I suppose you can't have everything.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treacle069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

jst retuned on monday from salou,playa margarita.was very happy with hotel for cleanliness,entertainment,reception staff,restaurant staff.the only staff i had a promblem with was bar staff in evening at entertainment,learn some english please,watch out for the waiter called david,not the brightest!!!!!pool area gr8+major plus indoor pool+jacuzzi.evening food gr8,breakfast very poor.salou+costa dorada has plenty off things for teenagers+young at heart adults.port aventura is better than theme park i have been 2,including 3 differnt disney parks.barcelona is well worth a visit especially nou camp if u r footie fan!!!!hopefuuly will return 2 salou one day.
p.s. uncle sams restaurant in salou 4 excellent food+craic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank id2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2010

After reading some of the reviews previous to our stay at the margarita, me and my boyfriend were rather anxious as to what to expect, although we found the hotel to be brilliant! The pool area was great, lovely deep swimming pool and the bar area near the pool did lovely cheap cocktails. We went to salou for some partyting and yet we ended up watching the evening entertainment at the hotel every night as it was so fantastic! It ended at 11 so we went out after that. Great location, near the most beautiful beach! And very close to the main nightlife and local amenities. But was not noisy at all! Would definatley go back! Also, the indoor jacuzzi was wonderful to chill in before getting ready to go out! The breakfast at the hotel was amazing, best breakfast ever, we had fry ups every morning. The evening food was good too. The staff were not unpleasant at all as many of the reviews say. Haven't a clue what they are on about, they must be very hard to please!! Overall, had a brilliant time and cannot wait to stay there again next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex_alex2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Overall this was the best holiday I have ever had! :) The hotel was clean and tidy! The food for breakfast in my opinion wasn't great but the dinner had a huge selection and was lovely. We changed dinner for lunch on one day which we got to eat at their sister hotel the 'Salou Park' which was right next door, so that was handy. The staff were pretty helpful apart from one lady who was dog ignorant! I would recommend hiring a fridge (2.50 Euro per day, but definately good for keeping the water cool in such heat) and also the safe (2 Euro per day with a 10 Euro deposit) There is so much to do in Salou, to name a few things there are two beaches very close to the hotel which hold all types of water sports! We done jet skying and banana boating! Jet skying was 50 euro for two people for about 20minutes (we got it for 45 euro because we had a Salou Savers card so 10% off) its quiet expensive but your not going to be doing it every day so its definately worth a try! Banana boating was 6 euro each, also a great laugh! Beaches were clean and tidy, we spent time on the small beach at the top of the hill as it was a wee bit quieter than the main beach. We also went to Barcelona, ended up sleeping in so we missed our thomas cook bus and ended up getting a train were some Italian man was pic-pocketed! Talk about scary stuff! Portaventura was great fun, definately worth going to. Aquapolis water park is in La Pineda - definately worth a trip & if you go make sure to stay for the dolphin show ... WOW!!!!! On one of the nights we went to a place called House Of Illusion, it was a good laugh, it was like a magic/trick show! The Playa Margarita is very close to the main street but not directly on it which is perfect! Within walking distance from bars, restuarants, souvienere shops, everything you could ask for! One thing that was pretty annoying was you got absolutely tortured at night walking down the streets with everyone asking you to come into their bars/nightclubs. My boyfriend got absolutely tortured, kept getting asked did he want some weed! I thought he was hearing things until the 2nd last night when I heard two men ask him within the space of 30seconds- so watch out boys.lol. The pool was good too, and the indoor pool stayed open to 8pm, which was nice to relax in later in the evening! Weather was gorgeous, so warm (it was 28.5oC at 3am one morning!!) All in all though the holiday was absolutely fantastic with so much to do! Still wrecked from it and im back 2 days!Definately recommended! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaM068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

After reading various differing reviews on this hotel we were not sure what we would get when we arrived. We need not have worried. The hotel was spotless, the staff were more than excellent, the food was very good. We were half board with 5 children ranging from 26 to 11. We all found something to our taste. The location was good just 2 minutes from the main street though at night some of the neighbours were a bit noisy - not the fault of the hotel. If we were to return to Salou we would have no problems at all returning to the Playa Margarita

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcdonald2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed in Playa Margarita with my boyfriend (were early 20s) and overally we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Food - 3.5/5. - I would consider myself a very fussy eater but there was still things I liked that I would eat back here in the UK. E.G - pizza one evening, chicken and chicken nuggets, salad and pasta. My boyfriend who isnt at all fussy enjoyed the evening meals more than me, with a variety of meats and lots of different types of fish for him to try. Breakfasts were the highlight of food for me with a full english breakfast, cakes, croissants, cereal and best of all pancakes! Drinks were free in the morning (tea, coffee, a range of juices) but you have to pay for them in the evening - even water.

Room 4/5. The room was very basic but air conned, beds were comfy, sheets were clean, and the bathroom had a shower with complimentary shower gel, shampoo and soap. Maid service was available everyday who made the beds and changed the towels. Very efficient. The reason why I gave the room 4/5 was because the noise at night could be heard through the walls and windows - but it didnt really bother us because we went during world cup finals week so it was bound to happen. Plus Salou is built up of big hotels so noise was expected.

Facilities 4/5. There are 3 pools in the hotel, a shallow pool, deep pool and a mini pool thats like a big hot tub. Most the time sun loungers were always available and free of charge. There was also an indoor pool that had set opening times with a gym..that consisted of a few old looking equipment. As for the indoor and outdoor bar, prices were just about reasonable.

Entertainment 5/5 - Very good for families with children, a mini disco and then an hour of different entertainment each night - eg. Brazilian dancers, Magician, Grease night etc.

Transport 4/5 - Bus stop at the top and the bottom of the hill, would recommend finding out about a bus card. We paid 10 Euros for a bus card, then each single journey worked out at 1 Euro each as opposed to a single one way tiket that was 3 Euros 50 cents without a bus card. We got it from the Tobacco shop - most reps and hotel staff would know where this is located. Didnt bother with taxis for 2 reasons, they put their prices up during the evenings and we basically didnt want to get in a bogus taxi!

Local surroundings 4/5 - Beautiful beach at the top of the hill - only problem is, there are bout 50 steps down to the beach which is ok if you dont have a pushchair or walking difficulties. Alternatively, there was another more accessible but busier beach in the main town part of Salou. There are lots of resturants and souevenir shops everywhere, lots to look at and lots of people handing out leaflets, wanting your custom!

Trips - 5/5 - We went with Thomas Cook and went on their excursion to Barcelona in a nice air conned bus with a rep who knew lots of interesting facts and info about Salou and Barcelona. We also visited Port Aventura theme park and Aquapolis water park - both were fantastic days out and would highly recommend them if thats your thing. A catamaran trip was also enjoyable, diving and snorking in the middle of the sea and a fab opportunity for some gorgeous photos.

Overall - 4/5holiday. I would very highly recommend Salou if you dont mind staying with international tourists in the same hotel, built up tourist areas with some noise during the evenings. We had a lovely time, got back yesterday and already want to go back and relive the memories that we have made there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaKidston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#29 of 93 in Salou
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,969 reviews
0.2 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 93 in Salou
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
0.8 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#25 of 93 in Salou
917 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#35 of 93 in Salou
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Salou Park Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Salou Park Resort II

Property: 4R Salou Park Resort II
Address: Calle Amposta 4 - 6, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Playa Margarita)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Salou
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Salou Park Resort II 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4RHotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide range of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (before Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premim (paying) in all hotel. Close to the beach and Port Aventura. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your 4R Salou Park Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Margarita Salou
Playa Margarita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing