We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, but the beds let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
4R Salou Park Resort II
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, but the beds let it down”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Initial impressions were that this is a well placed hotel and looked good for what we payed (inexpensive and convenient). The staff on reception are friendly enough, but don't expect a smile from the restaraunt staff as you won't get anything remotely like a word out of them, just a grunt and a point. The pool area is clean, but the water is freezing cold, mainly down to being in the shade all day. Though guests staying here do have use of the pool next door (as they are the same hotel chain, just this is 3* and Salou Park is 4* - can also use their wifi too)

The main thing going for this hotel is that it is spotlessly clean, the rooms, corridors and public areas always being cleaned and the food is not bad either. We made use of the spa in the basement, whic I think has to be the best feature of this place - 6 euros for 2 hours which I think is well worth it for a relax.

The one big thing that let this hotel down were the beds. We booked a double room, but it was just 2 single beds made up seperately but pushed together and they were as solid as a rock (was more comfortable when I was lay on the sand at the beach) If you like a hard bed then it will be great for you, but it was just too hard for my likeing. On the upside, the shower in the bathroom was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    140
    85
    35
    37
See reviews for
156
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beaufort
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good Hotel, very near to the beach, bus stop and walking distance to centre of salou. Hotel was clean and restaurant had good wide selection of food which suited all of famiy. We had a family room which was a good size as family rooms go. The only let down was the unhappy staff. Apart from the cleaners who always had a smile, and the entertainment staff, the restaurant staff were miserable and grumpy. They certainly hate their jobs. Would definately suggest the hotel invest in some kind of customer service training for them! Its a shame because they were a real let down to what is a good, well located hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We were given this hotel through a sports company as part of a school trip.
It was comfortable, clean and the staff were friendly even when there were 40 girls being quite loud at dinner!
The food was fine, 2-3 meat dishes available each meal with vegetables and salad available as well.
Pool area was fine but water was freezing in May.
Good location to the main and smaller beach.

However, I did not get much sleep that week as the corridors are tiled so any noise echoes so loudly. Even one person walking down the corridor sounds like a thunderstorm. My room was also unfortunately placed next to the staircase for the first floor so I heard everyone walk up and down the stairs throughout the night. I'm sure I could have moved rooms if I had asked but I needed to be near my students. It still would not have removed the noise from the corridor though. Carpet would be recommended for this hotel in the corridors!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good Hotel, tidy, near to the beach and main Salou, but it was a shame that the staff in the hotel apart from the cleaner,receptionists and spa attendant could of been a bit more cheerful, it seemed like we were constantly in their way,the staff were not that helpful at all and never made us feel welcome, also the bar in the hotel could of been open later than midnight as it seemed a little like an hostal than an hotel, also there was only one bar outside and it seemed a lot of people smoked the cheap Spanish cigarette, as we are none smokers we both had sore throats because of this, it was shocking to see how many people smoked when children and babies were around even around the pool area, I am seeing the doctor since we have returned home for my sore throat has worsened, the bar inside was always closed and would have been better for people that didn't smoke, otherwise there was no where to sit and relax so most of the time we could not use some of the facilities in the hotel such as the pool, bar and entertainment area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel has gone downhill since our last stay here in sept 12,apart from the reception/cleaners the staff are miserable and unhelpful like you are in the way?, the new pool last year is great but the pool bar staff are unhelpful, rude and walk around like they are rambos cousin,the rooms are basic but clean,air con is very poor so don't stay here in july/august cos it is very uncomfortable,location is great,close to capellans beach bus/land train stop and the fab rio grande bar over the road!,if you want a cheap holiday with average food and miserable staff then this hotel is just right for you!!!!

Room Tip: corner rooms are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodyWestMidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here from Tuesday to Saturday last week. The hotel was in a perfect location for the beach, shops, pubs and restaurants. The hotel was pretty much the same as any other that I've stayed in abroad, not the best but not the worst. The food was plentiful unless your a veggie same as myself but for you meat eaters out there you had loads of choice. One negative point was that the bed was very very uncomfortable. There was entertainment every night but if you don't like it there's loads more round and about you. I found the staff helpful when approached.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a university tour. The hotel obviously don't employ people who were young once apart from the security guards! Staff grumpy and rarely smiled. When it came to checking out we were charged 80€ for 2 towels probably bought from the spanish home bargains for 2€ and then a further 40€ for a bath mat that was never in the room in the first place as we were using the towels as a bath mat.

Pool is of decent size and the booze prices were good enough.

Overall the hotel need to wise up and face that 6000 students are obviously going to make noise and a little bit of mess, but don't rip us off for what has been done.

Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markcollins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#29 of 93 in Salou
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 93 in Salou
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
0.8 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#25 of 93 in Salou
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#54 of 93 in Salou
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Salou Park Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Salou Park Resort II

Property: 4R Salou Park Resort II
Address: Calle Amposta 4 - 6, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Playa Margarita)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Salou
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Salou Park Resort II 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4RHotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide range of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (before Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premim (paying) in all hotel. Close to the beach and Port Aventura. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your 4R Salou Park Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Margarita Salou
Playa Margarita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing