We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripped off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita)
Ranked #53 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ripped off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I also stayed here during my university's sports tour last week.. At first sight the hotel seemed to not be too bad, the rooms were a decent size etc.. Then things just started to go downhill. From the first afternoon we had intermittent power cuts (with no explanation), on closer inspection of the room we found that it was so covered in dust that it ended up all over my clothes on a shelf and there was a hole in my bathroom ceiling. When we went down to dinner we were not provided with any water to drink, and we were not allowed to take any of our own in, the officious staff would confiscate any off people on the way in, which was desperately needed as the food was dreadful, primarily assorted carbs, and the same every night. I can't imagine the the pool gets any sun as it is sandwiched between 2 high rise buildings. Then just to add insult to injury notes were left around the hotel the night before we left that WE HAD TO CLEAN THE ROOM before we left, and on check out they started charging people £50 per rubbish towel that there was anything on, even the smallest mascara marks, this was the same case for sheets, pillow cases etc etc etc. As below has stated already we were not allowed to leave the hotel until we had paid these ridiculous charges!!! I can understand that they need to get people to pay for damage but they did not give us notice of these charges at the beginning of the week and I would never ever expect to pay for a towel in any other hotel. It was just robbery of students who couldn't do anything about it... Disgraceful!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Becs92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    127
    79
    32
    37
See reviews for
139
102
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here on a uni sports tour so my experience will be slightly different to other travelers. The hotel itself is in an ideal location within an easy walking distance of everything. The hotel is in good condition the pool area is nice although the water was freezing. We were half board and both breakfast and dinner were tasty with lots of choice. The rooms were adequate and both the bathrooms were kept really clean by the lovely maids.

The only complaint I have is the advantage that the hotel took over fines being distributed to students on check-out. We all understood that strict fines were needed to ensure that damage was kept to a minimum by the young guests but the hotel took this to extremes; charging 50 euros for a slightly dirty towel. The hotel was clearly trying to just make money out of students who had no choice but to pay in order to get their passports back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Near a good beach and on the bus route for the tram into the Portaventura Park. Food was normal nothing too good or bad. Pools were small, but plentiful, one for each hotel. Plenty of Russians there, which wasn't a bad thing as long as you followed their queuing rules, push or be pushed lol.

The room we stopped in was quite small and the balcony rail was very unstable, extruded alloy secured using 2 x 6mm self tappers, we was on the 3rd floor.........be careful. We was alos on the back of the hotel and the early morning bin collections was an issue, it only lasted 10 minutes though so not to bad.

Suppose you get what you pay for, nothing too bad or good. I would go back again at £440 half board for 3, ;-)

Room Tip: Don't pay too much and if half board eat at dinner time rather than on the evening, if your circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teflontinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel from 7th September to 14th September. We were quite worried about the hotel as we had been reading reviews before we went.

Firstly, we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff at the reception. We were quite impressed with the appearance of the hotel as the reception area was spotless. When we booked the hotel we had requested a middle floor pool view room, which unfortunately we did not get. Everything about the hotel was going very well until we opened the door to our hotel room which was on the 5th floor. We were very disappointed with our room as it was very small and myself and my boyfriend could not move around the room without having to move out of each others way. We had looked at a layout of the hotel and discovered that we had the smallest room in the hotel. It was in the very centre of the hotel where both sides of the hotel meets and was also right next to the stairs which did get very noisy at times, but that did not bother us too much. The balcony was probably the most pathetic balcony I've seen in my life as myself and my boyfriend could not sit on it together without our knees touching. However we didn't want this to ruin our holiday, until about 2 days into our holiday a maid approached us and asked if we were both staying in the room as she said she had only been providing towels for one person as the hotel room is a single room. This left me and my boyfriend feeling very upset because we felt we had paid alot of money for a hotel room which did not in actual fact cost the price we had paid. Aside from this, the hotel room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard and clean towels were provided everyday.
We were very impressed with the bathroom as we were expecting a shower of very poor quality when actually it was probably one of the best showers I've ever used!

The food at the hotel was of good quality and there was something available to suit everyone's needs. However we did feel that the food did become quite repetitive and we felt that the breakfast options were boring and so for the last two days of our holiday we had breakfast at uncle sams which was €4 for a full English breakfast. The restaurant staff were a mixture of friendly and grumpy people. Some of them looked as if they did not want to be there and it was impossible to get a smile out of them. But others were very friendly and were willing to help with anything.

Before we got to the hotel we were worried about the pool area as on the pictures the pool looked very small and in the shade. But we were very surprised to see a brand new pool when we got there. Although we did only go in the pool 3 times because it was in the shade alot and so the water was very cold. There were limited sun loungers at the hotel and the area was in the shade for the majority of the day so we didn't bother staying at the hotel, instead we went to the beach and hired two sun loungers which cost €4 each for the whole day which we thought was good.

We cannot comment on the night time entertainment at the hotel because we did not stay at the hotel for the entertainment. But there did seem to be something going on every night and when we got back to the hotel there was quite a big crowd watching so it couldn't have been too bad. But, if you're like me and you don't like to stay at the hotel then I strongly recommend Robin Hood which is a lovely English pub which we went to every night and they always had good entertainment!

The best thing about this hotel by far is its location, it's very close to the small beach and only a 5/10 minute walk from the main beach!

Overall, we did like this hotel but we feel that our stay would have been better had we been given a better room. We probably won't be returning to this hotel as we would like to stay in the sister hotel 4R Salou Park, as the hotel looks very nice and the pool is in constant sunlight!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigAndDannielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the Playa Margarita first week in Sept '12 for 7 nights, the location of the hotel is perfect just a minute walk for a nice beach and then a few minutes walk from the main beach! The main town is about 2minutes walk from hotel as well.

The food was nice but as others said it was fairly similar every night! They always had chips/potatoes and a range of meat available! Deserts were okay not the best they seemed to cater them more for the Russians/Germans!

Like others have said the other guests that are not British were rude and don't know the meaning of a queue! You soon get use to their behaviour after a day!

The staff were okay - they were helpful to us but not as much to other guests!

The rooms were very clean - clean towels daily along with a room clean and beds made. The Spa is 6€ to use and is only open twice a day - definitely worth it though especially if it's cloudy outside.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! And will be returning again in the future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for ten days from the 26th of August with my boyfriend. We had a great room which looked out onto the pool area and was located on the fifth floor, exactly what we had asked for! The rooms were cleaned every day, cleanest hotel I have probably stayed in which is usually what you want more than anything else!
The pool seems to be newly built as its different from the photo's we have seen. Was very modern and clean too although we could never really get into it because it was freezing most days and nobody else seemed to have bothered with it. We never bothered with the hotel food as we booked room only from hearing too many bad reviews about it. There are plenty of cheap food places outside this hotel which are lovely so there is no problem finding nice food elsewhere! The entertainment at the hotel wasn't great, fine for couples like ourselves but isn't great for families as there isn't much for kids to do.
The main downside is definitely the staff, as when we arrived at the hotel we stood at reception for about 20 minutes to be ignored by the staff talking to Spanish guests. Also our room wasn't ready for an hour after the check in time. Overall I would come back again as it had our basics of been a clean and safe hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a pool view or you will be looking our to a block of residential flats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here in august 2012 2ad 3 children full board, the food was very good lots of meats on the menu and everyday a good childrens menu. The hotel is very well maintained , the maids cleaned and dressed beds everyday . The hotel is perfectly situated right next to the beach and a very sort walk to the main street. i would definatly stay here again my children cried they did not want to come home x

Room Tip: family rooms are very big but ask for ground floor if you have small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofthree58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#33 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best San Diego
Hotel Best San Diego
#46 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
#37 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Los Angeles
Hotel Best Los Angeles
#45 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita)

Property: 4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita)
Address: Calle Amposta 4 - 6, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Playa Margarita)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Salou
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita) 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4RHotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide range of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (before Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premim (paying) in all hotel. Close to the beach and Port Aventura. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Margarita Salou
Playa Margarita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing