We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”
Review of 4R Playa Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
4R Playa Park
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The lobby and entrance looks lovely and there are plenty of facilities and places to sit in and around the lobby area. The front reception staff were a little ignorant but we didn't need them for allot so didn't really bother us.
It was advertised as great for family's but the childrens disco was from 9.45 - 9.55 at night then nothing else for the baby at all, just a singer who didn't stop until past 12, he sounded as loud in the room as out!. The pool was also freezing to the point where my daughters lips turned blue, even though it 28 degrees outside. This hotel is on quite a large hill so we did get quite allot of excercise, we had to go to the beach in the day and we to another hotel in the evenings that was more suited to children.
The maids who cleaned the room were excellent and couldn't do enough for us and added nice touch's to the room like extra pillows etc.
The food was excellent and they tried to vary it as much as possible and the staff in the restaraunt were out of this world, really making a fuss of the baby and getting us a great seat every evening.
If it wasn't for the pool, location and lack of entertainment I would give this full marks but we were very tired at the end of most days as we had to go elsewhere to entertain the baby.

Room Tip: The pool rooms are very loud until gone 12am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richarddare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 875 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent hotel staff friendlt, arrived at 12.30am food was laid out for all!! Cery cheap to eat and drink two minute walk from beach ( to the right of the hotel) shops, restaurants, markets, pharmacy, money exchange all 5 minute walk, pool is shaded due to hotel but is in the sun by 1:00pmuntill 6:00pm will return in future!! Rooms cleaned every morning!! What a fantastic holiday we had , entertainment every night amd always a range of food catering for all, will definatly return, all these bad reviews do not listen to them! we couldnt ask for morexx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aj5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in September 2013, Place looks great staff are friendly enough, rooms are nice bathroom, amazing showers, are great i never used to Hotels Swimming pool as the beach was next to out hotel, Free Wifi, Cheap Drinks, food is Ok but not the best better off eating out

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen1106317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in August.The fact that the room was dated was compensated by an excellent walk-in shower.The pool was fine with great entertainment on offer, both during the day and at night,with some humourous and captivating shows to enjoy.The restaurant was very clean with an extensive and varied selection of food on offer.Staff were polite and attentive aside from a surly and rude wine waiter (not the young lad with glasses for the sake of clarity.) All in all, a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here 30/8 - 13/9/2013. Staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful at all times. Hotel was ideally situated for 4 beautiful beaches and within 800 metres of the centre of Salou. There was always a very good selection of food and they catered for all and the quality of food was very good. There is a bus stop outside the hotel where you can catch a bus to the cities of Tarragona, Barcelona or Reus and also the resort of La Pineda or for the more adventurous PortAventura theme Park or Aquopolis Water Park. The Hotel itself is comfortable and clean, the majority of staff speak very good English. There is entertainment for kids all day and shows every night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

First things first if you have not been to Salou before you should know that this hotel is probably the furthest hotel from the main shopping area this also means it is incredibly close to the Platja Llarga beach which is just gorgeous. This is not an area that is easily accessible you need to walk down a rather long zig zag road or an inordinate amount of steps to get to the beach.

The hotel is a three star hotel which means that my expectations were not as high as they would be for a four or five star hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. There are a few things you should know though. Your room will not come with a fridge you will need to pay €25 a week for one, you will need to pay €19 for the lock for the safe in your room (you will get €10 deposit back when you hand back the lock and key), if you want an iron it is €3 per day and if you want a mattress for your sun bed that is €3 per day. You will be charged the tourist tax on arrival which worked out at 50 cents per person per night.

We booked half board for our stay and I really liked how flexible the hotel was if you wanted to change your dinner to lunch instead so you could sample some of the restaurants elsewhere and one day because we were spending the whole day in Barcelona we changed our dinner to lunch the following day so we had all three meals in the hotel. I have to admit the selection at lunchtime is nowhere near as diverse as it is at dinner but the food is of a good quality especially the fruit and vegetables I couldn’t get enough of the tomatoes, peaches, nectarines, water melon and melon. My husband is Muslim and he found it difficult to find halal meats in the morning at breakfast but the kitchen were great and would bring him some cold cuts of turkey. Every night at dinner there is always one carved meat whether it is pork, turkey or beef and it was great to be able to have some nice large chunks of meat for dinner.

Our room had two double beds which meant that for once my son did not have to sleep in some fold out bed. The bathroom was large with a double shower. I had requested a quiet room and this would probably have been the case because we were not overlooking the main road or the main pool area where the evening entertainment was held but for some reason there was something that made this incredibly loud grinding sound, with earplugs in I could drown out the karaoke but not that sound. Only on our last night when I believe the room next to us might have been empty did the sound stop. What was disappointing was the reaction of the lady on reception and she really was the only member of the reception team that we felt was completely lacking in customer service. She was aware that there was sometimes a sound in 616 and 617 and if we wanted to change rooms to do so at 10.30am when people had started to check out. We were shown two other rooms one that was going to be far too small for the three of us and another where two single beds would have to be put together to make up a double for me and my husband. Anytime I have slept in a bed where a cover has been put over two singles I have found a knee or elbow has slipped between the two mattresses during the night so I decided to tolerate the grinding sound through earplugs. On the plus side we had a lovely view of the sea from the corner of our balcony.

There are a number of other beaches that can be used and a really lovely walkway between beaches out around the cliffs and on one of our evening strolls we squealed with delight while trying to avoid the waves that were soaking the walkway. When you get to the main beach in Salou the area is flat and easily accessible from the hotels and restaurants in that part and we discovered a lovely avenue of palm trees to walk down away from the shops on one side and the beach on the other it was a lovely way to spend the evening as the sun set.

You can catch a number of buses from outside the hotel to local places like La Pineda and Tarragona. You can also pick up the tours to Barcelona from outside the hotel the only downfall is that because it is a one way street you are dropped off at the bottom of the hill after your trip and if you’ve had a long day out the last thing you want to do is to trudge up a hill for 10 minutes in order to get to bed. If you want to experience the local towns you can buy a multi-journey card that can be used between a group of people. We bought one with 10 tickets that we could use between the three of us for €14.90 we only used six going to and from Tarragona (lovely old quarter with a Roman amphitheatre) but if we had bought the tickets on the bus they would have cost us €3 each, each way.

We only ever tried out Platja Llarga which is literally three minutes from the hotel where you can hire a sun bed for €5 and an umbrella for €6. There is a restaurant and a bar on the beach. The restaurant serves tapas from 1pm in the most disorganised way – we ordered a salad, patas bravas, squid and cheese and ham croquettes. The patas bravas was served almost immediately, the salad about 10 minutes later and the squid and the wrong croquettes about 15 minutes after that so my suggestion is to eat there when the lunch time rush has quietened down. You can get sandwiches and ice-creams from the bar all during the day.

If you want to get water, drinks and snacks for your room there are a variety of supermarkets down the hill to the left hand side when you walk out of the hotel. To get to Platja Llarga walk out of the hotel, cross the road and turn right then follow the road round to the left and cross the road again past the private villa and the steps to the beach will be in front of you or alternatively you can continue along the footpath to the left and you’ll find the road down to the beach. To walk down into the town centre turn right out of the hotel, take the next right and follow the main road the whole way along the coast until you get to the main shopping area.

One of the downsides we found was that the main pool didn’t get the sun first thing in the morning and to be honest because we were out of the hotel after midday I’m really not sure when it did get the sun. The smaller pool did seem to get it in the morning but this was inhibited by the trees. There are a few things the hotel could do better – improve Wifi - it was incredibly frustrating the strength would increase and decrease at any point or stop completely. It was only when I got back to the UK and onto my normal 3G network that I finally managed to download one application update. Invest in double glazing it would make the ability to provide quiet rooms much easier. The entertainment is far too loud especially in low season I was mortified walking up the street on a number of evenings realising that the noise from two corners away was our hotel.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and we would like to say a big thank you to Encarni in reception who was so lovely and helpful giving us advice and booking a restaurant for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors, facing away from the road and large pool with the lifts closest to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LondonIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed 1st september - 8th september 2013

Hotel extremely clean. Staff very friendly. Food - good quality, well cooked and lots of variety and main menu changed every day which you can see night before. The staff where too happy help if you required anything.

Yes the hotel is about 80% russian, who don't like queing, but we found the staff ignored them at reception and gave us our key quickly with out asking while we stood patiencely.

Entertainment was good and all the staff worked hard.

The hotel is on top off a hill not too steep but can be tiring after a day out. Lovely view from hotel balcony.

In a good location away from the busy shops and pubs but only a couple of minutes walk to reach it, and beach is 5 minutes walk away.

The room was cleaned daily and was what expected from the standard hotel, except for the bather room all new and walk in power shower. New towels provided every day. Very comfortable bed and we asked for extra pillows on arrival and received almost immediately.

Would recommend hotel to anyone, would not be dissapointed. Looking forward in going back next year as our base for barcelona trips.

Room Tip: I f you want a pool or sea-view room, contact them early by email and they happy to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,131 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.2 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#24 of 93 in Salou
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Playa Park

Address: Calle Vendrell 1-3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#7 Family Hotel in Salou
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $61 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Playa Park 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R chain Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Hotel 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Playa Margarita Hotel 3*, are located in privileged areas of Salou, near the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 4R Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Park Salou
Hotel Playa Park
Playa Park Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing