We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time around”
Review of 4R Playa Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
4R Playa Park
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“2nd time around”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the hotel and found it was just as good as last year .
the food was great and the staff very helpful , can't say we had a problem with the hill back up to the hotel its not that steep , went to Barcelona/Tarragona/reus again on the local buses which are cheap and reliable , if you want a good night out try the Victoria Pub which is 5mins from the hotel
we had an early flight back so they opened the dining room so us and a few others could have a early breakfast , we had a good holiday and would return anytime .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alan_daviesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    296
    109
    37
    18
See reviews for
375
250
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and my wife booked a last minute holiday to get away from it all and chose this hotel as it was available for the dates we wanted in October. upon arrival we checked in at 21.20 due to a late flight and thought that we had missed dinner but the staff were so helpful in getting us booked in quickly and storing our luggage so we could eat before the restuarant closed. our room was located quite close to the elevators which we thought was going to be noisy but infact the only thing we heard now and again was the ding when people arrived on our floor. the room was spacious with a large bathroom and balcony which overlooked the front of the hotel and to the left was the sea.

the restuarant was fantastic. buffet style food with lots of range to choose from and themed nights 3 times a week. the staff were great the entertainment was brilliant. we found they had an arcade room which took me back to the old days down the beach in the arcades. the centre of town was 10mins walk or 2 min taxi and would cost around 5e. the beach was lovely clean sand no pebbles and was perfect for the sunset.

we could not have been more pleased with this hotel and we would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to Salou for a week back in June 2012. I used trip advisor to decide on this hotel and because of the great reviews we decided to stay here, and they were right ! The hotel was fabulous! When we first arrived, however, we were put in a tiny room that we both decided we could not spend a week in. So we asked at the front desk and the next day we were in a new much better room! The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. The food was not brilliant, and they didn't mix it up very much, but us personally could deal with in.
Our room was by the road and people had said that it was not the best because of the noise from the bus stop outside, however we never noticed it and it didn't bother us, so that was fine. We didn't use the pool very much as it was more for the families with children. The beach is a 7 minute walk or less from the hotel (depending on your speed, its a lovey little beach and then not a very far walk to the shops at all. Its right next to the centre but not close enough to be an issue.
The only slight problem was the hotel was at the very top of a hill, so after a long day of shopping or swimming then it was difficult. But we did lose a lot of weight due to that hill! There is a lovely little restaurant/cafe across the road from the hotel that we went to every night because we loved it so much!
I would highly recommend this hotel, its location is brilliant, great for romantic walks! Its also a good hotel for families I would think because of the entertainment and the pool area. The hotel is very affordable and lovely. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a one week break in Sept 2012, my friend and I found the staff most helpful, especially the Chef, he was brilliant with my friends food, she is Gluten and Dairy Intolerant, I explained, in my rusty Spanish, he promptly cleared a special area in the kitchen to cook her food separately, she ate well all week and never suffered once!
Our room was cleaned every day, everything worked, we had a good sea view from our 5th floor balcony, some noise from the outdoor entertainment but never into the early hours as most nights the entertainment was geared towards children.
The Mexican Dancers were worth seeing.
The pool is fairly small and quite cold due to the (protected) Spanish Pines in the grounds, I was glad of their shade as there were no parasols available, the sunbeds do not adjust and are not very comfortable, grab the bright blue newer ones if you are spending long beside the pool, shops just across the road are good for cool drinks and snacks.
The Hotel is situated on a steep hill, walk 4 minutes up it then down a steep ramp to the small, clean, well equipped beach, so if you have real difficulty walking then book into the flatter center of Salou itself. (The Old Town)
Definitely recommend for anyone wanting an affordable break in the sun

Room Tip: Avoid the ones that overlook the bins, they are emptied at around 4/5 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrisMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very good clean hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and evening meals were very good and had such a great variety of food. Rooms were clean but found the beds uncomfortable and think those need to be updated. Entertainment was good in the evening. Hotel quite close to main shops and beach although there was an incline to get to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Compared with the golden donaire beach another 3 star in Pineda this hotel is definatley the better of the two better location better food and better rooms for the prices paid. Still full of ignorant Russians tho. Wouldn't return to the salou area again unless it was to stay at portaventura which is brill! Salou itself is quite scruffy however the beaches are nice. Do not pay over the odds!! It's ok for a cheap getaway

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My Friend and I stayed in this hotel in the first week in September and really enjoyed it.
The weather was beautiful which helps.
The breakfast in the Hotel was lovely there was so much choice anybody could find something they like.
The Hotel was very clean and the rooms were comfy if not a little dated.
Towels changed every day and the cleaners were excellent.
The Hotel does cater for many nationalities but I personally don't have a issue with that, I don't go to another country and expect it to cater just for the Brits.
The hotel is on a very steep hill and after a few days in the heat it does become draining, however there is a bus at the bottom of the hill which comes past the front door of the hotel.
The Hotel is in a good location for transport there is a bus stop directly outside and a mini train which goes all around Salou is just round the corner.
Although I wouldn't return to Salou this has no reflection on the hotel which was lovely.
Salou felt a little run down and the shops were all the same tourist tat.
On the positive side the beaches were beautiful and the transport links to Barcelona, Tarregona and Cambrills were really good and regular.
Really enjoyed the holiday and the hotel :)

Room Tip: We had a sea view room,but this does mean you are on a main road,which didn't bother me but may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#5 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.2 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#29 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Playa Park

Property: 4R Playa Park
Address: Calle Vendrell 1-3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#7 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Playa Park 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R chain Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Hotel 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Playa Margarita Hotel 3*, are located in privileged areas of Salou, near the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 4R Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Park Salou
Hotel Playa Park
Playa Park Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing