We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price we paid but wouldn't return or recommend!”
Review of 4R Playa Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
4R Playa Park
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at about 10:30am and couldn't check in until 12 which was fair enough so we were able to store our cases in the luggage room at the hotel which was good. The location of the hotel is quite good, when you come out of the hotel turn right for the beach and left to take you to shops and bars. There is also a bus stop directly outside which does trips to Barcelona and at the end of the road a resort train which will take you to port aventura.

The hotel itself was clean and well maintained. The pool was a bit of a let down as it states there are three pools but they are actually all joined up and receive a couple of hours sun in the afternoon so the water is freezing!! The beaches are lovely though, apart from the very steep steps to get to them, they make up for the pool!!

The room was spotless and was cleaned everyday. The beds were very hard and quite uncomfortable but we could put up with this for the one week we stayed. The bathroom was clean but the shower didn't stay on the wall when using the shower on full. Towards the end of the stay we has lots of ants in the bathroom and bedroom, not nice!!!

The breakfast had a good variety and there is something there for everyone. We did find it a bit of a scrum trying to get a table and also trying to get a hot drink!! I would not recommend the tea unless you use at least three tea bags!!

We didn't find the staff particularly helpful or friendly, we made a conscious effort to greet them and thank them in Spanish but they seemed as though they didn't want to make the time for us and were quite abrupt when asking for help with our transfers.

The resort itself is a little run down and there aren't that many great places to eat especially if you want to try some nice Spanish food!! I would recommend trying the sangria though! Watch out for the dodgy men hanging round the street corners offering you a range of products, from sunglasses to wacky backy!!

Overall we had a good holiday because we made the most out of what was there. I wouldn't recommend this hotel or resort purely because I think there are nicer places to visit for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 874 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was nice and overall all cleanliness of rooms was good until by the end it was festooned with ants ! Beds where not the comfiest . Balcony was a good size with a good view of pool and sea . Bathroom was adequate although the shower head wouldn't stay on the wall if you turned it on fully .
There was hardly any British in the hotel and felt abit isolated , especially when being pushed in front of at reception , lift and breakfast bar . One lady on reception seemed abit rude and unhelpful when we asked about transfer times and pulled a ridiculous face at us , this was after being pushed in front of by an irate non English speaking woman . Can't really comment on the rest of the staff as we chose not to spend much time in the place other than too sleep . We went to the beach rather than the pool but it was down a whole world of steps , this was because the pool was in the shade till late and it was freezing . The restaurant was nice and clean , we only stayed b&b but I quite enjoyed the breakfast . Some of the entertainment in the hotel was abit of a joke but the Mexican show was quite good .
The hotel is a fair way from the main salou beach but there is a beach quite near which is quite nice but down a lot of steps . There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which had frequent busses to tarragona and Barcelona which we took advantage of . I didn't mind the location of the hotel and is in easy walking distance of bars shops and restaurants .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-green84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I dont want to sound fussy here, so let me start by saying we are a couple in our early 20s, we have stayed in 3 star hotels in Spain, and Turkey before, this hotel however is awful.

First off what is with the good reviews? Are people ok with living in sub standard conditions?

On arrival to hotel, the garden, plants and interior look impressive. Until you get to their 2 lifts for nearly 100 rooms across 8 floors. Stuffy. That’s just a minor complaint.

The room, having requested top floor, double bed, etc because of an engagement party, we were given a 5th floor room (of 8 floors) and a bed with a small grubby outdated bathroom, WORST OF ALL, two single beds put together with a sheet over them. When I arrived in the room I was gutted especially for the price.

The beds....OH MY GOD, like lying on a bed of hangers, the noise, came home needing a massage. We met a couple from England on 3rd floor who had same complaint. Very difficult to sleep on, and very uncomfortable.
The pillows are rubbish, like lying on a pillow sheet with 10 socks inside it.
The rooms are small with little room, and the balconies are full of ants as I looked to my left and right and below rooms.

$70 FOR A FRIDGE FOR TWO WEEKS? Being told we would get fresh water juice etc every day we went for it, 2days, and no matter how many times we asked we got the usual 'ne comprehende' response we came accustomed to.

There were no English Irish etc in our hotel, not that I am in anyway racist, but precedent was clearly given to German and Russian speakers.
For instance, one night sitting on the balcony, tv music all switched off, we were reported to for being 'too noisy', despite the fact it was half past 9, and both German families either side reported us. Again the English couple we met in their 30 encountered the same problem. We constantly got our door knocked by kids playing football at half 7 in the morning which was ridiculous. When you decided to report this to reception after being reprimanded about our supposed noise, our complaint was not adhered to, and the rude reception staff whom are constantly mentioned below, give the as before mentioned infamous 'ne comprehende' line. However this soon changed when I mentioned Tripadvisor, suddenly they were taking down our complaints, and apologizing to us. Tripadvisor’s great reputation for showing holiday makers the truth must be known throughout Europe because the receptionists were genuinely frightened. Strange.....

The pool is incredibly small, the photos are deceptive, in reality, it can have at most 10 sunbeds around its circumference. The pool's water is also salty, not good.

The pool is also always blocked by the tall building, and ridiculously tall palm trees, 2 hours a day the sun comes up and you have to be in an exact spot to reach it.

We knew another family in the near by Internacionale II apartments, all day entertainment by pool, pool was clean, and fun, their rooms were spacious, and the entertainment team catered for all ages there. Plus its cheaper. We spent most of our time there, and I can confirm they are a far better hotel/apartments than Playa Park.

Finally Playa park is well out of the road from town. There is a steep hill, but its from the beech up, into town centre takes 15/20 minutes, and the road up to at night is filled with African men constantly asking did we want 'hash' 'coke' etc. Not safe if you were on your own.

One bit of advice, DONT GO HERE, Go somewhere else, I have first hand proof that other hotels are better!!!!!

Room Tip: There are no rooms, we requested top floor, double bed, not a big ask, especially the bed, we got ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

stayed here last 2 weeks in aug 2012 with my husband, son, his girlfriend and their 2 kids, Hotel was luvly, clean, staff were friendly, Food was really nice, entertainment was good, couldnt fault it really, only down fall for me was it is on a hill and i have walking difficulties, but the train stops outside, takes you anywhere for 3 euro each and taxis are very cheap

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the pool and can be noisey till 11.30 but it was excellent for sitting on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t_smith995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I are just back from 10 days here and I can honestly say it was a brilliant holiday...I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and would even consider returning again myself!! After reading some bad reviews here I thought I had made a bad choice but was far wrong!! The service of the staff was excellent, the room was spacious and comfortable (with a huge walk in power shower and hairdrier) and towels were changed every day, there was great aircon which we didn't have to pay extra for, there was a variety of activities for kids throughout the day and then a different show every night of the week, and there was a vast selection of food for all cultures!! We were half board which meant we we're breakfast and evening meal but we were able to change our evening meal to lunch if we decided to go out in the evening!! The food was lovely and he restaurant and bar staff were so friendly and helpful!! There is a small beach 2 minutes away across the road and down some steps and the larger beach/town centre is just 10 mins walk away with lots of shops en route!! The only thing I would say it wouldn't be suitable for older people unless you're willing to walk up a hill to get back from town...but we're young and it helped keep the weight off from all the food we ate!! Portaventura is 10 mins away via bus and Aquapolis water park in La Pineda is 10 mins the opposite direction on the bus!! Plenty of trips available via Plana bus company too!! Definately worth more than its 3* rating!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauralaura90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

just returned from one week in the playa park hotel in salou. my wife and i took our 15 yr old daughter and her friend. we booked a double room. although clean and tidy the room was small, it was quite a struggle at times fitting us all in. that is where the negatives end though. the food was great (plenty of variety). the staff were friendly and helpful too. air con was ok as was the bathroom. certainly would stay there again, but leave the kids at home and the room would be spot on.either that or try to see if they have larger rooms. overall had a fantastic holiday, P.S. try christys irish bar on falset street , absolutley amazing . enjoy....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunmonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well... What an absolute hole. Arrived at the hotel at around 9 at night and even then it was roasting. We were given a key that was around the size of a brick and had to be carried around with a lot of difficulty, at least there was no risk of losing it. We were told we had one of the nicest rooms in the hotel, all I can say is that I don't want to see one of the worse ones. Don't think that the room had been decorated since the 60's. At the time of our stay the humidity was around 80% and to our luck our air conditioning didn't work, we had to make do with a desk fan (which they grandly named a 'ventilator') for the first 5 days till they bothered their [--] to fix the actual air conditioning. This was horrible, I would wake at around 4 in the morning with the sweat dripping off me and would have to get a shower just to cool down, but at least i didn't have to use a towel to dry myself cause the heat dried me within about 2 seconds of getting out. As we had arrived too late for dinner they very kindly left us some disgusting sandwiches and a mouldy apple. The room was so warm we had to resort to leave the balcony door open to actually keep us alive. But this was nice as most nights we got a visit from the army of local ants which very kindly carried our rotten sandwiches away for us as the maid clearly couldn't be bothered to lift them. We were also only left with one pillow for our double bed which was around 5 foot long (this was good for pillow fights as you could probably kill a man with the size of this thing). One nice thing about the room was that it had a huge balcony, it even had two sunbeds and provided a nice view of the 2ft by 5ft pool which got sun for around 30 seconds a day! WOW! Anyway, enough about our gorgeous room, now onto the wonderful food! :D yum yum yum.. Oh no wait, you wouldn't serve this food to your worst enemy (or the hundreds of stray cats that hang outside the front of the hotel and which are jumping with fleas). We had to live off bread for dinner (which was very nicely left out since breakfast) and watermelon. The lifts in the hotel were great as you only had to wait 35 minutes before it actually came for you! :D and when you finally got in the boiling hot lift it stopped off at every floor on the way to the top. Another thing about the hotel was the terrifying kid that seemed to be in the lift everytime we were in it and stared me in the eyes. Think of the creepy twins from the shining, that's what he was like. Well anyway, Apart from all that there wasn't much else wrong with the hotel, and the maid did a good job of scooping up the dead ants

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamieAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#23 of 93 in Salou
2,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#24 of 93 in Salou
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Playa Park

Address: Calle Vendrell 1-3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#7 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $58 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Playa Park 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R chain Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Hotel 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Playa Margarita Hotel 3*, are located in privileged areas of Salou, near the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 4R Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Park Salou
Hotel Playa Park
Playa Park Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing