We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just home from Marinada today, mixed feelings, friendly staff, little sleep”
Review of Hotel Marinada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marinada
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just home from Marinada today, mixed feelings, friendly staff, little sleep”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Tripadvisor always contribue to my decision to stay in a hotel so thought I'd share my experience. We went for a week in July bed and breakfast. We're a couple in our mid twenties but aren't into the whole clubbing scene so chose Salou for the theme park, restaurants and proximity to Barcelona.

Location:
The hotel is in a good location, just off one of the main streets in Salou which is good.5-10mins walk to the beach, a short walk from plenty of supermarkets, shops and restaurants.

Rooms:
We had a twin room facing the pool. Rooms were well equipped but the walls were very thin and so the hotel could be noisy. The doors to the rooms don't close easily,you nearly have to slam them shut so was woken up a lot by those around us. Unfortunately for us, we were unlucky with who we were placed beside. At the start of the week we were woken by a polish couple blasting dance music from their balcony at 3.30am. In the end my boyfriend had to go out and say to them. Then after they left, a few days later a British couple moved in next door and again played music from the balcony and chatted really loudly from 3-6am. By this stage we rang reception to complain, but after ringing twice, nothing was done about it. We were really disappointed with how the night staff handled or rather didn't handle the complaint. At 6am, the couple went out and we were left trying to get to sleep when the sun had came up! The following night wasn't quite as bad but as I said, you hear EVERYTHING through the walls... which isn't always what you want to hear!

Food:
We only paid for bed and breakfast and can only compare it to the 3* Oasis hotel in Salou where we stayed last time. There were a lot of breads, cereals, meats, cooked breakfast and fruit. There was a lot of choice but the quality of the food wasn't always great. Prepackaged croissants, no pain au chocolat, only warm milk for cereal. I know it's 3star but it didn't compare to the Oasis which had so much more to offer (they cook crepes and omelettes). However the staff in the dining hall were really efficient and helpful.

Entertainment and facilities:
We only stayed for 2 nights of the entertainment but enjoyed both nights and whilst we didn't have any kids, we could see that the mini club seemed to have a lot to offer children every day and had put in a lot of effort to create a program for them. There are pool tables, chess, games etc inside so the facilties were good.

Cleanliness:
The hotel is very clean and even when we left early in the morning, we hadn't realised but the cleaning staff completely take over the whole hotel and clean it before everyone gets up. The only thing that was a bit annoying was that since we weren't always getting a full nights sleep we sometimes put out the do not disturb sign after breakfast so we could go back to bed for an hour. Sometimes we left it on when we went out and when we came back we found that the cleaners had came in and cleaned anyway. This was ok but if we had been in the room sleeping or unwell, we may not have been too thrilled. Do not disturb should mean do not disturb but they did leave the room clean.

The Marinada is good value for money but I probably wouldn't stay here again. Salou isn't the quietest of places and attracts those who love to go clubbing which is fine but not when they bring the party back to the hotel. We were thrilled when we got a cheap deal for the Marinada but obviously others did too who were after a different type of holiday so whilst it was quite a good hotel, I think next time we'll be looking to spend a little extra for an apartment somewhere a bit quieter.

Tip: We went to Barcelona on a day trip and got our tickets from the Plana office, they do great deals.

Jacks restaurant down the road does proper chippy chips and is really great value for money.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms get sunshine in the afternoon, roadside rooms get the sun in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lwhizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    216
    107
    28
    27
See reviews for
270
130
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday here with my boyfriens.I would highly recommend the Marinada hotel/apartments.We stayed in the Marinada apartments which are right across the road from the hotel. We asked for a pool view however this view was off another hotel,this didnt bother us as the Marinada apartments pool was tiny and very quiet most of the time so we were glad we had a nice busy pool to look out at. Our room was 602 which was on the top floor of the apartments,there was a lift up to the 5th floor and then you had to walk a couple of steps to the 6th floor.The room was spacious with a hugh balcony. We had sunshine on our balcony every morning right up until 5.30pm everyday.This is a great balcony if you want to sunbathe in peace as there is big partitions on eachside so nobody can look over onto the balcony. Apartments were fully equipped with,kettle,toaster,hairdryer etc. They also provided you with a washing pack which had a scruber,a dish cloth and washing up liquid to wash your dishes if you wanted to cook. They also provided little sachets of showel gel and soap in the bathroom. Apartments were cleaned everyday by maids with fresh towels. Hotel staff were lovely and friendly even though some spoke little english. We had full access of the hotel facilities which were great,lovely big pool with pool activities most days,they had inflatables one day with a big slide,which was great craic for young and old. They also had water balls were you got in and ran which was great fun.Sun didnt seem to appear until half 10/11 depending on the area around the pool,we found the best spot was near the lifeguard by the steps entering the pool and the sun shone there allday.We found this hotel was very family based with alot of young couples too,it had alot of spanish,french,german,and there was more irish families than english,a good mixture overall! its suitated in a great area of Salou, close to everything and its a lovely 10min walk to the beach.Would love to Return in the future!

Room Tip: ask for sixth floor in the apartments with pool view,sunshine all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnytimes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I went here 3 years ago now, It was a good hotel good food, nice staff i Don't really remember the prices that much went with family pool was freezing when we went so didnt go in lol but as we go to the hotel right next to it we see it every year still brilliant facilities buffet meals they have inflateable days and the water walking which also came to our hotel. crazy golf ( there used to be a fee for this not sure now ) dont remember their being entertainment we could hear the calypso entertainment everynight thats why we went their the year after and have been to cakypso 3 years in a row now, wouldnt go back just personal opinion on the other hotel but a good hotel over all. although havr to say. we paid for half board got there and got full board!

Room Tip: rooms over facing pool would be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Was recently in the marinada for a week, thought it was great spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and helpful, and the food was great. Would go again. the only problem i had were the beds i have a bad back and i thought they were very poor. The marinada apts across the road are very good also and the rooms are a bit bigger, which is important when you have teenagers sharing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horganE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great Hotel, very clean and our room had 3 single beds with plenty of space. Bathroom and shower were spotless and the maids were very regular and thorough with cleanliness. Pool area was great, plenty of space and on Monday there is 'Inflatable day' where the hotel puts out inflatable slides etc in the pool - kids loved it. Food was good and there was good selection in the buffets. Breakfast was especially good - loads of choices and replenished often. A short walk to the main town and easy to organise tours to Barcelona etc. Staff were very helpful and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Salou. Very good 3 star Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are doing a bus tour up to Barcelona and Nou Camp it is cheaper to book while in Salou, inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Booked this hotel (full board) at short notice via Ryanaire to get a little bit of summer. Cautious after some reviews but had a wonderful time & would thoroughly recommend it. Yes there were a lot of Spanish guests, but that was a bonus. Most of the staff spoke good english, but try using any spanish you know as it appears to be appreciated & is only what we expect in the uk! The hotel was spotless, the food excellent, & the staff very pleasant & helpful. Packed lunches were provided if preferred. The beds are typical spanish ones & a bit on the hard side but ok & when we asked for extra pillows they were there almost immediatly. The pool was clean & had a lifeguard with plenty of sunbeds & umbrellas. It is only a short walk to the beaches, shops, & buses to port aventura. Salou itself has lovely (although busy) beaches & a very pleasant promenade with lots of fountains, including 2 musical ones that perform in the evening(the best one is at the harbour end of the promenade) Barcelona is possible to get to by train or coach for a day trip. The weather was wonderful!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are probably quieter as the front of the hotel is on the road, although the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holidaymaker186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

14 ladies went away for a birthday celebration. We have been to Salou a few times before and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. It is very clean, pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and the bar staff were extremely accomodating. Breakfast was more than adequate, although hours could be extended! The location is great, short walk to beach, bars and clubs. We will be rebooking for next year.

Room Tip: We got interconnecting rooms, which was fab. Make sure you are not in rooms above the kitchens, 3 of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bardfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
Marinada Apts.
Marinada Apts.
#50 of 93 in Salou
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,016 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Evenia President
Hotel Evenia President
#52 of 93 in Salou
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#53 of 93 in Salou
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinada

Property: Hotel Marinada
Address: Fra Juniper Serra, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marinada 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marinada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Marinada Salou
Aparthotel Marinada Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing