We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel. Great Location.”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We arrived at the costa dorada palace at around ten on tuesday 13th July. We weren't able to check in on arrival (check in time is 2) but there is a luggage room you can use for the small charge of €1.50 per family/group (regardless of number of cases). at 2 o'clock we checked into our 1 bedroom apartment. there were 4 in my group, me and my friend shared the twin bedroom and my other two friends took the two sofa beds. the beds were comfortable and we slept well in them all week. the apartment is air conditioned. good size bathroom with bidet, shower, bath and toilet. no lock on toilet door however. small kitchenette and table is provided. there is no oven, but there is a microwave and a hob. Kettle and frying pans/sauce pans are provided. only one bread knife however. good size fridge with ice box is provided. a safe is available to rent for a cost of €19.50 for the week (i think...). Towels are changed daily and beds are made by the maid service. Good sized Balcony in the hotel. Great location in Salou, good supermarket with fresh bakery over the road from the hotel. Close to bars and clubs and close to the beach. Would definitely recommend a trip to the Costa Caribe Water park at Port Aventura during your stay. Adult only pool on top floor was a god send, really enjoyed not having any kids around, there is a well equipped gym and a jacuzzi up there too! brilliant facility. Bar prices are quite steep in the hotel €4.30 for a WKD. didn't eat in the hotel, we were self catering. Evening entertainment is a tad weird! Terrible MJ tribute one night ! Overall, a Brilliant holiday with great friends in a good hotel. Would definitely reccomend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    674
    267
    101
    63
See reviews for
1,229
312
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

When I booked this holiday, I checked Trip Advisor on numerous occaions was was quite wary as alot of people didn't rate it very highly. Please go with an open mind as we did. We booked a self-catering apartment but went on a half board package. The holiday was great. Yes the apartments are small, but they are spotless. Yes the beds are hard, but its only for 2 weeks and who cares. My kids had a ball. The food is excellent - we couldn't fault it - the kids ate well every night - perhaps eating too much desert. Myself or my husband never struggled for something to eat - you have to try all - don't try and stick to food we get back home. Drinks are not included - so a bottle of wine, 3 fantas and 1 water was normally around 16 euros - not too bad,

The pool area is very strict - there are three pool areas and a roof top for the adults. If you want peace and quiet go there. No inflatables, t-shirts etc in the pool. The snack bar is expensive - 3 lollies and a pint of coke and a coffee will cost around 18 euros. lollies are around 2 euros each and a slushy drink for the kids 3 euros. The food in the snack bar is OK as well - a good sized pizza is around 8 euros. The only negative I would have is trying to get served here and in the main bar. The bar staff have their own time line and it isn't quick. Expect to wait a considerable amount of time before you get served - so do what we done - get one drink - then buy your drink from Michaelanglos supermarket and just keep topping up your glass - its works out much cheaper - 6 bottles of SM beer and a pleasant tasting wine for 5 euros.

The hotel is very convenient to Portaventura - about 15mins walk up the hill (wear flat shoes and bring water) or you can get the wee train bus at the bottom of the street for 3 euros per adult (but it isn't worth it). The water park is very good - try and get 1/2 price tickets for this - 50euros for a family of 5 with these tickets. Also buy your tickets for Portaventura before you go or try The Grape Vine down the town - heard they do the tickets.

The reps are terrible - don't want to know and not very helpful. Thats all I'm going to say on that subject.

Went to Barcelona to the FC and the Zoo on one of the excursions - very expensive and you don't get as long as they say at these places - although the kids did have a blast - word of warning - bring a lunch - the food in the zoo is awful - dog food would be better.

Food wise if you are self-catering - ask for Uncle Sams Restaurant - its near the Burger King. Food is great.

Beach 10 mins walk as well - but you have to walk through a mall which is full of shops and people truing to sell you something - tip - don't buy any football tops etc from here - they are all fakes and are really expensive.

All - in- all we had a great holiday and will return to Salou.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeWanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Hotel/Apartments
As almost all reviews of this hotel say it is spotless.
We are a couple in our 30's with no children and stayed in the self-catering block so can not comment on the food or kids entertainment.
If you want a sun bed near the main pool you need to be out with your towel at 9 on the dot, the 9am rush was my breakfast entertainment every day...annoyingly by 9.05 there would be 80 towels out and by 9.10 approximately 10-15 people!!!! Poor show on the hotel for letting this go on I say! Can’t say I saw anybody clearing away towels like the last reviewer but not a bad idea in my eyes, I also whole heartedly agree with the very loud and annoying early removal of sun beds ,We mostly sat next to the Adult only pool on the roof for a little peace the pool is very small but fine for a dip to cool off. The Gym also on the roof is not worth the visit we did go a few times but most of the equipment was broken, 3 bikes only 1 worked, rowing machine broken, weight machine attached to the wall with pulleys’ - BROKEN ! For the fellas there are a few free weights obviously much harder to break!
As other reviews have said go with plenty of money you don't intend to spend.....
Deposit for self catering apartment €100 (they will take £ for this)
Deposit for TV controls €20
Deposit for the safe lock €10 plus the €25 it cost for the hire
The pleasure of leaving your bags in the hotel basement because your room isn't ready €1.5 it soon all adds up on your first day! Of course I expect to pay for the safe key but the deposit for the room I thought was extortionate ...especially when you have not been pre warned by your travel agent (first choice) about this, as you don’t have to pay this on the hotel side I can only imagine they think we were going to steal the china!
The resort
The walk to the beach should take just over 5 mins the beach is long and lovely and sea clean, the small hill to the hotel may be a problem for people with walking difficulties but it’s really not that bad more an incline than a hill.
The best bar we found was “THE LITTLE WASTER” less than 2 mins from the hotel towards the beach and Main Street, cross the dual carriageway at the crossing and go just to your left and immediate right (less than 30 seconds) Malcolm will look after you very well and he sell the cheapest (€1.50 a pint) and best Mahou in the whole resort.
The Michaelangelo supermarket is well stocked and very reasonably priced; it is just over the crossing and to the right.
Plenty of places to eat but a struggle to find anywhere Spanish in fact there are so many places to that the flyer boys (come eat in my restaurant its the best!) do get a little annoying especially on the front.
Portadventura is about a 15min walk from the hotel (infract you can see it from the roof) if you intend going a few times get on the net and get your tickets before you go, otherwise have a look in the bars some of them sell cheap tickets we paid €32 in the Harp Bar (nice food) but heard that somebody else got there’s for €30 at Linda’s (excellent coffee ...didn’t have one but the full English looked good) it will cost you €44 on the gate.
Taragona is a short bus ride away and well worth a visit. As is Barcelona.

In short would I recommend this hotel to friends......only if they had small children, too close to a busy duel carriageway if you have older kids who might want a little independence, not great for couples.
Would I go back to Salou probably not, just not SPAIN enough for me.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffWelshbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flakirk
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just got back from hotel and only have 1 fault. We booked a family room with First Choice this does not excist!! Room very cramped for 4 people but we made the most of it. Jon the team leader rep was brill as where the kids club girls always had time to speak and always had a smile on their faces. Would we go back, yes although booking self catering apartment and upgrade to half board when we get there. Fab hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weewardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

OK.first of all i want to let you know im not a 47 year old crank, i love my summer vacation just like anyone else who works hard all year to take a break..The dorada Palace is a beautiful place, very clean, perfect location for the beach, shopping and the theme park, the problems i found there are minor but still theyre problems, the main pool is wonderful you hop in have your swim the kids get in and want to play..then it happens ..no lilos no beach balls, nothing is allowed in the pool it is what it says on the tin "a swimming pool" my son and i got in last week and he had a small sponge ball the size of a ping pong ball, we started to throw it to each other and suddenly there was a whistle blowing in our ears, it was the lifeguard waving his hand and saying "no playing with the ball" i couldnt believe it. later that evening looking from the apartment balcony about 6pm the ground staff started coming round and removing all the sunbeds from around the pool area, it was very intimidating they were pulling the beds and slamming them on top of each other right beside some people who were sunbathing, now the sun doesnt dissappear from around the pool till sometime after 8pm but these guys were there from 6pm, the problem there is that the evening entertainment is in the pool area although it doesnt start till round 9:30 with a mini disco for the kids. if you got off your sunlounger you can forget about getting it back unless you leave something on it like your towel....lets move along to later in the night "after" the entertainment is finished at midnight.you are given 15-20 mins to drink up and guess what....yes you guess right...its the staff again to whip the tables and chairs out from under you again so as to put the sunloungers back out for the next morning, so theres no relaxing after the show, so why not head up to your hotel room of apartment balcony and enjoy the rest of the night ? well you can do that until 12:45am and then your balcony light automatically switches off..not very nice having a quiet party in the dark èh ?.again i say im not a crank but when you go on holidays its nice to relax and do what you want, when you want to....OH ! By the way if your sunlounger is idle for more than 20 mins your towel is taken off it and put in the basket beside the lifeguard..be careful..he bites....would i recomment the hotel to a friend....well yes i would if you just wanted to sleep there and get your entertainment elsewhere..i`ll shut up now.....think ill take a cruise next year......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitestar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

As mentioned in previous reviews check in was closed prior to 2pm which, of course, meant a long queue. I had noted from reviews that a key was needed for fridge in room so asked for one at check in. Receptionist not very friendly either at check in or at check out.

Rooms comfortable and clean.
Breakfast choice very good....dinner choice average. Separate low level counter for children at dinner.

Pool areas good except for lack of shade...very few parasols around main pool and none around the pool that allowed inflatables. As we spent a lot of our time around that pool with a 4 year old we went into town and purchased a parasol and, although it was mentioned in the hotel booklet that you could not place your own parasol by the pool, luckily we were allowed to.

The entertainment staff worked extremely hard and appeared to have more energy and enjoy their jobs more than the travel reps! Kids disco at 9pm every night bar a Monday.
Small park at back of main pool.

15 min walk to beach (with small child) .....20/25 slow slow walk back. Sea shallow and calm and beach nice although very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

the title says it all this was our third visit to salou and i must say we will never go back again the hotel was lovley and kept clean all the time but you have to pay deposits for eveything even down to the telly control ,also you have to get a key to unlock the fridge all the staff that work there are very unfriendly and rude and the entertaiment where was it and where was the kids club staff we ended up having to keep giving our children money for the pool tables as they got fed up, never had these problems at the other hotels we have stayed in food was not that good same thing most days salou has really changed its got really run down and you can smell sewage alot ,portventura now shuts at 7 oclock every night and is open till midnight from the middle of july but you have to buy a night ticket which is a new thing they are doing but your travel agent wont tell you that .its not the same there either its gone downhill went there 5 times and only saw characters once my children were upset as they loved visting here before dont waste your money coming here its now not worth it.wot a shame

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherub73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,968 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
0.3 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Property: Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Address: Carrer del Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#11 Family Hotel in Salou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorada Palace, a 4-star complex built in 1999.The hotel-aparthotel offers standard, king zize and superior rooms, also it has apartments with kitchen. Breakfast is always included. The establishment is located in Salou, close to Llevant beach, the golf courses and theme park PortAventura. Is the ideal hotel for families and couples who want to enjoy the sun and beaches of the Mediterranean sea, and the wide variety of entertainment, relaxation and fun you will find in the Costa Dorada. Free wifi in all the hotel-aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace**** Hotel Salou
Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel Dorada Palace
Club Dorada Palace Hotel
Club Dorada Palace Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing