We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girlie Weekend - Roll on SALOU 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Girlie Weekend - Roll on SALOU 2010”
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Hi everyone! I always write a review when I've come back from a great hotel but for some reason - perhaps exhaustion - I didn't get around to it this time. So although a lot of time has passed I must just say what a great hotel. I cannot fault it one bit. The rooms were clean and nice, bathrooms adequate in size. The staff were really great and friendly. The food was amazing and I wouldn't have got bored of it. On the Saturday night there was an array of fresh seafood and on the Sunday night - fresh pate and cheese and biscuits which we all thought was delicious. There's always chips and something for the more fussier!!

We were only there for 3 nights but we enjoyed ourselves to the max and slept very little. Be sure to drop in to the BusStop bar all you clubbers out there!!

The pool areas were a little crowded as was the beach but that is to be expected of Salou. The rooftop pool was more exclusive with a small pool and a jacuzzi.

Definitely a 4 star hotel. I would go again only we like to try different hotels so we have opted for the Sol Piramide for June 2010.

Notes: In the room there is a fridge which you can lock. In the bathroom a hairdrier, shower gel and shampoo miniatures. There are no tea/coffee facilities so take your own travel kettle. There is a free pool towel rental service which saves taking one. A small deposit is required. There is also internet access for a small charge.

Happy Holidays

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    674
    267
    101
    63
See reviews for
1,229
312
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We arrived a little on the late side after an hour delay taking off from Stansted. We got to the hotel around 10.30pm and checked in with no problems and went straight to our room. At 11.00pm, the restaurant was opened for the few of us that had arrived, so that we could have a snack. Not a lot to choose from..............mailnly salad stuff. Mind you, who would want a 'blow out' at that time of night!
The first impression of the place, was of how spotlessly clean and tidy it was. The room was the same. Towels changed daily and the cleaners were faultless. In fact, the whole place is a tribute to the management and staff as a whole. I would go as far as saying that it's "probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at."
The beach (and it really is a very nice, large, sandy beach.......... ideal for children) is a 15 minute walk away and there are so many shops, bars, restaurants etc to choose from. Mind you, once you've been into the hotel's restaurant and tried their food, you wouldn't want to go elsewhere. The food is wonderful and, with so much to choose from the biggest problem of all is not what to have, but what NOT to have! If you aren't satisfied with the food in this place, you would have to be the fussiest, most difficult person to please on this planet! Personally, (and everyone that I spoke to there agreed) I think it was the finest cuisine you could possibly want. (Everybody cannot be wrong) The childrens entertainment was good and the adults entertainment was always later to get started than was advertised on the board and, in my opinion, a bit on the predictable side. There are three large ceiling mounted CRT TV's in the lounge and one large LCD TV on the wall. The LCD being tuned in to Sky for the news etc. and the others each displaying a different programme and usually sport. Also, there's a huge projection screen at the end of the lounge that that comes into use when there's a football match on. (Spit!) Football was the reason for the late start of the adult entertainment and, on a couple of accasions, we gave up waiting and went to our room. (No, I'm not a sports or football fan.) The staff were friendly and got on with their work, running the hotel, to a very high standard. There are six floors and we were on the second floor. Some mischievous boys had found a really exciting game of entering the lifts and pressing all the buttons, thereby giving you an extended ride to every floor in turn, before you got to the one you wanted. They were a bit roudy at times but, boys will be boys and, let's face it, they weren't doing any real harm....................just having a 'giggle' at the expence of the guests. It didn't bother me and, let's face it, what did you get up to when you were a boy? (Be honest!) After a couple of days, they were gone.
Salou has a lot going on, but we settled for the more relaxed approach, mainly walking about and generally just doing whatever we fancied. I'm quite sure that there's something for everyone there, so there's no reason to get bored. As for prices, that's another matter. We though that, price wise, things here in the UK were bad enough, but how on earth the Salouvians (is there such a word!) mange to make ends meet, is beyond me!! The cost of things there is..........................."wow!" Three cheers for the 'Pound Shop,' 'Primark' and any shops with their 'two for the price of one' offers, back here in the UK .Talking of 'prices,' we thought that the drinks in the hotel were expensive. White coffee, served in a 'thimble,' being 1.60 Euros. A pint of beer, 2.60 Euros. (Judging by the collar on some of these pint glasses, you'd be forgiven for thinking that certain members of the bar staff were of the 'cloth'!) If you want to get your washing done before returning, you can. There are several machines on level -1 and you have to pay three Euros for a token that you get from the main desk. The same applies for the dryer. There is a luggage 'holding room' also on level -one and it is constantly manned. However, it will cost you 1.50 Euros to put your luggage in there and you get a receipt from the really helpfull chap that 'guards' your stuff! One final point. For one Euro you can, before returning to the airport, weigh your luggage on the scales just adjacent to the 'holding room.' In my view, an excellent idea. Pity I didn't know about it before I bought a Balanzza!
I could go on about this hotel but, by now, you will have got the gist of my comments. I would certainly go back there any time, if for no other reason than to stay at the hotel and eat in their restaurant.
This hotel can be whatever you want it to be. If you are wondering what to do, stop wondering and start packing!
Wherever you decide to go, I wish you a very happy holiday. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank len033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We have just got back. We enjoyed our stay there. We have got a 3yr old and he enjoyed. Food was good, but mainly the spainish. We ate from the kids buffet. The rooms was lovely and clean. We got a better rate of exchange from the hotel than on the street. Excellent value for money. Not many shops close by only a supermarket. A lot of places was closing or closed down. Walking up that hill was a nightmare!!!!. We took a the bus for 9.95 euros from the airport return. The bus picked you up from the hotel, a lot cheaper than 30 euros each way for a taxi!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissycharne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2009

arrived to a clean hotel not much to do plenty of children about, young ones left to run and make noise,Entertainment for young children again not for adults never started on time the norm was about 10.30pm onwards.Spanish people in rooms very rude noise at night children screatching till late. On a hill a good walk to shops once seen once no need to go again.Theme park good 20/30 mins walknot for the faintharted .Hotel ok salou was pants wont go back could not wait to get home a waste of money and hard work.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbitStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husbnd and myself have just returned from Salou and the Dorada Palace Hotel, we were on a half board basis. The food was excellent, if you can't find anything to tempt you, then stay at home.......you must be very fussy!!!! The choice of food is great, and very tasty. This is a 1st class hotel with polite, and friendly staff, the rest of the holiday is up to you...........try the House of Illusion is a great night out, you could say it's Magic.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

excellent hotel.very clean and clean towels everyday.fair variety of food(although not very warm)more meditteranean food not much choice on potatoes and vedge.brilliant location a pleasant 15 min walk to the sea front and shops.highly recommend the sangra although not in the hotel as it was quite expensive.entertainment not very good (mostly in spanish and for the kiddies)the pool areas are excellent.we would certainly go again as salou is a lovely place.strongly recommend the trip to barcelona awesome place

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

the beach and shops are about 20 mins down hill from the hotel, the beach is lovely & 4 euros for a sun bed, only thing is you get accosted by people trying to sell merchadise and massages to you constantly!! which gets really irritating after a while, they also bug you when you're walking along the sea front by the shops!!! i'd had enough after a couple of days, especially when they are trying to sell you hash when you're walking along with a 4 year old!!!! good thing is it's not far from PORTAVENTURA & AQUAPOLIS!!! the reception staff in the dorada palace were quite rude but all other staff in the hotel more than made up for it. the hotel itself is lovely, plenty of pools to choose from & i'd highly recommend the adult only area on the 6th floor!!! the evening entertainment was complete rubbish!! the hotel run kids club was a bit crap, never started on time and didn't last very long. the first choice kids club was excellent they were very nice and helpful and my 4 year old had a whale of a time!!! the rooms were a nice size. they had a good variety of food, only thing is every single day a half of it was cold and food wise i'm normally quite easy to please!!!
i wouldn't go back to the hotel or the resort again i'm afraid!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladysara17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,967 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
0.3 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Property: Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Address: Carrer del Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#11 Family Hotel in Salou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorada Palace, a 4-star complex built in 1999.The hotel-aparthotel offers standard, king zize and superior rooms, also it has apartments with kitchen. Breakfast is always included. The establishment is located in Salou, close to Llevant beach, the golf courses and theme park PortAventura. Is the ideal hotel for families and couples who want to enjoy the sun and beaches of the Mediterranean sea, and the wide variety of entertainment, relaxation and fun you will find in the Costa Dorada. Free wifi in all the hotel-aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace**** Hotel Salou
Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel Dorada Palace
Club Dorada Palace Hotel
Club Dorada Palace Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing