We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all in all great break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“all in all great break”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

all in all enjoyed all of it ,stayed here 15th 20th april good weather hotel nice and clean staff helpful and friendly ,food wasnt alacarte 5star quality,but done the job for me and my partner deserts were lovely roof pool a must if you go without kids,for the gymaholics the gym is 4 meters away from the on roof jacuzzi /pool great for me .....close to all things hotel in a nice area except for few coaches at the top other than that great will be returning with the kids in a few months ,but went away as a couple this time great for kids and couples ,,,wouldnt recommend to stag/hen partys hotel is very strict ,,,i see this as a good thing though,,for all you smokers you cant smoke in room or on balcony atall,lol caused a few raised eyebrows by some people,,,,

Room Tip: must have pool view either front or back ,,,,wouldnt want a room looking at a petrol station but tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace is certified as a Family Tourism Destination, and we try to make your family holidays unforgettable offering services like Miniclub, day and night entertainment for adults and children, children's buffet, arcades, children's pool, .... and adults have also as you know the 6th floor only for them with jacuzzi , gym, and a swimming pool.

About the non smoking law, is a national law and our mission is to enforce it best.

We will be happy to welcome you again at Dorada Palace.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    651
    260
    98
    58
See reviews for
1,177
303
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Finding it difficult to believe the reviews of people that have stayed half board. We stayed for a week during Easter half term. In 30 years of travelling with 2-5 trips per year, this is without doubt, the worst food I have ever experienced. Cold, poor choice, cheap cuts, trotters, knuckles and cows tail!! Really. Survived on salad, soup edible somedays, fruit and ice cream. Restaurant manager rude and condescending. When I pointed out that the food was cold, he became threatening, where? where? show me? where?? The next day, plate warmers were turned on and we were sat right next to the clearing station and bins and that's where we were put every day until we left.

Apartment for 5, very odd. Has one bed in the doorway in an entrance hall without windows! Very small and could have done with a bathroom renovation. Only had two glasses so we had to take turns for a drink. Balcony was big although only two chairs so had to take turns to sit down as well. Each apartment was the same.

Public areas of the hotel were lovely, bright airy and clean. Bar area lovely and waiters efficient, friendly and professional

Entertainment staff did their best on a limited budget. One night bingo, two games took 2 hours!! Two more nights were "guess the film from which the music came from" quiz! Another night "show" was organist for 2 hours. Was so poor it was funny.

Had fantastic weather, beaches were lovely, promenade area really wide, flat and clean. Would definitely visit salou again but no way could I subject myself to that "dining experience" again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry about you and your family have not been fully enjoy your stay in our hotel because of the reasons you exposes us about the restaurant, food, apartment and entertainment. From the Quality department we will inform about this issues to these departments.

We very appreciate our customers reviews because they make us improve our facilities and services day by day.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from the dorada palace on 9th April.
Had a really good time. The hotel is very clean & modern.
We had an apartment room on half board, there's 5 of us, 2 adults & 3 kids & the room was nice but a bit small, good cooking facilities & big tv.
The evening meal was great, loads of choice
Breakfast was good but really busy, you could be waiting 15 minutes for a fried egg because they could them to order & they ques could be quite long.
Outside the pool area is great, it was a bit cold when we were there but we still got in.
Bar at night was ok. Always a show or competition on.
Entertainment was really good for the kids, games all day.
The beach is about 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The higher the better with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear cragi1867,

From the Quality department of Dorada Palace Hotel-Aparthotel, we would like to thank your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We are proud to know that you have felt comfortable in our facilities, and you have enjoyed our meals at the buffet and the entertainment program.
We write down all your comments.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near furture.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the dorada palace april 2013, 2 adults and 3 kids. The first thing i want to say is that this hotel is beautiful and the restaurant is magnificent. we have previously stayed at Florida and Dubai...and seriously i would recommend going either half or full board for a bit extra as the food is amazing and much better than whats available outside. We flew ryanair (first time) without any issues and got collected from Reus by Taxi. We used a company called Touchdown Tours (very highly recommended)...and the charged 35euros to take us to our hotel. The Plana BUS from the airport looked easy..but with 3 kids all tired we thought we'd just pay and go to the hotel without any hassle.

The checking at the hotel was quick and we got an aprtment on the first floor. The rooms are small but nice, however the soundproffing is not great so if you do not want to hear noise ask for a room a bit further down from the bar where they put on the karaoke etc.

they had 2 nice pools and plenty of kids events. The walk to the beach was 10 mins at most and we walked it to port aventura in 15 mins ... our little one is 4 years old so is a slow walker. The drinks at the hotel are not free with the meals so you need to pay extra. we stocked up on drink from the local supermarket (2 min walk from the hotel)for our trips out as salou is not cheap. You can walk to the beach and surrounding areas very easily its all sign posted.

We also used Touchdown Tours to goto Barcelona for a day trip and to Cambrils and Tarragona. We did not make much use of the Plana buses but they seemed to be always there wherever we went.

Please note you can hire an iron and remote from the hotel..but you need to pay a 20euro deposit. The safe is not free to use which was a bit annoying however.

Buy your portaventura tickets online as its a lot cheaper. We managed to cover everyting there in 2 days.

Tarragona and Cambrils you can do in 1 day. Cambrils was beautiful and next time i think we will stay there rather than Salou.

Temperature in April was around 18-22degrees..

Overall we really enjoyed the holiday, the hotel is seriously amazing considering its price. I think they could easily charge double what they do and still get guest! Its definitely 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Bas m,

Thank you for your review about our hotel-aparthotel on TripAdvisor.
We are happy knowing that your family and you had a nice stay with us. Our future customers will appreciate your guidance on visits to nearby place from Salou and the hotel.
We will inform to all the staff about your comments.
Thank you also for your recommendation and we hope to see you soon at Dorada Palace!!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Been here twice now i went in 2004 for two weeks with my children (5 and 8) at the time, they loved the kids club there was so much for them to do and i could just sit and relax, rooms were amazing, very spacious, nice decoration, staff were welcoming and the hotel was so clean! there was a great choice of food at dinner and breakfast (my children are very fussy eaters) and they loved the food. had a great two weeks and would come back at every opportunity.

When we stayed in 2011 my children were then (12 & 15) so they didn't join in the kids club this time but it was still great, good entertainment at night for all ages, only a short walk from the beach and shops, also only a half hour walk away from PortAventura (theme park) we got a three day ticket to the theme park and me and my children loved it, hotel staff were happy to arrange taxis for us.
The only downfall is if you get a room at the back of the hotel it looks out onto a main road and can be quite noisy, we stayed in rooms looking out onto the pool so it was fine for us.

Room Tip: Spend the extra little bit of money and choose a room looking over the pool. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear steph c,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed our Miniclub and the food in our buffet. We are proud to know that you had a nice stay at Dorada Palace.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went here last June with my family and cousins and I had never been to a cleaner hotel. Every morning the cleaners came and changed the sheets and you would often see them cleaning the floors around the hotel. I am only 14 but i really enjoyed the hotel but on thing that was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel was the nightly entertainment. besides that the pools were clean and the food was so good, every day there was a diferrent menu. The hotel was so near to the beach that we could walk back on our own and there is a beautiful walk way with stalls and shops to check out and it was lit up in the night time. The rooms we were in had air conditioning and a full kitchen and bathroom. It was very clean. But i must say the little doorbells were annoying. I would fully reccomend this hotel as it is situated in a lovely spot and the staff were very nice and port aventura was so close you could take a little shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Chose a corner balcony room as we had two balconys unlike the other rooms that only had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Laura M,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

A high standard of cleanliness and maintenance in the hotel is very important to us.

We are so happy to know that you had a nice stay at Dorada Palace and that the food in the restaurant reached your expectations.


We are looking forward to welcome you again on 2013 !


Regards from Salou :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stopped here 17th - 20th October 2012 for a short break mid week
We had a few issues at first, I booked through booking.com and because I sent a message asking about the pre authorisation of credit cards on arrival (first time away by my organising) and I dont have a credit card, they asked me to pay in full or they would cancel my room. I wasn't too happy and I emailed back and forth and decided to cancel the booking through booking.com and book direct through the hotel website and also go for an upgraded room. The way to pay the hotel was by bank transfer which cost me £9.50 plus an extra charge of £1.50 for the pound to euro conversion rate.
I wouldn't recommend that at all and my friend has stayed there many times, recommended the hotel and has no credit card and just normally pays in full on arrival which is what I presumed would be the case.
Anyway.
That was my only real gripe. The rest of our stay was great!
When you arrive at the airport there is a lady outside to ask about taxis, it cost about €20-€30 and on the way back just ask reception who will book you one, you can also go by bus, thats by the beach but we chose not to.
The room i think was 218 we got a superior, it was on the second floor, corner room above reception, facing the pool and had a massive balcony, massive bed, massive bubble jet bath, housecoats, slippers and loads of shampoos/bubble bath, soap, sowing kit, shoe shiner, comb, toothbrush, fluoride stuff :) ( go to shop which if you turn left and down the hill then cross over the traffic lights is right there, supermarket and get bottled water though, tap water isnt nice im afraid) The staff on reception were lovely, gave password for wifi which worked on our balcony, we paid deposit for the safe to keep our documents in, well worth the 10 i think it was and you get it back, dont be lazy and just change the tv from the side rather than get remote is my thinking, plus you will be unlikely to spend much time watching it anyway as the draw of the balcony, sunset, a glass of wine and low music on your phone is much more of a draw! (balcony door has to be shut for the air con to work too)
We booked half board so got breakfast and dinner, you can go down any time, with in the time limits of course, the first night we had dinner we went down with our card and were greeted by a Gent called Jesus (no joke) and he was so lovely, special thanks to him and the other manager, told us how it worked, you go get your own food, so much choice! The other comments saying that there wasnt a lot of choice and they had to scavenge of the kid section are in my opinion stupid. I personally dont go on holiday to eat burger, chicken strips and chips every night so if you want that then perhaps go to a different area of spain, like benidorm? There was everything from roast potatoes to spaghetti, steak to fish, salad, cold meats, veg and each night there was something different on the main chef area, one night was steak, another was crepes and the next was chicken skewers. The puddings were actually amazing, again loads of choice and all so lovely, you wont loose weight when you are there! Also in the morning the chef did pancakes and omelettes. The omelette was amazing, fluffy and the cheese gooey, beautiful. Breakfast had everything from pastries, yoghurt, cooked food, cereal, fresh fruit.. the list was endless. A little comment about the drinks, the waiters come round and take your drink order which you pay for at the top of the stairs on the way out, but the dining room is massive and some times catching the staff members eye gets ignored to the point you are half way through a meal when you finally get attention for a drink, thats the only downside to the dining area. As for the hotel and rooms as a whole, spotlessly clean, and the cleaners came in and tidied and left fresh everything every morning. No smoking rule in rooms or balcony but you can see many people ignoring this but you are likely to get charged if the staff see you. I personally dont smoke but im sure the lift must be tiring to go up and down with every time you need to smoke.. One or two other downsides was lack of entertainment, no shows on at the pool stage as it was technically out of season and no themed food nights as again out of season, would have been nice to know before went but still, see above post about your own entertainment!
We went to this hotel as we specifically went to Reus for PORTAVENTURA! Don't bother with the bus from the promenade or a taxi, it takes if even 20 minutes at a very very slow pace. It is up a slight hill and by slight, you wont really notice it until your second day at the park after walking around in the heat all day, which in the climate isnt the easiest if you have asthma, heavy air and lots of pollen. To get there - Out of the hotel lobby turn left down the hill, take the first right and walk along til you come to the roundabout, turn right up by some holiday flats and it is literally up that long road. When you come to the big bridge after the park hotels go down the stairs and up the long path, IGNORE the people selling tickets outside, scams. We bought tickets online before we went but when there our bottle of coke the first night had a buy one get one free on it. So its up to you and what deals you can find, no guarantee there will be bogoffs when you go.
Other than that, the stay was made great by the attention from the staff, probably wont go again as I only wanted to go for the theme park (food very expensive and not very nice in the park as well) and wasnt keen on reus in general, but thats personal preference. Plenty of places to get food and beach very very close, fab location, just turn left out of the hotel and you are on your way!

Room Tip: upgrade! people said about noise from buses, i never heard much but we were facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrostyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review.

The Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace is mainly for families and couples, and the Superior rooms are perfect for both types of guests.

We are very happy to know that your stay in the hotel was nice and that the Superior room mets your expectations. We are sorry about the problem with your initial reservation and the payment modes.

We will inform the staff about your comments.


We hope to welcome you back this year at Dorada Palace.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.8 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Property: Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Address: Carrer del Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#11 Family Hotel in Salou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorada Palace, a 4-star complex built in 1999.The hotel-aparthotel offers standard, king zize and superior rooms, also it has apartments with kitchen. Breakfast is always included. The establishment is located in Salou, close to Llevant beach, the golf courses and theme park PortAventura. Is the ideal hotel for families and couples who want to enjoy the sun and beaches of the Mediterranean sea, and the wide variety of entertainment, relaxation and fun you will find in the Costa Dorada. Free wifi in all the hotel-aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace**** Hotel Salou
Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel Dorada Palace
Club Dorada Palace Hotel
Club Dorada Palace Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing