We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“17 years since my last visit to mainland Spain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“17 years since my last visit to mainland Spain.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a trip taken by myself and my wife to get a few days away in the sun. The Hotel was spotlessly clean and the self catering apartment we had didn't lack for anything. The pool area was very clean and there were enough sunbeds for the people there. However, they could do with investing in some of the lounger mattresses found in other hotels to make them more comfortable. I do feel that going in peak season may be a problem as the pool is not that big, and then there may be a bit more hassle trying to get a sunbed. The hotel is in a good location with all the amenities within easy walking distance. I would return, but only for a short break and not as my first choice though. Nearly forgot to mention the bed, it was solid and didn't offer a very good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Not really a room tip. But, there is a room deposit to pay on arrival which I paid in sterling so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazCarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It's very important for us knowing that our customers have had a nice stay at Dorada Palace Hotel.

We write all your suggestions down which help us to improve.


We hope to welcome you back again at Dorada Palace.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    661
    264
    99
    59
See reviews for
1,199
309
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have just returned from a family holiday at the Dorada Palace. I cannot fault the hotel for its standard of cleanliness both in the rooms and the public areas. The daily room servicing is excellent. So nice to return to room at the end of the day and find it clean, tidy and with freshly made beds and clean towels. A lot of people on here have criticised the charges and deposits for certain items such as room safe, tv remote and the room deposit, but it is what it is and you get the money back at the end of the stay, so no problem really. We had requested a room overlooking the pool but did not get this and instead had a room at the back but on request we were moved to a lovely pool view room after a couple of days. Also it was immediately opposite the original room which made it easy to transfer all our belongings - very thoughtful or lucky, not sure which but it was a bonus!! The reception desk staff are very helpful and pleasant. The bar, lounge and restaurant are all very nice and the pools, although icy cold, are very nice. All in all, a very good hotel. Not overly keen on Salou, but nearby Cambrills is definately worth visiting, and a trip to Barcelona (include the fountains) is a must.

Room Tip: Always request a pool view room when you book and then follow up with an email directly to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolyb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy knowing that you and your family had a nice time at Dorada Palace Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back next year!

Best regards, :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband, our two year old and me stayed here last week and it was really good. Great selection of food (we stayed half board), different each evening, breakfasts also very good. Different entertainment each evening for adults and children, plenty of amenities. The rooms were of good standard and cleaned every day. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel is well situated for Port Aventura and is a short walk from the center and beach. We hired a car and visited Barcelona, Tarragona and Villafranca whilst we were there - all well worth a visit. A good time had by all and we would have no problem recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redkyzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy knowing that you have had a nice holiday with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Dorada Palace Hotel.


Greetings from Salou,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I booked a week at this hotel, we had been aprehensive as there are so many mixed reviews.
Yes we new about the deposits before we arrived, but it amazes me they do chagre, we are seasoned travellers and been to some wonderful to harsh places, but never have we been charged for remote controls or safe, plus the amazing deposit 100euro for the room......! yes the room was clean and large, however the beds are rock hard, i do have a hard bed myself at home but the couch was better suited.We went self catering and ate out in some of the lovely spanish eatery's there is so many places catering for the UK market but we swent to spain to sample the spanish foods and refeshments....one night we ate in the hotel, and the cost 34 eros for a bufett was not palatable at all, plus the ine Rioja was like vinegar......
Overall it was ok, but would i go back.......no, im sure there are much better places to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieRich94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about we didn't reach your expectations.

We write all your comments down because we have a quality department and all the reviews are very important for us.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Having found this hotel on a reputable company's website i thought it would be a nice place to stay judging by the slideshow of pictures. However upon my arrival i was promptly charged €300. This was €100 deposit for each of the 2 rooms i had booked for our family and €100 for the use of their car park. { judging by the way the Spanish park i thought this iwas the safest option to keep the car in one piece} I was also informed that i could also rent a tv remote and a safe for an extra cost. All of the above had to be made in cash. After paying the aformentioned costs we were welcomed by a 4 page essay on the rules and regulations of the hotel. These included such things as not being allowed to take your own food and drink down to the pool area! Not being allowed to take inflateables into the pool and pretty much a dresscode in reception area to rival Cunard Cruises. According to the hotel it is Catalonian law to not allow smoking in either the room or on your own balcony for the protection of children. Not.bad for the first 5 minutes in the hotel after a 15hour drive. Upon our inspection of our room ( cell ) we found that it was clean although lacked basic necessities such as a can opener. This however was quickly rectified by Andreu on reception. {Good man} if you do smoke however be prepared to have to go outside and stand around the main door or by the pool. You are allowed to smoke all around the pool area even by the kids pool. So much for Catalonian law then! The cleaning staff could not be faulted in my opinion. They were efficient and polite. However the reception to you by the jailers ( sorry security guards) on the main door was found to be rude. If they lifted their heads it was to either bark a reminder of one of the rules you might be breaking or possibly there was a phone call to take on their private phone. If you do need to talk to them best had be fluent in spanish before you arrive. During the day there is a kids club which to my surprise was free. This was run by Gemma for the younger ones and by Nelson for the older ones. For the younger children this is done in its iwn bungalow in which you have to sign them in and out and leave your location in Case of an emergency ( this must be within the hotel) The door to the bugalow is also locked to keep stangers out and the kids in. At least your little ones are safe giving you an actual chance to relax ( providing they dont charge you for that too) Both of these staff members are excellent and are far to good for this hotel. Upon checking out our room for cleanliness,damage and theft before allowing the release of the deposit paid. The car parking was not refunded. All in all if you have a limited budget avoid this hotel because once you have checked in and been robbed you will have little money left to enjoy you stay although you will have some to bring back home. Avoid the security guard if you accidently go for a cigarette in the middle of the night and not followed the correct dresscode.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transporterjimmy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time writting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry about you didn't have a really good time with us.

Hotel Rules are necessary for it well running because in the high season there are more than 1000 people inside Dorada Palace (including a lot of children).

As we said in previous reviews, smoking is stricly forbiden inside Hotels in Spain since the 1rst of January 2011, including rooms and balconies. This is not an Hotel rule is a law and we do our best to enforce it.

We write down all of your comments.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Me, my partner and our 3 children stayed in this hotel for a week in september and have absolutely no complaints. The hotel is very clean and smells fresh everywhere you go, the rooms are cleaned everyday and the housekeeping are very polite and helpfull. We were self catering and the room consisted of a 4 hob stove, microwave, fridge, plates and cutlery. No toaster or kettle but after readfing reveiws we knew to take our own. The rooms were more than big enough for the 5 of us and plenty of extra bedding and towels when needed. No complaints of noise from the coach park that our room was facing but will be asking for a pool side room next time. The pools were clean and never had a problem getting a sunlounger for the pool side. Bar staff polite and entertainment at night was great, entertainment included kids disco which was done by the people who run the kids club in the day time. They were really good at what they do and really enjoyed looking after the kids, lovely people. Will definately be returning to this hotel in the future, lovely clean and perfect place for a family holiday.

Room Tip: No toaster, kettle, sponge or dishcloths in the kitchen. Hairdryer in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. We are so happy knowing that you and your family had a nice holiday with us.

We will give your congratulations to our staff and we hope to see you and your family at Dorada Palace next year!


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llinars del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Well, we were quite cautious about thist hotel, as some reviews were very good, and others not so.

Yes, you have to pay for tv handset, as well as for frigo, but you are returned once you end your stay. No problem.

We were 2 adults and two child, the room was impressive, with two double beds, one sofa-bed, and one single bed. Very good, and we didn't feel to be the room small.

The bathroom was very big, and all of us were impress. Also, TV set was LCD, and with lot of channels, national and international.

There are three swim pools, but we didn't use them at all, but I can guess it should be full in summer, as are not quite bigger.

Regarding meals, as we stayed only for two nights, we didn't notice to be repetitive, and you have a lot of meals to choose from, probably, the most weakness part is the live-cooking, that didn't cover our expectactions. Also, drinks are very, very expensive, as examples: 1/2 liter water 1.86 euro, Rioja Crianza Montecillo 14 euro (if you buy at any shop in Spain, it will cost you only 5 eur), Coca-Cola 2.80 eur.

Also, entertaiment was fabulous, and all of us enjoyed.

So, all in all, we found this hotel to be very good rated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you and your family had a nice stay at Dorada Palace.

We are grateful for your suggestions and we write them down because they will help us to improve and to know what our customer think about out services and facilities.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
0.8 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Property: Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Address: Carrer del Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#11 Family Hotel in Salou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorada Palace, a 4-star complex built in 1999.The hotel-aparthotel offers standard, king zize and superior rooms, also it has apartments with kitchen. Breakfast is always included. The establishment is located in Salou, close to Llevant beach, the golf courses and theme park PortAventura. Is the ideal hotel for families and couples who want to enjoy the sun and beaches of the Mediterranean sea, and the wide variety of entertainment, relaxation and fun you will find in the Costa Dorada. Free wifi in all the hotel-aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace**** Hotel Salou
Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel Dorada Palace
Club Dorada Palace Hotel
Club Dorada Palace Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing