We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, heartily recommend for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great hotel, heartily recommend for families”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Our first foreign family holiday and I was a bit apprehensive. However, on arriving at the hotel all this anxiousness disappeared. The hotel is very modern in the reception area and welcoming. The hotel is arranged in two wings - one for 'rooms' and one for 'self catering apartments'. We were on the left hand wing as you look from the road, the self catering one.

The apartments were spacious - we were in room 511 - and we had a huge balcony wrapping round the end of the building. I think we were rather spoilt with that room as I think other rooms did not have such spacious balconies. The apartment had a bedroom with double bed (not twin), plus a living area with a further bed, with pull out beneath, plus a further room as you came in with another bed in. Air conditioning was excellent, in fact a little too cold at times. Bathroom was good although a tiny bit small. Hairdryer was excellent and the free smellies was a nice touch. Didn't use the kitchenette as we prefer to eat out on holiday but it was almost brand new and very good condition. The room's electrics are managed by putting your key in but the fridge was independent of this which meant our water stayed cold. The air conditioning cuts out if the balcony doors are opened which could prove annoying if one had kids asleep inside but wanted to sit on balcony on a hot evening. A minor point.

Maid service was good, every day, fresh towels

We paid for breakfast every day, €8 for adult and €4 for our child. Excellent choice of breakfasts.

We only ate in one night, the last night, but it was good value and although our son is 5 years old the receptionist let him eat for free as the cut off age is 4. It pays to be polite!

Bar service during day was good - Toni is a good asset to the hotel, she is very nice and friendly - the food was typical burger and chips type but reasonably priced.

Sun beds - the door to the pool areas don't open til 9am sharp however the british are queueing from 8am! Instead of standing in person they put their towels out in a line - laughable but quite sad. I never had a problem getting a sun bed despite not standing in a line with my towels each morning! On our penultimate day the lifeguards carried out the threat of removing towels from chairs where the owners had put them on and then gone for breakfast just to 'save' seats. You are allowed to leave your towels for 30 minutes to eat lunch which I think is fair. If everyone just uses the sun beds when they need them then it works - a bit like the cafe at m&s .... if you get your food and THEN sit there is room, the ones that spoil it are those that go to sit down to wait for those getting food.

Pools - there are 4, I only used 3. Kids pool, great, be prepared to get wet if sit by it - some people moaned about the kids splashing but hey it's a KIDS POOL, move if you don't like it. Main pool, great, no inflatables or balls which is actually quite nice. The rooftop adult only pool area was fabulous - no screaming kids, lovely jacuzzi, gentle breeze and silence. One day a couple of under 18's had been let in by their parents which spoilt it a little bit but on the whole good. I got the impression the hotel staff, if told, would have told them under-18's to leave. The other pool is to the side and mostly used by older teenagers.

kids club run by First Choice - wonderful. My son, aged 5, loved it and it got him out of the heat for a bit as the whole block is air conditioned. It's safe and secure - i'm a nervous mum but even I have to admit that there is no security issues at all.

Only bad point (there is only one) in my opinion about the hotel - the check in time of 2pm. I think this only serves to annoy the guests. I think there should be a staggered check-in. Some guests had been waiting since 9.30am to check in and I think perhaps pre-11am arrivals could be allowed to check in earlier considering some people vacate their rooms as early as 7.30am on the day of departure.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to families - it is perfect. However if you are looking for a quiet holiday avoid this hotel - it is very geared up for families and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeidiEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doradapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review and for your hotel and services description. We are happy to know that you had a nice stay at Hotel Dorada Palace

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    651
    260
    98
    58
See reviews for
1,177
303
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a very family orientated resort with helpful staff in a very clean well maintained environment.A well run kids club and holiday reps are also on hand.The nightly entertainment could do with updating as it was the very same as last year!! The pools are clean and not overcrowded and life guards are constantly on duty and do not tolerate horseplay. The staff also ensure that people dont over reserve the sun loungers and remove any towels on loungers that are not occupied for a period of time, pools are also not accessible before 09.00 am in the morning and close at 20.00hours nightly. Another bonus for families at this hotel is that its lights out at midnight and all balcony lighting auotmatically turns off at this hour and the entertainment is finished at this hour also. The hotel is in a good location near to the beach and also within walking distance of the theme/water parks of PortAdventura. Worth a visit for families.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the play ground if you want to sleep late in the mornings!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ailish2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doradapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Hi ailish2101!

Thank you to all of the people like you who takes the time to write a review. You help us a lot to know your feed back and you help us also on making understand other guests that we have to have rules and working systems for the Hotel well running and for your safety.

We look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Dorada Palace.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

myself,my husband & two young girls( 1&5) stayed here in aug'10 for 2 weeks & enjoyed the hotel so much we booked it for aug'11 3 days after returning home, we stayed self-catering last year & the room was well equiped but it would be worth bringing your own electric kettle,the room was cleaned everyday to an excellent standard by very friendly cleaning ladies,we found all the staff to be helpful & friendly.I cant comment on the restaurant food as we never ate there but this august we are going half board as we heard great reviews from other guests last year.The entertainment was excellent both the hotel entertainers & the first choice girls were very good at their jobs,tip;if you have small children that go to bed early it is worth asking for a poolview room as you will be able to watch the shows from your balcony while they sleep.
There is also a very good laundry room in the basement with washers,driers,iron&ironing board which saves on the over-packing. To anybody considering this hotel my advice would be to book it as my family had a brilliant time here & cannot wait to return in august!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doradapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Hello "Codod" family,

We wait for you on the 3rd August and you can be sure that we will do all our best to offer you again a nice stay with us.

We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Just arrived back from our 3rd visit to the dorada palace and cant sing enough praise. Lovely hotel, very clean, staff very friendly and kids loved the hotels entertainers . Didnt enjoy the food as much as last year but my hubby and 3 kids did so guess was just me being fussy. All the staff worked very hard from the maids to the entertainers. We spent most days around the pool area as kids didnt seem to want to leave the hotel to venture out much. Did have to put towel out at 9am to get the best beds but hey everyone was doing it. Every day at 1pm a english movie is played for kids inside so can shelter from the sun. I loved the mamma mia night staff worked so hard. We didnt visit port aventura this year as was so expensive but did go to aquapolis water park a short bus ride to la pineda. Was fantastic definately the high light of the holiday. Cant wait to return next year hopefully weather will be as hot.
would definately recommend salou to anyone especially young families there is plenty to do from theme and water parks to beautiful beaches with playgrounds to friendly shops. And dorada palace is certainly worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nickipink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doradapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Nickipink and family,

Thank you for your nice comments about us. If you come back next year, let us know.

Greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We have stayed in Salou several times but this was the best hotel we have stayed in.
We are 2 adults, 2 small kids, self catering, June 2011.
The apartment and hotel generally were very clean and well maintained, lots of facilities and great location in Salou.
The cooking facilities could have been a bit better, but other than that, this was a very good hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

However, we went with First Choice and in their wisdom, have decided that in the future, they will only offer All Inclusive holidays. Though I accept that is fine with some people, not all of us want all inclusive. We like having the freedom to choose where to eat and when, mostly away from the hotel. And our 2 children eat very little anyway, so All Inclusive would be a waste of money for us, so next year we will find another means of getting to Salou, I hope lots of others do too, so First Choice might regret their decision.....I think its just another attempt to get more money out of people, just like their over-priced excursions.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k4onhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublinireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

jusy back from dorada palace.Te hotel is very clean and tightly run.We went half board and the quality of the food was good but the temperture of the food could have been better.If antbody is staying here and are smokers well you are not welcome.The hotelhas a strict No smoking policy and you cannot even have a ciggy out on your balcony.We are non smokers and had a ground floor apt with a terrace.It was next to the main door were the smokers were forced to stand and smoke so of course ash and butts ended up on our terrace. The maid reported to reception that we were smoking in the rom and out on the terrace and a note was placed under our door requesting us to go to reception. We were informed that smoking in thee room or balcony was against the rules and we may have to forfeit the100 euro they demanded at check in. when i explained that we were non smokers and it wasnt our fault that ash and butts ended up on the terrace as our room was next to the main door were people had to smoke the reception guy jus shrugged and said ok..He then said the cleaning lady got a funny smell and we had to be smoking in the room cos she cud smell it. i again told him that we had a candle lighting in the room but he wasnt convinced. They also have aproblem with Ants out on said terrace and if the cleaner had done her job properly and sprayed we may have been able to sit out there for a while but instead she preferrd to report funny smells to the reception. Also be prepared to stand and wait at checkout while one of the foot soldiers go and check your room to make sure you are not a thief before they will refund your 100 euro.So watch out for Hitler like staff and the NO Smoking police. Enjoy urelves. End of Rant

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank irishlady43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doradapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Irishlady,

As we have expained before here in Tripadvisor to other guests, smoking is forbiden in all public places in Spain from the first of January 2011. This law is very strict and includes hotel rooms and balconies. We where told, at the begining of the season, that it will be possible to have inspectors comming to the Hotel. If they discover that we let smoke in the rooms & balconies they will charge a penalty to the guest of minimum 600 € and another to the Hotel.
About your comment regarding food temperature, we check this every service and if you found that something was not hot enought, tell us in the same moment and we can check if is something wrong in the buffet machines. The same regarding ants in your terrace, this is a job for our technicians because the solution it is not spray them is find were are they comming from to stop them.
We are very sorry for not having satisfied you on your holidays with us and more, knowing that it was just for these details that we could arrange inmediatly.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Family of four two adults / two kids (aged 6 and 9) We visited the hotel and stayed self catering for 1 week in May / early June 2011. Heres our story:

The good:

Great facilities at hotel, good pools (2 seperate big ones and a small baby pool) also a small pool and mini gym just for adults on the roof. Always plenty of sun loungers available. Mostly English / Irish guests.

Seen a few posts about rude staff, but we didn't experience anything with this and can say all staff were polite and helpful during our stay. The hotel was immaculate and our room was kept very tidy. We were on 4th floor and the room had two nice balconies, because we were on the 4th floor it was quite high and I didn't fancy letting the kids place out on these, although they were safe.

The hotel has a big screen in the main bar - this is good as they have a list of kids films they show in the day. They also showed the big Champions league final on this which was really good.

The biggest win was the kids club, great staff and very popular and our kids loved it.

Make sure you go to the first choice resort/hotel first day meeting - useful as they tell you the usual stuff about the area and have details on the various excursions (we didn't bother with these and Im sure you could possibly get these cheaper in the town centre). They also give you a Bananna card which is worth getting as you get 10% off restaurants etc.

All the staff worked tirelessly to make the hotel entertainment in the day and night enjoyable.


The Bad:

Having a fairly young family we were disappointed the entertainment didn't start until 9pm which was the mini-disco (for kids). They then had a break for an hour until the main entertainment came on which was quite varied - one night acrobats, one night a magician, then the hotel staff doing a show, music quiz etc. The entertainment wasn't bad, however for us this for most nights was too late. The kids were tired out by this time. We'd return to out rooms but then find it very difficult to sleep due to the noise from entertainment (we were situated on 4th floor directly above the kids play area to the side).

Metal chairs on hard floors and peoples footsteps in rooms nearby and above were really noisy often kept us up. Our bed had wafer thin matress so quite uncomfortable.

We had to leave a 100euro deposit on check in which is a lot for us. Deposit for room. We were told about this before (thankfully) or it could have been a problem. Made us a little late on checking out as we had to wait for the maid to verify our room before I could retain my deposit.

The beach did seem quite a bit further away than we expected - maybe 15 min walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doradapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Seanshow,

Thank you for this complete review. All your comments are a big help for us to know our guests feed back and try to improve our service.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.8 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#12 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Property: Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Address: Carrer del Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#11 Family Hotel in Salou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorada Palace, a 4-star complex built in 1999.The hotel-aparthotel offers standard, king zize and superior rooms, also it has apartments with kitchen. Breakfast is always included. The establishment is located in Salou, close to Llevant beach, the golf courses and theme park PortAventura. Is the ideal hotel for families and couples who want to enjoy the sun and beaches of the Mediterranean sea, and the wide variety of entertainment, relaxation and fun you will find in the Costa Dorada. Free wifi in all the hotel-aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace**** Hotel Salou
Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel Dorada Palace
Club Dorada Palace Hotel
Club Dorada Palace Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing