We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre(Salou)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$84
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
$512
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sol Costa Daurada(Salou)(Great Value!)
$106
$98
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace(Salou)(Great Value!)
$101
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveler rating
283
209
117
51
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
209
117
51
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffanother mirrormain beachwater polotwo double bedsgreat laughanimation teamrooms are greatdressing tablefantastic holidaysister hotelat busy timesspecial thanksbreakfast lunch and dinnerpool areafamily holidayfoam party
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 701 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

staff were ignorant food was poor and same every day bar food selection was hotdog or chips which staff did not want to provide
pool was small and dirty eg dead wasps in water feathers and leaves also plasters lying at bottom of pool
entertainment is non existant not even music by the pool during the day
rooms were bare minimum and basic bed sheets may have holes ...
lifts were always broken
this place deserves a hostel sign not hotel

Room Tip: first or second floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Playa de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear customer. I really think you are talking about another Hotel because our menu is not poor or repetitive. At breakfast we have buns, croissant, Neapolitan, sponge-cakes, brioche and other specialities and no less than 4, salads, iogurts,fruit in syrup, 6-7 different types of bread, salad, cereals, cacao, cheeeses, honey, jam, no less than 4 natural fruits, different cold sausages, eggs done at the moment (showcooking) as omelets, creps, fruit batter, bacon, tomatoes, sausages, Scrambled eggs and coffe, etc. at lunch and at dinner no less than 20 different dishes every day and fresh fish and fresh meat, pizza, pasta, rice, rabbit, veal, pork, lamb, turkey, chicken, all in sauce, salads done by us as the deserts (long variety of them). Swimming pool is cleaned no less than twice a day and entertainment has a big program exposed at the reception for children, adults and evening time with shows and activities for all them. Rooms are bigger than ussual for a 3* Hotel and cleaned every day and I never saw any hole on sheets. I'm sure you were wrong on your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is situated just off the main strip of shops which is good come the night time. The hotel itself is spotless. Trees roumd the pool could do with coming down to allow more sun on to it. Rooms basic but clea. Food at night very samey but very enjoyable same as breakfast. All staff very polite will be deffo stopping here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliottownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Decent hotel, friendly staff and food better than most 3 star all inclusive hotels. Trees could do with a trim down as they shade the pools from the sun. Rooms basic but clean. Lifts broke down a few times during our stay but they were always fixed quickly and was never too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahjohn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews for this hotel and looking at some of the pics added I was some what apprehensive. The holiday was booked at a last minute thing for myself my mother and my son and I have to say I was pleasantly suprised with the overall stay. Upon arriving at the hotel we were 40 minutes early for our check in so as our room was still getting prepared we were shown to the secure luggage room and then offered to use the pool facilities whilst we waited.

We were there for 30 minutes when a paella demonstration was carried out by the pool side which I must say was really amazing as well as delicious. Our rooms were ready fairly promptly and as I had requested a quiet room we were offered a room on the 6th floor so we weren't to close to the entertainment which went on til midnight.

The resteraunt in the hotel was amazing and the food was quite varied for all inclusive, despite the staff in the resteraunt not speaking much English they did there best to communicate with us and were very friendly.

The bar staff in the hotel were also not very English speaking and sometimes appeared a little rude and abrupt but this did change when mentioned.

The reception staff were all lovely and extremely helpful and would spend time assisting you if you required any information or assistance, they were also extremely lovely with my 11 year old son who would rush to speak to them every morning, and they spoke very good English.

The cleaners did a very thorough job and ensured you had clean towels every day.

There was sometimes a little wait for the elevators but this wasn't a problem although the spiral stairs could send you a little dizzy if you were quite high up.

The entertainment was mostly in Spanish and the same songs did drive you crazy after about day 3, however despite the language barrier the entertainment staff were probably some of the most enthusiastic I've met.

And as for the pool area there was not one instance where I struggled to find a lounger, it was bang in the sunshine and there was always somewhere for you to relax.

Other reviews have mentioned that this hotel is not a very British hotel and I would say this is definitely true as there was definitely more Spanish, Russian, French families then there were british, however we were not the only English people there and we're fortunate to meet some amazing people on holiday and had a fantastic time. By the end of the week I didn't want to go home.

Only recommendations I would make would be a new music selection for the entertainment because Choco Choco latte is still stuck in my head! And maybe some customer service training for one of the bar staff! Other than that, thank you for a perfect holiday and for making it so enjoyable for my son.



  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

i am just back from playa de oros in salou ....
i was there from 5th august to 12 th august

we had a triple room on the 2nd floor

good points and bad points of playa de oro,s

GOOD POINTS FIRST
1. rooms cleaned daily and towles changed also a job well done
2. The evening meal was lovely and alot of choice and
you will love the desserts yum yum
3. The reception staff are helpful and have very good english
4. The hotel is in a great location so near the main street of the town and bus stop e.t.c


NOW BAD POINTS
1. massive shade over the pool area and the sunbeds ,,,hence the reason to
bring a chainsaw with you and cut down a few trees and let the sun in .

2. 2 lifts are out of order alot and are slow even if they are working
i got stuck on floor 2 in the lift so BEWARE...And god help anybody staying on floor 4 or floor
a long walk for ye



3. A bar worker in the hotel called jesus is not friendly and only is friendly to his spanish
friends and rude to every1 else and doesnt have a word in english

4. Be careful with some of the stairs on some floors have no lights and you could easily
go flying ..Had a few close ones myself

5. The evening entertainment for the kids in the evening is the same music every evening at
about 9pm onwards and can be very annoying hearing the same music they must have the
same C.D in for the last 2 years and sometimes it stops working must be scratched maybe.

6. breakfast was not to nice in the hotel the food must have been spanish the sausages tasted
awful and the mushrooms not much choice really but to have what was there or go healthy
and have fruit and that instead apples bananas and that


WEATHER FOR LAST WEEK IN SALOU
Sunday 5th August to Friday 10th august little or no cloud each day with temps at day getting warmer as the week went on ...At Porteventura theme park thats a little inland temps must have been 43 degrees at least it was scorching ....in salou itself temps were at least warmest at least 35 degrees
Very warm some nights with temps not dropping atall and no breeze and dead heat

Weather for August 11th Saturday Cloudy enough but sun did some out at times and when it did it was scorching
Much the same August 12th Sunday...cloudy and sun came out in the morning for a while and it was 32 degrees at 9am yes 9am

Anybody interested in shopping for booze cheapest place in salou is bargain booze ask around the main street area to find it

Anyway i hope this review helps and Enjoy salou ....try a booze cruise if ye can great fun they are spend 3 hours out at sea a nice trip and no need for chainsaws out there , a good tan and a scorching sun is what ye will get , Best of luck

Room Tip: floor 1 or 2 grand if lift is out of order
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews