We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old fashioned rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“old fashioned rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in September 2011 with my friends. The rooms at the hotel are old fashioned. Bathroom is of big size. We didn't use TV as it costs extra money. Food at the restarante was always good (we stayed half board). It took us some time to reach the main beach, small beach is closer. Bus station is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    146
    87
    36
    34
See reviews for
267
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Rooms a little old fashioned but very clean. Sheets/ towels changed routinely and daily (and the chamber-staff were all pleasant and helpful if called upon). Without sounding alarmist: some of the light switches fittings etc. did come away easily, so be careful with kids (I did say not quite 3 star!). Bathroom: big size - some fittings like the shower heads need attention, but no big deal. TV in room (you have to pay 20 euro for the remote which is needed for TV to work) - nothing for UK visitors unless you want to watch BBC World News on your holiday?! We did have a small problem with ants in the room, but this may have been because my baby son left a half eaten banana on the floor. The staff provided us with spray and we never had any more probs.The main areas of the hotel: lobby, clean, attractive and well air conditioned. The bar area too, and well sized. There was also a childrens' club room. The pool area did not 'win' us over and we didn't use it in all the time we stayed. It was small and very cold. It looked very dated; some of the high steps around the pool made us think twice about using it with our baby son (like many hotels in Salou, they were built in the late 60's and 70's and many do need up-dating - but this will cost many Euro!). Also, some of the outer area floor - tiles came away easily - and the children's play ground/ area we stayed well away from; it just didn't 'feel' safe?!

The restaurant: food is cooked very well, and is attractive/ very appetizing. The grill chef cooks the meat the way you want it ("well done"!), he will even make an omelet for you in the morning just as you require. There is not as much variety of choice as some with other hotels but all the food is well above average; excellent even! So if you like the 'basics' of the meats -pork,chicken, beef (lovely!), great sausages (*that suit the English palette), lovely herbed-boiled potatoes and great chips, finished off with super deserts and cakes (their home made custard slice was just like you get in the UK) - then this place will suit you. (There is also a good selection of the continental diet) Oh, and the breakfasts are the most 'English' I have come across..except for the Spanish bacon of course! One negative point: It must be noted that to have just one baby high-chair for the whole of the restaurant was a bit ridiculous?! there were many other children/ babies who had to be fed in the buggy/ prams! (I did mention this to the hotel and they said they would in future review this situation)
Reading the many previous reviews of this hotel, it's fair to say they are diverse. Certainly, (it seems) before 2010 it was a different place as most of the negative reviews appear from before then so it does look they have had a revamp, certainly where the food is concerned. What made our stay memorable was the staff. The restaurant waiting-on staff were very friendly, as was Olga on the reception desk (she hails from Siberia, giving an indication where most of the hotels visitors come from); she was very polite and helpful and speaks the best English out of all at the reception. The entertainment staff (Yeul and Doris) are also worthy of a big mention. They worked very hard to please all, and were great with our little son. The entertainment itself was Spanish/ Latin themed and very enjoyable. Oh, and by the way - you can get a pint of good quality lager for just 2 euro! Overall, this isn't quite 3 star but it's not a bad place; the basic criteria of accommodation, food and pleasant and helpful staff are more than worthy

Lat word: this hotel is on a 'bit of a slope/ hill', and in the heat of summer this can make your walk back home very strenuous!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is near the pine trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our arrivial was late but very easy... got our room key and went to room. Comfortable, shower couldnt hang off wall, hook broke, tv was broken, air conditioning flooded our room one night, soaked the bed and floor but once we told accommodation it was sorted, sometimes smell of sewer but not necessary the hotel fault!

Breakfast was great, large selection... omelette made to order in front of you. Irish/english tea I couldnt find. We went down for lunch one day but as we had not prebooked in our package we couldnt see it. When asked price (€14) and if we could look before deciding we were told no. could not view until paid :( disappointing cause people said it was lovely... Ate dinner out every night, notthing bad on hotel. No bar in resort in evening, seemed very quiet.

Located slightly off the beaten track, lovely for us as we love to walk and we walked for miles everyday but we were 2/3 miles from main beach and walk way, shops etc but there was bus at end of street.

Lovely... For what we paid it was grand... Heat wave at time and was lovely... Pool small but adequate for amount people there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from the end of July to the beginning of August and we had a lovely experience. Best part about the hotel was definitely the food so much choice! and the chef's where nice and friendly too. We stayed half board and we where very glad we made that decision. The hotel is in a nice spot, not too far from the beach or the nightlife but its far enough for you to get some sleep. It is also right by a bus terminal which was very handy for us as we traveled to Barcelona quite a few times. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aaaabbbbccccdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

we went to salou six years ago stayed at the de oro park hotel was clean and comfortable you could always find something nice to eat the cheff was exeptionaly good with my granddaughter we had a great holiday there

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretl918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Meath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Location ok but not the hotel for those who like to retire early. Food average but staff could not do enough to help

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Co_MeathEvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Just got back from a ten night stay at Playa de oro park. Hotel is in great location. Close to a small beach 5 minutes walk away. Salou main beach is a bit further tho.
Lots and lots bars close by.
Our room was very clean, towels changed every day.
We sayed full board, food was pletyful but a bit repetative. Poor grill chef was rushed off his feet, so be prepared to wait if you want any meat or fish cooked fresh.
Begonia on reception was very helpful.
The only downside for us was there were no parasol`s by the pool and not much shaded area.
Never saw Jose the Hotel Manger ONCE!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186220Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jochuzc, Gerente at Ohtels Playa de Oro, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear customer:

Jose is not working anymore at the Hotel since last October 2010.

Thank you for choosing us.


Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#13 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Playa de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Playa de Oro

Property: Ohtels Playa de Oro
Address: Calle Vendrell 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Playa de Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Playa de Oro Park was opened in 1991. Located at 300 metres from a cove and few minutes to the centre of Salou. All the rooms have complete bath, terrace, telephone, central heating, safety box (optional) and satellite television optional. The hotel has restaurant, cafeteria, TV room, swimming pool, children's pool, lifts with panoramic views, landscaped zone, parking, piped music and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ohtels Playa de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa De Oro Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing