We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a cheap no frills break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for a cheap no frills break”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My first impressions of the hotel I must admit were of the 'Oh my god' variety. However once you get past the initial feeling that you can walk from the front of the hotel to the back in ten seconds it is a clean friendly and decent place.

The staff could not do enough from the front desk staff to the bar staff. My wife has a disability and they were great and not always looking for a quick tip either. The food is typical for the 2-3 star rated with a lot of same old stuff but you can always find something to try and it was always presented well. The staff appear to work very hard and once again were always very helpful. The entertainment was the only let down as the 'Animacion' team were variations of inane, mad and irritating in equal measure. But we tended to let it all pass by and it certainly did not spoil the break for us. I would recommend the hotel to families looking for a nice cheap break.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mjpower4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello. Many thanks for your visit and for your comments. As you say we try to give a good value with a nice service trying to make you enjoy your hollidays. Thanks again and until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    332
    203
    69
    60
See reviews for
590
300
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
llanberis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Was meant to be in the hotel next door playa de oro but it was changed to villadorada 4 weeks before our arrival because the other had closed for the winter so was a bit apprehensive that we were staying in a hotel we didnt choose. Ladies in reception at check in was great and polite. Got to the room, it was all we needed and comfortable beds. Hotel was close to everything we needed, shops, resturaunts, beaches. So walked everywhere we wanted to go throughout the week. We had booked a bed and breakfast board. Breakfast was ok but rude staff. Wasnt allowed to leave with an apple in my hand, was told it give it back. Stayed in hotel around the pool one day and bar staff was very rude. Wouldnt serve a friend i had made her all inclusive drinks because i was stood with her! I told him that i didnt want drinks and that i was just talking to her! But he refused to serve her until i had left! Entertainment was a very poor standard, end of season so we got less than people in the peak season. Bombon saved it a little for us as he was very nice and good with us and my daughter and tried his best. Lifeguard needs to go and have more training, being a lifeguard doesent mean sitting with your face in your phone all day. But one incedent happened that made the hotel awful for us. We were leaving the pool area one afternoon to get changed to go out for a meal. You can either enter the bar area or reception, luckily we choose to go the reception way because a big plank of wood about 2 meters long full of big old rotting nails fell off the roof right in front of my 5 year old daughter and my partner!! I stood there shocked and before i had the chance to get my phone out to take a picture staff had come, got everything off the floor and took it away. Not a single apology. All i needed was an apology and that they rocognise that what had happened was very wrong, i got nothing. All i got was 'this hasnt happened before'!!!!!! And im not amused that the pointless lifeguard thought it was funny either. Not good. So salou was great and will deffinately return but villadorada wont be the choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vej84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We greatly regret the incident on board, luckily one was a shock and as I could not see you, now I apologize for this. Unfortunately things are broken, if we had known that the wood was in bad shape before the would have changed.
Again, please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I travelled here for a week in October. Hotel was what you expect from a three star. Food I thought was very good and presented well, a little repetitive but still good. Room was okay, needed a little updating and a deep clean especially in the bathroom area but the beds where very comfortable and got fresh clean towels each day. Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful but the lady on reception was at times a little rude. Big shout out to the man on evening shift at reception, very friendly and welcoming. Not impressed with the the entertainment as we had none other than a kids club and an outside act on the weekend evenings. When booking this holiday we were not told about it being the end of season and that the hotel was due to close the week after we leave, therefore the entertainment was none existent! As well as this the day trips organised by Thomson looked and sounded great but when we spoke to the rep we got informed that due to end of season the trip days had been changed and cut down and to top this off the trip we wanted to go on we couldn't because the day it was on was the day we traveled back (Friday) although in the booklet it said Thursday and Friday! This really annoyed myself! I would recommend that you visit chaplins for an evening out as it was a fun filled evening.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLou613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello, it is true that these dates we're closed for the season but we do not remove services before the hotel closes, we maintain the highest quality to the end and ensure that our customers enjoy their stay. It is most important for us. Unfortunately this feeling but we guarantee that services have been the same to the end. Thank you very much for visiting and until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My partner and i stayed here from 13th sep for one week,and yes we were there when the large party from newcastle were there we found them freindly and good fun and i think i know who julie from birmingham was and why she made those comments i dont know as all she did was moan about the germans.Now back to our holiday room was spotless,food was ok but i am a fussy eater but my partner found it ok,evening entertainment was not so good.We had the oppertunity to go to football match in barcelona and it was fantastic a must if your a footie fan.Tamara the thompson rep was brill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello, we are very happy to know that he spent a good stay. We liked the comment about the food and we are pleased that even being a fussy eater we have gotten your satisfaction. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I travelled here in Oct 2013 with my friend and our 9 year old children. After reading some of the other reviews we were apprehensive about what we would find but had a lovely time! When we arrived the room I was allocated stank of cigarette smoke but as soon as I informed reception they gave me a different room. The rooms were what you would expect from a three star hotel - cleaned daily and fresh towels every day if you wanted them too. There were two double beds and enough storage space. The food was fresh, hot and varied every meal and the waitress was a lovely girl who seemed to be there all the time. The guy on the restaurant door (Paco) was a bit miserable but it didn't spoil anything for us. We had no problems with sunbeds or the pool although this may be different if the hotel is fuller. The night time entertainment did leave a little to be desired but we went out to a couple of clubs (I can thorourhly recommend Decades, House of Illusion and Chaplins - all child friendly) All in all a very pleasant enjoyable holiday at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had a pool room and got sun for most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stalborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello, we are flattered that happened a good holiday and thank you for sharing your feelings. Thank you very much and until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I went with my partner beg of october. Room was ready when we arrived at 12. No hair dryer but took my own basic room. Beds 10 out of 10 for comfort. We had 5 th floor on the top over looking the street quite enjoyed sitting on balcony watching people ect . Bin men came at about 2 am one night but was awake . Noise never woke me once i was asleep.We went for dinner on the afternoon at 1 .30 pm on day of arrival but did not know it meant we could not use the all inclusive after 12 dinner time on day of departure so could not get drinks or afternoon lunch and we was not being picked up from hotel till half 4 30 pm. We had to pay for drinks and food never been all inclusive and had to buy food and drinks on last day.Breakfast same as usual eggs, bacon, cold meats, salads, cereals ect .Afternoon meals was meals no burgers you still salads and plenty to choose from. Evening meals was great . Could not fault the food it was always hot and plenty to choose from the roast pork and beef was to die for .Only problem i had was you could not get a glass of water or wine with your meal you had to have the bottle . I wanted to try the wine as i like sweet wine and i did not want a bottle so had none . I had a big bottle of water every night and had one glass out and had to leave it on the table as you was not allowed to take it out. .Dont even try to take any thing out from the restaurant as there are mirrors all round and one little girl got a orange and her mother put it in her bag and the was seen and was asked to put it back. We missed breakfast one morning so went to the bar to order a snack waited 20 mins for a ham and cheese roll and had to leave it as dry and horrible. ordered burgers and fries one afternoon and no fries as fryer had broke . Went another day and bar man got confused and had to wait 25 mins for burger and fries as some one else got my order. Got sun bed no problem at 11 am. Most people went to the beaches i think. There was entertainment every evening looked really good but we went out to the Victoria bar just round the corner they played bingo every night at 9 till 10 then quiz and then a singer. Went in to Salou one night and went to Chaplins bar great night open till 2 or 3 am well worth a visit .We went to Salou before so we did not go on any trips i.e Porta Venturs , Barcelona, house of illusion . We got a bus card 14 euros and you can go on the buses and do 10 journeys so went to la Pineda Taragonna ect. Had a great week and hotel was not to bad and food was good . Yes i would go back prob same hotel . We paid £300 each for a all inclusive 3 star so was not a bad price . No good for mobility as it is a bit of a hill.Yes there was a few kids about but its a family hotel if you don't want children then go to couples only hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks to convey their feelings. we will consider any of us give details exposed. thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

firstly the hotel is on a hill , and anyone with mobility problems will be trapped there unless using a taxi to get back up the hill
as for the hotel this is only a 3 star so don't expect any luxury from it, but the rooms are a good size and basic , nice bathroom with a walk-in shower , all cleaned to a good standard each day ,but forget the t v unless you speak Spanish
meals are served in the basement restaurant but beware the jobsworth on the door who needs a personality transplant , be prepared to stand in a slow moving queue if you like an egg in the morning , the chef is a master of recycling , thing like lasagne 3 days running until it was gone ,except for the ribs one night nothing memorable to mention
at night with only one bar there seems to be a permanent queue even as the bar crew work very hard
entertainment in the evening for adults is non existant except for flamenco dancers or a parrot show , I would recommend going to the Victoria bar on the next street for a night out

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwest1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian P, Gerente at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments and appreciate your visit in Villa Dorada. We try to get the maximum satisfaction for our clients, both in quality of service, food (over 25 varieties) and animation (5 hours entertainment for children, 7 hours for adults entertainment, plus the show or evening show every night). It hurts not having achieved your satisfaction. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#5 of 93 in Salou
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#6 of 93 in Salou
1,624 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Villa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Villa Dorada

Property: Ohtels Villa Dorada
Address: Vendrell Street, 11, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Venecia Park)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Villa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barely 200 metres from the spectacular Llarga and Capellans beaches, 10 minutes from PortAventura, in the heart of Salou's tourist area and next to the unique Masia Catalana (a traditional farmhouse), the Hotel Villa Dorada enjoys a privileged position in the capital of the Costa Daurada. Spacious terraces next to its spectacular swimming pools, with aquatic parties and inflatables for all ages, an outdoor bar, a children's playground for the most demanding members of the family, an entertainments team and live shows - everything you need for an unforgettable holiday. International cuisine, gluten-free dishes, varied show cooking, themed dinners and a children's buffet will delight guests of all ages. The Villa Dorada and its attentive staff are a guarantee that you won't want your holiday to end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ohtels Villa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venecia Park Hotel
Venecia Park Salou
Hotel Venecia Park Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing