We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New management deserves good reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New management deserves good reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Hotel Villa Dorada was formally known as the Hotel Venecia Park
Hotel Venecia Park has picked up a bad reputation on trip advisor due to the bad management that was put in place.
Hotel Villa Dorada has definetely changed this reputation for the good. The hotel offers a good variety of activities for different ages, for example a stage is held outside which provides light nightlife for children and adults alike and a pool is used throughout the day with a slide and apparatus provided during the weekend.
The food was good value for money and with me being in an all inclusive, i was able to eat as much as i wanted of the food provided. There was even a chef cooking for you if you wanted different items that were on his menu rather than left on the pallets.
Overall, i would recommend this hotel to families. I was with a couple of my mates which was okay for other families because we are not distruptive. But with Salou having a bit of a lively nightlife, i wouldn't be surprised if a couple of distruptive teenagers were to stagger in at early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanisharcher09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    290
    174
    63
    52
See reviews for
467
242
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Don't beleive everything you read about this hotel! after reading reviews i really didn't want to go but when we arrived we were pleasantly suprised, Myself, husband and 2 kids stayed here from 26th june til 6th july and had a great holiday, staff are really friendly and great with the kids, Rooms where cleaned everyday clean sheets & towels etc pool area was clean to and the food was good! we also found adam the rep very helpful & friendly. Only bad thing i could say is that some of the spanish kids that go there at night are very rude & noisy! but other than that we would prob go back, think people are to hard on this hotel.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are quieter than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

we stayed here from June 23rd to 7th July, which included myself my hubbie and my 8 month old grandson. as soon as we arrived we were shown to our rooms which was 203 and to be honest bit on the small side but very clean and cleaned daily. adam our rep was very friendly and helped us with any of our questions. The entertainment staff were very friendly but we felt it needed to mix the entertainment up abit as being there 2 weeks we saw the same acts the second week, but they do try there best.
The food was ok and plenty of it, the show cooking was the best with fresh chicken, pork etc, but i will say they need to cook some plain food for the the kids as wasnt much choice for them,(maybe hire a english chef) there was always chips but not much to go with it for the kids. but saying that they do supply baby jar foods which came in handy for our grandson.
the staff all seemed friendly enough ,, did think the bar manager was abit smary at times
Before we went we tryed changeing our hotel afte3r reading reveiws on here, but glad we never as never realy had any problems except the food got abit repetitive towards the end.
this is a 3 star hotel and thats wot u pay for.

wouldnt recomend to people with walking problems as on step hill and a good 10 min walk to centre. saying this we would go back and enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights.
We found the hotel to have everything we needed for the time of our stay as we were happy to spend most of our time there and not go on any trips.
All staff, in particular bar staff, animation team and reception were very efficient helpfull and accommodating.
The rooms were ok, limited hanging space in wardrobes and a bit tight for 4peoples clothes and items, more hangers would solve this easily.
Food was acceptable. As a vegetarian the food should be clearly marked as vegetarian as meat free, as on a couple of occasions, pasta/rice had meat in it, I could only see this after taking a few moments of forking through it, looking fussy to others when I was simply trying to avoid taking something I couldn't eat.
The bread rolls should always be a fresh batch as often the baskets were full of un eaten rolls from earlier service which meant they had to be toasted to make them less chewy and nicer to eat. My husband had lots of excellent meals as a meat eater, he enjoyed the carvery and has no complaints about the food at all.
My girls were happy with pizza too as this was always cooked fresh.
The queue for eggs and pancakes in the morning was very annoying. The chef was very nice but could have planned ahead by making larger batches for guests to collect as and when. The queue was always large at peak times and could easily be avoided by having the grill prepared with more items to accommodate the amount of people waiting. I suggest 2 chefs at the hot plate at peak times, the chef had too much to deal with on his own. Eggs, smoothies and pancakes AM. Carvery, cooking of meat/fish and pizza PM.
In the restaurant the glasses were filthy, the dishwasher obviously couldnt remove orange segments from glasses used at breakfast, this meant all glasses at all services times were simply dirty. Yuk!!!
Health and safety was an issue as an onlooker. The stones from the play park often littered the stairs making it an accident waiting to happen. The rail into the children's pool was very very unstable and the rail leading to the main entertainment area were not securely bolted to the floor. This needs to be dealt with ASAP.
The ladies toilet next to the bar was something I never want to experience again, the toilet pan was not bolted to the floor causing urine to leak into the floor as the night went on, the smell because of this was horrendous. ( this was fixed the day before we left) but the smell still needs dealt with. The other toilet was out of order the whole time we were there, meaning one toilet was In use for the whole amount of women in the entertainment area which was very busy, this was a disgrace as the queue was always long and you had the bear that you had to beat that smell too long.

Smoking was my main issue. This could be addressed by the hotel, adults smoking at the kids pool area, often chain smoking and my children playing and swimming with this around them. My husband as myself are also non smokers and were often surrounded with the amount of smoke over the course of the day. The seated area adjacent to the kids pool could be allocated and clearly marked amd signposted as the smoking area and people should be directed to here. I could have asked adults not to smoke but I would have been doing this all day. Having young children the kids pool was my obvious choice so why should adults be allowed to smoke there.

Yoel Samuel and Doris were excellent. Adult entertainment was limited but the homemade games were funny and created a good atmosphere.

A special mention to the service man who cleared the areas at night, hosing down the patio area and brushing up from 3pm is a fantastic worker. He works long hours and puts in a lot of effort. He was always very pleasant and always smiling. He deserves employee of the month!!

Overall a great time away with my family, we spent good hard earned money to pay for this hotel, the points I have raised are valid and if thery are dealt with I would return again.
Thank you for the memories ;))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for one week in June and had a great time. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the pools were clean and great size. The entertainment team worked all day and night and always had a smile and joke with kids. Kids club was on twice a day and my 4 year old loved it. For a three star hotel the food was delightful, my 7 year old ate like a horse, I am usually fussy but the show cooking was fab, with wendelyn making fresh fish, carvery, meat, omlettes while you wait (not for long) at each sitting. Again there were groups of Spanish children there, but we were in Spain and they were only really in the hotel at meal times. The hotel shut its bar and finished entertainment at midnight and quickly cleared the guests so it was nice and peaceful overnight. Great holiday. My only complaint is with first choice/thompsons who sold use the holiday - my husband uses a wheelchair, they told us it was on the flat - its in the middle of a short but steep hill, the rooms were a little small for the chair and the lifts were a tight squeeze, but again the staff were great and helped where they could.

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rich0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The rooms were a decent size with 2 double beds, plenty of wardrobe space and drawers, just needed a few more coat hangers. Bar staff were very friendly and efficient. Pool was cleaned fully when we were there. Entertainment was international / Spanish. Hotel entertainers worked hard especially with and for children. yes there was a large group there each week when we stayed but it didnt bother us. In 2 weeks we didnt get fed up of the food. Spanish ,continential and English included. They changed the trays of hot food rather thsn putting new food on old, which some AI do.
overall no complaints for a 3 STAR hotel what more do you want?

Room Tip: on the outside of hotel is best, if over pool then you will be awake until entertainment finishes ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamFoxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Read reviews before booking and didnt no what to expect.food was ok and entertainment was also.Rooms were cleaned everyday to a good standard and very good.
Only issues we had was with the toilets and occasional bad smells.Also coach loads of trouble making spanish school kids with no manners at all.
At times it was like something out of the programme benidorm,we had all the characters there including vodka vera.On the whole was a good holiday.
We stayed there from 15th june until 26th june.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.0 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#11 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.1 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Villa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Villa Dorada

Property: Ohtels Villa Dorada
Address: Vendrell Street, 11, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Venecia Park)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Villa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barely 200 metres from the spectacular Llarga and Capellans beaches, 10 minutes from PortAventura, in the heart of Salou's tourist area and next to the unique Masia Catalana (a traditional farmhouse), the Hotel Villa Dorada enjoys a privileged position in the capital of the Costa Daurada. Spacious terraces next to its spectacular swimming pools, with aquatic parties and inflatables for all ages, an outdoor bar, a children's playground for the most demanding members of the family, an entertainments team and live shows - everything you need for an unforgettable holiday. International cuisine, gluten-free dishes, varied show cooking, themed dinners and a children's buffet will delight guests of all ages. The Villa Dorada and its attentive staff are a guarantee that you won't want your holiday to end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ohtels Villa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venecia Park Hotel
Venecia Park Salou
Hotel Venecia Park Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing