We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Best Negresco
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing to complain about!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself (21), my wife(22 turned 23 on holiday), brother-in-law (16) and sister-in-law (20) stayed at this hotel from 23rd june untill 30th june.
Before we went i sent two emails to the hotel requesting one double bed and then two singles (one email in english one in spanish). I got no reply and unfortunatley on arriving we had two double beds. We did request to change rooms or beds but they said they couldnt do this.
I had read a lot of the reviews of this hotel on here and was worrying slightly, however i found the hotel was what you made of it.
Andrea on reception was very friendly and attentative, however some of the other staff were not so good at english and could come across a little rude.

Our room was average, relativley small with two double beds pushed together. Floors could have done with a good mop but other than that it was clean and tidy.
The hotel was again nice but average. Nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either.
We never had a problem getting sun beds around the pool, one side was shaded in the morning but by lunch time, had full sun. The pool was quite cold but once in, you got used to it.
Resturant/Food, like most others have said was limited. You could guarentee to have Chips, rice or pasta every day. Breakfast was excellent, and im not usually one for breakfast in hotels. Lunch and Tea time were always very similar foods, however the food itself was tasty enough. The pool bar offered food through the day for all inclusive, toasties, burgers, chips or hot dog.

The entertainment could have been a lot better, it was enough to make us laugh, however not necesarily for good reasons. It was a bit cheep but cheerful.

The bars were okay also, good choices for drinks. 4 cocktails available on All inclusive, others you had to pay for. there were branded alcohol like smirnoff, malibu etc free. Others like Jack Daniels you had to pay for, however if all inclusive got them cheaper. For example Corona was only 1 euro to AI guests.

The location we found was great, right on the beaches, bus stops near by, right between main salou and la penida. A bus from our hotel to main salou was about 1.60 euro at night or 2.30ish through the day.
We wanted to go on a boat trip for my wifes birthday, we seen a poster in the hotel sayin from 10 euros per person. When we eventually found our rep, she had two available, glass bottom for 40 euro per person or Catamaran for 50 euros per person. We asked if we had to book in advance, she said yes or you cant go on one. We asked if we would find it cheaper where the boats were, she said no. SHE WAS WRONG or LYING.
We went into main salou to the boat bay, as soon as we got there we found multiple choices. One lady came straight upto us with her sales pitch, 3 hour boat trip on catamaran, you get to the catamaran by glass bottom boat for free, free drinks on board and a free bbq. we thought oh dear this will cost a lot. But no, she offered it for 30 euros per person, and a sneaky 25 euros for my wife with it being her birthday. so all together we paid 115 Euro when the Rep tried to get 200 off us. The trip was excellent also, definitley reccomended.

We vistied Aquopolis one day, definitley reccomended!! Great Water rides (and i normaly hate water rides) and also amazing Dolphin show, whith the change to get photos with the dolphins. We also visited Portaventura, It was my wife and her brother and sisters first time here however i have been three times before. It has only got better since i last came here.

Overall the hotel doesnt have any bad points in my opinion, especially if you like to do your own thing. However if you plan to stay there pretty much 24/7, id look for a different hotel as i dont think i could have done that at this hotel, Unline other salou hotels i have stayed in.

Room Tip: If possible, request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    433
    252
    129
    75
See reviews for
602
385
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for 10 nights. Found the hotel lacked character.Rooms are average size good condition. Pool small compared to other salou hotels. Food i struggled with and i am fairly easy going food wise, all was hot i have to say. Caters mainly for russian i guess this is reflected in the variety of food. 25 mins walk to salou but near a bus stop. Would not return to this hotel as have stayed in much better hotels in salou.This is my fourth holiday to salou and the first time i struggled with food. Small fridge in rooms which is good for storing water etc

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just come back from staying at this hotel, we stayed in the Negresco 2 which was lovely, very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was fantastic with a big bedroom and a balcony which overlooked the pool and the sea. The Negresco 2 is the quieter hotel but there is no fighting for sun beds and you are able to sleep. Our rooms were cleaned every day, ww had fresh towels every day and did not see a cockroach all week. The only down side is that there is no bar and therefore no refreshments round the pool, but just a short stroll away is a small supermarket and we had a fridge in the room, so we used to take drinks down to the pool. The hotel is quite a way out of Salou, but I suggest on day one you catch the road train at the top of the road and do the round trip, it only costs 3 euros and you will then get your bearing as to where you can walk. The bus at the top of the road runs every 10 mins into Salou and costs around 3 euros but because there was 4 of us we used to get a taxi into Salou which was around 9 euros. We took our grandchildren (both aged 16 years) and it was a bit quiet but they both really enjoyed the week. Portaventura is a good place to visit, we went at night. From 7pm it is a lot cheaper and you also have the added attraction of a night parade at 11pm and fireworks which were fantastic. There is a little cafe just up the road from the hotel and it is run by a brother and sister, The coffee there is to die for and it is only 1.20 euros. The food in the hotel is also good, plenty of choice and if you want the food hotter there is a microwave in the middle of the restaurant where you can heat it to your choice. The whole of Salou is invaded by the Russians but they were all polite and did not spoil the holiday. I read of few bad reviews before we went but I am glad I ignored them because the hotel is definitely 4 star and we had a throughly good holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor room 110 and it accommodated 2 adults and 2 teenagers with plenty of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Scenic quiet location, close to sea, nice views & walks around coast, child friendly, plentiful variety of food, spacious room with decent balcony - most with sea views. Some steps to negotiate, food did start to get a little repetitive by the end of the holiday, pool a little deep and cool for kids, but I found it great. All staff extremely helpful, hardworking and friendly. Yes mostly Russian guests, but they have taken over many European resorts now so expect the trend to continue. We travelled around a bit and it seemed to be the same wherever you went. If you want to holiday with your own and speak English, then take a staycation. Overall – met and exceeded our expectations in many respects.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edmund99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our holiday started off really badly,4 hour delay at airport, nightmare transfer from airport ,terminal to terminal 1-1.5 hour wait for coach to leave and we thought what a start things could get better or worse and hopefully the best is yet to come. We arrive at hotel with very smiley faces on reception explaining all we needed to know about the hotel staying on the 5th floor 3 lifts to get there , the room was nice if not really up to 4 star but Very clean . Got unpacked and went for dinner the restaurant staff very nice first night shown to table Very busy but staff still very nice, this is the first time we had went all inclusive and was not disappointed the range of the food was great and after I chose my main discover a chef cooking to order and to my pleasure I used him for the rest of my holiday EXCELLENT . My wife loved all the salads and seafood on offer and offcourse always paella. Breakfast plenty choice again and chef cooking to order again omelettes, sweet pancakes and buffet like I had never seen before bread,pasties,meats,cheeses,fruits and fruit juices, teas and nice tasting coffee from a machine. To my surprise on offer was Smirnoff vodka, Baileys and a choice of 4 different Whiskys all on all inclusive. The pool area was very nice and plenty of loungers and you don`t have to get up early in the morning to get one. The pool was a bit chilly but nice and cooling if you were starting to burn in the heat . The pool bar at times a bit slow just because of the amount of people and sometimes only one person serving. Snacks and ice lollys included as well. Lunchtime just as much choice as dinnertime. I challenge any one not to put on weight while your there.Everyday our room gets cleaned with fresh towels as well. Entertainment at night was good especially if you have young children. You could drink and eat from day till night which I would say you get value for money if you go all inclusive . Trips to go on to the marine village called Cambris beautiful and Salou City centre. It`s been 30 years since I`ve been in Spain and it will not be so long before I visit again .

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room you will be surprised every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan and Caroli... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed last week of May.We were very satisfied,for the price we paid, we couldnt have expected more.Got a good deal, all inclusive.Didn't get a sea view, but it was fine, we didnt stay in room anyway.Very clean hotel, room cleaned everyday.Staff were very friendly,I speak french,so staff was even friendlier, as they were not fluent in english.Food was great,repetitive,but ok.I did try some food at the resto nearby,which was good too.Met a lot of friendly british and french,and did bump into unfriendly russian/german.Maybe the language is a barrier!But also you have to play your part and be friendly. The only downside was that the room's walls were so thin, heard the neighbours snoring, but after a few drinks, I slept through the night from day 2. Entertainment was brilliant. My 2 children(4 and 6) loved it, I can certainly recommend it for young families.The whole Salou area was beautiful,safe and clean.The friendly staff I met were Gerard,Reyes,Bzek and the grill guy among others.Always try to get a table in Gerard's section.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Bit of a mixed bag really, you get what you pay for I guess and we got the holiday really cheap for an all inclusive, so I guess can't complaint too much!

The pool was nice and clean although a little on the chilly side.

F&B was poor in my opinion. The meals were nice enough and there was a wide selection, but after a week the selection became tiring. The chef cooking at request was a nice touch and I especially recommend the Chorizo he cooks, absolutely lovely!
Service in the restaurant was OK, got much better after a few days when the waiters got better. Theres a smaller guy with a bald head who was lovely and we really warmed to him. I recommend a table in his area.
Getting drinks in the restaurant was often painful, you had to more or less stand on a chair and shout for service, which isn't how it should be at all. The welcome at the restaurant was nothing special.

The bar staff were nice enough, the main bar had a fantastic guy called Marcel, an older guy with white hair. He was funny, chatty and enjoyed talking whilst serving.
The pool bar service was painfully slow. Audri and others were in no rush to serve anybody, often leaving queues of 10 people whilst she went to cook a plate of chips.
it was disappointing that there were only 3 cocktails available for all inclusive guests, and the range of these were overall poor. However it was very welcome that Absolut Vodka, Smirnoff and other brand name drinks (Baileys, Gordons Gin etc) were on all inclusive. Made a change from many AI hotels where they are not.

Room was nice enough, we didn't get a sea view but we only used the room to sleep in so who cares really? We were out at 8am and rarely back until 11.30 (end of AI at the bar).

The spa looked very dated, and at €5 each we didn't use it, we visited Portaventura including the water park and Aqua Polis but we strongly felt that this should be included if the hotel was to be a true 4 star.

Overall, nice view from the pool, nice enough hotel, service and facilities need a massive improvement to be a 4 star.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor and one with a sea view, we got none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#51 of 93 in Salou
855 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
#43 of 93 in Salou
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Negresco

Property: Hotel Best Negresco
Address: Carrer dels Replanells, 12-14, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Negresco 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea, at only 100m. from Playa Larga beach which is accessible through a new promenade. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning fridge and optional safe-deposit box. Outdoor swimming pool for adults and children with a large terrace solarium and snack-bar. Gym, games area, children’s area and kid’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Best Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Complejo Best Negresco Hotel Salou
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing