We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Best Negresco
Nearby Hotels
Ona Jardines Paraisol(Salou)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Daurada(Salou)(Great Value!)
$82
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$270
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
H10 Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Regente Aragon(Salou)(Great Value!)
$81
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ohtels Belvedere(Salou)(Great Value!)
$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,279)
Filter reviews
1,279 results
Traveler rating
324
453
280
141
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
453
280
141
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcap salounegresco iibar staffbus stoppool barlovely hoteltwo double bedsevery nightsister hotelsaladsalou centregreat holidaytoastiesland trainmin walkplenty of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 1,279 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Bit of a mixed bag really, you get what you pay for I guess and we got the holiday really cheap for an all inclusive, so I guess can't complaint too much!

The pool was nice and clean although a little on the chilly side.

F&B was poor in my opinion. The meals were nice enough and there was a wide selection, but after a week the selection became tiring. The chef cooking at request was a nice touch and I especially recommend the Chorizo he cooks, absolutely lovely!
Service in the restaurant was OK, got much better after a few days when the waiters got better. Theres a smaller guy with a bald head who was lovely and we really warmed to him. I recommend a table in his area.
Getting drinks in the restaurant was often painful, you had to more or less stand on a chair and shout for service, which isn't how it should be at all. The welcome at the restaurant was nothing special.

The bar staff were nice enough, the main bar had a fantastic guy called Marcel, an older guy with white hair. He was funny, chatty and enjoyed talking whilst serving.
The pool bar service was painfully slow. Audri and others were in no rush to serve anybody, often leaving queues of 10 people whilst she went to cook a plate of chips.
it was disappointing that there were only 3 cocktails available for all inclusive guests, and the range of these were overall poor. However it was very welcome that Absolut Vodka, Smirnoff and other brand name drinks (Baileys, Gordons Gin etc) were on all inclusive. Made a change from many AI hotels where they are not.

Room was nice enough, we didn't get a sea view but we only used the room to sleep in so who cares really? We were out at 8am and rarely back until 11.30 (end of AI at the bar).

The spa looked very dated, and at €5 each we didn't use it, we visited Portaventura including the water park and Aqua Polis but we strongly felt that this should be included if the hotel was to be a true 4 star.

Overall, nice view from the pool, nice enough hotel, service and facilities need a massive improvement to be a 4 star.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor and one with a sea view, we got none!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent a week here 3-10th of June, arrived to be allocated our room above the delivery yard where all the bins are kept Room 1001, which as I found out at 6am every morning was situated right next to the Maid service store room and the door was slammed every 5 minutes with no exaggeration. We had very bad problems with out bathroom and getting the hotel to even come and look at it was a job in itself, when they finally did come they pushed a mop up and down in the toilet basin trying to get the water go go down, it got that bad that every time we flushed the loo the water would not go down for hours so we ended up going to the loo in the reception area. Whenever we used the shower water came gurgling up from the bide and the sink basin, they refused to move us to another room in the hotel we were in Negresco I instead offered us a room in the hotel over the road which wasn't a patch and had no snack bar for our daughter (10 years old) Eventually they did change our room on the last evening only because when my daughter was in the shower at 5pm there was water cascading into the dining room so it was in their interest to move us. The hotel staff did not speak very much English and trying to get them to understand our problems was dreadful. Long queue's at the pool bar and entertainment bar were awful. Some staff were ok but sadly they were in the minority. Glass on the floor around the pool. On the whole hotel situated in a lovely area of Salou right near the beach but the staff ruined the holiday in not dealing our issues. Even after the rep got involved they were still reluctant to help us. Went to sit on a chair in the bar on the last evening and a nice lady grabbed my arm and said I wouldn't sit on that seat love its soaking wet, there was water pouring on it from the ceiling before question is was it water coming from our backed up toilet. Disturbing thought.

Room Tip: If they put you in Room 1001 go straight to reception and demand they change you, you wont get a lie in of a morning noise from deliveries was horrendous
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had a great time with my daughter and grandson,hotel was very clean and the food was a good all round menu,nice situation to relax in, but found it has nothing for teenagers,but for familys and young children it was very good.the staff were very helpfull.
the only complaint would be that no one told us, and it was not on any information that the room had to be vacated by 10 oclock on the day of departure,and that your wrist band is cut off at 12 o'clock, we didn't leave until 3 30pm some with very young children weren't going untill 7pm, and they were not aware that they couldn't get anything after that time.
other than this the last day, the hotel was great,and a good location, perhaps if we had been aware of things we wouldn't have been dissapointed the last day..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've just returned from a short 4 night break at the Best Negresco 1. I guess you could say we had a mixed bag experience of the hotel. The positives about our stay were the hotel was pretty clean & the rooms were cleaned daily. The pool area was nice but the pool was very cold, but this didn't seem to bother the kids 2 much. The location was pretty good to the views were excellent & close to some beaches & rocks, which were excellent for crab hunting, we even found a octopus down there. That is it for good points now for the not so good points.
The food was not great, the main buffet restaurant only served luke warm food at best the hottest thing I ate from here was the toast I made myself! They did have one cook preparing food on request the but variation was poor & didn't really change each day. They also had a poolside bar which offered snacks & drinks, they only offered 4 hot options but these were made to order & were much better than the buffet bar in somewhat basic. However the constant queue for this was tiresome, they usually only had one person serving (occasionally 2) so when someone ordered food they went out back to make it while the queue just got bigger. Also all inclusive is not quite an accurate description, some drinks you have to pay a supplement, you have a choice of 2 ice lollies & crisps you have to pay for (so almost all inclusive is probably right). The bar for the night time entertainment is quite nice but again the queue gets quite annoying & they don't allow you order to many drinks (luckily we went with another family so could double up), the entertains was a mixed bag to, some of the late acts were like very poor BGT contestants in the early rounds, the kids disco is ok as the younger kids love the catchy songs & dances.
The rooms in the hotel are tiny, we had a "family room" which in fact was just a double room with a extra double, which made the room very small & cramped for 2 adults & 2 children. Our room also overlooked the back hard of the hotel where all the bins were stored & where they seemed to play with the bottle bins at 7am every morning, the walls are very thin & you can hear everything.
Lastly the hotel in overrun with Russians who make the Germans look like a friendly & humble nation. These are some of the rudest & miserable people I have ever come across I would never again go to a hotel where the biggest % of holiday makers were from Russia. The hotel is geared towards Russians, quite a few staff are Russians & all of the staff spoke Russian, it seems like its not just this hotel, in Salou itself is changing to gear towards the Russians & why wouldn't you, they now have lots of money, I'm just trying to give potential holidays as much information to decide for yourself & so you know what to expect.

Room Tip: I didn't stay in Negresco 2, but in Negresco 1 you should get a sea view on the left side of the hotel not above the main bar where you can hear the entertainment.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bubbles1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had great time. We are vegetarian, there is not much choice in the food. They made special dish for us 3 times. One lady by name Andrea was great. She has been very helpful and understanding. The pools are neat. Room service was good and clean. Internet over wi-fi is free, but very slow. Mobile internet is much faster than hotel wi-fi.

Room Tip: If you are interested in sea view room, ask it at the time of booking. After going there, it may not be possible to switch.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasad797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews