We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Friendly!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohtels Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ohtels Belvedere
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Salou
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 9 days. As a family of six and part of a group of 11, we had rooms on the 4 th and 5 floor. The rooms are average, a few downside, the room could do with a small fridge to at least keep water cool for the children at night, the TV could do with a few more English channels, we tried changinging the setting to English but failed bitterly! Luckily, we travelled with our external hard drive loaded with films for the children to be kept entertained! And not having basic Internet connection was most distressing! We had to take turns to go to the reception area to have WiFi which was often weak unless you surveyed the area properly and decided to stay in that spot!

The staff was very helpful and we felt at ease speaking to them! A big Thank You to the lifeguard from South America, he was willing to loan us a buggy after we left ours at the airport providing that we couldn't rent one! ( we rented one) thank you so much for your hospitality! The security guy, the reception team, the lovely guys at the pool bar who made us those wonderful cocktail drinks and the restaurant usher, you have done a tremendous Jodi to keep a family of 11 happy at all time and we were delighted to have received your services!

Overall, the food was okay, the location is fantastic, a nice walk to portaVentura parks, the beach, the local market and local amenities! It's good value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you very much for your comments. It is a pleasure to realise you had a good time with us and that you felt comfortable with all our staff.

We will try to work on the downs you found in order to have a better hotel as soon as possible.

Thank you again for your opinions and we hope to see you back next year.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    493
    234
    82
    60
See reviews for
787
324
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Rooms good size air conditioning at no extra cost cleaned every day food good and plenty to chose from although bit too much pork on menu could do a little better on the evening entertainment very close to theme park & water park about 5min walk salou main town 5mins away must visit Lazy Waves bar good family night out spent 2 weeks there with family would go back staff helpful & friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annl_hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your concise comments. We are glad you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed your stay in Salou.

Thank you once more, and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week in August as a family of 4.....I the rooms are small with 2 double beds....I think if you only had one child it would be ok but too small for a family of 4. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room so was ok for a week. Pool area quite nice but as usual there are towels on all the sunbeds from early morning. Restaurant ok although kids didn't eat much. If you want anything from the show cooking which is fresh be prepared to queue for a while....its all a bit chaotic! Now the staff! Took us 45 minutes to get checked in as only one person on reception who was very slow. Had a run in with the barman who was very unfriendly he did apologise but too little too late and with the exception of the entertainment staff and the security guard that was the overall attitude of the staff...unfriendly! Best thing about the hotel was the location....about 20 minutes walk to portaventura and about 10 minutes to the beach and shops...that was with a 4 year old. Would go back to Salou but not this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Tracy B,

Thank you very much for your comments because based on them,we can try to improve.

However we are really sorry that you got the impression that our staff is unfriendly because it is not the case. We always work with a smile on the face because we know that our guests are on holiday and have come to spend some relaxing days with us. Most of the comments on this site confirm that the staff of Belvedere is good, helpful and friendly.

Regarding the restaurant, it is not a chaos, but when most of the people come at the same time, queuing a little is something inevitable, and the same happens in the show cooking. When something is cooked at the moment just in front of you, it takes its time.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope you change your mind and come again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights. We enjoyed our stay. It's a 3 star hotel in a good location 10 mins walk to the beach, 10 mins to portaventura which is excellent also try the wather park its a good day out. The food is average and sometimes you have to que for food that's cooked up fresh but its worth The wait. Pizzas are really good and the fish was nice too. We went half board and you can swap your dinner for your lunch if you like, this is handy when going to the park. The Hotels staff were nice and helpful. The rooms could do with a fridge so you could keep some water / drinks in your room but you can buy water bottles from a vending machine in the lobby. Overall we had a good stay. Salous promenade is really nice with fountains and kids play areas dotted along the beach. We eat out at the jack Daniels restaurant at the roundabout I would recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sunnysky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We will keep working in the same path to maintain your satisfaction and we will also work harder on some weak points so your next visit can be perfect.

Thank you again for your words and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and 4 teenagers stayed in 2 rooms, four 4 teenagers the room was just about big enough with a nice size balcony, our room for 2 people was big enough. Location is fine ten minute walk to beach, ten mins to theme park.hotel bfast is average with the usual undercooked eggs and bacon and sausage with a selection if cold meats, but the omelettes and toasties were a plus. The pool isn't quite big enough and there weren't enough umberellas. The entertainment at night was poor but the animation team during the day did a fine job with water aerobics and water polo during the day.the staff were friendly and helped us on the first day when my son left his passport in the taxi!! A quick phone call and the passport was returned the next day. We went to the theme park at night as it was cheaper and we thought it wud be quiter but it was packed and got on only 2 rides and then most of the rides stopped at ten o'clock!! The water park next door though was excellent with only 15 mins wait for most of the slides and we spent all day their. The beach was great with various water sports, the one we went on with the speedboat pulling us on a dinghy was fantastic!!!!!!! Salou is a great place for families and I only saw groups of teenagers late at night going to the nightlife , but always felt safe, would recommend to anyone as I've been 3 times now

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeioanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for investing some of your time on writing down some words about your stay with us. It looks you had a good holiday at Belvedere and that makes us feel that our efforts are worthwhile.

We will consider all the points you mention in order to improve and make your holiday as good as possible.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week long stay at The Belvedere Hotel with my family (2 adults and 2 boys aged 9 & 3) what a hotel. Loved absolutely everything about it. Usually when we go on holiday we struggle with the food options & end up spending money eating out a few nights as we are bored - here, we looked forward to breakfast & dinner as the food was so good. At least 3 of the 7 nights we ate here were "themed" nights, Spanish, Italian and a Gala dinner night - waiters/waitresses were all dressed up for the occasion as well. For the kids they had Candy Floss machines, a Chocolate Fountain and for the Italian night a Carte D'or ice cream cabinet. Absolutely brilliant. Food was warm, well stocked, extremely tasty and you had plenty of choice.

Rooms - they were quite small for a family of 4. Cases had to be stored under the beds for the room to be comfortable. 2 double wardrobes, but one was for hanging stuff & the other was shelved. Would probably have been better if they had been half shelved & half with a rail to hang stuff, but it wasn't a problem. Rooms were clean, we had a pool view as well, and what I liked about the balcony was that it had a clear glass panel that my 3 year old could see thru without the need for him to climb on anything! Clean towels were provided every day, with a selection of shampoo/soap/bath foam etc too. Also, one of the days a gift of a olive oil & a nice cake were left for us... A lovely touch.

Facilities - pool was great. Very crowded at times but then again, it was peak season - what else can u expect? Loads of sun beds, but u had to be up early to get a prime spot round the pool. A lot of people only stayed for maybe the morning, then took their towels & left, so there was never a time that you couldn't get a bed.
The gym - bit poor.... Place was constantly flooded as it was incorporated within the spa area - didn't bother my family as who comes on holiday to go on an exercise bike?? .....not me!

Location. One word - PERFECT. 10 min walk to portaventura. 10 min walk to the beach. Absolutely bang in the centre of the best area of Salou. Loads of bars/restaurants in the area, and anyway who says this place isn't well located is simply telling porkies. It's perfect.

Staff - restaurant staff (Francisco in particular) very friendly, always had time for a "high five" to my 3 year old, which as a small gesture goes a long way. Animacion staff - Nina (I think that's her name?) - so friendly & great with the kids. We didn't put them into the kids club as we believe holidays are for family time not to drop your kids in a crèche facility but from the time we did see her, she was full of fun, and the kids loved her. Reception staff - sorry but apart from 1 smiley female, they are all needing lessons in customer service. This was the only downside of the hotel, and I hate to name names when it comes to complaining but the younger boy Pablo should be sacked. He is totally arrogant & ignorant, not to mention unhelpful & downright RUDE. For first impressions of people arriving at the hotel, people like him should NOT be working there, his attitude stinks!!!!

Anyway.........Summing up, apart from the reception staff letting the side down - this is a great reasonably priced, well located, clean hotel which I would highly recommend to anyone to go to. There's 4 star hotels surrounding this place that would probably be twice the price and nowhere near as good as here. Do not believe the bad reviews.....!!

Thanks for a wonderful week, I will without a doubt be recommending you to my family & friends and when we return to salou, you are my first choice hotel.... :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Shona,

Thank you very much for your comments. They are of great value for our improvement. We will take your opinion into consideration, as we do with all, because from our guest's point of view we can change, maintain or improve different aspects of our daily work.

Once more thank you very much for your writing and we hope to see you back soon at the Belvedere.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Where do i start..... We arrived to our room to discover that the room smelt of smoke, there was mould on the pillow cases, broken plug sockets, uncomfortable and torn bed, the bed wasn't made properly, broken lamp, dirty and stained seat and there was no where to store our cases. The only place we could put them was by the balcony door for people to see (we were on the first floor). We informed reception about this and they were very rude and laughed in my face and were very unhelpful. We had to take our complaint to the rep and eventually the room was cleaned and broken items were repaired. Things started to look up after that (thanks to the entertainment team thank you Alfie, Joey and Nuna)until 600euros was stolen from our LOCKED case. We told the manager about this and he was very unhelpful. He looked at the key cards usage on the computer and said only us and the cleaners had entered. When we asked for a copy of this he would not give us one. Our rep said we were entitled to this. He would not get the police and we were expected to get a taxi to the police station (which would 20euros there and back) when we had no money. The manager would not look at cctv footage and he also told us that similar events have occurred before. He did not take our complaint seriously and would not do anything about it. The next day i noticed the cleaners had left our door open after cleaning the room i told the manager and again he wasn't bothered about it. He told us that nobody could have entered our room from the outside it was like he didn't believe us. We spoke to another english couple who explained that they have had money stolen too!!! We are devastated as we payed a lot of money for this holiday and have saved up for months to have a terrible room and have money stolen. Never again!!! I could not wait to leave!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,
My apologies because your holidays were not as good as we all had expected. We know people work hard during the whole year to spend a good holiday.
However, as you may imagine, I disagree in some of your points.
First of all, although we are a non smoking hotel, people can do whatever they want in the room, so if they smoke the smell remains there for a while but as soon as the new guest tells us we throw some freshener and try to solve it. Regarding all the incidences you found when you arrived to the room such as the lamp, the socket, the magnet for the air conditioning and the pillow cases, they were all solved as soon as the reception and I had the information. It didn’t take more than five minutes for the maintenance guy and the cleaning lady to go to your room and change or fix what was not in good conditions.
Regarding space, there is not much we can do, all agencies have the information about room distribution and its size, but a good idea would have been to store the cases under the bed as many other people do, and we all can read in the Tripadvisor comments. There is no need to have them by the balcony.
There is one aspect that you mention which I completely disagree and is the fact that the reception staff “laughed in your face”. This is absolutely impossible because all the Belvedere staff are professionals who work for the satisfaction of guests and they know exactly how to behave in each situation, but above all they never laugh in anybody’s face.
Concerning money you said was stolen let me say a couple of things. When you talked to me you told me that you had three different wallets in the suitcase, and that your case was locked and that you always take the key with you. I asked you about the window, if it was open or closed and you told me it was closed. According to this data I decided to check the lock of your room in case somebody had entered, apart from you and the cleaning service, which was not the case as you could see in the report I showed you. From that point, if you still considered it was a robbery it is your responsibility to call the police or to go to the police station to make the complaint. The hotel couldn’t do anything else because the money was not in the safe and there was nothing strange in the lock of the door. Moreover, when I asked you, that night at the restaurant, if you had got in contact with the police, your answer was that you had talked to your rep and that she told you to wait for your insurance, so there is no point on saying it was me who didn’t do anything. One important aspect you mention is that I told you these kinds of things occurred before, but I was referring to outside the hotel that people are robbed without realizing, not in the rooms of the hotel, moreover when the guest is absolutely sure that the window and the door were closed and the suitcase was not forced. It seems quite difficult to take some money from a locked case without breaking it when both the door and the window are perfectly closed.
Finally, it looks like when you entered in the hotel it was not what you expected because of different reasons that could be easily solved. Then you unfortunately lost some of your money which made everything worse.
Nevertheless, we expect you change your mind and decide to come back to Oh!tels to spend your holiday. We would like to change your opinion of Oh!tels, because our staff try their best to help you spend your best holiday.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Belvedere

Property: Ohtels Belvedere
Address: C/ Terrer, 7 | Alcalde Pere Molas, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#10 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ohtels Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Salou
Belvedere Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing