We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints for a cheap getaway”
Review of Ohtels Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtels Belvedere
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked this hotel for a cheap October half term holiday not really because we wanted to go here but just because it was a good price.having said that we were happy enough with the food in the restaurant(we were half board) and room which was always spotless also all of the staff were really helpful and friendly.Salou itself was a pleasant surprise as the promenade and beach area(a 10min walk) were lovely.went to cambrills on some hire bikes along the cycle track which was great and tarragona on the plana bus for the day this was also well worth a visit.Also had a day at Port Aventura(a 15min walk) which is quite pricey at 45euro each to get in but we had a fab day and shamballa roller coaster is one of the best i have been on including the florida theme parks.all in all would recommend the belvedere as long as you don,t pay too much and don,t forget it is a 3star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michobid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this as a last minute holiday, did 10 days half board ( a new thing for us) 5 in our party so we had 2 rooms, our 2 older boys in one room and us with our youngest in the room next door.

Check in was slow but we arrived on a Tue so was not that awful.

Rooms were very clean, and very basic. Hair dryers in the rooms but no kettle ( I am so glad we took our travel one with cups)

We were on the 5th floor up over looking the pool, yeah there was some noise but again was not awful, thing that drove us most mad was the constant clattering from the air hockey, some nights this would go onto past midnight. No real issues with noise or kids, but this is a family hotel so you do have to expect some children enjoying their holiday :)

Ah now the restuarant..........well 4 in our party are vegetarians so obviously our choices were much more limited, there was always plenty of pasta, chips, pizza, salad, soup,rice, veg, not much to speak off in the protein section but that aside there was fresh cooked to order omlettes in the morning, or egg, or cheese, or beans :)
Food was always plenty hot enough, but there are microwaves if you wanted to pop your meal in for a minute or 2 !! ( also good for improvising a pasta bake with cheese and veg :) )

Location of the hotel was fantastic for Port Adventura, the beach, the town ( although Salou in Oct is a ghost town, as the time went on more and more shops closed for the winter)and great for getting into Barcelona.

Pool was blooming freezing and shut on the 2nd week we were there.......although did not mind as the sea was much warmer :)

Staff were friendly and sorted any problems that came up within moments ( extra pillows etc)

Would I stay again ? at the price we paid Yes we would :)

Room Tip: Get one over looking the pool as its the only decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from an end-of-season break and can safely say that this is a perfectly acceptable place to stay for the price we paid.

The room was adequate. Nothing fancy and only just enough furnishings to make it inhabitable. We had two double beds, which were very firm to lie on. The pillows were firm as well and made my ears go numb after a while. The bathroom was nice with complimentary toiletries. One downside was the brown shower curtain, which cut out half the light. Should have fitted white ones. The walls were also thin and you could hear those next-door quite easily. But this is true of most hotels. Nice balcony to sit out on - assuming you are on the sun side of the hotel.

Meal times were very busy. It was a buffet style, and like most buffets, keeping the food hot is a major challenge. This place failed that challenge. Luke warm meals were quite frequent. As it was end-of-season, the menu did have a feel that they were emptying out the freezers. It was a masterclass in how to make numerous types of cassarole out of veal, pork, chicken and fish. Plenty of chips and veg, plus salads and deserts on offer. The food always tasted nice and there was plenty of it. If only the could have kept it hot. You certainly won't starve here though.

The bar was a nice area to sit in after dinner, and the drink prices were reasonable. They're certainly not over-priced compared to some bars/restaurants outside the hotel.

The pool was too cold to try and closed at the end of October anyway.

All other areas were acceptable. The hotel encourages its guests to leave comments in the suggestions box. Judging by how full this box was, a lot of people had a lot to say. It's a lack of attention to detail that lets this place down. Hopefully, they'll act on the suggestions over the winter and raise this place from average to very good.

The best feature of this hotel is its location. It's a nice walk down to the seafront and on to the town centre itself. You can also walk to PortAventura in about 20 minutes - thus saving a bus fare.

If you can get a good price for this hotel then take it. As I said, it is perfectly accepatable.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, as this is the sun side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've just returned (two adults and two children) from a weeks stay at Hotel Belvedere. Our first impressions weren't so good, after having initially gone to Villa Romana (with a fairly impressive reception area), having been told a week before departure that the Hotel Belvedere would be closed. On first impresssions the hotel reception was fairly busy and noisy (however we did arrive on a Saturday night) and we also had problems with the card entry to our room and electricity. However, from then on our holiday improved. The food was good, and we upgraded extremely reasonably to half board. I particularly enjoyed the lovely carvery meats. The hotel has a good location, situated between Port Aventura (which we visited most days) and the beach. All of the staff were extremely polite and friendly - especially the restaurant staff and Nuna at the childrens club who was brilliant. Unfortunately the outdoor pool closed during our time - and too cold to use, however the children enjoyed the indoor spa pool. In all honesty, I would probably try the Villa Romana if we returned to Salou (primarily for the indoor pool and slightly higher quality), but for a three star hotel and cheap family break the Hotel Belvedere was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachcoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Belverdere and we are glad to return due to it being very noisy day and night. The first week we hardly had any sleep because of noise from rooms both sides of us till three in the morning. The walls are so thin you can hear everything. We contacted reception and they promptly told guests to be quiet. Meal times are very hectic so it is not an enjoyable experience although the food was good once you found a table. The staff work very hard although there are not enough staff on reception and you always have to wait on arrival. This is a very busy hotel with lots of noisy children running around without supervision.Entertainment is good and the hotel is very clean although they need some comfortable chairs to lounge on.This is definitely a noisy family hotel so don't expect any peace and quiet. Probably will not return again to this hotel, but Salou itself is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordwaverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

the staff were very friendly and very helpful the hotel itself was spotless my only grumble was how noisy it was downstairs round the reception area but upstairs was fine. And we were next to the lift

Room Tip: we were given a room over the reception and had no trouble with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

this hotel is by far the hotel from hell. screaming children running around the restaurant when people are trying to eat there food.knocking into tables and the parents who dont control there children. A drink in the concert lounge is a nightmare with children and babies screaming and shouting there heads off. The televisions in the room only have a news channel so you go down to the tv lounge to watch sky tv and all the hotel bar staff who control the tv control will only put a sports channel on.They play merry hell with any hotel guest who dare to ask them to turn up the sound or change chanels. The food in the hotel was mediocer ,always cold,but at least the hotel supply a microwave so that you can warm the meal that you have selected. using the toaster at breakfast was a laugh as you had to either have your toast burned or not toasted. due to the speed of the toaster. The hotel pool was ok apart from children and adults throwing footballs at each other which made a splash showering sunbathers with cold water. The rooms where spotless and towels changed every day and the cleaning staff were great. dineing room staff excellent and two of the reception staff were very helpful Great hotel for deaf people as they can lip read and screaming kids would not be a problem for them. This is the only hotel that I have been too on holiday abroad that has made me wish that I could have gone home early.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing pool as rooms at the front of the hotel get all t5he noise of passing traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#24 of 93 in Salou
2,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#7 of 93 in Salou
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Belvedere

Address: C/ Terrer, 7 | Alcalde Pere Molas, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $46 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Splitty and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ohtels Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Salou
Belvedere Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing