We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to the costa dorada”
Review of Ohtels Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohtels Belvedere
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed October 2, 2011

we have just returned from the hotel bevedere in Salou and found it to be a very well run hotel .The staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.The food in the restaurant was plentiful and a very good variety everyday,they had joints of pork turkey and cooked chickens galore,also a childrens buffet with all the usual that children like.The deserts were to die for so all in all a very good hotel.There were also plenty of sunbeds so you didnt need to go down at 6am to book one as some people do.The only downside was the evening entertainment...not so good but there are plenty of outside entertainment around Salou.We also made our own way on the train to Barcelona costing us 13.20 euros return and it was so easy,the clerk at the station told us where to get off for Catalunia square and the tour buses around the city for sightseeing.we saw camp neu,the olympic stadium,the gothic cathedral and la rambla to name a few all in all a very good holiday.Would reccomend this hotel definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

Firstly, was disappointed after arriving at 10.00. a.m., not allowed in our room until 1.00. p.m.
We had to walk around Salou for 3 hours in clothes we had worn over in the hot sunshine.
Next on to our room. Very badly designed, there were two double beds in the room with very little space to move around. Also, very little wardrobe and cupboard space. The food was not nice at all, fish every night, which wasn't fresh, and the meat did not look appetising. Food was often just luke warm. Breakfast was awful, so we eat out five times out of seven.

Staff in the dining room were unfriendly, there was no conversation with the waitresses. I realise they probably don't speak english, but we all understand gratsi and ola.

Only good thing about the hotel, was it was exceptionally clean. Rooms were cleaned every day, with clean towels and bed linen.

Very good location, plenty of bars and restaurants. Robin Hood best for family entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool, as rooms at front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet6075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

just returned from this hotel after 1 week. firstly bit of a pain having to wait until 1pm to check in but just walked around for a bit to check out whats around. rooms were cleaned every day and spacious enough as there was on myself and husband. We are mid 40's and although there were more elderley people there, mainly spanish I think it is just the timeof year for them. Food in hotel to a good standard and you culd swap your evening meal for lunch if you wanted which wer did most days and then went out for tea. entertainment only see once as it was a bit of a pain, the spanish all darted around about 9.45, bashing chairs, grabbing tables and generally trying to sit anywhere they wanted with no regrad to anybody else. made us laugh though. pool area always clean and good size pool, air hockey and pool table outside and the kids club seemed to be good. day time activities were ok if you wanted to get involved, the young spanish girl tried really hard. Could not knock the hotel at all and situatated in a central part of town. would definately go back, prob good for kids in summer but for more relaxing time maybe a little later in the year as we did.

Room Tip: we had a room on the corner/end and it did seem to have a bigger balcony also no noise from any adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for 10 days in August. 2 adults an a 9 yr old. Thought the reception was very inviting when we arrived. Staff a little abrupt were busy checking in several groups. We were in block 1 facing the Salauris and was a nightmare. As others say constant noise from the Solauris meant could not even use the balcony the whole time. Complained to rep and hotel manager but told hotel full so could not move for 6 days. Decided to stay put as not worth moving for 3 days. Often big queues for restaurant but this was excellently managed by Francisco the restaurant manager. He is an absolute diamond and totally made our stay. We left hotel at 7am for return flight an he even told us to come in at 6.30 an opened the restaurant so we could have coffee and continental breakfast before leaving. The food was very repetative but when your mass producing for large numbers this is inevitable. That said the fresh made pizza's ,carvery and evening specials were always piping hot an cooked in front of you. They also made fresh candy floss for the kids on several evenings which my daughter loved. and the pancakes for breakfast were another winner!! The reception staff seemed quite offish but I find if your polite this went along way. There particularly is one big older chap who seemed very aloof but the day before we left he went out of his way to call me over an tell me about the big firework fiesta that was being held down on the beach that evening. This was an amazing display and I would say the best firework display I've ever seen. This from florida regulars who love disney and universal displays is praise in deed!!! When we got back I made a point of thanking him and he was really chatty - just shows dont judge a book by its cover. He also made a point of seeing us off an wishing us a good trip home. The cleaners were very nice and were happy to come back to clear room later without fuss. This was our 3rd visit to Salou and I would say found the Spanish an German guests at the hotel an in the resort very rude. If you stay here I would say definitely request a pool room as I heard these were bigger and you could actually use the balconies. Loved Francisco and other staff mentioned but not sure if I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you request pool view room as these are better an dont have noise from hotels opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frantinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

loved it loved it loved it!!!!!!
great hotel for families and groups. happy atmosphere, good sunspot and nice staff.
good food, pancakes for breakfast, lovely!!
however we did manage to break a few things whilst staying here, eg the door and shower curtain rail. the good thing is we was not charged for this the handy man just simply fixed them, nothing was a big deal for the staff. and the pool bar was reasonable priced.
this hotel is a good location and very clean i would recommend to all who are not moaners and fussy, WE ALL HAD A GREAT TIME, BEST 2 WEEKS OF MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Travelled to Salou for the second time in in 2 years, stayed at the Villa Romana last time which is a top hotel, budget was a bit tighter this time so shopped around and found the Belvedere which is literally across the road from Villa Romana.

On arrival at the hotel the reception was clean, modern and the staff were friendly. The room was basic, no fridge, beds a bid hard but clean (and continually cleaned throughout the 2 weeks to a good standard), a good shower and a tv, air con was excellent. We had a room on the first floor looking over the pool, relieved that it was not facing the busy road on the other side though I don't know if that would have been an issue.

We were half board so breakfast and dinner, my partner is vegetarian, there was plenty on offer, hot cooked food morning and evening, salad bar, breads, meats. I thought the food was very good, tended to have chicken or veal with pasta, veg and salad at dinnertime, omellette in the morning. Plenty of protein and nutrients on offer! My partner had a decent offering of pasta, pizza, salads, veg etc. however be careful that the pasta does not have labels of what they contain, she ate a bit of fish in the pasta, not a happy camper!

The guests were mostly spanish, families in the first week and then older holiday makers in the second, good to get away from the english screaming kids. Entertainment was nothing special, we did spend about half of our evenings at the hotel but otherwise down at the beachfront drinking cocktails and enjoying the evening heat.

Pool was not the biggest and no deep end but good for a swim to cool down as it was blistering hot some days. The beach isn't far off, a 10min walk to a golden but busy beach, spent a good few days lazing by the sea. There is a decent gym on the beachfront for those interested, not for cardio but good weight training facilites.

We took the train from Porta Ventura to Barcelona and Tarragona, both fantastic places to visit and barcelona being the furthest away was only 1hr 20mins on the train.

All in all, good hotel, a 3*, no more no less, Salou is brilliant for a beach holiday and location to Barcelona.

If you can afford it go to the Villa Romana but if your budget is a bit less the the Belvedere Hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just back today from a week at this hotel and NEVER again.We were placed in room 1659 on the 6th floor overlooking the front entrance.Across the road are two other hotels one to the right and the other to the left.At 11am the disco started until 1pm then again at 3pm until 6pm then at 8pm all hell was let loose.It was as if the DJ of both hotels were seeing who could play the loudest music and wew had it in stereo.Even with the double glazed door closed the bed was bouncing off the floor and this went on until just before midnight EVERY night.
The breakfast every morning was cold unless you joined a queue for a omlette or fried egg wwere only one chef was preparing these along with pancakes.Evening meals were warm but not hot even the soup.Everday it was vegetable or chicken soup.The only difference was that the vegetable soup occasionally had vegetables in instead of noodles or pasta.The carvery is hidden round the corner opposite the pizza counter dont think they wanted people to use that.
The best bit of the holiday was the weather.Would I go back yes definately but probably stay at Best Maritime in Cambrils.It is further away from Salou but the bus service is regular and stops right outside the hotel

Room Tip: Just dont use this hotel even thomsons are pulling out next year
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank spencersgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,083 reviews
0.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#7 of 93 in Salou
668 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Belvedere

Address: C/ Terrer, 7 | Alcalde Pere Molas, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $51 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ohtels Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Salou
Belvedere Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing